DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to the application number 19/216353 filed on May 22, 2025.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner's Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
Priority
This application is a continuation of prior filed application No. 17/581802 (now U.S. Patent 12,340,255) under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). which claimed priority to provisional application No. 63/173244 filed on April 9, 2021. Co-pendency between the current application and the prior application is required. Since the applications were co-pending at the time of the instant application’s file date, the applicant is entitled to the benefit claim to the prior-filed application, which was April 9, 2021. Therein the instant application is entitled to a priority date of 4/9/2021.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of non-provisional non-statutory anticipatory-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 10 and 15 – 16 of U.S. Patent 12,340,255. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patently distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to the same invention. This is a non-provisional non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have in fact been patented.
In regard to claim 1:
Application 19/216353
U.S. Patent 12,340,255
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising
implementing, by a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices operating as an isolated computing cluster that lacks a network connection to a cloud-provider network, a distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services that are configured according to a manifest, the plurality of services being implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another via a distributed virtual substrate network in accordance with the manifest, and the distributed virtual substrate network being distributed across the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices
implementing, by a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices, a plurality of distributed computing clusters that operate as respective isolated computing clusters that individually lack a network connection to a cloud-provider network, each of the plurality of distributed computing clusters implementing a respective distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services that are implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another, according to a manifest, by an intra-node switch and by a distributed virtual substrate network, the distributed virtual substrate network being dedicated to network traffic of the plurality of services and distributed across a set of cloud-computing edge devices corresponding to the respective distribute service enclave, each respective distribute service enclave implementing a respective distributed control plane that manages infrastructure components and services of a respective distributed computing cluster, a network topology of each respective distributed service enclave being predefined by the manifest;
generating, by a first service of the distributed service enclave, a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations;
generating, by a first service of the respective distributed service enclave, a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations;
transmitting, by the first service of the distributed service enclave, the message comprising the data related to the cloud-computing operations;
transmitting, by the first service of the respective distributed service enclave, the message comprising the data related to cloud-computing operations;
receiving, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services, an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network; and
receiving, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services, an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network; and
executing, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network
executing, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network.
It is clear that all of the elements of the instant application 19/216353 (herein ‘353) claim 1 are to be found in U.S. Patent 12,340,255 (herein ‘255) claims 1 (as the instant application ‘353 claim 1 fully encompasses Patent ‘255 claims 1). The difference between ‘353 claim 1 and ‘255 claim 1 lies in the fact that the ‘255 claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1 of the 255 patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of ‘353 claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the ‘353 claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 of ‘255, it is not patently distinct from ‘255 claims 1.
In regard to claim 2, see claim 4 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 3, see claim 4 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 4, see claim 2 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 5, see claim 3 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 6, see claim 1 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 7, see claim 5 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 8, see claim 1 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 9, see claim 6 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 10, see claim 7 of ‘255
In regard to claim 11, see claim 1 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 12:
Application 19/216353
U.S. Patent 12,340,255
12. A computing cluster, comprising:
8. A computing cluster, comprising
an intra-node switch; and
an intra-node switch;
a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices communicatively connected to one another via the intra-node switch, the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices individually comprising one or more processors and one or more memories storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed with the one or more processors, cause a cloud-computing edge device to:
a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices communicatively connected to one another via the intra-node switch, the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices individually comprising one or more processors and one or more memories storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed with the one or more processors, cause a cloud-computing edge device to:
implement, as part of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices operating as an isolated computing cluster that lacks a network connection to a cloud-provider network, a distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services that are configured according to a manifest, the plurality of services being implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another via a distributed virtual substrate network in accordance with the manifest, and the distributed virtual substrate network being distributed across the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices;
implement, by a plurality of distributed computing clusters comprising the computing cluster that operate as respective isolated computing clusters that individually lack a network connection to a cloud-provider network, each of the plurality of distributed computing clusters implementing a respective distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services that are implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another, according to a manifest, by the intra-node switch and by a distributed virtual substrate network, the distributed virtual substrate network being dedicated to network traffic of the plurality of services and distributed across a set of cloud computing services corresponding to the respective distributed service enclave, each respective distribute service enclave implementing a respective distributed control plane that manages infrastructure components and services of a respective distributed computing cluster, a network topology of each respective distributed service enclave being predefined by the manifest;
generate, by a first service of the distributed service enclave, a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations;
generate, by a first service of the respective distributed service enclave, a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations
transmit, by the first service of the distributed service enclave, the message comprising the data related to the cloud-computing operations;
transmit, by the first service of the respective distributed service enclave, the message comprising the data related to cloud-computing operations;
receive, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services, an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network; and
receive, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services, an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network; and
execute, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network.
execute, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network.
It is clear that all of the elements of the instant application 19/216353 (herein ‘353) claim 12 are to be found in U.S. Patent 12,340,255 (herein ‘255) claims 8 (as the instant application ‘353 claim 12 fully encompasses Patent ‘255 claims 8). The difference between ‘353 claim 12 and ‘255 claim 8 lies in the fact that the ‘255 claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 8 of the 255 patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of ‘353 claim 12. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the ‘353 claim 12 is anticipated by claims 8 of ‘255, it is not patently distinct from ‘255 claims 8
In regard to claim 13, see claim 8 of ‘255
In regard to claim 14, see claim 8 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 15, see claim 9 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 16, see claim 10 of ‘255.
In regard to claim 17:
Application 19/216353
U.S. Patent 12,340,255
17. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an edge device, causes the edge device to:
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a cloud-computing edge device, causes the cloud-computing edge device to:
implement, as part of a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices operating as an isolated computing cluster that lacks a network connection to a cloud-provider network, a distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services that are configured according to a manifest, the plurality of services being implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another via a distributed virtual substrate network in accordance with the manifest, and the distributed virtual substrate network being distributed across the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices;
implement, by the plurality of distributed computing clusters that operate as respective isolated computing clusters that individually lack a network connection to a cloud-provider network, each of the plurality of distributed computing clusters implementing a respective distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services that are implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another, according to a manifest, by an intra-node switch and by a distributed virtual substrate network, the distributed virtual substrate network being dedicated to network traffic of the plurality of services and distributed across a set of cloud computing services corresponding to the respective distributed service enclave, each respective distribute service enclave implementing a respective distributed control plane that manages infrastructure components and services of a respective distributed computing cluster, a network topology of each respective distributed service enclave being predefined by the manifest;
generate, by a first service of the distributed service enclave, a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations;
generate, by a first service of the respective distributed service enclave, a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations;
transmit, by the first service of the distributed service enclave, the message comprising the data related to the cloud-computing operations;
transmit, by the first service of the respective distributed service enclave, the message comprising the data related to cloud-computing operations;
receive, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services, an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network; and
receive, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services, an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network; and
execute, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network.
execute, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network.
