DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
For the IDS dated 23 May 2025, Citation No. 15 under U.S. Patent Application Publications contains a name, but no publication number, document kind code, or publication date. No copy of EP 0167611 A1, Citation No. 4 under Foreign Patent Document, is on file.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, the recitation “surface” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,320,178. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the overlap in scope between the patented claims and the claims pending in this application render obvious the claims pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 1,941,126 A (Blackman).
With respect to claim 1: Blackman discloses a cabinet apparatus comprising: a housing (not numbered main body of the cabinet in Figs. 1 and/or 9) defining a storage space (interior space having shelves therein) having a front access opening (Figs. 1 and/or 9), the housing comprising: a rear panel (wall 14); a first panel structure (structure forming right wall of the cabinet) including a first sidewall panel structure (the right wall 12) and a tubular flange (Fig. 4: front portion of wall 12, flange 17, and bead 16) extending lengthwise along the first sidewall panel structure (Figs. 1-2 and 4), the tubular flange including a front wall (Fig. 4: flange 17 and the front leg of bead 16), an outer wall (Fig. 4: outer leg of bead 16), a rear wall (Fig. 4: rear leg of bead 16), and an inner wall (Fig. 4: front portion of wall 12) that collectively define an tubular cavity (cavity in which spacing channel 18 is accommodated in Fig. 4); and a first hinge component (the leaf of hinge 24 attached to bead 16) protruding from the tubular flange (hinge 24 protrudes from and is welded to the front leg of bead 16); and a door (door 23, 37) including a door body (main body of door 23, 37) and a second hinge component (the other leaf of hinge 24 attached to door frame 25) on the door body (welded to frame 25 of door 23), wherein the first and second hinge components are operably coupled to one another (to thereby for hinge 24) to so that the door is pivotably mounted to the housing to be rotatable about a rotational axis between: (1) a closed position in which the door body encloses the front access opening (Figs. 2-4 and/or 10); and (2) an open position in which the storage space is accessible via the front access opening (Figs. 1 and/or 9).
With respect to claim 3: Blackman discloses wherein the first sidewall panel structure forms the inner wall of the tubular flange (Fig. 4: the front portion wall 12 forms the inner wall as claimed).
With respect to claim 4: Blackman discloses wherein the first hinge component protrudes from a front-outside corner of the tubular flange (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 15: Blackman discloses a cabinet apparatus comprising: a housing (not numbered main body of the cabinet in Figs. 1 and/or 9) defining a storage space (interior space having shelves therein) having a front access opening (Figs. 1 and/or 9), the housing comprising: a rear panel (wall 14); a first panel structure (structure forming right wall of the cabinet) including a first sidewall panel structure (the right wall 12) and a tubular flange (Fig. 4: front portion of wall 12, flange 17, and bead 16) extending lengthwise along the first sidewall panel structure (Figs. 1-2 and 4); and a first hinge component (the leaf of hinge 24 attached to bead 16) protruding from the tubular flange (hinge 24 protrudes from and is welded to the front leg of bead 16); and a door (door 23, 37) including a door body (main body of door 23, 37) and a second hinge component (the other leaf of hinge 24 attached to door frame 25) on the door body (welded to frame 25 of door 23), wherein the first and second hinge components are operably coupled to one another to so that the door is pivotably mounted to the housing (Figs. 1-10).
With respect to claim 17: Blackman discloses wherein the tubular flange includes a front wall (Fig. 4: flange 17 and the front leg of bead 16), an outer wall (Fig. 4: outer leg of bead 16), a rear wall (Fig. 4: rear leg of bead 16), and an inner wall (Fig. 4: front portion of wall 12) that collectively define a tubular cavity.
With respect to claim 18: Blackman discloses wherein the first sidewall panel structure forms the inner wall of the tubular flange (Fig. 4: the front portion wall 12 forms the inner wall as claimed).
With respect to claim 20: Blackman discloses a cover member (bead 15) detachably coupled to the first panel structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,941,126 A (Blackman) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,267,786 A (Aisley).
With respect to claim 5: Blackman does not disclose “wherein the outer wall extends beyond the rear wall to form an abutment lip protruding from an exterior surface of the rear wall, the abutment lip abutting a wall surface when the cabinet apparatus is recess mounted into the wall” as claimed.
Blackman Fig. 2 shows the medicine cabinet is mounted on the surface of a wall. Blackman Fig. 10 shows the medicine cabinet alternatively mounted in a recess in the wall.
Aisley Figs. 8-9 shows a not-numbered “abutment lip” as claimed, extending rearwardly from the hinge support wall 60. Such “abutment lip’ is an extension of the outer wall that protrudes from an exterior of the rear wall. The “abutment lip” abuts a wall surface when the cabinet is recess mounted into the wall (col. 5, lines 10-14). Aisley Fig. 8 shows another lip that extends from the rear wall, as an extension of the wall segment 58.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Blackman’s bead 16 to have Aisley’s “abutment lip” thereon, in order to adapt Blackman’s cabinet for mounting in a recess that is shallower than the one in Blackman Fig. 10.
With respect to claim 6: See Blackman Fig. 10. In the modification, the distal end of the “abutment lip” lies flat against the wall. The claimed “second reference plane” is parallel to and coplanar with the wall.
See Blackman Figs. 3-4. The “front access opening” of the cabinet is between the two flanges 17. Ergo, the claimed “first reference plane” is defined at the flanges 17.
