DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10-15-2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are pending.
For compliance with 37 CFR 1.121, the applicant is advised the text of a canceled claim should not be included in the claim listing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al. (US#5956825) in view of Bovard et al. (US#2005/0268440).
Regarding claim 1, McCoy discloses a funeral service container 10 comprising: a casket 20, the casket having a lid 40 hingedly connected thereto via at least one hinge located along one side 30 thereof (col. 7, lines 31-33), and the lid being hingedly movable to open and to close the casket; a box 25 residing in the casket, the box having top edges 68 thereof at “about the same” vertical height as top edges of the casket defining the top of the opening 50; and a frame 27 residing over and spanning the top edges of the casket and the box via portion 29 of the frame, thereby to cover the top edges thereof completely therearound the box and the casket (col. 7, lines 57-63), and wherein the lid retains the ability to open and to close while the frame remains in place.
Regarding claim 1, although McCoy discloses the frame is decorative in appearance (col. 8, lines 17-31), McCoy fails to disclose a decorative cover on the frame. However, as evidenced by Bovard, such a configuration is known in the analogous art, see casket 10 wherein the frame 34a,36a thereof (upper edges of the casket defining a flange) includes a removable decorative cover 32 thereon (Figs 1-5). Therefore, as evidenced by Bovard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCoy to include a removable decorative cover on the frame. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the removable decorative cover on the frame would enhance the aesthetic appeal of the container and allow for customization thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, McCoy as modified fails to disclose or suggest wherein the frame includes at least one cutout region that corresponds to the at least one hinge of the lid, to accommodate the opening and closing of the lid with the frame in place. McCoy teaches away from any such modification via its required T-shape (Fig. 4A).
Previously objected claim 4 was rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim. Specifically, McCoy fails to disclose or suggest wherein the frame, in cross-section, has an inverted U-shape. McCoy teaches away from any such modification via its required T-shape (Fig. 4A).
It is noted Hobstetter (US#2012/0084952) discloses a funeral service container 100 comprising: an outer skirt 108; a cremation box 102 residing in (under) the liner; and a frame 104 having a lid 106A hinged thereto ([0068], Fig. 10) and an inverted U-shape (Fig. 5) in cross-section, the frame residing over and spanning top edges of the skirt and the box, thereby to cover the top edges thereof completely therearound the box and the skirt, and wherein the lid retains the ability to open and to close while the frame remains in place. Hobstetter teaches away from a casket having the lid hinged thereto. The funeral service container 100 intentionally omits a casket as the skirt 108 is used to transform the cremation box 102 into the appearance of a faux casket.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues the following:
“…applicant has amended claim 1 so that it now recites, in independent form, the combination of features formerly recited in claims 1 and 3. Accordingly, amended claim 1 is now allowable. Further, claim 2 is now allowable as the result of being dependent on amended allowable claim 1. Still further, amended claim 4 is now allowable as the result of combining original claims 1 and 4.”
Regarding currently amended claim 1, the examiner disagrees as claims 1 and 3 were previously rejected in the Office action mailed 06-16-2026. The applicant presented no specific arguments with respect to the incorporated subject matter of claim 3 (now canceled). Regarding currently amended claim 4, the examiner agrees and claim 4 has been indicated as allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677