DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (NPL: 4D Gaussian Splatting for Real-Time Dynamic Scene Rendering) in view of Navaneet (NPL: Compact3D: Compressing Gaussian Splat Radiance Field Models with Vector Quantization).
Regarding claim 1:
Wu teaches:
A method for generating a 2-dimensional (2D) image, which is performed by a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus (Wu: Our 4D-GS method achieves real-time rendering under high resolutions, 82 FPS at an 800×800 resolution, Pg. 1, Abstract), the method comprising:
obtaining a time index and a view (Wu: NVS aims at rendering images from any desired viewpoint or timestamp of a scene, Pg. 1, Section 1: Introduction, par. 1);
obtaining canonical 3D Gaussians (Wu, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 2: Only one set of canonical 3D Gaussians is maintained), wherein the canonical 3D Gaussians are 3D Gaussians corresponding to a reference time index, and represent a 3D space corresponding to the reference time index (Wu: the spatial-temporal structure encoder H can encode both the temporal and spatial features of 3D Gaussians, Pg. 4, col 2, par. 1; see Note 1A);
obtaining a parameter offset, wherein the parameter offset indicates a difference between the canonical 3D Gaussians and 3D Gaussians for the time index (Wu: the deformation of 3D Gaussians ∆G is introduced by the Gaussian deformation field network ∆G = F(G,t), Pg. 4, col. 2, par. 1)
adding the reconstructed canonical 3D Gaussians and the reconstructed parameter offset to reconstruct the 3D Gaussians for the time index (Wu: For each timestamp, the canonical 3D Gaussians will be transformed by the Gaussian deformation field into new positions with new shapes, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 2; Wu: G′ = ∆G +G, Pg. 4, Section 4.1: 4D Gaussian Splatting Framework, par. 1)
generating a second image for the view based on the reconstructed 3D Gaussians (Wu: a novel-view image I is rendered by differential splatting [46] S following I = S(M,G′), where G′ = ∆G +G, Pg. 4, Section 4.1: 4D Gaussian Splatting Framework, par. 1)
Note 1A: Wu teaches that 3D Gaussians contain temporal and spatial features. Therefore, the Examiner submits that the 3D Gaussians taught by Wu represent a 3D space corresponding to a reference time.
Wu fails to teach:
obtaining first coding indices and a first codebook for canonical 3D Gaussians, wherein the canonical 3D Gaussians are 3D Gaussians corresponding to a reference time index, and represent a 3D space corresponding to the reference time index;
obtaining second encoding indices and a second codebook for a parameter offset, wherein the parameter offset indicates a difference between the canonical 3D Gaussians and 3D Gaussians for the time index;
reconstructing the canonical 3D Gaussians based on the first coding indices and the first codebook;
reconstructing parameter offsets of the 3D Gaussians for the time index based on the second coding indices and the second codebook;
Navaneet teaches:
obtaining first coding indices and a first codebook for canonical 3D Gaussians (Navaneet: After learning, we discard the non-quantized parameters and keep only the codebook and indices of the codes for Gaussians, Pg. 4, col. 1, par. 2), wherein the canonical 3D Gaussians are 3D Gaussians corresponding to a reference time index, and represent a 3D space corresponding to the reference time index (see Note 1B);
obtaining second encoding indices and a second codebook for a parameter offset (Navaneet: We notice that many Gaussians may share similar parameters, so we introduce a simple vector quantization method based on K-means algorithm to quantize the Gaussian parameters. Then, we store the small codebook along with the index of the code for each Gaussian, Abstract; see Note 1C and Note 1D);
reconstructing the canonical 3D Gaussians based on the first coding indices and the first codebook (Navaneet: Only the codebook and code assignments for each Gaussian are stored and used for inference, Pg. 3, Fig. 2);
reconstructing parameter offsets of the 3D Gaussians for the time index based on the second coding indices and the second codebook (Navaneet: the index can act as a pointer to the correct code freeing the memory needed to replicate those parameters for all Gaussians, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 1);
Note 1B: When the teachings of Navaneet are combined with the teachings of Wu, it would be obvious to encode the canonical 3D Gaussians and parameter offset (see also Note 1D below) taught by Wu into a codebook and corresponding indices.
Note 1C: Although not explicitly clear in the cited quotes above, Navaneet teaches that quantization results in the generation of codebooks: “In our main method, we quantize DC component of color, spherical harmonics, scale, and rotation parameters separately, resulting in 4 codebooks,” (Pg. 4, col. 1, par. 5). Each codebook also has corresponding indices: “we simply vector-quantize parameters and store the codebook along with the index for each Gaussian,” (Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 1).
