DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “a power receiving interface of the storage tank trolley” and “the power transmitting interface of the trolley docking station” in lines 7-8, followed by “a power transmitting interface of the trolley docking station and the power receiving interface of the storage tank trolley” in lines 9-10. The claim is dependent upon claim 1, which recites “a power interface” as a feature of the storage tank trolley. The language of the claim raises the question of insufficient antecedent basis and/or double inclusion for both the “power receiving interface” and the “power transmitting interface”, thus rendering the scope of the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination only, the claim will be interpreted according to Examiner’s best understanding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 9,770,100; hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a storage tank trolley (100; Fig. 1) for an aircraft cabin, comprising a tank (see container holding contents 114 in Fig. 1); a temperature regulating device (104, 105; Col. 5, line 62 - Col. 6, line 1); a power interface (107 with 103; Col. 6, lines 30-45); and a fluid transfer interface (109 dispenses contents 114); wherein the tank is configured to store a fluid (114 is a drink; Col. 6, lines 1-4); wherein the temperature regulating device is configured to be connected to the power interface to provide electric power from a source to the temperature regulating device for generating thermal energy by the temperature regulating device (103 is connected to 104, 105; see Fig. 1); wherein the temperature regulating device is configured to supply generated thermal energy to the tank for temperature treatment to maintain or actively change a temperature of a fluid inside the tank (Col. 5, line 62 - Col. 6, line 1); and wherein the fluid transfer interface is connected to the tank (see Fig. 1) and is configured to be couplable with a fluid transfer interface of a dispensing trolley to provide a flow of the temperature-treated fluid from the storage tank trolley to the dispensing trolley (109 provides an outlet for dispensing contents 114 from the tank and would be capable of being coupled to other devices, e.g., other trolleys, by various means known to one having ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 2, Huang further discloses that the storage tank trolley is free of electric storage means (power source 103 may generate power, e.g., as a fuel cell, rather than storing power, e.g., as a battery; Col. 5, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 3, as described above regarding claim 1, Huang discloses that the tank contains contents for drinking. Huang further notes that temperature-treated water is used for providing drinks from such a trolley (Col. 2, lines 5-19, 35-50). Thus, Huang is considered to disclose that the tank is a water tank.
Regarding claim 4, Huang further discloses that the tank is insulated with an at least partly enclosing insulation layer (“The trolley may even include walls containing insulation”; Col. 3, lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 7, Huang further discloses that the power interface is configured for a power transfer via physical contact (107 is a “power plugin”; Col. 6, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 9, Huang further discloses that the tank is arranged above the temperature regulating device (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Huang further discloses a docking system for a storage tank trolley (for recharging the trolley; Col. 4, lines 1-15), comprising: at least one storage tank trolley according to claim 1 (see above regarding claim 1); and at least one trolley docking station (Col. 4, lines 15-19); wherein the at least one trolley docking station is configured to temporarily receive the at least one storage tank trolley, and wherein the at least one trolley docking station comprises at least one power transmitting device (craft recharging systems 113) configured to provide electric power from a source to the at least one storage tank trolley (Col. 4, lines 19-25); and wherein the at least one storage tank trolley is configured to dock to the at least one trolley docking station for a temporary power supply (trolley connects via 107 to “a storing location with a recharging plugin”; Col. 6, lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 12, Huang further discloses that the at least one power transmitting device is configured to provide a power transfer via physical contact (107 connects to 113 via a plugin; see above regarding claim 10).
Regarding claims 13-16, Huang further discloses an aircraft galley arrangement comprising an aircraft monument comprising a galley (“trolley would dock with a wall in the galley”; Col. 6, lines 41-42) having at least one trolley bay (“docking station position”; Col. 4, lines 15-19); wherein the at least one trolley bay comprises at least one docking system according to claim 10 (see above regarding claim 10); and wherein the at least one storage tank trolley is configured to be installed in the at least one trolley bay (docking station position provides power connection for trolley; Col. 4, lines 19-25). This arrangement additionally anticipates the aircraft claimed in claims 14-16 (the docking system is located in the cabin of an aircraft; Col. 4, lines 26-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Mortensen Ernits et al. (US 2022/0089284; hereinafter “Mortensen”).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses a storage tank trolley according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the tank is replaceable. Mortensen teaches a similar system including a storage tank (system 2 with tank 44) wherein the tank is replaceable (Paragraph 0037). Mortensen teaches that this allows for quick replenishment of an empty tank with a pre-filled tank (Paragraphs 0008 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the trolley of Huang such that the tank is replaceable, as taught by Mortensen, in order to quickly replenish the supply of water in the trolley. One having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making such a modification with predictable results.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Huang discloses a storage tank trolley according to claim 1 and a docking system according to claim 10, as described above, but does not explicitly disclose that either has components configured for wireless electric power transmission.
