Remarks
The Office has cited particular columns, line numbers, paragraph numbers, references, or figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the sliding member configure to” appears to be “wherein the sliding member is configure to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the electrical lighting load" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-19 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altonen et al. (US 20090251352 A1, hereinafter referred to as Altonen) in view of Steiner et al. (US 8,009,042 B2, hereinafter referred to as Steiner).
Regarding claim 1, Altonen discloses a faceplate remote control device couplable to an electrical wallbox ("The remote control 120 ... mounted to a vertical surface inside an opening of a standard-sized faceplate", paras 0037, 0027; "ganged next to a designer-style dimmer switch and mounted with a standard designer-style two-gang faceplate.", para 0032; FIGS. 8, 13), the faceplate remote control device comprising:
a front plate having a first surface and a second surface ("The remote control 120 comprises a housing that includes a front enclosure portion 122 and a rear enclosure portion 124.", para 0037; FIG. 2A, 4C, 8, 12);
a printed circuit board comprising a control circuit (230, Fig. 3B) and a wireless communication circuit (236, Fig. 3B), wherein the printed circuit board coupled to the first (rear) side of the front enclosure assembly ("FIG. 4B is a front perspective view of a rear enclosure portion and a printed circuit board of the remote control", para 0022; "The remote control comprises a controller, a radio-frequency transmitter coupled to the controller.", Abstract; FIGS. 3B, 4A-4B);
a user interface ("The remote control 120 further comprises a plurality of actuators (i.e., an on button 130, an off button 132, a raise button 134, a lower button 136, and a preset button 138). The remote control 120 also comprises a visual indicator 140.", para 0037; FIGS. 2A, 2B, 4A-4C) accessible from the second surface of the front plate; and
the control circuit is configured to cause the wireless communication circuit to transmit a first message for controlling an electrical lighting load based on an input ("The remote control 120 transmits packets (i.e., messages) via RF signals 106 ... to the dimmer switch 110 in response to actuations of any of the actuators. A packet transmitted by the remote control 120 includes ... a command (e.g., on, off, or preset).", para 0037; Figs. 1, 3B).
Altonen does not disclose a sensing device electronically connected to the control circuit of the printed circuit board, wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a first input from the sensing device and cause transmission of the first message based on that sensing-device input.
Steiner discloses a sensing device (232, 310, Figs. 2B, 3) connected to a controller (230, Fig. 2B) that causes RF transmission of lighting control messages based on the sensor input ("The remote occupancy sensor 120 comprises a controller 230 and an occupancy detector circuit 232, which provides the controller with an occupancy control signal VOCC", col. 10, ll. 18+; "The remote occupancy sensors 120 transmit digital messages wirelessly via RF signals 106 to the dimmer switch 110 in response to the present state of the occupancy sensors.", col. 7, ll. 41+, Figs. 1A, 2B; PIR detector 310, FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Steiner's occupancy detector circuit 232, PIR 310 to Altonen's faceplate mounted RF remote (PCB of FIG. 4B) so the same wall-mounted faceplate remote transmits lighting control packets in response to a sensing device input as well as button actuations, since Altonen transmits on/off/preset RF packets from a faceplate mounted housing (FIG. 1, FIG. 8); and Steiner teaches that occupancy/vacancy sensing should generate the same class of RF lighting commands (FIGS. 1A, 2B), allowing automatic as well as manual control from the wall station without a separate ceiling sensor.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the first input from the sensing device indicates a light intensity level, wherein the first message for controlling the electrical lighting load comprises an indication to adjust an amount of power being delivered to the electrical lighting load based on the indicated light intensity level ("Each occupancy sensor 120 also comprises an ambient light detector 234 (FIG. 2B), e.g., a photocell, for detecting the level of ambient light around the occupancy sensor.... If the measured ambient light level is less than the predetermined level ... the occupancy sensor transmits the occupied-take-action command .... if the measured ambient light level is greater than the predetermined level ... occupied-no-action command .... the dimmer switch 110 does not turn on the lighting load 104 if the ambient light level in the space is sufficiently high.", col. 8, ll. 3+; Figs. 1A, 2B, Steiner).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the first input from the sensing device indicates an occupancy or vacancy condition, wherein the first message for controlling the electrical lighting load comprises an indication to turn on or off the electrical lighting load based on the occupancy or vacancy condition ("The occupancy sensors 120 each operate in an 'occupied' state or a 'vacant' state", col. 7, ll. 34+; "turn on the lighting load in response to receiving a first occupied-take-action command… turn off the lighting load 104 in response to the last vacant command.", col. 7, ll. 58+; Figs. 1A-1B, Steiner).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to: receive a second input from the user interface; and transmit a second message for controlling the electrical lighting load based on one or both of the first input from the sensing device and the second input from the user interface ("The dimmer switch 110 turns on the lighting load 104 when the first occupied-take-action command is received or when one of the dimmer actuators is actuated to turn on the lighting load.", col. 9, ll. 21+; Figs. 1A, 1D, Steiner).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the faceplate remote control device is configured to be mountable to a wall-mounted light switch that is attached to a standard electrical wallbox (see Fig. 13, Altonen).