Note 1D: Navaneet teaches that Gaussian parameters may be compressed into codebooks, as cited above. As the parameter offset is an offset explicitly related to the Gaussian splat, the Examiner submits that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to also compress the parameter offset into a codebook and corresponding indices using vector quantization, as the strategy is generally applicable to may fields of art: “This compression technique has been used in many applications including image com pression [12], video and audio codec [34, 37], compressing deep networks [11, 20], and generative models [22, 46, 55]. We apply a similar method to compressing 3DGS models.” (Navaneet, Pg. 2, col. 2, Vector Quantization).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Navaneet with Wu. Obtaining codebooks and indices for 3D gaussians and their corresponding parameters, as in Navaneet, would benefit the Wu teachings by reducing memory usage: “we simply vector-quantize parameters and store the codebook along with the index for each Gaussian. This can result in a huge reduction in the storage of the learned radiance fields. Also, it can reduce the memory footprint at the rendering time since the index can act as a pointer to the correct code freeing the memory needed to replicate those parameters for all Gaussians.” (Navaneet, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 1)
Regarding claim 2:
Wu in view of Navaneet teaches:
The method of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein parameters of the canonical 3D Gaussians include a location, a size, a rotation, a color (Navaneet: In our main method, we quantize DC component of color, spherical harmonics, scale, and rotation parameters separately, resulting in 4 codebooks, Pg. 4, col. 1, par. 5), and an opacity (Navaneet: Each Gaussian has several parameters including its position, […] opacity, Pg. 1, col. 2, par 1; emphasis added).
Regarding claim 3:
Wu in view of Navaneet teaches:
The method of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the parameter offset includes an offset location, an offset size, an offset rotation (Wu: Separate MLPs are employed to compute the deformation of position ∆X = ϕx(fd), rotation ∆r = ϕr(fd), and scaling ∆s = ϕs(fd), Pg. 5, Multi-head Gaussian Deformation Decoder, par. 1; see Note 3A), an offset color, and an offset opacity (Wu: When encountered with fluid or non-rigid motion, we adopt another two output MLP decoder ϕC, ϕα to compute the deformation of 3D Gaussian’s color and opacity ∆C=ϕC(fd), ∆α=ϕα(fd), Pg. 12, Color and Opacity’s Deformation, par. 1).
Note 3A: Wu showcases in Figure 3 on Pg. 3 (reproduced below) that the MLP outputs deformation parameters for position, rotation, and scaling, which are incorporated into the Deformed 3D Gaussians.
Cropped variant of Figure 3 on Pg. 3 of Wu.
Regarding claim 4:
Wu in view of Navaneet teaches:
The method of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the first coding indices, the first codebook, the second coding indices, and the second codebook are generated in advance based on training the dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus (Navaneet: The quantization is performed along with the training of the Gaussian parameters, Pg. 3, Figure 2; see Note 4A).
Note 4A: In Note 1C, Navaneet was shown to teach on Pg. 4, col. 1, par. 5 that quantization results in the generation of codebooks with corresponding indices. As cited above, the quantization is performed alongside the training of Gaussian parameters, and therefore the Examiner submits that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate the first coding indices, the first codebook, the second coding indices, and the second codebook based on training the apparatus.
Regarding claim 6:
Claim 6 is substantially similar to claim 1, and is therefore rejected for similar reasons. Claim 6 contains the following notable differences:
Claim 6 claims a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus instead of a method. Wu teaches a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus: “Our 4D-GS method achieves real-time rendering under high resolutions, 82 FPS at an 800×800 resolution on an RTX 3090 GPU” (Wu, Abstract)
Regarding claim 7:
Claim 7 is substantially similar to claim 2, and is therefore rejected for similar reasons. Claim 7 contains the following notable differences:
Claim 7 claims a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus instead of a method. In the rejection of claim 6, it was shown that Wu teaches a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus.
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 8 is substantially similar to claim 3, and is therefore rejected for similar reasons. Claim 8 contains the following notable differences:
Claim 8 claims a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus instead of a method. In the rejection of claim 6, it was shown that Wu teaches a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus.
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is substantially similar to claim 4, and is therefore rejected for similar reasons. Claim 9 contains the following notable differences:
Claim 9 claims a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus instead of a method. In the rejection of claim 6, it was shown that Wu teaches a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus.
