DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
The Applicants’ claim for priority based upon European Patent Application EP24178633.4 filed on May 28, 2024 is duly noted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 23, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 9, 10, and 15 are objected as the abbreviations inter-ATA, CAX, and CANBus have not been presented in an expanded form. Corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“power supply module” in claims 3 and 18 (paragraph 0018 where the power supply module is an electronic device supplying and distributing power to the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert)
“wiring distribution module” in claims 5 and 13 (paragraph 0020 where the wiring distribution module provides a connection of the aircraft monument to an aircraft wiring system)
“thermal management module” in claim 8 and “equipment protection module” in claim 13 (paragraph 0039 and figure 2, item 204 where the equipment protection module and thermal management module is an electronic device in control of thermal circuit breakers)
“control unit” in claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 12, 14, and 16, (paragraph 0010 where a control unit is a controller configured to receive a plurality of input signals indicative for the operational status of an aircraft, the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert, to analyze the plurality of input signals and to generate a plurality of output signals for controlling operating parameters of the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert)
“communication module” in claims 14 (paragraph 0025 where the communication module operates in a plurality of communication protocols, in particular a CANBus, ethernet or wireless protocol)
“user interface module” in claims 12 and 13 (paragraph 0023 where the user interface module is an electronic device that receives a user-generated input signal and displaying system parameters)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most similar art of record, Godecker et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0263835], discloses a galley having a service module where it contains compartments for oven, service, and refrigeration modules (figure 3A, items 14, 20, and 22 as well as paragraph 0013), a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50), and a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50). However, no art of record discloses adapting the operating parameters of the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert depending on flight phase or passenger service phase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 11-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Godecker et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0263835]
With regard to claim 1, Godecker et al. meets the limitations of:
an aircraft monument configured as an aircraft galley comprising a plurality of compartments configured for arrangement of at least one galley insert [a galley having a service module where it contains compartments for oven, service, and refrigeration modules (figure 3A, items 14, 20, and 22 as well as paragraph 0013)]
a control unit comprising a controller, configured to receive a plurality of input signals indicative of an operational status of an aircraft, the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert [a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
to analyze the plurality of input signals and to generate a plurality of output signals for controlling operating parameters of the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
With regard to claim 2, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the at least one galley insert is configured as one of an electrical galley insert, an active galley insert and an interchangeable galley insert [a modular galley having a service module where it contains compartments for oven, service, and refrigeration modules (figure 3A, items 14, 20, and 22 as well as paragraph 0013) where the compartments are not limited to the type of device placed into them ]
With regard to claim 3, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the control unit further comprises a central power supply module configured to supply, distribute or both supply and distribute power to the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert and wherein the controller is configured to control the power supply module [a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
With regard to claim 5, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the control unit further comprises a wiring distribution module configured to provide a connection of the aircraft monument to an aircraft wiring system [a control unit in electrical communication with an airplane’s electrical system where the control unit controls the power distribution and operation to galley devices (paragraph 0017 and paragraph 0018 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, 50, and 54)]
With regard claim 8, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the controller is configured to receive and analyze input signals from at least one further input source [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
the at least one further input source is one of a thermal management module, a system dynamic management, an inter-ATA water consumption and control, an automated maintenance, and an operations support [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
With regard to claim 11, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the operations support comprises a galley and trolley commissioning set-up support, an inventory management, or both the galley and trolley commissioning set-up support and the inventory management [a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
With regard to claim 12, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the control unit further comprises a user interface module configured to at least one of receive a user- generated input signal and display system parameters, with the user interface module being configured as at least one of a user interface device fixedly installed in the aircraft monument, a mobile aircraft crew device and a flight attendant panel [a user interface providing access control to the user (paragraph 0012)]
With regard to claim 13, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
a housing is provided with at least the controller, a power supply module, a wiring and equipment protection module, a wiring distribution module and a user interface module being arranged in the housing [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50) where a user interface providing access control to the user (paragraph 0012)]
With regard to claim 14, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the controller comprises a communication module for communicating with at least one element of the control unit and the aircraft, the communication module being configured to operate in a plurality of communication protocols [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50) where a user interface providing access control to the user (paragraph 0012)]
With regard to claim 15, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the communication module is configured to operate in a CANBus, ethernet or wireless protocol [a communications bus used for connecting the controller with the IPACS (paragraph 0018)]
With regard to claim 16, Godecker et al. meets the limitations of:
receiving the plurality of input signals indicative for the operational status of at least one of the aircraft, the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert, by the controller provided in the control unit [a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
analyzing the plurality of input signals by the controller [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
generating the plurality of output signals by the controller [a controller in electrical communication with IPACs for controlling and distributing power to galley devices while also performing power monitoring for said devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
controlling the operating parameters of the aircraft galley and the at least one galley insert based on the plurality of output signals [a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50)]
With regard to claim 19, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
an aircraft monument configured as an aircraft galley according to claim 1 [a galley having a service module where it contains compartments for oven, service, and refrigeration modules (figure 3A, items 14, 20, and 22 as well as paragraph 0013)]
With regard to claim 20, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
two or more aircraft monuments are provided, with the aircraft monuments being in communicative connection with each other [a galley having a service module where it contains compartments for oven, service, and refrigeration modules (figure 3A, items 14, 20, and 22 as well as paragraph 0013) where a gallery power and control unit (GPAC) controlling the galley’s power system (paragraph 0017) where it is connected to insert power and control units (IPAC) used for monitoring and controlling galley devices (paragraphs 0017, 0018, and 0019 as well as figure 6, items 20, 26, 40, 42, and 50) where the controller is in communication with the multiple IPACS meaning the plurality of galley devices are in communication with one another when they are in multiple galley compartments]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godecker et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0263835] in view of Newlon [U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0109695].
