Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun et al. (CN 111418201 A).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches an image processing method (Huang Paragraph 0005), comprising: dividing a grayscale image into a plurality of grids (Huang, Fig. 2 step S203, Paragraph 0020) and obtaining average grayscales of the plurality of grids respectively (Huang Paragraph 0024 and 0106); performing an inverse compensation on the grayscale image (Huang, Fig. 2 step S203-S205, Paragraph 0010); declaring a plurality of regions and dividing the plurality of grids into corresponding regions among the plurality of regions to generate a region information (Huang, Fig. 2 step S203 and Fig. 5, Paragraph 0020 and 0104), and generating an exposure map (Huang, Fig. 6-9, Paragraph 0020).
However, Huang is silent on a preview mode. Further, it does not teach an exposure map including at least one compensated exposure time based on at least one current exposure time and at least one compensation ratio; and
in a shooting mode, exposing using the at least one compensated exposure time to obtain an image based on the region information and the exposure map.
With reference to Sun, it teaches preview and shooting mode (Sun, Fig. 7 Preview Image and Shooting Scene) Further, it teaches including at least one compensated exposure time based on at least one current exposure time and at least one compensation ratio (Sun, Paragraph 0074,0159-0161); and
in a shooting mode, exposing using the at least one compensated exposure time to obtain an image based on the region information and the exposure map (Sun, Fig.7a, and 7c, Paragraph 0038,0086, 0146).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices and compensation methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Huang with the teachings of Sun to define two distinct camera operation modes: preview and shooting mode. Adding a preview mode, will enable the user to edit and review the picture before capturing and storing it in the storage medium; and define the exposure map by varying exposure times based on the required brightness level, this will give crisp pictures with clearer details and eliminate noise in the target image.
The motivation to do so, is enabling the preview mode to improve the image quality of the final image; specifically improving the shooting effect in various application scenarios. Effects such as noise and dynamic range of shooting are improved.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Huang and Sun teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: recording positions of the plurality of grids divided into the plurality of regions (Huang, Fig . 9, Paragraph 0131) and a number of grids in each of the plurality of regions to obtain the region (Huang, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0019).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Huang and Sun teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: multiplying the at least one current exposure time by the corresponding at least one compensation ratio (Sun, Fig. 7/7a/7b/7c/7d Paragraph 0010, 0071: a product of the exposure value of the preview image and the ratio may be used as the short exposure amount: ET Exposure Time/Quantity) to generate at least one compensated exposure time.
Claims 2-4, 7, 10-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun (CN 111418201 A) in view of Baek et al (US 2015/0054985 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Huang and Sun teaches the image processing method according to claim 1. Further it teaches performing the inverse compensation on the preview grayscale image.
However, it does not teach downscaling. it does not teach further comprising: downscaling the preview grayscale image and performing the inverse compensation on the downscaled preview grayscale image.
With reference to Baek it teaches further comprising: downscaling the preview grayscale image (Baek, Fig. 4 scaled down images 321-323, Paragraph 0048, 0051,0053 - scaling down the size of the images in the plurality).
Downscaling an image to another image is well known in the art. These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices and compensation methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Huang and Sun with the teachings of Baek to enable downscaling the previewed images before conducting the compensation.
The motivation of that, saving power and time and computing resources, speeding up the compensation time, reducing the turnaround image capturing time for the user, albeit losing some pictures details while doing so.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Huang and Sun and Baek teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: dividing a first level of the preview grayscale image by a preset ratio (Baek, Fig. 4 scaled down images 321-323, Paragraph 0048, 0051,0053 - lowering the images' resolution to a predetermined small value), to downscale the first level to a second level.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Huang and Sun and Baek teaches the image processing method according to claim 3, wherein the inverse compensation comprising: for each level in the second level, subtracting the maximum value and taking the absolute value (Huang, Fig. 6-8, Paragraph 0106, 0128: all pixel sub-regions in the processing region, and then subtract the average value from the standard target luminance), thereby generating a plurality of exposure compensation amounts corresponding to the second level, so that the highest level in the second level corresponds to the lowest exposure compensation amount, and the lowest level in the second level corresponds to the highest exposure compensation amount.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Huang and Sun and Baek teaches the image processing method according to claim 3, further comprising: in response to a specific compensation exposure time of the at least one compensation exposure time corresponding to a specific level of the second level, exposing all grids in at least one region of the plurality of regions corresponding to the specific level with the specific compensation exposure time (Huang, Fig. 10, Paragraph 0137).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun (CN 111418201 A) in view of Koshkin et al. (US 2017/0339327 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Huang and Sun teaches the image processing method according to claim 1. However, it does not teach further comprising: in response to one of the plurality of regions being a non-rectangular region, dividing the region into a plurality of rectangles and set in batches.
With reference to Koshkin, it discloses further comprising: in response to one of the plurality of regions being a non-rectangular region (Koshkin, Fig. 3 - non-rectangular unit of pixels can include a red pixel (R), two green pixels (two G.sub.BS), and a blue pixel (B), where the green pixels and the blue pixel are adjacent pixels in a row of the pixel array 102 (G.sub.B−B−G.sub.B) , Paragraph 0062), dividing the region into a plurality of rectangles and set in batches.
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices and compensation methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combined invention of Huang and Sun with the teachings of Koshkin.
The motivation of doing so, it generates a clearer picture, with crisp details, and deeper resolution of the pixels that will have more accurate brightness distribution of the image, creating a better experience for the user, and reducing the complexity of the processing.
Claims 9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun (CN 111418201 A) in view of Pitter et al (US 2013/0182160 A1).