It is clear that all of the elements of the instant application 19/216353 (herein ‘353) claim 17 are to be found in U.S. Patent 12,340,255 (herein ‘255) claims 15 (as the instant application ‘353 claim 17 fully encompasses Patent ‘255 claims 15). The difference between ‘353 claim 17 and ‘255 claim 15 lies in the fact that the ‘255 claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 15 of the 255 patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of ‘353 claim 17. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the ‘353 claim 17 is anticipated by claims 15 of ‘255, it is not patently distinct from ‘255 claims 15.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101 (Judicial Exception)
The claimed invention is directed to statutory subject matter and no 35 USC 101 rejection is applied for the judicial exception. The claims are directed to non-abstract improvements in computer related technology. The claimed subject matter is integrated into a practical application under Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis described in MPEP 2016.04(d). A claim is non-statutory when it is directed to a judicial exception (e.g. either one of mathematical concepts, mental processes, or certain methods of organizing human activity) without significantly more. The claimed invention is not directed to a judicial exception. Instead, the claimed invention is directed to a technological improvement to provide secure communications between services of one or more edge devices (via one or more service enclaves) by providing distributed computing devices at an edge (e.g. premise) location. The distributed service enclave comprises a plurality of services that are configured according to a manifest being implemented within respective containers and communicatively connected to one another via a virtual substrate network being dedicated to network traffic between the services, and in accordance with the manifest. Further, a first service of the service enclave generates a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations and transmits the message comprising the data related to the cloud-computing operations. An additional message may be received via the virtual substrate network by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services. The first service may execute one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the virtual substrate network. The ordered steps of the claim language impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claims and provides an improvement when it is desired to run time-sensitive cloud infrastructure application outside of a centralized data center (e.g., a datacenter of a cloud infrastructure service provider). Such an edge computing device may deliver computing and storage at the edge and/or in disconnected locations (e.g., remote locations separate from the centralized data center and lacking a public/private network connection (e.g., an Internet connection, a VPN connection, a dedicated connection, etc.) to enable low-latency processing at or near the point of data generation and ingestion. Therein the claimed invention is statutory under 35 U.S.C, 101,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5,7 -14, 16 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parulkar et al. (U.S. 2021/0168203 A1; herein referred to as Parulkar) in view of Wadhwa et al. (U.S. 2018/0054490 A1; herein referred to as Wadhwa) in further view of Brandwine et al. (U.S. 2016/0266922 A1; herein referred to as Brandwine).
In regard to claim 1, Parulkar teaches A computer-implemented method (see ¶ [0014] “ . . . methods, apparatus, systems, and non-transitory computer-readable storage media for dynamic resource movement in heterogeneous computing environments including provider substrate extensions , comprising:
implementing, by a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see ¶ [0018] “ . . . the computing resources of the cloud provider network installed within a communications service provider network are sometimes also referred to as “cloud provider network edge locations” or simply “edge locations” in that they are closer to the “edge” where end users connect to a network than computing resources in a centralized data center. Such edge locations may include one or more networked computer systems that provide customers of the cloud provider network with computing resources to serve end users with lower latency than would otherwise be achievable if those compute instances were hosted in a data center site . . . “) operating as an isolated computing cluster (see ¶ [0015] “ . . . segments of a cloud provider network—referred to herein as a provider substrate extension (or “PSE”)—can be provisioned within a network that is independent from the cloud provider network. For example, a cloud provider network typically includes a physical network (e.g., sheet metal boxes, cables, rack hardware) referred to as the substrate. The substrate can be considered as a network fabric containing the physical hardware that runs the services of the provider network. In some implementations, a provider substrate “extension” may be an extension of the cloud provider network substrate formed by one or more servers located on-premise in a customer or partner facility, at a separate cloud provider-managed facility, at a communications service provider facility, or other facility including servers wherein such server(s) communicate over a network (e.g., a publicly-accessible network such as the Internet) with a nearby availability zone or region of the cloud provider network. Customers may access a provider substrate extension via the cloud provider substrate or another network, and may use the same application programming interfaces (APIs) to create and manage resources in the provider substrate extension as they would use to create and manage resources in the region of a cloud provider network., a distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0019] “ . . . FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary system including provider network substrate extensions at which computing resources can be deployed by customers of a provider network according to some embodiments. A cloud provider network 100 (sometimes referred to simply as a “cloud”) refers to a pool of network-accessible computing resources (such as compute, storage, and networking resources, applications, and services), which may be virtualized or bare-metal. . . .”) (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0025] “ . . . the traffic and operations of the cloud provider network substrate may broadly be subdivided into two categories in various embodiments: control plane traffic carried over a logical control plane 114A and data plane operations carried over a logical data plane 116A . . . The data plane 116A includes customer resources that are implemented on the cloud provider network (e.g., computing instances, containers, block storage volumes, databases, file storage). . . “) and communicatively connected to one another via a distributed virtual substrate network (see ¶ [0016] “ . . . one example type of provider substrate extension is one that is formed by servers located on-premise in a customer or partner facility. This type of substrate extension located outside of cloud provider network data centers can be referred to as an “outpost” of the cloud provider network. Another example type of provider substrate extension is one that is formed by servers located in a facility managed by the cloud provider but that includes data plane capacity controlled at least partly by a remote/distinct control plane of the cloud provider network . . .”) (see ¶ [0040] “ . . . the PSE forms an edge location, in that it provides the resources and services of the cloud provider network outside of a traditional cloud provider data center and closer to customer devices. An edge location, as referred to herein, can be structured in several ways. In some implementations, an edge location can be an extension of the cloud provider network substrate including a limited quantity of capacity provided outside of an availability zone (e.g., in a small data center or other facility of the cloud provider that is located close to a customer workload and that may be distant from any availability zones). Such edge locations may be referred to as “far zones” (due to being far from other availability zones) or “near zones” (due to being near to customer workloads). A far zone may be connected in various ways to a publicly accessible network such as the Internet, for example directly, via another network, or via a private connection to a region. Although typically a far zone would have more limited capacity than a region, in some cases a far zone may have substantial capacity, for example thousands of racks or more . . . “);
