DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajagopal (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0294681).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17:
Rajagopal discloses a method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising: obtaining a plurality of data points encoded in a constellation of predefined symbols, each data point in the plurality of data points represented by a respective magnitude and a respective angle corresponding to one of the predefined symbols with a corresponding symbol magnitude and a corresponding symbol angle (paragraph 0059: “FIG. 5a illustrates an exemplary constellation diagram 500. A constellation diagram can be a representation of a signal modulated by a modulation scheme, e.g., quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) or phase-shift keying (PSK)… The angle corresponds to a phase shift of a carrier wave from a reference phase and the distance corresponds to a measure of an amplitude or power of the signal. As information is transmitted as a series of samples (each occupies a uniform time slot), each sample encodes one of a finite number of “symbols” representing one or more bits of information. Each symbol is encoded as a different combination of amplitude and phase of the carrier and is represented by a constellation point on the constellation diagram that shows all possible symbols transmitted by the system. In the constellation diagram, the points lie on a circle around the origin”; and paragraph 0061: “As shown in FIG. 5a, the correct positions of symbols or expected positions constellation positions after equalization may be represented by points 502 (a, b, c, d). However, because of extreme channel conditions, the received symbols 1, 2, 4, 5 504 (a, b, c, d) may be plotted around the reference point 502a… In some implementations, the current subject matter may include a detector (not shown in FIG. 5a) that may be incorporated into one or more nodes 410, 412 (and/or anywhere else in the system 400) that may be configured to measure an angle 508 between the reference point 502a and the position of the received symbol 504c, where the angle 508 may correspond to the change in phase/amplitude and may be used in determination of adjustment that may be required to enhance reception of a signal”); obtaining a plurality of keys (paragraph 0059, Ibid; the plurality of keys are the bitstrings that have been encoded or randomized); generating a first transformation for a first data point among the plurality of data points, the first transformation applying a first rotation that adjusts the respective angle of the first data point based on a first key among the plurality of keys (paragraph 0070: “In that case, an assumption (e.g., a hypothesis) may be made that the angle θ greater than the predetermined value of the angle (e.g., 45°, 18°, etc.) and then, rotation of the constellation by the predetermined value of the angle (e.g., 45°, 18°, etc.) with subsequent angle measurement may be performed. If the angle is now less than the predetermined value of the angle (e.g., 45°, 18°, etc.), compensation may be executed. Otherwise, further rotation may be performed… Further, once a quadrant containing a particular symbol is identified, any subsequent angle measurements (on per user equipment's basis) may be performed taking into account the previously determined additional rotation value (e.g., π/4+θ, etc.)”); generating a first transformed data point by applying the first transformation to the first data point (paragraphs 0059, 0061, & 0070); and transmitting a signal comprising the first transformed data point (Ibid). Further regarding claim 10, Rajagopal further discloses a network interface and processor (paragraph 0007: “In some implementations, at least one of the receiving, the detecting, the determining, and the compensating can be performed by a base station having at least one processor communicatively coupled to at least one memory. The base station can further include a radio transmitter and a radio receiver.”)
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 18: Rajagopal further discloses: generating a second transformation for a second data point among the plurality of data points, the second transformation adjusting the respective angle of the second data point based on a second key among the plurality of keys, wherein the second key is different than the first key (paragraphs 0059 & 0061); and generating a second transformed data point by applying the second transformation to the second data point, wherein the signal further comprises the second transformed data point (Ibid).
Regarding claims 4 and 12: Rajagopal further discloses wherein the first transformation adjusts the respective angle of the first data point to a value between the corresponding symbol angles of the predefined symbols in the constellation of predefined symbols (paragraph 0063: “Other received symbols (not shown in FIG. 5b) may be similarly plotted around other reference points 512 at their respective locations. In some implementations, a detector (not shown in FIG. 5b) in one or more nodes 410, 412 may be configured to measure an angle 518 between the reference point 512a and the position of the received symbol 514c, where the angle 518 may correspond to the change in phase/amplitude and may be used in determination of adjustment that may be required to enhance reception of a signal”; see also paragraphs 0059 & 0061).
Regarding claim 5: Rajagopal further discloses wherein the constellation of predefined symbols includes at least two predefined symbols with different values of the corresponding symbol magnitude (paragraphs 0059 & 0061).
Regarding claims 6 and 13: Rajagopal further discloses wherein the first transformation further adjusts the respective magnitude of the first data point based on the first key (paragraphs 0059, 0061, & 0063).
Regarding claims 7 and 14: Rajagopal further discloses wherein the first transformation adjusts the respective magnitude of the first data point by: determining a new predefined symbol among the constellation of predefined symbols based on a portion of the first key, the new predefined symbol with a new symbol magnitude and a new symbol angle (paragraph 0075: “Then, the current subject matter system can determine an average phase for all QPSK/QAM symbols that have been shifted to the first quadrant 507. Using the determined average phase, a phase error can be determined as the difference between the average phase and π/4 radians (such as for QPSK; for 16 QAM, a hypothetical center point may be generated (e.g., a center of four points inside the quadrant) and compared to π/4)”; see also paragraphs 0059 & 0061); and shifting the respective magnitude of the first data point to the new symbol magnitude before applying the first rotation, wherein the first transformation further shifts the respective angle of the first data point to the new symbol angle before applying the first rotation (paragraphs 0059, 0061, 0070 & 0075).