Regarding claim 10:
Wu teaches:
obtaining time indices and canonical 3D Gaussians (Wu: An explicit table is utilized to store information about each 3D Gaussian at every timestamp, Pg. 3, col. 1, par. 1), wherein the canonical 3D Gaussians are 3D Gaussians corresponding to a reference time index, and represent a 3D space corresponding to the reference time index (Wu: the spatial-temporal structure encoder H can encode both the temporal and spatial features of 3D Gaussians, Pg. 4, col 2, par. 1; see Note 1A);
generating a parameter offset for each time index (Wu: the deformation of 3D Gaussians ∆G is introduced by the Gaussian deformation field network ∆G = F(G,t), Pg. 4, col. 2, par. 1) by using a deep learning-based prediction network (Wu: Separate MLPs are employed to compute the deformation of position ∆X = ϕx(fd), rotation ∆r = ϕr(fd), and scaling ∆s = ϕs(fd), Pg. 5, Multi-head Gaussian Deformation Decoder, par. 1) based on each time index and locations of the canonical 3D Gaussians (Wu: Pg. 3, Figure 3; see Note 10A), wherein the parameter offset indicates a difference between the canonical 3D Gaussians and 3D Gaussians for each time index (Wu: the deformed feature (X′,r′,s′) can be addressed as: (X′,r′,s′) = (X +∆X, r +∆r, s+∆s), Pg. 5, Multi-head Gaussian Deformation Decoder);
Note 10A: Wu showcases in Figure 3 on Pg. 3 that the MLP accepts 3D Gaussians G and timestamp t as input. Therefore, the Examiner submits that the parameter offset (“deformation”) determined by the MLP(s) is based on the time index and locations of the canonical 3D Gaussians.
Wu fails to teach:
A method for compressing a dynamic 3-dimensional (3D) space, which is performed by a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus, the method comprising:
generating a first codebook by grouping parameters of the canonical 3D Gaussians;
generating first coding indices of the canonical 3D Gaussians based on a nearest code in the first codebook;
generating a second codebook by grouping parameter offsets for time indices;
generating second coding indices of parameter offsets for the 3D Gaussians of the time indices based on a nearest code in the second codebook;
storing the first codebook, the first coding indices, the second codebook, and the second coding indices; and
inferring a 2D image based on the first codebook, the first coding indices, the second codebook, and the second coding indices.
Navaneet teaches:
A method for compressing a dynamic 3-dimensional (3D) space, which is performed by a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus (Navaneet: We compress 3DGS using vector quantization of the parameters of the Gaussians, Pg. 3, Figure 2), the method comprising:
generating a first codebook by grouping parameters of the canonical 3D Gaussians (Navaneet: Hence, we group similar parameters together and cluster them independently to learn a separate codebook for each, Pg. 4, par. 5);
generating first coding indices of the canonical 3D Gaussians (Navaneet: After learning, we discard the non-quantized parameters and keep only the codebook and indices of the codes for Gaussians, Pg. 4, col. 1, par. 2) based on a nearest code in the first codebook (Navaneet: A standard K-means iteration involves distance calculation between all elements (Gaussian parameters) and all cluster centers followed by assignment to the closest center. The centers are then updated using new cluster assignments and the loop is repeated, Pg. 4, Section 4: Experiments, par. 1; see Note 10E);
generating a second codebook by grouping parameter offsets for time indices (Navaneet: Hence, we group similar parameters together and cluster them independently to learn a separate codebook for each, Pg. 4, par. 5; see Note 10C);
generating second coding indices of parameter offsets for the 3D Gaussians of the time indices (Navaneet: We notice that many Gaussians may share similar parameters, so we introduce a simple vector quantization method based on K-means algorithm to quantize the Gaussian parameters. Then, we store the small codebook along with the index of the code for each Gaussian, Abstract; see Note 1C and Note 1D) based on a nearest code in the second codebook (Navaneet: A standard K-means iteration involves distance calculation between all elements (Gaussian parameters) and all cluster centers followed by assignment to the closest center. The centers are then updated using new cluster assignments and the loop is repeated, Pg. 4, Section 4: Experiments, par. 1);
storing the first codebook, the first coding indices, the second codebook, and the second coding indices (Navaneet: we simply […] store the codebook along with the index for each Gaussian, Pg. 2, par. 1; see Note 10D); and
inferring a 2D image based on the first codebook, the first coding indices, the second codebook, and the second coding indices (Navaneet: Only the codebook and code assignments for each Gaussian are stored and used for inference, Pg. 3, Figure 2).
