Drawings
Figures 1, 5, 10 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “a display panel” twice in the preamble, which appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hussain et al., US 2014/0210697 A1 (hereinafter “Hussain”).
Regarding claim 1, Hussain discloses a luminance compensation method (FIGS. 6 and 11 and [0055] and [0074]-[0078] generally) for a display panel (FIGS. 1-5, display unit 14 at [0025]-[0032], [0074]-[0078]), wherein a luminance adjustment mode (luminance adjustment based on movie and non-movie mode described at FIGS. 6 and 11 [0055]-[0057], [0074]-[0078]) of the display panel comprises a pulse width modulation mode (FIG. 7, PWM 140 and [0066]-[0067] FIG. 11 and steps 406, 408 and [0072]-[0073]); and the luminance compensation method for the display panel comprises:
obtaining a first luminance compensation value (Bf and slope determined at FIGS. 6-8 and 11, [0068]-[0072] and [0075]-[0078], slope determination at [0067]) based on an instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode (FIGS. 6-8 and 11, and [0056]-[0057] user request, switch from movie to non-movie mode, mode switching at [0068], and [0070]-[0073]);
compensating luminances of the first i frames of display images (FIGS. 8-10 and [0068]-[0073] frames between Bi and Bf) in a current luminance adjustment mode to a target luminance (Bf) based on the first luminance compensation value (FIGS. 7-11 and [0068]-[0073] slope determination by slope control circuit 146, with slope being used between t1 and t2), wherein i is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (frame by frame change at FIGS. 7-11 and [0056], [0068]-[0078], which is multiple frames greater than 1 between Bi and Bf, the slope being used between t1 and t2);
obtaining a second luminance compensation value (FIGS. 6-11 with Bf as the target luminance, resulting in zero slope for remainder frames, and slope control circuit being deactivated at [0068]-[0073]) when the first i frames in the current luminance adjustment mode end (FIGS. 7-11 sloping ending with final compensation brightness value of Bf at [0068]-[0078]); and
compensating luminances of (i+1)th to (i+n)th frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to the target luminance based on the second luminance compensation value (FIG. 6 and [0055]-[0058], FIGS. 7-11 [0066] and [0068]-[0078] frames after time t2 at new brightness Bf for frames thereafter), wherein n is an integer greater than 1, and the (i+n)th frame of display image is the last frame of display image in the current luminance adjustment mode (FIGS. 6-11 and [0055]-[0057] automatically signaling new movie mode would be last frame, and [0068]-[0078] last frame until brightness adjustment requested for movie mode as disclosed therein).
Regarding claim 18, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 18 is directed to 18, a luminance compensation apparatus (DPB 134 at [0066]) with components for performing the steps of claim 1(see above). Therefore, claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 20 is directed to a display apparatus (FIG. 6 and display system 10’ at [0064]), comprising: a display panel (FIG. 7 display panel 198 at [0068]) and a luminance compensation apparatus (DPB 134 at [0066]) for a display panel for performing the steps of claim 1 (see above). Therefore, claim 20 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view of Choi, US 2024/0185789 A1 (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 2, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose wherein a display mode of the display panel comprises a local high-brightness mode; and the luminance compensation method for the display panel further comprises: obtaining, when the display mode of the display panel enters or exits the local high-brightness mode, the instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses wherein a display mode of the display panel comprises a local high-brightness mode ([0005]-[0009] and FIGS. 5-9 describing LHBM and [0050]-[0055] and [0057]-[0062] and [0064]-[0066] with local brightness region 570 at [0051]); and the luminance compensation method for the display panel further comprises: obtaining, when the display mode of the display panel enters or exits the local high-brightness mode, the instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode (FIG. 7-9 and [0054]-[0062] with activation and deactivation of local high brightness mode).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate the local high brightness mode as disclosed by Choi because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce artifacts such as flicker when transitioning into the local brightness mode (see Choi at [0005] and [0056]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Hussain in view of Choi discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the first luminance compensation value comprises a first entry luminance compensation value (Choi at FIG. 7 and [0054] and FIG. 9 and 906 and [0062] first frame luminance value when LHBM enabled) when the display mode of the display panel enters the local high-brightness mode (Choi at FIGS. 7 and 9 and [0054] and [0062]); and
the compensating luminances of the first i frames of display images in a current luminance adjustment mode to a target luminance based on the first luminance compensation value comprises: decreasing the luminances of the first i frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to the target luminance based on the first entry luminance compensation value, wherein the current luminance adjustment mode is the local high-brightness mode (Choi FIGS. 7-9 and [0054]-[0062] the decreased luminance of the first frame while entering the mode as depicted therein transitioning from 904 to 906 to 908).