Regarding claims 8, 15, and 19: Rajagopal further discloses wherein the first transformation adjusts the respective magnitude of the first data point by: selecting a new symbol magnitude from among the corresponding symbol magnitudes of the predefined symbols in the constellation (paragraphs 0059, 0061, and 0070); and shifting the respective magnitude of the first data point to the new symbol magnitude before applying the first rotation (Ibid; see also paragraph 0075).
Regarding claims 9, 16, and 20: Rajagopal further discloses wherein the first transformation adjusts the respective magnitude of the first data point by: selecting a new constellation of predetermined symbols, wherein each predetermined symbol in the new constellation is defined by a corresponding new symbol magnitude and a corresponding new symbol angle (paragraphs 0059-0060); determining a first predetermined symbol among the new constellation of predetermined symbols based on the first key, the first predetermined symbol defined by a new symbol magnitude and a new symbol angle (paragraphs 0059 & 0061); and shifting the respective magnitude of the first data point to the new symbol magnitude before applying the first rotation, wherein the first transformation further shifts the respective angle of the first data point to the new symbol angle before applying the first rotation (paragraphs 0059, 0061, 0070 & 0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajagopal as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sagi (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0270012).
Regarding claim 3:
Rajagopal does not explicitly disclose: applying at least one iteration of an iterative transformation to generate a first iterated data point and a second iterated data point, wherein each iteration of the iterative transformation comprises: applying a first In-phase/Quadrature (I/Q) rotation to the first data point based on the first key to generate a first rotated data point; applying a second I/Q rotation to the second data point based on the second key to generate a second rotated data point; and applying a mixing transformation to the first rotated data point and the second rotated data point to generate a first mixed data point and a second mixed data point, wherein a subsequent iteration of the iterative transformation operates on the first mixed data point and the second mixed data point, and wherein the first mixed data point of a final iteration is the first iterated data point and the second mixed data point of the final iteration is the second iterated data point, wherein generating the first transformed data point comprises applying the first transformation to the first iterated data point, and generating the second transformed data point comprises applying the second transformation to the second iterated data point.
However, Sagi discloses a related invention for QAM processing in a rotated QAM constellation comprising the limitations of applying a first In-phase/Quadrature (I/Q) rotation to the first data point based on the first key to generate a first rotated data point (paragraph 0083: “Rotated QAM demapper unit 48 may receive QAM symbol (I , Q ) and, in accordance with techniques of this disclosure, rotated QAM demapper unit 48 may perform rotated QAM demapping techniques to determine a plurality of bits and/or a plurality of LLR values associated with a plurality of bits based on received QAM symbol (I , Q ). Rotated QAM demapper unit 48 may output the plurality of bits and/or the plurality of LLR values associated with a plurality of bits to bit de-interleaver unit 50 and channel decoder unit 52 for determining the actual data transmission represented by the transmitted QAM symbol” and paragraph 0088: “Vector location unit 62 may determine vector location 106 based on the in-phase and quadrature phase components of the received symbol. For example, vector location 106 may represent the relative position of the received symbol at rotated QAM constellation 100. Rotated QAM constellation 100 may be identical to the QAM constellation used by QAM mapper 42 and rotator 44 shown in FIG. 2 of TX device 12. That is to say, rotation angle o 104 shown in FIG. 6 is the same amount o of rotation applied to the transmitted QAM symbol (I, Q) prior to transmission over communication link 16”); applying a second I/Q rotation to the second data point based on the second key to generate a second rotated data point (Ibid); and applying a mixing transformation to the first rotated data point and the second rotated data point to generate a first mixed data point and a second mixed data point, wherein a subsequent iteration of the iterative transformation operates on the first mixed data point and the second mixed data point, and wherein the first mixed data point of a final iteration is the first iterated data point and the second mixed data point of the final iteration is the second iterated data point, wherein generating the first transformed data point comprises applying the first transformation to the first iterated data point, and generating the second transformed data point comprises applying the second transformation to the second iterated data point (Ibid; see also paragraph 0038: “Baseband processor 18 may output a generated baseband signal to DAC 20 which converts the digital baseband signal to a corresponding analog signal in preparation for mixing by mixer 22. Mixer 22 represents an up-mixer that may modulate an analog baseband signal up to one or more RF carrier signal frequencies for transmission (e.g., as one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) carrier signals) over communication link 16. Power amplifier 24 may receive and boost one or more RF carrier signals generated by mixer 22 and TX device 12 may output the RF carrier signals via antenna 26”). It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the functionality from Sagi’s disclosure into the Rajagopal invention, as doing so would allow the system to obscure and encode the data points based on adjacent symbols, as specified by the tenant application (Sagi, paragraphs 0038, 0083, & 0088).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent 11,159,357 (Cui)
U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0162438 (Hassan)
U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0150348 (Kowalevicz)
U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0212616 (Allen)
THOMAS A. GYORFI
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/THOMAS A GYORFI/Examiner, Art Unit 2435 10/15/2026