generating, by a first service of the distributed service enclave (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0038] “ . . . customers may issue commands via the interface 104 to instantiate compute instances (and/or perform other operations using compute instances) using provider substrate extension resources in a manner analogous to the way in which such commands would be issued with respect to compute instances hosted within the cloud provider network 100. From the perspective of the customer, the customer can now seamlessly use local resources within a provider substrate extension (as well as resources located in the cloud provider network 100, if desired). The compute instances set up on a server at a provider substrate extension 102 may communicate both with electronic devices located in the same network as well as with other resources that are set up in the cloud provider network 100, as desired . . .”), a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations (see ¶ [0026] “ . . . messages (e.g., packets) sent over the cloud provider network 100 include a flag to indicate whether the traffic is control plane traffic or data plane traffic . . . “);
transmitting, by the first service of the distributed service enclave (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0038] “ . . . . A local gateway 146 can be implemented to provide network connectivity between a provider substrate extension 102 and a network associated with the extension (e.g., a communications service provider network in the example of a provider substrate extension 142) . . .”), the message comprising the data (e.g. packets) related to the cloud-computing operations (see ¶ [0023] “ . . . . A mapping service (not shown) can coordinate the routing of these network packets. The mapping service can be a regional distributed look up service that maps the combination of overlay internet protocol (IP) and network identifier to substrate IP so that the distributed substrate computing devices can look up where to send packets. . . .”);;
receiving, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0027] “ . . . . The virtualized computing service may be part of the control plane 114A, allowing customers to issue commands via an interface 104 (e.g., an API) to launch and manage compute instances (e.g., VMs, containers) for their applications. The virtualized computing service may offer virtual compute instances with varying computational and/or memory resources. In one embodiment, each of the virtual compute instances may correspond to one of several instance types. An instance type may be characterized by its hardware type, computational resources (e.g., number, type, and configuration of CPUs or CPU cores), memory resources (e.g., capacity, type, and configuration of local memory), storage resources (e.g., capacity, type, and configuration of locally accessible storage), network resources (e.g., characteristics of its network interface and/or network capabilities), and/or other suitable descriptive characteristic . . .”), an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network(see Fig. 1, ¶ [0027] “ . . . Using instance type selection functionality, an instance type may be selected for a customer, e.g., based (at least in part) on input from the customer. For example, a customer may choose an instance type from a predefined set of instance types. As another example, a customer may specify the desired resources of an instance type and/or requirements of a workload that the instance will run, and the instance type selection functionality may select an instance type based on such a specification . . . “) ; and
executing, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network. (see ¶ [0056] “ . . . the execution of edge-optimized compute instances is supported by a lightweight virtual machine manager (VMM) running on the servers 310 upon which edge-optimized compute instances are launched based on application profiles. These VMMs enable the launch of lightweight micro-virtual machines (microVMs) in fractions of a second. These VMMs can also enable container runtimes and container orchestrators to manage containers as microVMs. These microVMs nevertheless take advantage of the security and workload isolation provided by traditional VMs and the resource efficiency that comes along with containers, for example by being run as isolated processes by the VMM. . . . “).
Parulkar fails to explicitly teach
However Wadhwa teaches that lacks a network connection to a cloud-provider network, (e.g. isolated from the internet) (see Wadhwa – Figs. 1A, 2A, 2B, ¶ [0037] “ . . . , the platform engine 101 is a cluster of computing devices, a distributed computing device or a cloud-based system backend. In other aspects, one or more of the peripheral devices 130-132 may provide a user interface for accessing and operating the platform engine 101 either through any suitable long or short range wireless communication link and/or through a wired connection as described above. The platform engine 101 may be configured to receive any suitable data from the edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C. The data sent from the edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C may include or otherwise embody, for example, any suitable data related to a parking space being monitored, vehicle detection, and or a health and welfare/maintenance status of the sensing device. In other aspects, the data sent from the edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C may include or otherwise embody any suitable sensor data measuring any suitable sensor characteristic as described above with respect to sensors 11-28. In one aspect the platform engine 101 may be configured to perform any suitable processing on the data from the edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C while in other aspects the data from the edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C may be configured, e.g. without processing by the platform engine 101, for display on one or more of the peripheral devices 130-132 . . .”); see ¶ [0044] “ . . . Referring again to FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, in one aspect, the hardware and software for the edge device 120, gateway 110 and platform engine 101 each respectively define a secure system space (e.g. within the respective network link card 153, 166, 180 which may include firmware for each respective device), as well as a user defined/configurable space in the form of the virtual machines 154, 160, 181 operating within the respective network link card 153, 166, 180. The secure system space controls, for example, interactions between each respective device (e.g. the edge device 120, gateway 110 and network operations controller 101) and the network and/or low level hardware operations (e.g. controlling how physical hardware communicates with each respective device at a physical layer or device layer). The secure system space within the network link card 153, 166, 180 are secured and not changeable by an end user or an administrator. Each edge device 120, gateway 110 and the platform engine 101 further includes respective virtual machines running within the firmware, which defines a user configurable space at each device level. For example, the respective virtual machine of an edge device 120 allows for user configuration of the interface between, for example, various diverse sensor input and output. Each respective virtual machine 154, 160, 181 further provides for, for example, a common interface for user customization. The virtual machines 154, 160, 181 are thus configured to run user defined or user customized scripting, rules or code to customize the functionalities of the edge device 120, gateway 110 and the platform engine 101. User customization is possible, in one aspect, in the form of a scripting language interpreter or in the form of visual configuration as described in greater detail below. In one aspect, the secure system space defined within each respective virtual machines 154, 160, 172 of the edge device 120, gateway 110 and platform engine 101 are isolated so as to prevent end user access and abuse by buggy or malicious code within the respective virtual machines 154, 160, 172. In one aspect, the IoT edge device 120 secure system space is configured to be secured to prevent unauthorized access and the IoT edge device 120 user defined space is configured to receive and execute user defined instructions to form the distributed system of virtual machines 154. In another aspect, the secure system space of the IoT edge device 120 and the network nodes 110 is configured to be secured to prevent unauthorized access and the user defined space of the IoT edge device 120 and network node 110 is configured to receive and execute user defined instructions to form the distributed system of virtual machines 154, 160. In still another aspect, the secure system space of the IoT edge device 120, the platform engine 101 and the network nodes 110 is configured to be secured to prevent unauthorized access and the user defined space of the IoT edge device 120, the platform engine 101 and network node 110 is configured to receive and execute user defined instructions to form the distributed system of virtual machines 154, 160, 172 . . .”); see ¶¶ [0132-0134] “ . . . Referring to FIGS. 2A, 2B, 15, 16 and 21, prior to initialization of the IoT platform system 100, an isolated vault 190V cluster is provisioned (FIG. 21, Block 2100) on a predetermined number of servers 1500A-1500C (here there are three servers but in other aspects there may be more or less than three servers). These servers 1500A-1500C are completely isolated from the Internet to protect against any remote hacking attacks on the isolated vault 190V cluster from the Internet. A predetermined number of administrators ADM1-ADM5 are also selected. Five administrators ADM1-ADM5 are illustrated in FIG. 15 but in other aspects there may be