With regard to claim 4, Godecker et al. meets the limitation of:
the controller is configured to control the wiring and equipment protection module
However, Godecker et al. fails to disclose of the control unit further comprising a wiring and equipment protection module equipped with at least one of a thermal circuit breaker, a local solid state power controller and a remote solid state power controller. In the field of electrical devices, Newlon teaches:
the control unit further comprises a wiring and equipment protection module equipped with at least one of a thermal circuit breaker, a local solid state power controller and a remote solid state power controller [a thermal breaker placed in series with an electrical device to provide over-current protection to an electrical device (paragraph 0020)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the filing date to combine the elements of Godecker et al. and Newlon to create an aircraft galley monitoring system where the system employs the use of a controllers to monitor and control the current to galley devices which are connected in series with a thermally controlled electrical breaker in order to prevent connected devices from drawing too much current and to determine which device caused the overdrawing of current in order to alert the operator of the device drawing excessive current wherein the motivation to combine is to create an efficient system for the arrangement, control, and commanding of galley devices and inserts (Godecker et al., paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godecker et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0263835] in view of Taddey [U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0204164]
With regard to claim 6, Godecker et al. fails to disclose of a plurality of detection means for one of identifying the at least one galley insert and detecting the operational status of the at least one galley insert is provided, with the detection means being configured as one of a sensor and a camera and the detection means generating an input signal to be received by the controller. In the field of aircraft systems, Taddy teaches:
a plurality of detection means for one of identifying the at least one galley insert and detecting the operational status of the at least one galley insert is provided, with the detection means being configured as one of a sensor and a camera, the detection means generating an input signal to be received by the controller [a camera located in the aircraft galley used for image and activity identification and recognition of galley devices (paragraph 0033 and figure 3)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the filing date to combine the elements of Godecker et al. and Taddey to create an aircraft galley monitoring system where the system employs the use of a camera to monitor galley devices in order to determine their statuses and operational states wherein the motivation to combine is to create an efficient system for the arrangement, control, and commanding of galley devices and inserts (Godecker et al., paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godecker et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0263835] in view of Taddey [U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0204164], and in further view of Newlon [U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0109695]
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Godecker et al. and Taddy fails to disclose of the sensor comprises a temperature sensor. In the field of electrical devices, Newlon teaches:
the sensor comprises a temperature sensor [a thermal breaker placed in series with an electrical device to provide over-current protection to an electrical device (paragraph 0020) thereby inferring the switch has a sensor for detecting temperatures]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the filing date to combine the elements of Godecker et al., Newton et al., and Taddey to create an aircraft galley monitoring system where the system employs the use of a camera to monitor galley devices in order to determine their statuses and operational states and temperatures wherein the motivation to combine is to create an efficient system for the arrangement, control, and commanding of galley devices and inserts (Godecker et al., paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godecker et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0263835] in view of Godecker et al. (hereinafter referred to as Godecker 2) [U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0007600]
With regard to claim 9, Godecker et al. fails to disclose of the system dynamic management comprises at least one of a dynamic CAX. In the field of airplane systems, Godecker 2 teaches:
the system dynamic management comprises at least one of a dynamic CAX [CAX air ducting used for carrying away heated air (paragraph 0029)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Godecker et al. and Godecker 2 to create an aircraft galley monitoring system where the system employs the use of and monitoring of CAX, where it is used for exhausting warm air from galley devices, where the warm air is monitored to determine which device in the galley is overheating wherein the motivation to combine is to create an efficient system for the arrangement, control, and commanding of galley devices and inserts (Godecker et al., paragraph 0003).
With regard to claim 10, Godecker et al. fails to disclose of t the dynamic CAX comprises exhaustion, monitoring and control. In the field of airplane systems, Godecker 2 teaches:
the dynamic CAX comprises exhaustion, monitoring and control [CAX air ducting used for carrying away heated air (paragraph 0029) where its operation is controlled and monitored by an electronic controller (paragraph 0031)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Godecker et al. and Godecker 2 to create an aircraft galley monitoring system where the system employs the use of and monitoring of CAX, where it is used for exhausting warm air from galley devices, where the warm air is monitored to determine which device in the galley is overheating wherein the motivation to combine is to create an efficient system for the arrangement, control, and commanding of galley devices and inserts (Godecker et al., paragraph 0003).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0270983 to Godecker et al. discloses a multiple access galley chiller.
U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0248652 to Godecker et al. discloses an integrated aircraft galley and appliance operating system.
U.S. Patent 8,519,824 to Rankin et al. discloses a customizable service space.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689