Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) was/were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they do not comply with MPEP § 608.02(V)(h)(3) which necessitates that sectional views include hatching to indicate section portions of an object. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikitake et al. (U.S. Patent 8,237,318), hereinafter “Ikitake” in view of Hosoya (U.S. Patent 6,079,798) and Tamai (U.S. Patent 6,244,671).
In regards to claim 1, Ikitake discloses an electrically operated valve comprising: a valve body (col. 3, lines 36-37) for changing a flow rate of the fluid; an electric motor (7) for driving the valve body; a control board (22) for mounting an electronic component controlling the electric motor (7); a board storage portion (upper portion of 4) for including a case portion storing the control board (22); and an outer shell forming portion (4) for covering a stator (5) of the electric motor (7),wherein the control board (22) has a fixing hole (30, 31) to fix the control board (22) to an inner side of the case portion, wherein the case portion has in an internal portion thereof a support projection (33, 34) supporting the control board (22) within the case portion by being inserted into the fixing hole (30, 31), wherein the support projection (33, 34), wherein the case portion is integrally formed with the outer shell forming portion (4),wherein the case portion has an opening which allows the control board (22) to be installed in the internal portion, wherein the electrically operated valve comprises: a lid body (3) for occluding the opening; a connector portion (26) including an external portion connecting terminal (25b) to allow the electrical connection to the external portion; and wherein the connector portion (26) and the lid body (3) are integrally formed wherein the case potion formed with the stator (5), the case portion has an opening which allows the control board (22) to be installed in the internal portion.
While Ikitake does disclose an electromagnetic valve, Ikitake does not specifically disclose a valve main body. However, Hosoya discloses an electromagnetic valve actuator and valve main body (10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have coupled the valve actuator of Ikitake with a valve main body to facilitate flow control.
It is the office’s position that, as modified, Ikitake illustrates a valve that by moves forward and backward with respect to a valve seat formed within the valve chamber between a valve closed state seating on the valve seat and a valve opened state separating from the valve seat.
Regarding the support portion "is integrally formed with" the case portion, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Ikitake does not specifically disclose a terminal coating forming portion for covering an intermediate portion of the external portion connecting terminal and supporting the external portion connecting terminal to the connector portion. However, Tamai discloses an electromagnetic valve actuator including a terminal coating forming portion (6) for covering an intermediate portion of an external portion connecting terminal (5) and supporting the external portion connecting terminal (5) wherein the terminal coating forming portion (6) is provided with a concavo-convex portion (13) for positioning the terminal coating forming portion (6) with the connector portion.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the external portion connecting terminal to include a terminal coating forming portion to ensure sealing of the connecting terminal through the cover taught by Tamai (col. 4, lines 20-33).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikitake et al. 2(U.S. Patent 8,237,318), hereinafter “Ikitake” in view of Hosoya (U.S. Patent 6,079,798) and further in view of Uehara et al. (U.S. Patent 10,352,475), hereinafter “Uehara”.
In regards to claim 1, Ikitake discloses an electrically operated valve comprising: a valve body (col. 3, lines 36-37) for changing a flow rate of the fluid; an electric motor (7) for driving the valve body; a control board (22) for mounting an electronic component controlling the electric motor (7); a board storage portion (upper portion of 4) for including a case portion storing the control board (22); and an outer shell forming portion (4) for covering a stator (5) of the electric motor (7),wherein the control board (22) has a fixing hole (30, 31) to fix the control board (22) to an inner side of the case portion, wherein the case portion has in an internal portion thereof a support projection (33, 34) supporting the control board (22) within the case portion by being inserted into the fixing hole (30, 31), wherein the support projection (33, 34), wherein the case portion is integrally formed with the outer shell forming portion (4),wherein the case portion has an opening which allows the control board (22) to be installed in the internal portion, wherein the electrically operated valve comprises: a lid body (3) for occluding the opening; a connector portion (26) including an external portion connecting terminal (25b) to allow the electrical connection to the external portion; and wherein the connector portion (26) and the lid body (3) are integrally formed wherein the case potion formed with the stator (5), the case portion has an opening which allows the control board (22) to be installed in the internal portion.
While Ikitake does disclose an electromagnetic valve, Ikitake does not specifically disclose a valve main body. However, Hosoya discloses an electromagnetic valve actuator and valve main body (10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have coupled the valve actuator of Ikitake with a valve main body to facilitate flow control.
It is the office’s position that, as modified, Ikitake illustrates a valve that by moves forward and backward with respect to a valve seat formed within the valve chamber between a valve closed state seating on the valve seat and a valve opened state separating from the valve seat.
Regarding the support portion "is integrally formed with" the case portion, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Ikitake does not specifically disclose a coil coating forming portion wherein the coil coating forming portion is provided with a concavo-convex portion for positioning the coil coating forming portion within the stator.
However, Uehara teaches a coil coating forming portion (CCFP) which includes a concavo-convex portion (CCP). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the valve of Ikitake to include a coil coating forming portion as illustrated by Uehara to facilitate electrical supply to the coil.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12331842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753