more or less than five administrators. A set of one or more master keys MSK1-MSK5 is created (FIG. 21, Block 2105) and secured in a remote location 1600 (FIG. 21, Block 2110). For example, the one or more master keys MSK1-MSK5 are each stored on a respective secure universal serial bus device 1510-1514 (or other suitable computer readable media) that are encrypted with any suitable password and hardware encryption. The set of one or more master keys MSK1-MSK5 seals the isolated vault 190V cluster. In one aspect, each of the administrators is assigned a respective master key MSK1-MSK5 where a majority of the administrators is desired to unseal the isolated vault 190V, while one or more administrators is desired to be present to seal the isolated vault 190V. In one aspect, the servers 1500A-1500C are configured to receive information through serial ports (or other suitable communicable connection). Here another server 1500D is coupled to the servers 1500A-1500C and provides an interface between the remote secured locations (e.g., the secure universal serial bus device 1510-1514) and the isolated vault 190V cluster. The server 1500D may prevent an infected secure universal serial bus (USB) device 1510-1514 from affecting the isolated vault 190V cluster due to, for example, a predetermined serial communication protocol between the server 1500D and the isolated vault 190V cluster. The key generation unit 190K is created. The at least one principal or common (e.g., master) key MK1-MK is stored in a secure storage 190KS (e.g., a hardware based cryptologic memory) of the key generation unit 190K. In one aspect, a USB cable is coupled to the key generation unit 190K and when the key generation unit 190K is coupled to a server, the key generation unit 190K appears as a serial device. The common keys MK1-MK5 and the set of one or more master keys MSK1-MSK5 are stored in the secured remote location 1600. Referring to FIGS. 2A, 2B, 15, 19 and 21, in one aspect, the IoT platform system 100 can be initialized on a networked server 1550 or on a cloud infrastructure 1900. As described above, the IoT platform system 100 includes multiple IoT platform edge devices 120 communicably coupled for bidirectional communication with multiple IoT platform communication network nodes 110. The IoT platform engine 101 is communicably coupled for bidirectional communication with the IoT platform communication network nodes 110, and via therewith communicably coupled for bidirectional communication with the IoT platform edge devices 120. An engine vault 101EV1-101EVn cluster is provisioned and initialized (FIG. 21, Block 2115). The engine vault 101EV1-101EVn cluster is also sealed with the master keys MK1-MK5 and can be unsealed with a majority of the master keys MK1-MK5. The engine vault 101EV1-101EVn cluster is desired to be accessible within a virtual private network (VPN) or virtual private cloud (VPC) to isolate the engine vault 101EV1-101EVn cluster where each engine vault 101EV1-101EVn may be geographically separated from one another for fault tolerance. The engine vault 101EV1-101EVn cluster may be used to manage and authenticate users (which users may include administrators) (FIG. 21) . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to incorporate a method and system that is directed to distributed intelligent remote sensing systems that comprise a platform engine in communication with one or more gateways, the gateways comprising a plurality of edge devices that forms an isolated computing cluster for the distributed system of virtual machines, as taught by Wadhwa, into systems, devices, and methods for providing substrate extensions of the cloud provider network to edge devices, the substrate extensions supporting isolated access of cloud resources located on the edge device, as taught by Parulkar. Such incorporation enables that certain services running between the edge devices can be isolated from the cloud.
The combination of Parulkar and Wadhwa fails to explicitly teach,
However Brandwine teaches that are configured according to a manifest (see Brandwine ¶ [0084] “ . . With reference now to FIGS. 8-13 various embodiments for the management of hosted virtual machine networks utilizing service manifests will be described. With reference to FIGS. 8 and 9, a simplified block diagram of the substrate network 100 of FIG. 1 will be described for purposes of illustrating the interaction between various components of the substrate network . . .”). ,
in accordance with the manifest (see Brandwine ¶ [0089] “ . . “ . . . the substrate network 100, such as the simplified substrate network illustrated in FIG. 8, obtains service manifest information from the functionality providers 806 or otherwise generates service manifest information. Illustratively, the service manifest information can include information utilized by the functionality providers 806 for configuration of the hosted virtual machine network 800 or in the utilization of the services or components by the hosted virtual machine network 800. Such configuration information will be generally referred to as configuration information. Illustratively, the configuration information can include, but is not limited to, network address information, proxy address information, DNS zone information, RPT information, network topology information, and the like. The configuration information can include information that is required in order to have a hosted virtual machine network instantiated or for a service or component to provide requested functionality to a hosted virtual machine network. Still further, the configuration information can include the specification of delegation information for delegating authority to specify/instantiate additional services or components. . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to incorporate a method and system for managing the configuration and security policies of hosted virtual machine networks that establish service manifests which provide information for substrate network process requests or independently instantiate services or components in accordance with the configuration information and security risk information included in the processed service manifest, as taught by Brandwine, into a method and system for providing substrate extensions of the cloud provider network to edge devices, the substrate extensions supporting isolated access of cloud resources located on the edge device, and the edge devices forms an isolated computing cluster for the distributed system of virtual machines, as taught by the combination of Parulkar and Wadhwa. Such incorporation provides that the service enclave can enable services similar to a cloud service through a service manifest.
In regard to claim 2, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the message is transmitted by a first cloud-computing edge device (e.g. Source edge) of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices to a second cloud-computing edge device (e.g. destination edge) of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see Parulkar ¶ [0077] “ . . . Techniques for various types of migration involve managing the critical phase—the time when the virtual machine instance is unavailable to the customer—which should be kept as short as possible. In the presently disclosed migration techniques this can be especially challenging, as resources are being moved between hosts in geographically separate locations which may be connected over one or more intermediate networks. For live migration, the disclosed techniques can dynamically determine an amount of memory state data to pre-copy (e.g., while the instance is still running on the source host) and to post-copy (e.g., after the instance begins running on the destination host), based for example on latency between the locations, network bandwidth/usage patterns, and/or on which memory pages are used most frequently by the instance. Further, a particular time at which the memory state data is transferred can be dynamically determined based on conditions of the network between the locations. This analysis may be performed by a migration management component in the region, or by a migration management component running locally in the source edge location. If the instance has access to virtualized storage, both the source domain and target domain can be simultaneously attached to the storage to enable uninterrupted access to its data during the migration and in the case that rollback to the source domain is required. . . “)
In regard to claim 3, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches further comprising encrypting the message prior to transmitting the message from the first cloud-computing edge device to the second cloud-computing edge device(see Parulkar ¶ [0039] “ . . . the data within the PSE may be encrypted with a unique key, and the cloud provider can limit keys from being shared from the region to the PSE for security reasons. Accordingly, data exchanged between the object store servers and the object gateway may utilize encryption, decryption, and/or re-encryption in order to preserve security boundaries with respect to encryption keys or other sensitive data. The transformation intermediary can perform these operations, and a PSE bucket can be created (on the object store servers) to store snapshot and machine image data using the PSE encryption key. . . .”)