Note 10C: Navaneet teaches that parameters may be grouped together to generate a codebook on Pg. 4 as cited above. Wu teaches multiple parameter deformations for parameters such as location, color, opacity, etc.
Note 10D: The Examiner submits that it would be obvious to store the first and second codebooks and indices in order to later infer a 2D image based on that data.
Note 10E: The cluster centers discussed by Navaneet are analogous to codes, as Navaneet teaches: “we perform K-means clustering to represent the N Gaussians in the model with k cluster centers (codes)” (Pg. 3, Figure. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Navaneet with Wu. Obtaining codebooks and indices for 3D gaussians and their corresponding parameters, as in Navaneet, would benefit the Wu teachings by reducing memory usage: “we simply vector-quantize parameters and store the codebook along with the index for each Gaussian. This can result in a huge reduction in the storage of the learned radiance fields. Also, it can reduce the memory footprint at the rendering time since the index can act as a pointer to the correct code freeing the memory needed to replicate those parameters for all Gaussians.” (Navaneet, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 1)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (NPL: 4D Gaussian Splatting for Real-Time Dynamic Scene Rendering) in view of Navaneet (NPL: Compact3D: Compressing Gaussian Splat Radiance Field Models with Vector Quantization) and Sulieman (US 8533166 B1; see attachment for paragraph numbers).
Regarding claim 5:
Wu in view of Navaneet teaches:
The method of claim 1 (as shown above), further comprising:
Wu in view of Navaneet fails to teach:
obtaining offset compression information indicating whether the parameter offset is compressed in a current time index; and
determining whether the parameter offset is compressed in the current time index according to a value of the offset compression information,
wherein, in reconstructing the canonical 3D Gaussians, when the compression of the parameter offset is omitted in the current time index, 3D Gaussians generated in a previous time index are used as the 3D Gaussians of the current time index.
Sulieman teaches:
obtaining offset compression information (Sulieman: Warp compression algorithms encode delta frames to a lower bitrate (can be several folds less) than original frames, (45)) indicating whether the parameter offset is compressed in a current time index (see Note 5A); and
determining whether the parameter offset is compressed in the current time index according to a value of the offset compression information (Sulieman: In one example, the instant invention detects null frames (mathematically identical frames), discarding at least some of them, (49); see Note 5B)
wherein, in reconstructing the canonical frame, when the compression of the parameter offset is omitted in the current time index, frames generated in a previous time index are used as the frames of the current time index (Sulieman: if the previous frame is mathematically identical to the current, the current frame is discarded and the decoder simply uses the previous frame again, (50)).
Note 5A: The Examiner submits that the delta encoded by Sulieman is analogous to a parameter offset because it represents the difference between frames: “In one example, the "Warp Send" methods and systems of the present invention take the difference between frames and if the standard deviation of the difference is within tolerance (<5), Warp compression algorithms encode the delta; otherwise Warp compression algorithms encode the original frame.” paragraph (45), emphasis added.
Note 5B: In (49), Sulieman teaches that if the frame is a null frame (as opposed to, for example, a delta frame as discussed in (45)), that previous frames may be used as current frames. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the presence of a “null frame” indicates that compression was omitted for that frame.
Note 5C: The Examiner submits that although Sulieman does not mention 3D Gaussians and their parameters, Sulieman is analogous prior art because it teaches compression methods (specifically, deduplication) for a video that are equally applicable to 3D Gaussians that are to be animated in time.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sulieman with Wu in view of Navaneet. Reusing previous data based on the omission of compression, as in Sulieman, would benefit the Wu in view of Navaneet teachings by further reducing the storage necessary to represent a scene (e.g., a duplicate frame is represented as a null frame rather than a duplicate frame with associated memory costs).
Claims 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (NPL: 4D Gaussian Splatting for Real-Time Dynamic Scene Rendering) in view of Navaneet (NPL: Compact3D: Compressing Gaussian Splat Radiance Field Models with Vector Quantization) and Jannen (NPL: Deduplication).
Regarding claim 11:
Wu in view of Navaneet teaches:
The method of claim 10 (as shown above), further comprising:
Wu in view of Navaneet fails to teach:
omitting compression of the parameter offset of the current time index, when a difference between a parameter offset generated in a previous time index and a parameter offset generated in a current time index is less than a preset threshold;
setting a value of offset compression information according to whether the parameter offset is compressed in the current time index; and
storing the offset compression information.