Claim 9 is a device claim corresponding to method claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 1. However, the combination of Huang and Sun does not teach generate a row control signal, a column control signal and a data signal according to the region information and the exposure map; and an image sensor array, coupled to the processor, and is configured to expose using the at least one compensated exposure time in a shooting mode to obtain an image based on the row control signal, the column control signal and the data signal.
While claim 1 does not specifically claim a processor and image sensor array, Sun additionally teaches a processor and image sensor (Sun, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0050, 0052).
However, the combination of Huang and Sun does not teach generating a row control signal, a column control signal and a data signal according to the region information and the exposure map;
With reference to Pitter, it teaches to generate a row control signal, a column control signal and a data signal according to the region information and the exposure map; (Pitter, Fig. 6, Paragraph 0023)
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combined invention of Huang and Sun with the teachings of Pitter.
The motivation for doing that is it will allow the user to define specific regions or sub-regions in the array based on the light brightness, and control the exposure according to a specific zone, down to a pixel, by asserting that particular pixel row and collum select signal select signal.
Claim 13 is device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 5. (see claim 5 analysis). While claim 5 does not specifically claim a processor, Huang additionally teaches a processor (Huang, Fig. 15 Processor, Paragraph 0181).
Claim 14 is device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 6. (see claim 6 analysis). While claim 6 does not specifically claim a processor, Huang additionally teaches a processor (Huang, Fig. 15 Processor, Paragraph 0181).
Claims 10-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun (CN 111418201 A) in view of Baek et al (US 2015/0054985 A1) in view of Pitter et al (US 2013/0182160 A1)
Claim 10 is device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 2. (see claim 2 analysis). While claim 2 does not specifically claim a processor, Huang additionally teaches a processor (Huang, Fig. 15 Processor, Paragraph 0181).
Claim 11 is device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 3. (see claim 3 analysis). While claim 3 does not specifically claim a processor, Huang additionally teaches a processor (Huang, Fig. 15 Processor, Paragraph 0181).
Claim is device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 4. (see claim 4 analysis). While claim 4 does not specifically claim a processor, Huang additionally teaches a processor (Huang, Fig. 15 Processor, Paragraph 0181).
Claim 15 is device claim 7, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 7. (see claim 7 analysis). Additionally, it teaches the image sensor array is configured to expose all grids in at least one region of the plurality of regions corresponding to the specific level with the specific compensation exposure time.
While claim 7 does not specifically claim an image sensor array, Sun additionally teaches an image sensor (Sun, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0050, 0052).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun (CN 111418201 A) in view of Pitter et al (US 2013/0182160 A1) in view of Koshkin et al. (US 2017/0339327 A1)
Claim 16 is a device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 8. (see claim 8 analysis). While claim 8 does not specifically claim a processor, Huang additionally teaches a processor (Huang, Fig. 15 Processor, Paragraph 0181).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2026/0073829 A1) in view of Sun (CN 111418201 A) in view of Pitter et al (US 2013/0182160 A1) in view of Hajime (JP 2023031696 A )
Claim 17 is device claim, rejected for the same reasons as method claim 6. (see claim 6 analysis). Additionally, it teaches wherein the image sensor array comprises a plurality of pixels. However, the combination of Huang, Sun and Pitter does not teach that each of the plurality of pixels has an independent exposure control circuit.
With reference to Hajime, it teaches that each of the plurality of pixels has an independent exposure control circuit (Hajime, Fig, 4 Exposure Control Section 412, Paragraph 0038 - The exposure control unit 412 is a circuit that controls exposure of the pixels 201 included in the corresponding pixel block 200 based on the exposure time calculated by the autonomous exposure processing unit 411).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices and method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combined invention of Huang, Sun and Pitter with the teachings of Hajime.
The motivation of doing so is it enables parallel computing and execution of the exposure time for each region (domain), based on the brightness of the subject in that particular area of pixels, making forming the picture faster and the user can capture the best quality of image in a shorter time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, it is dependent on claim 17. Additionally, it teaches a limitation, wherein the exposure control circuit comprises: a logic component configured to receive the row control signal and the column control signal until the compensation exposure time ends.
While Hajime teaches a counter for starting/ending exposure (Hajime, Fig. 3, 6, 12 and 19, - the control block 400A and imaging element 100A, control signal φTXSEL to the pixel 201 as the transfer control signal φTX or the discharge control signal φPDRST, Paragraph 0102-0104 and 0140-0144 ) , it does not teach that the counter is started by an enable signal output form a logic component which receives a row select and column select signal.
Regarding claim 19, it is dependent on claim 18. Additionally, it claims wherein in response to both the row control signal and the column control signal being at a first level, the logic component outputs the enable signal at the first level to enable the counter to start counting, and the pixel to start being exposed simultaneously, until the compensation exposure time ends, the counter stops counting and the pixel stops being exposed simultaneously.
While Hajime teaches a similar art where each pixel has independent exposure control unit, that starts and ends the exposure according to a timer, it does not teach that the counter is started by an enable signal at the first level output form a logic component which receives a row select and column select signal being at first level.
Regarding claim 20, it is dependent on claim 18. Additionally, it teaches wherein the counter is configured to receive a clock signal and the data signal and obtain the compensation exposure time from the data signal, and the counter is a timer; that the logic component is an AND gate component.
None of the prior arts cited in this correspondence teaches an independent exposure unit that has a standalone AND gate that reads the row and column select signals as input at first level to assert enable output signal that activates the counter to start the exposure.
Conclusion
/MOUHAMMAD AWNI ALJUNDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639