In regard to claim 5, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the plurality of services comprise a gateway service that enables communication between a client device and the plurality of services (see Parulkar ¶ [0021] “ . . . users (e.g., users 138) can connect to virtualized computing devices and other cloud provider network 100 resources and services using various interfaces 104 (e.g., APIs) via intermediate network(s) 136. An API refers to an interface and/or communication protocol between a client (e.g., an electronic device 134) and a server, such that if the client makes a request in a predefined format, the client should receive a response in a specific format or cause a defined action to be initiated. In the cloud provider network context, APIs provide a gateway for customers to access cloud infrastructure by allowing customers to obtain data from or cause actions within the cloud provider network, enabling the development of applications that interact with resources and services hosted in the cloud provider network. APIs can also enable different services of the cloud provider network to exchange data with one another. Users can choose to deploy their virtual computing systems to provide network-based services for their own use and/or for use by their customers or clients . . .”).
In regard to claim 7, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein each of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices comprise a security module that is configured to encrypt traffic between the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see Wadhwa ¶ [0035] “ . . . The platform engine 101 includes any suitable controller capable of communicating with and controlling the one or more gateways 110A-110C (and edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C of the edge device groups 120GP-122GP in communication with the one or more gateways 110A-110C) and the one or more peripheral devices 130-132. In one aspect, the platform engine 101 is configured to use any suitable wireless or wired communication interface link that extends from the edge device groups 120GP-122GP (and their respective edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C, 122A-C) and the gateways 110A-110C to the platform engine 101 and from the platform engine 101 to the peripheral devices 130-132. In one aspect, it is noted that the interface link may include a single communication protocol or a combination of different communication protocols. In one aspect, the wireless or wired communication interface link between the edge device groups 120GP-122GP, the gateways 110A-110C and the platform engine 101 is encrypted and closed to third parties to minimized potential for hacking or interception of communications between the edge devices 120A-C, 121A-C and 122A-C, the gateways 110A-C, the platform engine 101 and the peripheral devices 130-132. . . .”).
The motivation to combine Wadhwa with the combination of Parulkar and Brandwine s described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Wadhwa provides the encryption of traffic between the edge devices, when the edge devices have encryption/decryption capability.
In regard to claim 8, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein at least two edge devices of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices implement a distributed control plane that performs operations related to managing infrastructure components and services at the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices of the isolated computing cluster (see Parulkar ¶ [0060] “ . . . Data plane traffic originating from the provider substrate extension 300 can have a number of different destinations. For example, traffic addressed to a destination in the data plane 116A of the cloud provider network 100 can be routed via the data plane connection between the provider substrate extension 300 and the cloud provider network 100. The local network manager 318 can receive a packet from a compute instance 312 addressed to, for example, another compute instance in the cloud provider network 100 and encapsulate the packet with a destination as the substrate IP address of the server hosting the other compute instance before sending it to the cloud provider network 100 (e.g., via a direct connection or tunnel). . . the local network manager 318 can address the packet to a relay in the cloud provider network 200 that can send the packet to the other provider substrate extension 322 via its data plane connection (not shown) to the cloud provider network 100. Similarly, for traffic from a compute instance 312 address to a location outside of the CSP network 302 or the cloud provider network 100 (e.g., on the internet), if the CSP network components 320 permit routing to the internet, the local network manager 318 can encapsulate the packet with a source IP address corresponding to the IP address in the carrier address space assigned to the compute instance 312. Otherwise, the local network manager 318 can send the packet to an Internet Gateway in the cloud provider network 100 that can provide Internet connectivity for the compute instance 312. For traffic from a compute instance 312 addressed to an electronic device 304, the local gateway 316 can use Network Address Translation (NAT) to change the source IP address of the packet from an address in an address space of the cloud provider network to an address space of the carrier network. . . “)
In regard to claim 9, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein a first cloud-computing edge device of the distributed control plane performs operations related to managing infrastructure components and services of a second cloud-computing edge device of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices.(see Wadhwa Fig. 1 ¶ [0040] “ . . . the Internet of things (IoT) platform system 100 may incorporate any suitable edge devices types such as, for example, thermocouples, moisture sensors, radiation or chemical sensors, light sensors, magnetometers, radars, vibration sensors, accelerometers, air quality sensors, electromagnetic emission sensors, motion sensors, capacity sensors, cameras and infrared sensors that may be used in conjunction with the edge devices of the edge device groups 120GP-122GP. Information from the sensors may be used in conjunction with the data provided by the other sensing devices associated with the edge device groups 120GP-122GP to track environmental or infrastructure conditions to provide a holistic (e.g. interconnected and integrated) management of data from sensors 11-28. . . .”).
The motivation to combine Wadhwa with the combination of Parulkar and Brandwine is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein. Additionally Wadhwa provides management of infrastructure between the sedge devices.