Regarding claim 4, Hussain in view of Choi discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the first luminance compensation value comprises a first exit luminance compensation value when the display mode of the display panel exits the local high-brightness mode (Choi at FIGS. 7-9 and [0054]-[0062] transitioning between 908 and 910 as LHBM is transitioned out); and the compensating luminances of the first i frames of display images in a current luminance adjustment mode to a target luminance based on the first luminance compensation value comprises: increasing the luminances of the first i frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to the target luminance based on the first exit luminance compensation value, wherein the current luminance adjustment mode is a normal display mode (Choi at FIGS. 7-9 and [0054]-[0062] transitioning between 908 and 910 as LHBM is transitioned out and move to normal display mode at 912).
Regarding claim 5, Hussain in view of Choi discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 2 (see above), wherein a number of frames of display images with luminances compensated based on the first luminance compensation value when the display mode of the display panel enters the local high-brightness mode is the same as a number of frames of display images with luminances compensated based on the first luminance compensation value when the display mode of the display panel exits the local high-brightness mode (Choi at FIGS. 7-9 and [0054]-[0062] transitioning between 906 and 910 being the same length of time and number of frames (e.g., 1 frame).
Regarding claim 6, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose wherein the luminance adjustment mode further comprises a voltage modulation mode; and the luminance compensation method for the display panel further comprises: obtaining, when the voltage modulation mode and the pulse width modulation mode are switched to each other, the instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses wherein the luminance adjustment mode further comprises a voltage modulation mode (FIGS. 4A and 4B through FIG. 7 and [0049]-[0054] with pulse amplitude modification PAM); and the luminance compensation method for the display panel further comprises: obtaining, when the voltage modulation mode and the pulse width modulation mode are switched to each other, the instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode (FIG. 7 and [0004] and [0054] describing switching from PWM to PAM and back).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate the with a pulse amplitude modification mode as disclosed by Choi because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce artifacts such as flicker when transitioning into the local brightness mode (see Choi at [0005] and [0054]-[0056]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Hussain in view of Choi discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 6 (see above), wherein when the luminance adjustment mode is switched from the voltage modulation mode to the pulse width modulation mode, the first luminance compensation value comprises a first switching luminance compensation value (Choi at FIGS. 7-9 and [0054] and [0065]); and the compensating luminances of the first i frames of display images in a current luminance adjustment mode to a target luminance (908) based on the first luminance compensation value comprises: increasing the luminances of the first i frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to the target luminance based on the first switching luminance compensation value, wherein the current luminance adjustment mode is the pulse width modulation mode (Choi at FIGS. 7-9 and [0054]-[0060] and [0062]-[0066] describing the adjustment PWM being adjusted between 904 and 906 which is higher than the target luminance in 908).
Regarding claim 8, Hussain in view of Choi discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 6 (see above), wherein when the luminance adjustment mode is switched from the pulse width modulation mode to the voltage modulation mode (FIGS. 6A-9 and [0052]-[0054]), the first luminance compensation value comprises a second switching luminance compensation value (910); and the compensating luminances of the first i frames of display images in a current luminance adjustment mode to a target luminance based on the first luminance compensation value comprises: decreasing the luminances of the first i frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to the target luminance based on the second switching luminance compensation value, wherein the current luminance adjustment mode is the voltage modulation mode (Choi at FIGS. 6A-9 and [0052]-[0060] and [0062]-[0066] describing the adjustment of amplitude being adjusted during the LHBM in FIGS. 6A and 6B and between 904 and 906).
