DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 113740804 A, “Wang”. For all text citations, see attached machine translation) in view of Medina (US 20170055093 A1, “Medina”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a computer-implemented method for manipulating acoustic data comprising:
accessing an acoustic sensor (Fig. 3, pg. 5, Fig. 3 illustrates a control interface for executing data processing precision, processing data length, operation time and other parameter control through a text input frame. Control interface diagram includes powering on and off, as well as hydrophone array throwing and recycling control),
wherein the acoustic sensor includes one or more acoustic channels (Fig. 2, pg. 5, Fig. 2 illustrates a DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(See Fig. 2 (1-6))
wherein the acoustic sensor is coupled to one or more hydrophones(Fig. 2, pg. 5, Fig. 2 illustrates a DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones),
and wherein a first hydrophone within the one or more hydrophones is associated with a first acoustic channel within the one or more acoustic channels(Fig. 2, pg. 5, Fig. 2 illustrates a DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels);
deploying, in a body of water, the acoustic sensor and the one or more hydrophones (Fig. 1, pg. 4, hydrophone base array and front end amplifying module are arranged under the water);
wherein a first DSP function is associated with a first frequency band and the first acoustic channel(Fig. 2, pg. 5, Fig. 2 illustrates a DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels);
receiving, by the first hydrophone, a first underwater audio signal (pg. 5, hydrophone base array receives target signal. After amplifying and filtering, data is transmitted to data processing module. Control module transmits control parameter to the data processing module. Data processing module performs corresponding conversion; calculating the output parameter and spatial spectrum, transmitting to the display module);
and analyzing, by the acoustic sensor, the first underwater audio signal(pg. 5, After amplifying and filtering, data is transmitted to data processing module. Control module transmits control parameter to the data processing module. Data processing module performs corresponding conversion; calculating the output parameter and spatial spectrum, transmitting to the display module),
wherein the analyzing includes sampling the first underwater audio signal (pg. 5, data collecting module can realize 6 channel synchronous sampling, each sampling data is converted into 16 binary number, then the 6 channel parallel collecting data is converted into serial data and then transmitting the data to the processing module),
Wang fails to teach
programming, via software, one or more digital signal processing (DSP) functions of the acoustic sensor,
and wherein the analyzing is based on the first DSP function associated with the first acoustic channel.
Medina teaches
programming, via software, one or more digital signal processing (DSP) functions of the acoustic sensor ([0043], programmable acoustic sensor can receive data and instructions from outside based on communication channel protocol for any of identifying, programming, reconfiguring, and compensating the programmable acoustic sensor. Programmable acoustic sensor can communicate with the host system from the digital signal processor),
and wherein the analyzing is based on the first DSP function associated with the first acoustic channel([0043], programmable acoustic sensor can receive data and instructions from outside based on communication channel protocol for any of identifying, programming, reconfiguring, and compensating the programmable acoustic sensor. Programmable acoustic sensor can communicate with the host system from the digital signal processor)([0029], sensor setting can be a predefined sensor configuration based on a sound profile, and when controller determines that the environmental sound matches the sound profile, the controller can read the memory, find the matching preset configuration, and program the acoustic sensor with the preset configuration. controller can sample the signal received from acoustic sensor at predefined intervals and adjust the settings based on an analysis of the samples)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Wang, to include the teachings of Medina, in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone such that based on the conditions of the underwater environment, the hydrophone can be dynamically adjusted so that the optimal settings can be applied and the reliability and accuracy of measured data can therefore be increased. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 9, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 1. Wang further teaches
further comprising filtering, by the acoustic sensor, the first underwater audio signal, wherein the filtering is based on the first frequency band(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels).
Regarding claim 19, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 1. Wang further teaches
wherein the programming includes a second DSP function(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(selecting the working bandwidth for each of the 6 channels implicitly means a DSP function for a second channel is included),
wherein the second DSP function is associated with a second frequency band and a second acoustic channel within the one or more acoustic channels(Fig. 2, pg. 5, Fig. 2 illustrates a DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels),
and wherein a second hydrophone within the one or more hydrophones is associated with the second acoustic channel(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels).