In regard to claim 10, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein a single cloud-computing edge device of the isolated computing cluster is configured to connect with a client device (see Parulkar ¶ [0021] “ . . . users (e.g., users 138) can connect to virtualized computing devices and other cloud provider network 100 resources and services using various interfaces 104 (e.g., APIs) via intermediate network(s) 136. An API refers to an interface and/or communication protocol between a client (e.g., an electronic device 134) and a server, such that if the client makes a request in a predefined format, the client should receive a response in a specific format or cause a defined action to be initiated. In the cloud provider network context, APIs provide a gateway for customers to access cloud infrastructure by allowing customers to obtain data from or cause actions within the cloud provider network, enabling the development of applications that interact with resources and services hosted in the cloud provider network. APIs can also enable different services of the cloud provider network to exchange data with one another. Users can choose to deploy their virtual computing systems to provide network-based services for their own use and/or for use by their customers or clients . . .”), and
wherein the single cloud-computing edge device is further configured to propagate data received from the client device to at least one additional cloud-computing edge device of the isolated computing cluster (see Parulkar ¶ [0087] “ . . some examples of cloud provider resource movement policies 525 may be implemented, such as a resource utilization policy 605, a failure policy 610, a defragmentation policy 615, etc. A resource utilization policy 605 may indicate, for example, that a relatively unused set of application resources—such as a compute instance that is inactive for some period of time, or does not have a threshold amount of network connections or traffic transiting to wireless end user clients, etc.—may be moved out of certain locations (e.g., “edge” PSEs such as those located in RANs or aggregation networks of communications service provider networks), e.g., as those locations may be highly resource constrained and have high demand from more active users. A resource utilization policy 605 may alternatively indicate that when a particular execution environment (e.g., a single PSE) has remaining capacity available that falls beneath a threshold while a similar execution environment has remaining capacity available that is above that threshold (or an even higher threshold), some application resources may be moved away from the heavily-loaded execution environment. . . .”)., and
the distributed virtual substrate network being dedicated to network traffic between services of the plurality of services (see Parulkar ¶ [0034] “ . . . Server software running at a provider substrate extension 102 may be designed by the cloud provider to run on the cloud provider substrate network, and this software may be enabled to run unmodified in a provider substrate extension 102 by using local network manager(s) 128 to create a private replica of the substrate network within the edge location (a “shadow substrate”). The local network manager(s) 128 can run on provider substrate extension 102 servers and bridge the shadow substrate with the provider substrate extension 102 network, for example, by acting as a virtual private network (VPN) endpoint or endpoints between the provider substrate extension 102 and the proxies 130, 132 in the cloud provider network 100 and by implementing the mapping service (for traffic encapsulation and decapsulation) to relate data plane traffic (from the data plane proxies) and control plane traffic (from the control plane proxies) to the appropriate server(s). By implementing a local version of the provider network's substrate-overlay mapping service, the local network manager(s) 128 allow resources in the provider substrate extension 102 to seamlessly communicate with resources in the cloud provider network 100.
In regard to claim 11, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the distributed virtual substrate network is dedicated to network traffic between services of the plurality of services (see Parulkar ¶ [0035] “ . . . Provider substrate extension locations can utilize secure networking tunnels through the provider substrate extension 102 network to the cloud provider network 100, for example, to maintain security of customer data when traversing the provider substrate extension 102 network and any other intermediate network (which may include the public internet). Within the cloud provider network 100, these tunnels are composed of virtual infrastructure components including isolated virtual networks (e.g., in the overlay network), control plane proxies 130, data plane proxies 132, and substrate network interfaces. Such proxies may be implemented as containers running on compute instances. In some embodiments, each server in a provider substrate extension 102 location that hosts compute instances can utilize at least two tunnels: one for control plane traffic (e.g., Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP) traffic) and one for encapsulated data plane traffic. A connectivity manager (not shown) within the cloud provider network manages the cloud provider network-side lifecycle of these tunnels and their components, for example, by provisioning them automatically when needed and maintaining them in a healthy operating state. In some embodiments, a direct connection between a provider substrate extension 102 location and the cloud provider network 100 can be used for control and data plane communications. As compared to a VPN through other networks, the direct connection can provide constant bandwidth and more consistent network performance because of its relatively fixed and stable network path. . . .”).
In regard to claim 12, Parulkar teaches A computing cluster(see ¶ [0016] “ . . . one example type of provider substrate extension is one that is formed by servers located on-premise in a customer or partner facility. This type of substrate extension located outside of cloud provider network data centers can be referred to as an “outpost” of the cloud provider network. Another example type of provider substrate extension is one that is formed by servers located in a facility managed by the cloud provider but that includes data plane capacity controlled at least partly by a remote/distinct control plane of the cloud provider network . . . “) , comprising:
an intra-node switch (see ¶ [0059] “ . . . in some embodiments of a provider substrate extension 300, the extension includes one or more switches, sometimes referred to top of rack (TOR) switches (e.g., in rack-based embodiments) . . .”) ; and
a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices communicatively connected to one another via the intra-node switch (see ¶ [0059] “ . . The TOR switches are connected to CSP network routers (e.g., CSP network components 320), such as Provider Edge (PE) or Software Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN) routers. Each TOR switch can include an uplink Link Aggregation (LAG) interface to the CSP network router supporting multiple physical links per LAG (e.g., 1G/10G/40G/100G). The links can run Link Aggregation Control Protocol (LACP) and be configured as IEEE802.1q trunks to enable multiple VLANs over the same interface. Such a LACP-LAG configuration allows an edge location management entity of the control plane of the cloud provider network 200 to add more peering links to an edge location without adjustments to routing. Each of the TOR switches can establish eBGP sessions with the carrier PE or SD-WAN routers. . . .”), the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices individually comprising one or more processors and one or more memories storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed with the one or more processors (see ¶ [0108] “ . . . FIG. 8 is a flow diagram illustrating operations of a method for dynamic resource movement in heterogeneous computing environments including provider substrate extensions according to some embodiments. Some or all of the operations 800 (or other processes described herein, or variations, and/or combinations thereof) are performed under the control of one or more computer systems configured with executable instructions and are implemented as code (e.g., executable instructions, one or more computer programs, or one or more applications) executing collectively on one or more processors, by hardware or combinations thereof. The code is stored on a computer-readable storage medium, for example, in the form of a computer program comprising instructions executable by one or more processors. . . .”) , cause a cloud-computing edge device to:
implement, as part of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see ¶ [0018] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) operating as an isolated computing cluster (see ¶ [0015] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) , a distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services(see Fig. 1 ¶ [0019] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0025] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) and communicatively connected to one another via a distributed virtual substrate network (see ¶ [0016] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)virtual substrate network being distributed across the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see ¶ [0040] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
generate, by a first service of the distributed service enclave (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0038] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein), a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations (see ¶ [0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
transmit, by the first service of the distributed service enclave (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0038] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) , the message comprising the data (e.g. packets) related to the cloud-computing operations (see ¶ [0023] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
receive, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0027] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein), an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0027] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein); and
execute, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network (see ¶ [0056] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
Parulkar fails to explicitly teach
However Wadhwa teaches that lacks a network connection to a cloud-provider network, (e.g. isolated from the internet) (see Wadhwa – Figs. 1A, 2A, 2B, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], ¶¶ [0132-0134] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Wadhwa with Parulkar is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
The combination of Parulkar and Wadhwa fails to explicitly teach,
However Brandwine teaches that are configured according to a manifest (see Brandwine ¶ [0084] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
in accordance with the manifest (see Brandwine ¶ [0089] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Brandwine with the combination of Parulkar and Wadhwa is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 13, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein a network topology of the distributed service enclave is predefined (see Parulkar ¶ [0031] “ . . . The provider substrate extension 102 may be pre-configured, e.g. by the cloud provider network operator, with an appropriate combination of hardware with software and/or firmware elements to support various types of computing-related resources, and to do so in a manner that mirrors the experience of using the cloud provider network . . . “).