In a fully-open position of the door 23, 37 (Blackman Figs. 1 and 9 and/or rotated beyond the position of Blackman Figs. 1 and 9), no portion of the door 23, 37 intersects either of the “first reference plane” or the “second reference plane” as claimed. Due to the construction of the hinge 24 and the door 23, 37, the door 23, 37 remains in front of the “first reference plane” and the “second reference plane”.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,941,126 A (Blackman) in view of US 5,267,786 A (Aisley) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 5,197,790 A (Katz ‘790).
With respect to claim 7: Blackman, as modified, does not meet “wherein the abutment lip includes a distal end which abuts the wall surface when the cabinet apparatus is recess mounted in the wall, the distal end having an increased thickness relative to a remainder of the abutment lip” as claimed.
Katz ‘790 Figs. 2-3 show it is known for similar “abutment lips” to have enlarged and/or turned-in distal ends (highlighted by the arrows in the annotated image below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Blackman’s bead 16 to have Katz ‘790’s “abutment lips” thereon, as an obvious variant and functional equivalent of Aisley’s “abutment lips”. Either are suitable for abutting a wall when the cabinet is recess mounted therein.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,941,126 A (Blackman) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0161293 A1 (Coyle).
With respect to claim 9: Blackman discloses a top panel (wall 13) that forms an upper boundary of the storage space.
Blackman does not disclose “a hanging bracket extending upward from an exterior surface of the top panel” as claimed.
Blackman Fig. 2 shows the cabinet mounted to a wall, and Blackman Fig. 10 shows the cabinet recess mounted within a wall.
Coyle discloses an elongated mounting element 120 extending upward from an exterior surface of the top panel 106 of a cabinet, which facilitates coupling the cabinet to a wall with cam locks 210.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Blackman’s wall 13 to have Coyle’s mounting element 120 on the top side thereof, in order to use Coyle’s cam locks 210 to secure Blackman’s cabinet to a wall.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,941,126 A (Blackman) in view of US 5,165,780 A (Katz ‘780).
With respect to claim 10: Blackman discloses a cabinet apparatus comprising: a housing (not numbered main body of the cabinet in Figs. 1 and/or 9) defining a storage space (interior space having shelves therein) having a front access opening (Figs. 1 and/or 9), the housing comprising: a rear panel (wall 14); a first panel structure (structure forming right wall of the cabinet) including a first sidewall panel structure (wall 12) and a tubular flange (Fig. 4: front portion of wall 12, flange 17, and bead 16) extending lengthwise along the first sidewall panel structure (Figs. 1-2 and 4), the tubular flange including a front wall (Fig. 4: flange 17 and the front leg of bead 16), an outer wall (Fig. 4: outer leg of bead 16), a rear wall (Fig. 4: rear leg of bead 16), and an inner wall (Fig. 4: front portion of wall 12) that collectively define a tubular cavity; and a first hinge component (the leaf of hinge 24 attached to bead 16) protruding from the tubular flange (hinge 24 protrudes from and is welded to the front leg of bead 16); and a door (door 23, 37) including a door body (main body of door 23, 37) and a second hinge component (the other leaf of hinge 24 attached to door frame 25) on the door body (welded to frame 25 of door 23), wherein the first and second hinge components are operably coupled to one another to so that the door is pivotably mounted to the housing (Figs. 1-10).
Blackman does not disclose “the outer wall extending beyond the rear wall to form an abutment lip protruding from an exterior surface of the rear wall” as claimed.
Blackman Fig. 2 shows the medicine cabinet is mounted on the surface of a wall. Blackman Fig. 10 shows the medicine cabinet alternatively mounted in a recess in the wall.
Katz ‘780 shows “abutment lips” that receive a bottom panel 108 when the cabinet is mounted to the front of a wall (Fig. 3), and are configured to abut the wall when recess mounted in the wall (Fig. 6). See the annotated image above for identification of such “abutment lips”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Blackman’s bead 16 to have the “abutment lips” of Katz ‘780 thereon, in order to adapt the cabinet to include cover members (bottom panels 108, etc.) when surface mounted to a wall.
With respect to claim 11: Blackman, as modified, meets a cover member (the side cover analogous to bottom panel 108) detachably coupled to the first panel structure, the cover member abutting the abutment lip.
With respect to claim 13: Blackman discloses wherein the first sidewall panel structure forms the inner wall of the tubular flange (Fig. 4: the front portion wall 12 forms the inner wall as claimed).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,941,126 A (Blackman) in view of US 5,165,780 A (Katz ‘780) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2021/0161293 A1 (Coyle).
With respect to claim 14: Blackman discloses a top panel (wall 13) that forms an upper boundary of the storage space.
Blackman does not disclose “a hanging bracket extending upward from an exterior surface of the top panel” as claimed.
Blackman Fig. 2 shows the cabinet mounted to a wall, and Blackman Fig. 10 shows the cabinet recess mounted within a wall.
Coyle discloses an elongated mounting element 120 extending upward from an exterior surface of the top panel 106 of a cabinet, which facilitates coupling the cabinet to a wall with cam locks 210.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Blackman’s wall 13 to have Coyle’s mounting element 120 on the top side thereof, in order to use Coyle’s cam locks 210 to secure Blackman’s cabinet to a wall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 12, 16, and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if 1) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and 2) a Terminal Disclaimer is filed to overcome the double patenting rejections made in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637