DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1,2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida USP 9,342,022.
Ishida discloses, regarding claim 1, A sheet discharge apparatus comprising:
a discharge tray (46) to which a sheet (G) is discharged; and
a plurality of pressing portions (62b) arrayed at an interval from each other along a width direction orthogonal to a discharge direction of the sheet, the plurality of pressing portions each pressing the sheet on the discharge tray from above,
wherein when the sheet on the discharge tray is pressed, regardless of a position and a size of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction, one of the plurality of pressing portions is arranged at a position opposite, along a top-bottom direction, an end part of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction (see at least C8/L5-18; fig.5-7,9).
Regarding claim 2, wherein of the plurality of pressing portions, first pressing portions at opposite ends along the width direction are larger in dimension along the width direction than second pressing portions other than the first pressing portions (see at least fig.6).
5. Claims 1,6,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. USP 8,757,791.
Tanaka discloses, regarding claim 1, A sheet discharge apparatus comprising:
a discharge tray (12) to which a sheet (P) is discharged; and
a plurality of pressing portions (100) arrayed at an interval from each other along a width direction orthogonal to a discharge direction (Xa) of the sheet, the plurality of pressing portions each pressing the sheet on the discharge tray from above,
wherein when the sheet on the discharge tray is pressed, regardless of a position and a size of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction, one of the plurality of pressing portions is arranged at a position opposite, along a top-bottom direction, an end part of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction (Y) (see at least fig.19-21).
Regarding claim 6, An image forming system (fig.1) comprising:
the sheet discharge apparatus according to claim 1; and
an image forming apparatus (1) forming an image on the sheet,
wherein the sheet discharge apparatus discharges the sheet conveyed thereto from the image forming apparatus to the discharge tray (see at least fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the image forming apparatus is an inkjet recording apparatus and ejects ink onto the sheet to form the image on the sheet (see at least C1/L15-21).
6. Claims 1,5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodama et al. USP 10,226,946.
Kodama discloses, regarding claim 1, A sheet discharge apparatus comprising:
a discharge tray (37) to which a sheet (12) is discharged; and
a plurality of pressing portions (90;91) arrayed at an interval from each other along a width direction orthogonal to a discharge direction of the sheet, the plurality of pressing portions each pressing the sheet on the discharge tray from above (see at least fig.9,11,12; C13/L25-34),
wherein when the sheet on the discharge tray is pressed, regardless of a position and a size of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction, one of the plurality of pressing portions is arranged at a position opposite, along a top-bottom direction, an end part of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction (see at least fig.9,11,).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising a post-processing portion (86) that performs post-processing on the sheet.
Regarding claim 6, An image forming system (1) comprising:
the sheet discharge apparatus according to claim 1; and
an image forming apparatus (100) forming an image on the sheet,
wherein the sheet discharge apparatus discharges the sheet conveyed thereto from the image forming apparatus to the discharge tray (see at least fig.1-4).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the image forming apparatus is an inkjet recording apparatus and ejects ink onto the sheet to form the image on the sheet (see at least C6/L20-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida USP 9,342,022 (or Tanaka et al. USP 8,757,791, or Kodama et al. USP 10,226,946) in view of Saitoh et al. USP 6,241,234.
Ishida (and Tanaka and Kodama) discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4-6 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Saitoh teaches the use of a processing tray (130) on which the sheet is stacked when a sorting process is performed in which the position of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction is shifted copy by copy; a pair of cursors (141,142) reciprocatable along the width direction on the processing tray, the pair of cursors lying on opposite sides of the sheet on the processing tray along the width direction; and a discharge portion (180) discharging the sheet on the processing tray to the discharge tray, wherein in the sorting process, the pair of cursors move along the width direction with the sheet on the processing tray held therebetween along the width direction so as to shift the sheet on the processing tray along the width direction, and the discharge portion discharges to the discharge tray the sheet on the processing tray thus shifted along the width direction (see at least fig.26-30; C17/L1-18).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a processing tray on which the sheet is stacked when a sorting process is performed in which the position of the sheet on the discharge tray along the width direction is shifted copy by copy; a pair of cursors reciprocatable along the width direction on the processing tray, the pair of cursors lying on opposite sides of the sheet on the processing tray along the width direction; and a discharge portion discharging the sheet on the processing tray to the discharge tray, wherein in the sorting process, the pair of cursors move along the width direction with the sheet on the processing tray held therebetween along the width direction so as to shift the sheet on the processing tray, along the width direction, and the discharge portion discharges to the discharge tray the sheet on the processing tray thus shifted along the width direction, as taught by Saitoh, in the device of Ishida (or Tanaka or Kodama), with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a post-processing to the stacked sheets and to provide a more desirable means of stacking sheets (C2/L7-9,58-67).
9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida USP 9,342,022 (or Tanaka et al. USP 8,757,791, or Kodama et al. USP 10,226,946) in view of Mandel et al. USP 5,823,529.
Ishida (and Tanaka and Kodama) discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4-6 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Mandel teaches wherein the discharge tray is reciprocatable along the top-bottom direction, the sheet discharge apparatus further comprises: a sensing portion sensing a position of a topmost one of the sheet on the discharge tray along the top-bottom direction; and a control portion controlling a position of the discharge tray along the top-bottom direction, the sensing portion includes an optical sensor of a transmission type including a light emitting portion (75) and a light receiving portion (76) disposed so as to face each other along the width direction across the sheet on the discharge tray (fig.7,8), the sensing portion changing an output thereof depending on whether light emitted from the light emitting portion to the light receiving portion is intercepted by the sheet on the discharge tray (C27/L20-44), and based on the output of the sensing portion, the control portion controls the position of the discharge tray along the top-bottom direction (C23/L59-C24/L15).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the discharge tray reciprocatable along the top-bottom direction, the sheet discharge apparatus further comprises: a sensing portion sensing a position of a topmost one of the sheet on the discharge tray along the top-bottom direction; and a control portion controlling a position of the discharge tray along the top-bottom direction, the sensing portion includes an optical sensor of a transmission type including a light emitting portion and a light receiving portion disposed so as to face each other along the width direction across the sheet on the discharge tray, the sensing portion changing an output thereof depending on whether light emitted from the light emitting portion to the light receiving portion is intercepted by the sheet on the discharge tray, and based on the output of the sensing portion, the control portion controls the position of the discharge tray along the top-bottom direction, as taught by Mandel, in the device of Ishida (or Tanaka or Kodama), with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of more accurately measuring the stack height in the discharge tray considering variations of the discharged sheets so as to prevent overfilling of the discharge tray (C3/L15-33).
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hirose (USP 9,718,284) discloses a sheet discharge apparatus comprising a discharge tray (11) and a plurality of pressing portions (31A,31D) provided to suppress a curl at the edges of a sheet (P) (see at least fig.7-9).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 11/5/2026