In regard to claim 14, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the distributed service enclave comprises a first service enclave(see Parulkar Fig 3 ¶ [0052] “ . . . FIG. 3 illustrates in greater detail exemplary components of and connectivity between a provider substrate extension associated with a communications service provider and a cloud provider network according to some embodiments. A provider substrate extension 300 provides resources and services of the cloud provider network within a CSP network 302 thereby extending functionality of the cloud provider network 100 to be closer to end user devices 304 connected to the CSP network. . . .) of a plurality of service enclaves(see Parulkar Fig. 3 322 ¶ [0060] “ . . . For traffic from a compute instance 312 addressed to another compute instance hosted in another provider substrate extension 322, the local network manager 318 can encapsulate the packet with a destination as the IP address assigned to the other provider substrate extension 322, thereby allowing the CSP network components 320 to handle the routing of the packet . . . “) , respective service enclaves of the plurality of service enclaves being implemented by a respective cloud-computing edge device of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices(see Parulkar ¶ [0060] “ . . . Data plane traffic originating from the provider substrate extension 300 can have a number of different destinations. For example, traffic addressed to a destination in the data plane 116A of the cloud provider network 100 can be routed via the data plane connection between the provider substrate extension 300 and the cloud provider network 100. The local network manager 318 can receive a packet from a compute instance 312 addressed to, for example, another compute instance in the cloud provider network 100 and encapsulate the packet with a destination as the substrate IP address of the server hosting the other compute instance before sending it to the cloud provider network 100 (e.g., via a direct connection or tunnel). . . “) that implement a distributed control plane of a distributed computing cluster (see Parulkar ¶ [0060] “ . . . , the local network manager 318 can address the packet to a relay in the cloud provider network 200 that can send the packet to the other provider substrate extension 322 via its data plane connection (not shown) to the cloud provider network 100. Similarly, for traffic from a compute instance 312 address to a location outside of the CSP network 302 or the cloud provider network 100 (e.g., on the internet), if the CSP network components 320 permit routing to the internet, the local network manager 318 can encapsulate the packet with a source IP address corresponding to the IP address in the carrier address space assigned to the compute instance 312. Otherwise, the local network manager 318 can send the packet to an Internet Gateway in the cloud provider network 100 that can provide Internet connectivity for the compute instance 312. For traffic from a compute instance 312 addressed to an electronic device 304, the local gateway 316 can use Network Address Translation (NAT) to change the source IP address of the packet from an address in an address space of the cloud provider network to an address space of the carrier network. . . “) , the plurality of service enclaves being communicatively connected via the intra-node switch (e.g. top of rack switch) (see Parulkar ¶ [0059] “ . . . the extension includes one or more switches, sometimes referred to top of rack (TOR) switches (e.g., in rack-based embodiments). The TOR switches are connected to CSP network routers (e.g., CSP network components 320), such as Provider Edge (PE) or Software Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN) routers. Each TOR switch can include an uplink Link Aggregation (LAG) interface to the CSP network router supporting multiple physical links per LAG (e.g., 1G/10G/40G/100G). The links can run Link Aggregation Control Protocol (LACP) and be configured as IEEE802.1q trunks to enable multiple VLANs over the same interface. Such a LACP-LAG configuration allows an edge location management entity of the control plane of the cloud provider network 200 to add more peering links to an edge location without adjustments to routing . . . “).
In regard to claim 16, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the plurality of services comprise a gateway service that enables communication between a client device and the plurality of services (see Parulkar ¶ [0021] as described for the rejection of claim 5 and is incorporated herein).
In regard to claim 17, Parulkar teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an edge device(see ¶ [0108] “ . . . FIG. 8 is a flow diagram illustrating operations of a method for dynamic resource movement in heterogeneous computing environments including provider substrate extensions according to some embodiments. Some or all of the operations 800 (or other processes described herein, or variations, and/or combinations thereof) are performed under the control of one or more computer systems configured with executable instructions and are implemented as code (e.g., executable instructions, one or more computer programs, or one or more applications) executing collectively on one or more processors, by hardware or combinations thereof. The code is stored on a computer-readable storage medium, for example, in the form of a computer program comprising instructions executable by one or more processors. . . .”) , causes the edge device to:
implement, as part of a plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see ¶ [0018] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) operating as an isolated computing cluster(see ¶ [0015] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein), a distributed service enclave comprising a plurality of services (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0019] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0025] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) and communicatively connected to one another via a distributed virtual substrate network (see ¶ [0016] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)(see ¶ [0040] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
generate, by a first service of the distributed service enclave (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0038] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein), a message comprising data related to cloud-computing operations (see ¶ [0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
transmit, by the first service of the distributed service enclave (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0038] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) , the message comprising the data (e.g. packets) related to the cloud-computing operations (see ¶ [0023] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein); ;
receive, by the first service from a second service of the plurality of services (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0027] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein), an additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network (see Fig. 1, ¶ [0027] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) ; and
execute, by the first service, one or more operations based at least in part on receiving the additional message via the distributed virtual substrate network (see ¶ [0056] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
Parulkar fails to explicitly teach
However Wadhwa teaches that lacks a network connection to a cloud-provider network, (e.g. isolated from the internet) (see Wadhwa – Figs. 1A, 2A, 2B, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], ¶¶ [0132-0134] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Wadhwa with Parulkar is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
The combination of Parulkar and Wadhwa fails to explicitly teach,
However Brandwine teaches that are configured according to a manifest (see Brandwine ¶ [0084] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
in accordance with the manifest (see Brandwine ¶ [0089] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Brandwine with the combination of Parulkar and Wadhwa is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 18, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the distributed service enclave comprises a first service enclave (see Parulkar Fig 3 ¶ [0052] as described for the rejection of claim 14 and is incorporated herein) of a plurality of service enclaves (see Parulkar Fig. 3 322 ¶ [0060] as described for the rejection of claim 14 and is incorporated herein) , respective service enclaves of the plurality of service enclaves being implemented by a respective cloud-computing edge device of the plurality of cloud-computing edge devices (see Parulkar ¶ [0060] as described for the rejection of claim 14 and is incorporated herein) that implement a distributed control plane of a distributed computing cluster (see Parulkar ¶ [0060] as described for the rejection of claim 14 and is incorporated herein) , the plurality of service enclaves being communicatively connected via an intra-node switch (e.g. top of rack switch) (see Parulkar ¶ [0059] as described for the rejection of claim 14 and is incorporated herein).