Jannen teaches:
omitting compression of the parameter offset of the current time index, when a difference between a parameter offset generated in a previous time index and a parameter offset generated in a current time index is less than a preset threshold (Jannen: If the system determines that a duplicate object is already present in the system, the new object O is not written, Pg. 1, On-line vs. offline, par. 1; see Note 11A);
setting a value of offset compression information according to whether the parameter offset is compressed in the current time index (Jannen: If the object is found to be unique, then O is written as normal […] If the system determines that a duplicate object is already present in the system, the new object O is not written; instead, a reference to the original copy is stored; see Note 11B); and
storing the offset compression information (see Note 11B).
Note 11A: Wu teaches: “An explicit table is utilized to store information about each 3D Gaussian at every timestamp, leading to a linear memory consumption increase, denoted as O(tN), in which N is num of 3D Gaussians. For long-term scene reconstruction, the storage cost will become non-negligible.” (Pg. 3, col. 1, par. 1). In other words, Wu teaches that memory usage increases relative to the amount of Gaussian data for each timestamp.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Gaussian parameters that are duplicated will lead to increased memory usage, and therefore would be motivated to apply the known deduplication method taught by Jannen to the Gaussian parameter offset (relative to the timestamp) to reduce memory usage.
Note 11B: Jannen teaches omitting compression of a first object, when a difference between a second object and a first object index is less than a preset threshold (as cited above). Rather than compressing the data, Jannen stores a reference to the original copy, but only if there is duplicate data. If not, the object is “written as normal”, which, when the teachings of Jannen are combined with Wu in view of Navaneet, would involve compressing the parameter offset.
The way the object is written (as norma (i.e., compressed) l when not duplicated, and as a reference when duplicated) depends on whether a “duplicate object is already present in the system”, which in turn is directly tied to whether the object is compressed. Therefore, the Examiner submits that the value of the offset compression information is set based on whether the parameter offset is compressed in the current time index.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Jannen with Wu in view of Navaneet. Setting a value of offset compression information according to whether the parameter offset is compressed in the current time index, as in Jannen, would benefit the Wu in view of Navaneet teachings by preventing the storage of duplicate data: “At a high level, deduplication systems: 1. identify duplicate objects and 2. eliminate redundant copies of information” (Jannen, Pg. 1, par. 1). In addition, Navaneet is directed to reducing memory used by 3D Gaussian splatting applications, and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent data duplication when implementing the teachings of Navaneet.
Regarding claim 12:
Wu in view of Navaneet and Jannen teaches:
The method of claim 11 (as shown above), wherein the process of inferring the 2D image comprises:
obtaining the first coding indices and the first codebook (Navaneet: After learning, we discard the non-quantized parameters and keep only the codebook and indices of the codes for Gaussians, Pg. 4, col. 1, par. 2), and
reconstructing the canonical 3D Gaussians based on the first coding indices and the first codebook (Navaneet: Only the codebook and code assignments for each Gaussian are stored and used for inference, Pg. 3, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13:
Wu in view of Navaneet and Jannen teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein inferring the 2D image further comprises:
obtaining the second coding indices and the second codebook (Navaneet: We notice that many Gaussians may share similar parameters, so we introduce a simple vector quantization method based on K-means algorithm to quantize the Gaussian parameters. Then, we store the small codebook along with the index of the code for each Gaussian, Abstract; see Note 1C and Note 1D); and
reconstructing parameter offsets of 3D Gaussians for each time index based on the second coding indices and the second codebook (Navaneet: the index can act as a pointer to the correct code freeing the memory needed to replicate those parameters for all Gaussians, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 1).
Regarding claim 14:
Wu in view of Navaneet and Jannen teaches:
The method of claim 13 (as shown above), wherein inferring the 2D image further comprises:
obtaining a view (Wu: NVS aims at rendering images from any desired viewpoint or timestamp of a scene, Pg. 1, Section 1: Introduction, par. 1);
reconstructing the 3D Gaussians for each time index by adding the reconstructed canonical 3D Gaussians and the reconstructed parameter offset (Wu: For each timestamp, the canonical 3D Gaussians will be transformed by the Gaussian deformation field into new positions with new shapes, Pg. 2, col. 1, par. 2; Wu: G′ = ∆G +G, Pg. 4, Section 4.1: 4D Gaussian Splatting Framework, par. 1); and
generating a second image for the view based on the reconstructed 3D Gaussians (Wu: a novel-view image I is rendered by differential splatting [46] S following I = S(M,G′), where G′ = ∆G +G, Pg. 4, Section 4.1: 4D Gaussian Splatting Framework, par. 1).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (NPL: 4D Gaussian Splatting for Real-Time Dynamic Scene Rendering) in view of Navaneet (NPL: Compact3D: Compressing Gaussian Splat Radiance Field Models with Vector Quantization) and Pumarola (NPL: D-NeRF: Neural Radiance Fields for Dynamic Scenes).