Regarding claim 9, Hussain in view of Choi discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 6 (see above), wherein a number of frames of display images with luminances compensated based on the first luminance compensation value when the luminance adjustment mode is switched from the voltage modulation mode to the pulse width modulation mode is the same as a number of frames of display images with luminances compensated based on the first luminance compensation value when the luminance adjustment mode is switched from the pulse width modulation mode to the voltage modulation mode (Choi FIGS. 6A-9 illustrating the switching being of the same time and frame number accordingly at [0052]-[0060] and [0062]-[0066]).
Claims 10-12, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view of Hu, US 2025/0182708 A1 (hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claim 10, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the compensating luminances of the first i frames of display images in a current luminance adjustment mode to a target luminance based on the first luminance compensation value comprises:
compensating the luminances of the first i frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to a first luminance based on the first luminance compensation value (Hussain Bf and slope determined at FIGS. 6-8 and 11, [0068]-[0072] and [0075]-[0078], slope determination at [0067]).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose determining, when a difference between the first luminance and the target luminance is less than a first threshold, that the first luminance is the target luminance.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses determining, when a difference between the first luminance and the target luminance is less than a first threshold, that the first luminance is the target luminance (Hu at FIGS. 2-3 and [0021]-[0025]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate the threshold comparison of luminance values as disclosed by Hu because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve accuracy of correcting brightness and achieving high-dynamic range (see Hu at [0003]-[0005]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Hussain in view of Hu discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 10 (see above), wherein after the compensating the luminances of the first i frames of display images in the current luminance adjustment mode to a first luminance based on the first luminance compensation value (Hu at FIGS. 2-3 and [0021]-[0033]), the method further comprises: adjusting the first luminance compensation value when the difference between the first luminance and the target luminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (Hu at FIGS. 2-3 and [0021]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Hussain in view of Hu discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the adjusting the first luminance compensation value when the difference between the first luminance and the target luminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold comprises: adjusting the first luminance compensation value when the first luminance is greater than the target luminance, so as to decrease the first luminance (Hu at FIGS. 2-3 and [0021]-[0033]); and adjusting the first luminance compensation value when the first luminance is less than the target luminance, so as to increase the first luminance (Hu at FIGS. 2-3 and [0021]-[0033], adjustment of luminance based on difference between current and target with comparison module 132 and compensation module 133).
Regarding claim 14, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose wherein obtaining the first luminance compensation value and the second luminance compensation value comprises: obtaining the first luminance compensation value and the second luminance compensation value by using a table lookup method.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses wherein obtaining the first luminance compensation value and the second luminance compensation value comprises: obtaining the first luminance compensation value and the second luminance compensation value by using a table lookup method (FIGS. 4-6 and [0045]-[0052] and [0063]-[0072] – using looking up table for luminance values).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate look up tables for determining luminance modifications disclosed by Hu because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve accuracy of correcting brightness and achieving high-dynamic range (see Hu at [0003]-[0005]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose wherein before the obtaining a first luminance compensation value based on an instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode, the method further comprises: determining the first luminance compensation value based on at least one gray level and at least one display luminance level.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses wherein before the obtaining a first luminance compensation value based on an instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode, the method further comprises: determining the first luminance compensation value based on at least one gray level and at least one display luminance level (Hu at FIGS. 3-6 and [0029]-[0042] and [0063]-[0073] gray scale used in determination of luminance values).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate grayscale values used when determining the luminance values as disclosed by Hu because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve accuracy of correcting brightness and achieving high-dynamic range (see Hu at [0003]-[0005]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation apparatus for the display panel according to claim 18 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a first luminance compensation value determining module configured to determine the first luminance compensation value based on at least one gray level and at least one display luminance level.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu discloses a first luminance compensation value determining module configured to determine the first luminance compensation value based on at least one gray level and at least one display luminance level (FIGS. 3-6 and [0029]-[0042] and [0063]-[0073]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate the with a pulse amplitude modification mode as disclosed by Hu because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve accuracy of correcting brightness and achieving high-dynamic range (see Hu at [0003]-[0005]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view of Furihata et al., US 2021/0225324 A1 (hereinafter “Furihata”).
