.
DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,339,098. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to substantially the same structure and the claims of the instant application contain substantially the same language but the dependencies are rearranged. Additionally, some limitations in the instant application are not encompassed by the patented claims; however, the limitations would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention as shown by the prior art below for example.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of mounting interfaces and the plurality of mounting interfaces used with a plurality of firearms must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crispin, US Patent Publication No. 2018/0195835.
Regarding claim 12, Crispin discloses an assembly, comprising: an enclosed reflex sight (100); and a mounting interface (300); wherein the mounting interface is configured to secure the enclosed reflex sight to a firearm comprising an upper mounting surface footprint (figures 1-4 for example); wherein when the assembly is secured to an upper mounting surface of a firearm then the assembly is located on top of the firearm forward of a rear end surface of the firearm (figures 1-4); and wherein the selected mounting interface includes a first bottom surface (310) and the enclosed reflex sight includes a second bottom surface (502) forming a planar surface with the first bottom surface (figures 1 and 4); however, Crispin does not specifically disclose the mounting interface being selected from a plurality of mounting interfaces. Nonetheless, in as much as the applicant shows a plurality of interfaces, the invention of Crispin includes a mounting interface which has been chosen from the plurality of mounting interfaces that are known in the art to fit the firearm selected.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Crispin to have a plurality of interchangeable interfaces or a different interface with a reasonable expectation of success depending on the firearm and firearm mounting surface selected. Additionally, firearm sizes and calibers vary greatly and changing the size of a mounting feature to allow the sight to be used on a different firearm would be obvious to one of skill in the art in order to allow for use of the sight with a variety of firearms without the need to provide an entirely different sight structure.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bindon, US Patent No. 5,653,034.
Regarding claim 12, Bindon discloses an assembly, comprising: an enclosed reflex sight (10); and a mounting interface (16); wherein the mounting interface is configured to secure the enclosed reflex sight to a firearm comprising an upper mounting surface footprint (figure 1 for example); wherein when the assembly is secured to an upper mounting surface of a firearm then the assembly is located on top of the firearm forward of a rear end surface of the firearm (figure 1); and wherein the selected mounting interface includes a first bottom surface (bottom surface of 16)) and the enclosed reflex sight includes a second bottom surface (best shown in figure 4) forming a planar surface with the first bottom surface (figure 4 shows the two surfaces being in the same plane); however, Bindon does not specifically disclose the mounting interface being selected from a plurality of mounting interfaces. Nonetheless, in as much as the applicant shows a plurality of interfaces, the invention of Bindon includes a mounting interface which has been chosen from the plurality of mounting interfaces that are known in the art to fit the firearm selected.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Bindon to have a plurality of interchangeable interfaces or a different interface with a reasonable expectation of success depending on the firearm and firearm mounting surface selected. Additionally, firearm sizes and calibers vary greatly and changing the size of a mounting feature to allow the sight to be used on a different firearm would be obvious to one of skill in the art in order to allow for use of the sight with a variety of firearms without the need to provide an entirely different sight structure.
Regarding claim 13, Bindon further discloses the second bottom surface of the enclosed reflex sight is located behind the selected mounting interface (figure 4 shows at least a portion of the bottom surface of the reflex sight being behind the interface).
Regarding claim 15, Bindon further discloses a system, comprising: an enclosed reflex sight (10); and a mounting interface (16); wherein the mounting interface is configured to secure the enclosed reflex sight to a firearm comprising an upper mounting surface footprint (figure 1); wherein when an assembly of the enclosed reflex sight and the mounting interface is secured to an upper mounting surface of a first firearm of the plurality of firearms then the assembly is located on top of the first firearm forward of a rear end surface of the first firearm (figure 1); wherein the enclosed reflex sight includes a rearward bottom portion located behind the selected mounting interface (shown in figure 4); and wherein the assembly includes a first maximum height (H) and the enclosed reflex sight includes a second maximum height (H) the same as the first maximum height (figure 4 shows the entire assembly having a maximum height that is the same as the reflex sight housing max height); however, Bindon does not specifically disclose the mounting interface being selected from a plurality of mounting interfaces. Nonetheless, in as much as the applicant shows a plurality of interfaces, the invention of Bindon includes a mounting interface which has been chosen from the plurality of mounting interfaces that are known in the art to fit the firearm selected.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Bindon to have a plurality of interchangeable interfaces or a different interface with a reasonable expectation of success depending on the firearm and firearm mounting surface selected. Additionally, firearm sizes and calibers vary greatly and changing the size of a mounting feature to allow the sight to be used on a different firearm would be obvious to one of skill in the art in order to allow for use of the sight with a variety of firearms without the need to provide an entirely different sight structure.
Regarding claim 16, Bindon further discloses the selected mounting interface includes a first bottom surface and the rearward bottom portion includes a second bottom surface forming a planar surface with the first bottom surface (figure 4 shows the bottom surfaces of the mounting interface and the reflex sight being in the same plane).
Regarding claim 17, Bindon further discloses the second maximum height is the same or substantially similar as the first maximum height within +5% of the first maximum height (H is the same for the maximum height of the assembly and the reflex sight as shown in figure 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 and 14 are only rejected under the Double Patenting Rejection and appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and approval of a Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided on form PTO-892.
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641