Regarding claim 20, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 19 . Wang further teaches
wherein the receiving includes obtaining, by the second hydrophone, a second underwater audio signal(Implicit, Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(second hydrophone implicitly receives a second signal)(hydrophones implicitly receive underwater audio signals).
Regarding claim 21, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 20. Wang further teaches
further comprising filtering, by the acoustic sensor, the second underwater audio signal, wherein the filtering is based on the second frequency band(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels).
Regarding claim 22, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 21.
further comprising evaluating, by the acoustic sensor, the second underwater audio signal,
wherein the analyzing is based on the second DSP function associated with the second acoustic channel((Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels. After amplifying and filtering, data is transmitted to data processing module. Control module transmits control parameter to the data processing module. Data processing module performs corresponding conversion; calculating the output parameter and spatial spectrum, transmitting to the display module).
Regarding claim 23, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 22. Wang further teaches
wherein the analyzing and the evaluating occur in parallel.(pg. 5, data collecting module can realize 6 channel synchronous sampling, each sampling data is converted into 16 binary number, then the 6 channel parallel collecting data is converted into serial data and then transmitting the data to the processing module. Data is then transformed by processing the received data to calculate spatial spectrum, estimate directions of arrival, and then display)
Regarding claim 24, the claim is a CRM claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses a computer system for manipulating acoustic data comprising:
one or more hydrophones(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones);
an acoustic sensor (Implicit, Fig. 2, pg. 5 DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones)(hydrophone base array is an acoustic sensor),
wherein the one or more hydrophones and the acoustic sensor is deployed in a body of water(Fig. 3, pg. 5, Control interface diagram includes powering on and off, as well as hydrophone array throwing and recycling control);
wherein the acoustic sensor is coupled to the one or more hydrophones(Implicit, Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones)(hydrophone base array is coupled to each of the 6 hydrophones),
access the acoustic sensor(Fig. 3, pg. 5, control interface for executing data processing precision, processing data length, operation time and other parameter control through a text input frame. Control interface diagram includes powering on and off, as well as hydrophone array throwing and recycling control),
wherein the acoustic sensor includes one or more acoustic channels(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(See Fig. 2 (1-6)),
and wherein a first hydrophone within the one or more hydrophones is associated with a first acoustic channel within the one or more acoustic channels(Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(See Fig. 2 (1-6));
program, via software, one or more digital signal processing (DSP) functions of the acoustic sensor, (Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(See Fig. 2 (1-6));
wherein a first DSP function is associated with a first frequency band and the first acoustic channel(Implicit, Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(each channel being filtered by a working bandwidth indicates the DSP function for that channel is associated with a first frequency band)
receive, by the first hydrophone, a first underwater audio signal(Implicit, Fig. 2, pg. 5, DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels)(hydrophones implicitly receive underwater audio signals);
and analyze, by the acoustic sensor, the first underwater audio signal(pg. 5, After amplifying and filtering, data is transmitted to data processing module. Control module transmits control parameter to the data processing module. Data processing module performs corresponding conversion; calculating the output parameter and spatial spectrum, transmitting to the display module),
wherein the analyzing includes sampling the first underwater audio signal(pg. 5, data collecting module can realize 6 channel synchronous sampling, each sampling data is converted into 16 binary number, then the 6 channel parallel collecting data is converted into serial data and then transmitting the data to the processing module),
Wang fails to teach
and one or more processors coupled to the memory wherein the one or more processors, when executing the instructions which are stored, are configured to:
programming, via software, one or more digital signal processing (DSP) functions of the acoustic sensor,
and wherein the analyzing is based on the first DSP function associated with the first acoustic channel.