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the front plate comprises an opening, wherein the opening is configured such that, while the faceplate remote control device is mounted to the wall-mounted light switch, a toggle actuator of the wall-mounted light switch protrudes through the opening so that the toggle actuator can be actuated between an on position and an off position ("toggle actuator 114" that toggles through a faceplate, bezel opening (Fig. 1A, Steiner).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the printed circuit board comprises a toggle actuator detector circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to: receive an indication of a position of the toggle actuator from the toggle actuator detector circuit, and cause the wireless communication circuit to transmit a second message for controlling the electrical lighting load based on the received indication of the position of the toggle actuator (Steiner discloses responding to toggle-actuator position/actuation to turn the lighting load on or off (toggle actuator 114, FIG. 1A) and transmitting RF digital messages that change load state (FIGS. 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the toggle actuator detector circuit comprises a mechanical tactile switch (Fig. 4C, Altonen), or an infrared (IR) transmitter and IR receiver (Steiner uses actuator switches for toggle 114 (Fig. 1) and a PIR detector 310 (IR)(Fig. 3) for occupancy).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the user interface comprises one or more control buttons ("The remote control 120 further comprises a plurality of actuators (i.e., an on button 130, an off button 132, a raise button 134, a lower button 136, and a preset button 138”, para 0037, Altonen).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the user interface comprises a visual display configured to display an indication of an amount of power being delivered to the electrical lighting load (“A plurality of visual indicators 118, e.g., light-emitting diodes (LEDs), are arranged in a linear array on the left side of the bezel 113. The visual indicators 118 are illuminated to provide feedback of the intensity of the lighting load 104.”, col. 6, ll. 63+; Fig. 1A, Steiner).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the sensing device comprises at least one of an occupancy sensing circuit (occupied/vacant states 232, Fig. 2B, Steiner), a vacancy sensing circuit (occupied/vacant states 232, Fig. 2B, Steiner), or a daylight sensing circuit (234, Fig. 2B, Steiner).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the front plate comprises a lens, wherein the sensing device comprises a passive infrared detector that is operable to receive infrared energy through the lens ("The enclosure 122 comprises a lens 124 (e.g., an outwardly domed lens) provided in a front surface 125 of the enclosure 122. The internal detector is operable to receive infrared energy from an occupant in the space via the lens 124", col. 7, ll. 16+; PIR detector 310 (Figs. 1A, 3, 4A, Steiner).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses a battery electronically connected to the control circuit, wherein the battery is configured to provide power to the control circuit, the sensing device, and the wireless communication circuit ("The remote control comprises a controller, a radio-frequency transmitter coupled to the controller, and a battery coupled to provide power to the controller and the radio-frequency transmitter, which are all contained within the housing.", Abstract, Altonen; "each occupancy sensor comprising an enclosed plastic housing including at least one battery", Claim 1, Steiner).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the first message for controlling the electrical lighting load comprises an indication of a state change associated with the electrical lighting load (Altonen discloses RF packets that include "a command (e.g., on, off, or preset)" changing lighting-load state, para 0037; Steiner discloses occupied/vacant commands as state-change messages ("a command and identifying information", col. 7, ll. 46+; Figs. 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the first message for controlling the electrical lighting load comprises an indication to increase or decrease an amount of power being delivered to the electrical lighting load ("raise button 134, a lower button 136"; command in the transmitted packet, para 0037, Altonen).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the first message for controlling the electrical lighting load comprises an indication to turn the electrical lighting load on or off (“command (e.g., on, off, or preset)", para 0037; “The dimmer switch 110 is operable to turn on and to turn off the lighting load 104 in response to an actuation of the on button 130 and the off button 132, respectively.”, para 0038; Figs. 1, 2A, Altonen).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the front plate comprises a plurality of attachment members, wherein the attachment members are configured to enable the faceplate remote control device to be coupled with the electrical wallbox using an adapter plate (faceplate 600, adapter 604, slide-mount plate 610, screws 620, Figs. 8, 12, para 0057; "the slide-receiving portion of the housing comprises two parallel flanges arranged to slidingly receive the slide rails of the plate", Claim 3, Altonen).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Altonen discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses a programming button (138, Fig. 3B), wherein the programming button is disposed on the second surface of the front plate, wherein the control circuit is configured to initiate a process to associate the faceplate remote control device with a lighting control system upon actuation of the programming button (“The preset intensity of the dimmer switch 110 may be programmed from the remote control 120. To program a new preset intensity of the dimmer switch 110, a user first adjusts the intensity of the lighting load 104 to a new (i.e., desired) intensity. The user then presses and holds the preset button [138] of the remote control 120 to cause the dimmer switch to reassign the lighting preset to the new intensity.”, para 0048, Altonen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL D CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845