In regard to claim 20, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine teaches wherein the distributed virtual substrate network is dedicated to network traffic between services of the plurality of services (see Parulkar ¶ [0035] as described for the rejection of claim 11 and is incorporated herein).
Claims 4, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parulkar et al. (U.S. 2021/0168203 A1; herein referred to as Parulkar) ) in view of Wadhwa et al. (U.S. 2018/0054490 A1; herein referred to as Wadhwa) in further view of Brandwine et al. (U.S. 2016/0266922 A1; herein referred to as Brandwine) as applied to claims 1 – 3, 5,7 -14, 16 – 18, and 20 in further view of Rolando et al. (U.S. 2021/0314423 A1; herein referred to as Rolando).
In regard to claim 4, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine fails to explicitly teach,
However Rolando teaches wherein the network traffic between the plurality of services of the first service enclave is unencrypted(see ¶ [0215] “ . . . For traffic exiting a logical network through a particular VTI, some embodiments perform a service classification operation for different data messages to identify different VTIs that connect the edge forwarding element to a service node to provide services required by the data messages. Each data message, in some embodiments, is then forwarded to the identified VTI to receive the required service (e.g., from the service node connected to the edge forwarding element through the VTI). The identified VTI does not perform a service classification operation and merely allows the data message to reach the service node. The service node then returns the serviced data message to the edge forwarding element. In some embodiments, the VTI is not configured to perform the service classification operation and is instead configured to mark all traffic directed to the edge forwarding element from the service node as having been serviced. The marked serviced data message is then received at the edge forwarding element and is forwarded to a destination of the data message through the particular VTI. In some embodiments, the particular VTI does not perform additional service insertion operations because the data message is marked as having been serviced . . . “) , and wherein external network traffic (e.g. tunneled data messages) between the plurality of service enclaves of the plurality of service enclaves is encrypted (see ¶ [0216] “ . . . the service classification operation is implemented separately from a service classification operation for non-tunneled traffic received at an uplink interface of the edge forwarding element. The different implementation, in some embodiments, is due to the fact that the tunneled data messages are received at the uplink interface in an encapsulated and encrypted format that, if processed by the uplink service classification operation would result in an incorrect service classification (e.g., an incorrect identification of a necessary set of services and forwarding information for the underlying (encapsulated) data message flow). Therefore, some embodiments, implement a service classification operation as part of the VTI datapath after an incoming data message has been decapsulated (and decrypted, if necessary) or for outgoing data messages before encryption and encapsulation . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s application to incorporate systems, devices, and methods for providing a set of services at an edge device where multiple services are required for a particular operation and some services are in the cloud but other services are at the edge, where the message transporting data for the services at the edge are not encrypted but messages using tunnels to access services to the cloud are encrypted, as taught by Rolando, into systems, devices, and methods for providing substrate extensions of the cloud provider network to edge devices, the substrate extensions supporting isolated access of cloud resources located on the edge device, and the edge devices forms an isolated computing cluster for the distributed system of virtual machines, that is managed through service manifests as taught by the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine. Such incorporation enables a system that can share the communication of services between an edge device and the cloud infrastructure using secure encryption.
In regard to claim 15, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, Brandwine , and Rolando teaches wherein the network traffic between the plurality of services of the first service enclave is unencrypted (see Rolando ¶ [0215] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein), and wherein external network traffic (e.g. tunneled data messages) between the plurality of service enclaves of the plurality of service enclaves is encrypted (see Rolando ¶ [0216] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Rolando with the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine is described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 19, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, Brandwine , and Rolando wherein the network traffic between the plurality of services of the first service enclave is unencrypted (see ¶ [0215] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein), and wherein external network traffic (e.g. tunneled data messages) between the plurality of service enclaves of the plurality of service enclaves is encrypted (see ¶ [0216] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Rolando with the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine is described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parulkar et al. (U.S. 2021/0168203 A1; herein referred to as Parulkar) ) in view of Wadhwa et al. (U.S. 2018/0054490 A1; herein referred to as Wadhwa) in further view of Brandwine et al. (U.S. 2016/0266922 A1; herein referred to as Brandwine) as applied to claims 1 – 3, 5,7 -14, 16 – 18, and 20 in further view of Smith II et al. (U.S. 2018/0004953 A1; herein referred to as Smith)
In regard to claim 6, the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine fails to explicitly teach,
However Smith teaches In regard to claim 6, wherein the distributed service enclave is protected (see ¶ [0004]” . . . Secure hardware may be provided, including a hardware security module coupled to or integrated with a processor of the industrial control system to provide a hardware root-of-trust. Similarly, secure firmware associated with a secure boot may be provided such that the processor executes a trusted operating system, wherein the secure boot mechanism includes one or more of a measured boot, a trusted boot, and a protected boot. Objects may be accessed via secure data storage, and data may be exchanged via secure communications in accordance with information stored in the hardware security model. . . .”) with a secure boot framework (see Fig. 9, ¶ [0060]” . . . FIG. 9 illustrates network security services 900 according to some embodiments. A number of elements 910 may be associated with a network 950 including a primary directory, a backup directory, a RADIUS authentication, a security manager, a certificate authority, a global discovery, data historian, event monitoring, intrusion detection, remote attestation, firewall, etc. A device 962 coupled to the network might include a TPM, a secure boot, a run-time, and secure controller (e.g., associated with Windows, VxWorks, QNX, Linux, etc.). Similarly, a device 964 might include a hypervisor associated with multiple secure virtual machines and a device 966 includes an engineering workstation and tools. In order for a device to function in a distributed ICS, various networking security services may support the deployment of a hardened ICS controller in the overall ICS. These services typically include Public Key Infrastructure (“PKI”) services, directory services, network and device authentication services, attestation services, Security Incident and Event Monitoring (“SI & EM”) services, etc. . . .”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s application to incorporate systems, devices, and methods for securing the operation of a distributed system using a secure boot mechanism, as taught by Smith, into systems, devices, and methods for providing substrate extensions of the cloud provider network to edge devices, the substrate extensions supporting isolated access of cloud resources located on the edge device, and the edge devices forms an isolated computing cluster for the distributed system of virtual machines, that is managed through service manifests as taught by the combination of Parulkar, Wadhwa, and Brandwine. Such incorporation enables that a secure mechanism is enables at startup of any process running in the edge devices.
Conclusion
There are prior art made of record which are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. They are listed on the PTO-892 accompanying this action.
/JAMES N FIORILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444