Mortensen teaches a similar trolley (30) and a docking system (see Fig. 1), wherein the trolley has a power interface (first coil unit 39 with 36) configured for a wireless electrical power transmission provided by a power transmitting device (second coil unit 38) in the docking system (“38 is arranged in a trolley parking place”; Paragraph 0034). Mortensen teaches this as an alternative to power transfer via physical contact (described with respect to similar connection with system 2; Paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the trolley and docking system of Huang with coils for wireless electrical power transmission, as taught by Mortensen, since Mortensen teaches that this is a suitable replacement for a physical power transmission connection in a similarly configured trolley and docking system arrangement.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses a storage tank trolley according to claim 1, but does not disclose that the temperature regulating device is arranged above the tank.
However, the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine experiment. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to arrange the trolley of Huang such that the temperature regulating device is above the tank. Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the relative position of the temperature regulating device with respect to the tank (only noting that it may be above or below; see Paragraphs 00028-00029 of the specification), and it appears that the device of Huang would work appropriately if made in the claimed arrangement.
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses a storage tank trolley (see above regarding claim 1) and a docking system for a storage tank trolley (see above regarding claim 10) wherein the normal operation of the trolley and docking system discloses a method for operating the storage tank trolley, comprising the following steps: docking the storage tank trolley to the trolley docking station (for recharging; Col. 4, lines 1-19), wherein the trolley docking station is configured to temporarily receive the storage tank trolley and comprises a power transmitting device configured to provide electric power from a source to the storage tank trolley (see above regarding claim 10); connecting a power receiving interface of the storage tank trolley with the power transmitting interface of the trolley docking station (Col. 4, lines 19-25); and starting a power supply from a source via a power transmitting interface of the trolley docking station and the power receiving interface of the storage tank trolley to the temperature regulating device of the storage tank trolley (plugging the trolley into the craft recharging systems 113 via 107 in order to power 104/105 via 103, as described above regarding claims 1 and 10). Huang further discloses that a trolley may be disengaged from a docking station in order to maneuver the trolley through the aircraft, but this is only explicitly disclosed with respect to a different embodiment that is not configured in accordance with claim 1 (trolley 200; see Col. 7, lines 12-15).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to supplement the disclosed method of using the trolley embodiment according to claim 1, and accordingly, the docking system according to claim 10, with the steps of terminating the power supply and undocking the storage tank trolley from the trolley docking station in order to maneuver the trolley through the craft for distribution of the contents of the trolley at a different location, or for replacement or resupply purposes. According to Examiner’s best understanding, such usage would satisfy the limitations of claim 17, and would be consistent with Huang’s description of the trolley as “autonomous” (see the Abstract).
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0266580; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Mortensen substantially discloses the claimed invention in the form of a system (2; Paragraph 0032; Fig. 1) for supplying a dispensing trolley with water (Paragraph 0033), the system comprising a tank (4, 6); a temperature regulating device (8, 10); a power interface (20); and a fluid transfer interface (see 28 and connections 24, 26; Paragraph 0033); wherein the tank is configured to store a fluid (water; see Paragraph 0032); wherein the temperature regulating device is configured to be connected to the power interface to provide electric power from a source to the temperature regulating device for generating thermal energy by the temperature regulating device (8 and 10 are connected to “on-board voltage source 21” via control unit 12 to provide cooling and heating; Paragraph 0032); wherein the temperature regulating device is configured to supply generated thermal energy to the tank for temperature treatment to maintain or actively change a temperature of a fluid inside the tank (8 cools water in 4, 10 heats water in 6; Paragraph 0032); and wherein the fluid transfer interface is connected to the tank and is configured to be couplable with a fluid transfer interface of a dispensing trolley to provide a flow of the temperature-treated fluid from the storage tank trolley to the dispensing trolley (“system 2 can be connected to a trolley 30 in order for water to be discharged from the first tank 4 and/or from the second tank 6”; Paragraph 0033).
Mortensen further discloses the use of this system in an aircraft “wherein the system is in the form of a coherent and self-contained unit which can be integrated into a standard parking place of a galley of the aircraft”; Paragraph 0005; see Figs. 3-4), and appears to associate this integration with being sized so that it fits “in a flush manner, into such a parking place” (Paragraph 0023). However, Mortensen only describes this system as being fixed in such a location, and does not explicitly describe the system itself as a trolley. Examiner considers the preamble of the claim, reciting a “storage tank trolley”, to require such a system to have features (e.g., wheels) to facilitate movement of the system. It is further noted that Mortensen describes the removal of the tank(s) (e.g., for refilling; Paragraph 0008).