Regarding claim 13, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose wherein compensating the luminances of the display images to the target luminance based on the first luminance compensation value or the second luminance compensation value comprises: determining a gamma value based on a luminance compensation value, wherein the luminance compensation value comprises the first luminance compensation value or the second luminance compensation value; determining a data voltage based on the gamma value; and driving, based on the data voltage, the display panel to display the display images.
In the same field of endeavor, Furihata discloses wherein compensating the luminances of the display images to the target luminance based on the first luminance compensation value or the second luminance compensation value comprises: determining a gamma value based on a luminance compensation value (FIGS. 5A-5B and [0046]-[0050]), wherein the luminance compensation value comprises the first luminance compensation value or the second luminance compensation value ; determining a data voltage based on the gamma value (FIGS. 5A-5B and [0046]-[0050]); and driving, based on the data voltage, the display panel to display the display images (FIGS. 5A-8 and [0046]-[0050] and [0053]-[0058] and [0073]-[0078]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate the gamma value based luminance determination of Furihata because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve local IR drop correction management for a local brightness on a display (see Furihata at [0077]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, Hussain discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Hussain does not explicitly disclose wherein before the obtaining a first luminance compensation value based on an instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode, the method further comprises: determining the second luminance compensation value based on a refresh frequency, at least one gray level, and at least one display luminance level.
In the same field of endeavor, Furihata discloses wherein before the obtaining a first luminance compensation value based on an instruction to change the luminance adjustment mode, the method further comprises: determining the second luminance compensation value based on a refresh frequency ([0045] frame rate determination and luminance adjustment accordingly), at least one gray level (FIGS. 5A-8 [0039]-[0045] and [0050]-[0055]), and at least one display luminance level (FIGS. 5A-8 and [0045]-[0048] and [0053]-[0058] and [0063]-[0073]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain to incorporate the refresh rate, gray level and luminance value when determining luminance of Furihata because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve local IR drop correction management for a local brightness on a display (see Furihata at [0077]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view of Hu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Furihata et al., US 2021/0225324 A1 (hereinafter “Furihata”).
Regarding claim 16, Hussain in view of Hu discloses the luminance compensation method for the display panel according to claim 15 (see above).
However, Hussain in view of Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the first luminance compensation value based on at least one gray level and at least one display luminance level comprises: determining the first luminance compensation value based on the at least one gray level, the at least one display luminance level, and a refresh frequency.
In the same field of endeavor, Furihata discloses wherein the determining the first luminance compensation value based on at least one gray level and at least one display luminance level comprises: determining the first luminance compensation value based on the at least one gray level (FIGS. 5A-8 [0039]-[0045] and [0050]-[0055]), the at least one display luminance level (FIGS. 5A-8 and [0045]-[0048] and [0053]-[0058] and [0063]-[0073]), and a refresh frequency ([0045] frame rate determination and luminance adjustment accordingly).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display adjustment method of Hussain in view of Hu to incorporate the refresh rate, gray level and luminance value when determining luminance of Furihata because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display brightness and luminance adjustment methods and systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been improve local IR drop correction management for a local brightness on a display (see Furihata at [0077]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al., US 2019/0228722 A1: FIGS. 5-9, Abstract and [0022], [0104]-[0110] and [0131]-[0132] local dimming and gamma correction for luminance values;
Choi, US 2022/0148536 A1: FIGS. 5-7 and [0029]-[0039] pulse and amplitude modulation for luminance control of a display based on biometric sensing periods;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2629