Regarding claim 15:
Wu in view of Navaneet teaches:
The method of claim 10 (as shown above), further comprising:
wherein the GT includes a plurality of 2D images (Wu: We use the points computed by SfM [32] from the first frame of each video in Neu3D’s dataset and 200 frames randomly selected in HyperNeRF’s, Pg. 6, col. 2, par. 1) used for initializing the canonical 3D Gaussians and 2D images corresponding to the time indices.
Wu in view of Navaneet fails to explicitly teach:
training the dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus based on the inferred 2D image and a ground truth (GT),
Pumarola teaches:
training the dynamic apparatus based on the inferred 2D image and a ground truth (GT) (Pumarola: The training loss we use is the mean squared error between the rendered and real pixels […] where ˆC are the pixels’ ground-truth color, Pg. 5, Section 4.3: Learning the Model, par. 2; see Note 15A),
Note 15A: Wu teaches a loss function similar to the equation taught by Pumarola: “L = ˆI − I +Ltv” (Pg. 5, Equation 9). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to training a dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus based on the inferred 2D image and a ground truth because Wu explicitly refers to their loss function as similar to Pumarola’s: “Similar to other reconstruction methods [6, 14, 28], we use the L1 color loss to supervise the training process.” (Pg. 5, Section 4.3: Optimization). Note that 28 refers to Pumarola, as seen on Pg. 10.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pumarola with Wu in view of Navaneet because Wu explicitly refers to the methods taught by Pumarola as similar (see Note 15A above).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (NPL: 4D Gaussian Splatting for Real-Time Dynamic Scene Rendering) in view of Navaneet (NPL: Compact3D: Compressing Gaussian Splat Radiance Field Models with Vector Quantization), Pumarola (NPL: D-NeRF: Neural Radiance Fields for Dynamic Scenes) and Mishra (NPL: Exploring Loss Functions in Machine Learning).
Regarding claim 16:
Wu in view of Navaneet and Pumarola teaches:
The method of claim 15 (as shown above), wherein training the dynamic Gaussian splatting apparatus further comprises:
calculating a loss function based on a difference between the inferred 2D image and the ground truth (GT) (Pumarola: The training loss we use is the mean squared error between the rendered and real pixels […] where ˆC are the pixels’ ground-truth color, Pg. 5, Section 4.3: Learning the Model, par. 2; see Note 15A);
updating the canonical 3D Gaussians (Wu: 3D Gaussians can be well-trained with structure from motion (SfM) [32] points initialization, Pg. 5, Section 4.3: Optimization, par. 1); and
updating the prediction network (Wu: the multi-head Gaussian deformation decoder D can decode the features and predict each 3D Gaussian’s deformation, Pg. 4, col. 2, par. 1)
Wu in view of Navaneet and Pumarola fails to explicitly teach:
updating parameters of the canonical 3D Gaussians in order to reduce the loss function;
updating parameters of the prediction network in order to reduce the loss function.
Mishra teaches:
updating parameters of the canonical 3D Gaussians in order to reduce the loss function (see Note 16A);
updating parameters of the prediction network in order to reduce the loss function (see Note 16A).
Note 16A: Mishra teaches: “A loss function is a function that calculates the deviation between the expected output and the actual output of a model. The objective of a loss function is to adjust the model’s parameters so that the calculated loss is minimized, leading to higher accuracy in machine learning models,” (Pg. 1, par. 1) In Note 15A, it was shown that Wu and Pumarola teach loss functions for training. It follows that when the teachings of Mishra are combined with Wu in view of Pumarola, that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to update parameters of various aspects of the network in order to reduce the loss function.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mishra with Wu in view of Navaneet and Pumarola because at least Wu and Pumarola teach the use of a loss function, which Mishra explains the functionality of. Furthermore, Mishra teaches: “a loss function is a fundamental aspect of the model training process, which enables models to identify and quantify their predictive errors, and adjust their parameters to improve their performance” (Pg. 1, par. 1).
Conclusion
/VINCENT ALEXANDER PROVIDENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617