Medina teaches
a memory which stores instructions ([0029] sensor settings can be stored in a memory in the programmable microphone);
and one or more processors coupled to the memory wherein the one or more processors, when executing the instructions which are stored, are configured to ([0037], optimal configuration of the sensor critical parameters for the desired condition may be realized by a processor and memory inside the same package with the microphone, or on another chip that communicated with the microphone via a control interface passing the configuration commands):
programming, via software, one or more digital signal processing (DSP) functions of the acoustic sensor([0043], programmable acoustic sensor can receive data and instructions from outside based on communication channel protocol for any of identifying, programming, reconfiguring, and compensating the programmable acoustic sensor. Programmable acoustic sensor can communicate with the host system from the digital signal processor),
and wherein the analyzing is based on the first DSP function associated with the first acoustic channel([0043], programmable acoustic sensor can receive data and instructions from outside based on communication channel protocol for any of identifying, programming, reconfiguring, and compensating the programmable acoustic sensor. Programmable acoustic sensor can communicate with the host system from the digital signal processor)([0029], sensor setting can be a predefined sensor configuration based on a sound profile, and when controller determines that the environmental sound matches the sound profile, the controller can read the memory, find the matching preset configuration, and program the acoustic sensor with the preset configuration. controller can sample the signal received from acoustic sensor at predefined intervals and adjust the settings based on an analysis of the samples).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, to include the teachings of Medina, in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone such that based on the conditions of the underwater environment, the hydrophone can be dynamically adjusted so that the optimal settings can be applied and the reliability and accuracy of measured data can therefore be increased. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina and Demirors et al. ("Design of a software-defined underwater acoustic modem with real-time physical layer adaptation capabilities." Proceedings of the 9th International Conference on Underwater Networks & Systems. 2014., “Demirors”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 1. Wang, as modified in view Medina fails to teach
wherein the acoustic sensor and the one or more hydrophones comprise a software-defined hydrophone (SDH).
Demirors teaches
wherein the acoustic sensor and the one or more hydrophones comprise a software-defined hydrophone (SDH) (pg. 1-2 the software defined underwater modem consists of a universal software radio peripheral interfaced with a hydrophone).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, to further include the teachings of Demirors, in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array in which software defined architecture enables seamless transitioning between various configurations in order to increase flexibility of the system by using various data communications technologies, thus increasing the systems efficiency in adapting to different underwater environments. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 3, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors teaches the method of claim 2. Medina further teaches
wherein the programming is accomplished remotely([0043], programmable acoustic sensor can receive data and instructions from outside based on communication channel protocol for any of identifying, programming, reconfiguring, and compensating the programmable acoustic sensor. Programmable acoustic sensor can communicate with the host system from the digital signal processor)
Regarding claim 4, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors teaches the method of claim 2. Medina further teaches
further comprising reprogramming the acoustic sensor([0043], programmable acoustic sensor can receive data and instructions from outside based on communication channel protocol for any of identifying, programming, reconfiguring, and compensating the programmable acoustic sensor. Programmable acoustic sensor can communicate with the host system from the digital signal processor).
Regarding claim 5, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors teaches the method of claim 4. Wang further teaches
wherein the reprogramming adjusts the first frequency band(Fig. 2, pg. 5, The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels).
Regarding claim 6, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors teaches the method of claim 4. Medina further teaches
wherein the reprogramming updates a resolution of the sampling the first underwater audio signal ([0029], controller can sample the signal received from acoustic sensor at predefined intervals and adjust the settings based on an analysis of the samples).
Regarding claim 7, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors teaches the method of claim 4. Wang further teaches
wherein the reprogramming changes the first DSP function(Fig. 2, pg. 5, Fig. 2 illustrates a DSP-based hydrophone array with a hydrophone base array composed of 6 hydrophones which have a working frequency range of 200 Hz to 50 kHz. The working range of the filter is 200 Hz to 50 kHz and the working bandwidth can be adjusted according to the need of each of the 6 channels).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Demiror, and Mishachandar et al. ("An underwater cognitive acoustic network strategy for efficient spectrum utilization." Applied Acoustics 175 (2021), “Mishachandar”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors teaches the method of claim 4. Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the reprogramming includes reassociating the first hydrophone with a second channel within the one or more acoustic channels.
