DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 5/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a drain pump fixing member” in claim 1, “a rotation suppression part” in claim 2, “a UV radiation unit” and a UV radiation unit fixing member” in claim 3, “a water level detection unit” in claim 4.
“a drain pump fixing member” corresponds to the structure described in paragraph 0047;
“a rotation suppression part” corresponds to a rotation suppression groove 301g and the rotation suppression rib 302g as described in paragraph 0070;
“a UV radiation unit” corresponds to UV radiation device 20 includes a light source that is capable of emitting ultraviolet light, such as a UV light emitting diode (LED), and a substrate for controlling emission of light from the light source as described in paragraph 0033;
a UV radiation unit fixing member” corresponds to a joint part 101 as described in paragraph 0034; and
“a water level detection unit” a float switch as describe in paragraph 0042.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fushimi et al (US 20180195790).
Regarding claim 1, Fushimi teaches an indoor unit (100) of an air conditioner (air conditioner, paragraph 0026), the indoor unit comprising: an air inlet port (6) for suctioning air inside a room (room, fig. 1, paragraph 0031); a heat exchanger (4) for exchanging heat with the air suctioned from the air inlet port; an air outlet port (7) for blowing the air after heat exchange by the heat exchanger out to the room; a drain pan (5) provided below the heat exchanger, the drain pan being for receiving water generated at the heat exchanger (paragraph 0031); a drain pump (14) for discharging water collected in the drain pan (paragraph 0037); and a drain pump fixing member (16) for fixing the drain pump, wherein the drain pump fixing member is attached in a manner sandwiching a fixing part (unnumbered attachment of 14 to 12, figs. 3-7) to which the drain pump is fixed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushimi et al (US 20180195790).
Regarding claim 2, Fushimi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach a rotation suppression part for suppressing rotation of the drain pump fixing member at the fixing part to which the drain pump is fixed.
However, Fushimi a rotation suppression part (unnumbered attachment of 14 to 12 would be understood to prevent rotation, figs. 3-7) for suppressing rotation of the drain pump fixing member at the fixing part to which the drain pump is fixed.
Further, it is understood, claim 2 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…for suppressing rotation...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fushimi et al (US 20180195790) in view of Akiyama et al (US 2021.
Regarding claim 3, Fushimi teaches the limitations of claim 3 including an antimicrobial unit (15) and a UV radiation unit fixing member (unnumbered bracket for 15) for fixing the UV radiation unit, wherein the UV radiation unit fixing member is fixed to a fixing part where the drain pump is fixed (figs. 3-7), together with the drain pump but fails to explicitly teach a UV radiation unit for radiating ultraviolet light to a water reservoir provided at a part, of the drain pan, positioned below the drain pump. See rejection of claim 1.
However, Akiyama teaches a UV radiation unit (80) for radiating ultraviolet light to a water reservoir (48) provided at a part, of the drain pan, positioned below the drain pump (51, figs. 6-7) to avoid clogging of a pump or port and reduce unpleasant odors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the indoor unit of Fushimi to include a UV radiation unit for radiating ultraviolet light to a water reservoir provided at a part, of the drain pan, positioned below the drain pump in view of the teachings of Akiyama to avoid clogging of a pump or port and reduce unpleasant odors.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach a water level detection unit (17 of Fushimi) for detecting a water level inside the drain pan (paragraph 0042 of Fushimi), wherein: the UV radiation unit fixing member is further capable of fixing the water level detection unit (paragraph 0049, fig. 4 of Fushimi).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the drain pump is switched between an operation state and a stopped state during radiation of ultraviolet light by the UV radiation unit.
However, one of ordinary would recognize when drain pump (14 of Fushimi, or51 of Akiyama) would operate based on water in the drain pan and would go between operating and stopping while 80 of Akiyama is radiating to reduce clogging or unpleasant odors.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach a water level detection unit (17 of Fushimi) for detecting a water level inside the drain pan (paragraph 0042 of Fushimi), wherein: the UV radiation unit is provided at a position higher than an upper limit of a detection range of the water level detection unit and lower than an upper end of the drain pan (fig. 4 of Fushimi).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763