Lee teaches a similar system (see 12 in Figs. 1-2) that is configured as a trolley (“cart 12 that is designed to store and transport fountain beverage consumables”; Paragraph 0023). As in Mortensen, Lee teaches that this system is located in a standard parking place of a galley of an aircraft (see Fig. 1), but teaches that the system is configured to be moved from this location (“cart 12 is shown as having wheels 62 relative to the cart lower surface 92, which allow the cart to be removed and replaced into its position easily”; Paragraph 0031; Fig. 7). Lee further teaches that this “cart embodiment” allows consumables stored within the trolley to be easily removed and replaced, compared to a fixed embodiment (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to configure the device of Mortensen to be movable from its location in the galley, as taught by Lee, in order to facilitate removal and/or replacement of the tank(s) or other items stored in the system. One having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making such a modification with predictable results, especially considering that Mortensen already discloses that the system is intended to be located in a standard parking place, and Lee teaches that such a system may be made mobile while still conforming to this arrangement. Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this modification would facilitate removal of the system for repair/replacement of the components of the system, or for reconfiguration of the galley based on preference or changing usage of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Mortensen further discloses that the storage tank trolley is free of electric storage means (power is only supplied via on-board voltage source 21; Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 3, Mortensen further discloses that the tank is a water tank (Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 4, Mortensen further discloses that the tank is insulated with an at least partly enclosing insulation layer (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 5, Mortensen further discloses that the tank is replaceable (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claims 6-7, Mortensen further discloses that the power interface may be configured for a wireless electrical power transmission (“an inductive coupling [. . .] wherein one of the coils is arranged on a wall of the system”; Paragraph 0011), or for a power transfer via physical contact (e.g., “a plug-in connector”; Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claims 8-9, Mortensen further discloses that the temperature regulating device is arranged on the tank (see Fig. 1), but does not explicitly disclose any particular relative positions of the temperature regulating device and tank. It is noted that the embodiment of Fig. 1 shows heating unit 10 and cooling unit 8 on a side of each tank, while the embodiment of Fig. 2 shows water temperature-controlling unit 46 located above tank 44.
However, the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine experiment. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to arrange the system of Mortensen in either of the claimed configurations (i.e., with the temperature regulating device above or below the tank). Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the relative position of the temperature regulating device with respect to the tank (only noting that it may be above or below; see Paragraphs 00028-00029 of the specification), and it appears that the device of Mortensen would work appropriately if made in either claimed arrangement.
Regarding claim 10, Mortensen-Lee in combination disclose a storage tank trolley according to claim 1, and Mortensen further discloses a docking system comprising: at least one docking station (the “parking place”; Paragraph 0011); wherein the at least one docking station is configured to receive the system disclosed by Mortensen, and wherein the at least one docking station comprises at least one power transmitting device configured to provide electric power from a source to the system (e.g., plug-in connector or inductive coupling; Paragraph 0011); and wherein the system is configured to dock to the at least one docking station for a power supply (system is designed to fit the parking place, which is designed with a power connector complementary to one in the system; Paragraphs 0011, 0023). Additionally, Lee teaches multiple embodiments of a similar docking system having a power transmitting device configured to provide electric power from a source to a trolley (e.g., 26 in Fig. 4, or 68 in Fig. 7; see Paragraphs 0028, 0031).
When modifying the system of Mortensen in view of Lee as described above, the combined invention would include a storage tank trolley according to claim 1, as well as a docking station having the structural features recited in claim 10. Further, the at least one storage tank trolley would be mobile, and thus the trolley and docking system would be configured for temporary docking and power supply, which could be configured to include the specific connections of either reference to satisfy the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 11-12, Mortensen further discloses that the at least one power transmitting device may be configured for a wireless electrical power transmission (“an inductive coupling [. . . wherein one of the coils] is arranged on a wall of a corresponding parking place”; Paragraph 0011), or for a power transfer via physical contact (e.g., “a plug-in connector”; Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claims 13-16, Mortensen further discloses an aircraft galley arrangement comprising an aircraft monument comprising a galley (64; Paragraph 0039; Fig. 4) having at least one trolley bay (parking places 66); wherein the at least one trolley bay comprises at least one docking system according to claim 10 (see above regarding claim 10). When modifying the system of Mortensen in view of Lee as described above, the combined invention would include a storage tank trolley according to claim 1, which would be configured to be installed in the at least one trolley bay (see above regarding claim 10), thus arriving at the invention as claimed in claim 13. This arrangement additionally discloses the aircraft claimed in claims 14-16 (the docking system is located in the cabin of an aircraft; Paragraphs 0038-0039; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Mortensen-Lee in combination disclose a storage tank trolley according to claim 1, as well as: a trolley docking station, wherein the trolley docking station is configured to temporarily receive the storage tank trolley and comprises a power transmitting device configured to provide electric power from a source to the storage tank trolley (see above regarding claim 10); a power receiving interface of the storage tank trolley (see above regarding claim 1); and a power supply that is transmissible from a source via a power transmitting interface of the trolley docking station and the power receiving interface of the storage tank trolley to the temperature regulating device of the storage tank trolley (see Paragraph 0011 of Mortensen).
Normal operation of the combined invention would thus also render obvious a method comprising the steps of: docking the storage tank trolley to the trolley docking station (as described above regarding claim 10); connecting the power receiving interface with the power transmitting interface (as described above regarding claim 10); starting the power supply (this would occur automatically upon connection); terminating the power supply (this would occur automatically upon disconnection when the trolley is moved as described above regarding claim 1); and undocking the storage tank trolley from the trolley docking station (to be moved, e.g., to replace the tank).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form for additional examples of trolleys and/or docking systems having features relevant to the claims of the instant application.
/MICHAEL C PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 October 19, 2026