Mishachandar teaches
wherein the reprogramming includes reassociating the first hydrophone with a second channel within the one or more acoustic channels (pg. 5, cognitive acoustics users are put in an orderly manner to facilitate parallel frequency sensing and grow the chances of spectrum access or sensing accuracy. Spectrum decision identifies the spectrum usage status and in order to maximize channel capacity, a channel allocation program is performed to allocate unoccupied frequencies to different CA users.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Mishachandar, in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array in which channels may be dynamically assigned to hydrophones in order to more effectively manage the spectrum usage in a way that prevents negative impacts on marine life in the surrounding environment. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina and Smith et al. (US 20040252585 A1, “Smith”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang, as modified in view of Medina teaches the method of claim 9. Wang further teaches
[receiving an underwater audio signal] (pg. 5, hydrophone base array receives target signal.)
Wang, as modified in view of Medina fails to teach
wherein the analyzing includes converting, by an embedded acoustic controller within the acoustic sensor, the first underwater audio signal to a first digital signal.
Smith teaches
wherein the analyzing includes converting, by an embedded acoustic controller within the acoustic sensor, the first
Therefore the combination of Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Smith teaches
wherein the analyzing includes converting, by an embedded acoustic controller within the acoustic sensor, the first underwater audio signal to a first digital signal.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, to further include the teachings of Smith, in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophones such that based on the conditions of the underwater environment, the hydrophone can be dynamically adjusted so that the optimal settings can be applied and received analog signals can be converted into digitized signals that allow for data processing to be performed in order to generate useful information regarding the environment of operation surrounding the hydrophones. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors.
Regarding claim 11, Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Smith teaches the method of claim 10. Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Smith fails to teach
wherein the embedded acoustic controller includes a digital down converter (DDC), wherein the DDC converts the first digital signal to a low frequency baseband signal.
Demirors teaches
wherein the embedded acoustic controller includes a digital down converter (DDC), wherein the DDC converts the first digital signal to a low frequency baseband signal (Fig. 1, pg. 2, USRP N210 is the basis for the custom SDR-based acoustic modem. USRP N210 is a FPGA-based, SDR platform that offers a wide range of radio front-ends. It was paired with LFTX and LFRX daughterboards that enable development of transceiver operating the frequency range of the acoustic transducer. Baseband signal processing can be conducted using the Xilinx Spartan 3A-DSP3400) (Implicit, Fig. 1 illustrates the USRP N-210 which hosts the FPGA- Xilinx Spartan 3A DSP, which includes a DDC)(DDC implicitly converts digital signals into lower frequency baseband signals).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina and Smith, to further include the teachings of Demirors in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also performing analog to digital conversion and digital down conversion so that received data can be reduced to lower frequency baseband signals, thus allowing subsequent signal processing to be conducted in a more computationally efficient manner while preserving the information contained in the original signal . Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Smith, Demirors and Zhao et al. ("Towards battery-free machine learning and inference in underwater environments." Proceedings of the 23rd Annual International Workshop on Mobile Computing Systems and Applications. 2022., “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 12, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors teaches the method of claim 11. Wang, as modified in view of Medina and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the embedded acoustic controller hosts a machine learning model.
Zhao teaches
wherein the embedded acoustic controller hosts a machine learning model(pg. 4, for the 4-mammal classification, the converted models can fit in our prototype for the n=8 and n=16, while n=32 demands a larger model which didn’t fit in the memory of our micro-controller)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, Smith, and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Zhao in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also performing machine learning aided signal analysis such that received data can automatically processed to classify signal sources of interest which reduces the potential for human error and increases speed of data analysis. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 13, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, Demirors, and Zhao teaches the method of claim 12. Zhao further teaches
wherein the first DSP function includes classifying, by the machine learning model, an underwater signal source(pg. 4, for the 4-mammal classification, the converted models can fit in our prototype for the n=8 and n=16, while n=32 demands a larger model which didn’t fit in the memory of our micro-controller).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Smith, Demirors and Cao et al. (CN 111856473 A, “Cao”. For all text citations, refer to attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors teaches the method of claim 11. Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the first DSP function includes recording data
Cao teaches
wherein the first DSP function includes recording data (pg. 4, system includes a digital signal processing unit served by a controller as well as a real-time data recording unit) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, Smith, and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Cao in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also recording and storing received data so that the received data may undergo further processing at remote or surface computing facilities with greater processing capabilities upon the hydrophones retrieval from the field. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Smith, Demirors and Medisetty et al. (“Identification of Periodic Fish Tags with Deep Learning”, The Journal of Ocean Technology, Vol. 16, No. 3, 2021, “Medisetty”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors teaches the method of claim 11. Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the first DSP function includes tracking a fish tag.
Medisetty teaches
wherein the first DSP function includes tracking a fish tag(pg. 5, fish tags transmit acoustic pings at regular intervals that are then detected by dedicated underwater receivers. Tags are identified by the delay between successive pings)(pg. 10, deep neural network (U-Net) is trained to identify horizontal tracks produced by the acoustic tags. Work presented demonstrates a novel adaptation of U-Net to acoustic fish tracking data).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, Smith, and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Medisetty in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also performing machine learning aided signal analysis such that populations of fish in the environment may be tracked automatically without the need for a human operator to perform signal analysis, thus better enabling users to track and monitor overall fishery health without influence of human error. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 17, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors teaches the method of claim 11. Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the first DSP function includes monitoring an underwater object of interest.
Medisetty teaches
wherein the first DSP function includes monitoring an underwater object of interest(pg. 5, fish tags transmit acoustic pings at regular intervals that are then detected by dedicated underwater receivers. Tags are identified by the delay between successive pings)(pg. 10, deep neural network (U-Net) is trained to identify horizontal tracks produced by the acoustic tags. Work presented demonstrates a novel adaptation of U-Net to acoustic fish tracking data)(fish tags are an underwater object of interest).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, Smith, and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Medisetty in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also performing machine learning aided signal analysis such that populations of fish in the environment may be tracked automatically without the need for a human operator to perform signal analysis, thus better enabling users to track and monitor overall fishery health without influence of human error. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Smith, Demirors and Lara et al. ("New insights into the design and application of a passive acoustic monitoring system for the assessment of the good environmental status in Spanish marine waters." Sensors 20.18 (2020), “Lara”).
Regarding claim 16, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors teaches the method of claim 11. Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the first DSP function includes detecting a vessel.
Lara teaches
wherein the first DSP function includes detecting a vessel (pg. 7, acoustic signatures of ship engine propellor noise can be used for noise characterization as well as for target tracking).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, Smith, and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Lara in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also performing passive signal detection and analysis such that vessels may be automatically tracked in order to continuously and accurately monitor shipping lanes and impacts of vessel presence on marine environments. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Medina, Smith, Demirors and Military Aerospace Electronics “Lockheed Martin Provides Signal Processing for Global Anti-Submarine Sonar.” Military Aerospace, 1 Jan. 2018, www.militaryaerospace.com/communications/article/16707385/lockheed-martin-provides-signal-processing-for-global-anti-submarine-sonar. Accessed 22 Sept. 2026., “Military Aerospace Electronics”).
Regarding claim 18, Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors the method of claim 11. Wang, as modified in view of Medina, Smith, and Demirors fails to teach
wherein the first DSP function includes signal intelligence.
Military Aerospace Electronics teaches
wherein the first DSP function includes signal intelligence (pg. 4 IUSS uses modern hydrophones and digital signal processing technologies to augment SOSUS. IUSS uses fast processors, high-capacity data storage, and efficient application software to augment SOSUS in detecting and tracking modern quiet submarines and counter efforts to defeat SOSUS.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Wang, as modified in view of the teachings of Medina, Smith, and Demirors, to further include the teachings of Military Aerospace Electronics in order to yield a reconfigurable hydrophone array that can be remotely programmed to adjust the operating parameters of the hydrophone while also performing acoustic signal detection and analysis such that enemy signals may be intercepted or enemy presence within the vicinity of the hydrophones may be detected to alert the operator(s). Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Domingos et al. ("A survey of underwater acoustic data classification methods using deep learning for shoreline surveillance." Sensors 22.6 (2022)) which discloses using machine learning aided hydrophones to classify sound sources near coastal areas
Luo et al. ("Software-defined architectures and technologies for underwater wireless sensor networks: A survey." IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials 20.4 (2018): 2855-2888.) which discloses reconfigurable components for underwater sensor networks based on software defined architectures
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645