DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on June 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method have been canceled, in the reply filed on June 16, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
temperature controller in claim 1;
temperature control device in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wyatt (US 2004/0241327) in view of Kim (US 2021/0354166).
In regards to claim 1, Wyatt teaches a coating die (21) comprising:
a die section-50a (first die block) which is adjacent to a feed gap-52a (fig. 2b; para. 48, 101);
a die section-50b (second die block) which is adjacent to a feed gap-52b (fig. 2b; para. 48, 101);
a die section-50c (third block) which is adjacent to the feed gap-52a and the feed gap-52b (fig. 2b; para. 48, 101).
Wyatt does not explicitly teach in this embodiment a first manifold and a temperature controller adjacent to the first manifold capable of controlling a temperature.
However, in a different embodiment, Wyatt teaches a bottom die section comprises a fluid manifold (216/242) that is adjacent to a heater (214b/238b) which provides uniform heating of the die section (fig. 8-9; para. 58-60).
Wyatt teaches a heating and control system (460) includes temperature control (462) and heater control (422/464) (temperature controller ) (fig. 12-13; para. 85-87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the heater adjacent to manifold and heating and control system of Wyatt onto the former embodiment because Wyatt teaches it will avoid bending of the die section and minimize variable which affecting the coating (para. 13).
Wyatt does not explicitly teach a second manifold provided in either the second die block or the third die block and accommodating a second coating material.
However, Kim teaches a coating apparatus provide a coating die comprises a first block-110 with a first coating liquid storage unit-112 (first manifold) and a fourth block-140 with a second coating liquid storage unit-142 (second manifold). Kim teaches the coating liquid storage unit-112 supplies a first coating liquid to a first slit and the second coating liquid storage unit-142 supplies a second coating liquid to a second slit (fig. 1; para. 61, 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the coating die with the pair of storage units of Kim onto the coating die of Wyatt because Kim teaches it will improve the coating process of the double layer formation (para. 21-23).
In regards to claim 2, Wyatt and Kim as discussed, where Wyatt teaches the fluid manifold (216/242) is adjacent to the heater (214b/238b) (fig. 8-9; para. 58-60).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyatt and Kim as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Strange (US 2020/0009778).
In regards to claims 3-6, Wyatt and Kim as discussed, where Wyatt teaches the heater is adjacent to the fluid manifold (fig. 8-9; para. 58-60). Wyatt teaches a heating and control system (460) (temperature control device) includes temperature control (462) and heater control (422/464) (temperature controller) (fig. 12-13; para. 85-87).
Wyatt and Kim do not explicitly teach the temperature controller comprises: a flow path for a coolant and a heating wire, the temperature controller comprises a temperature control device connected to the flow path and the heating wire, the temperature controller comprises a plurality of the flow paths and/or a plurality of the heating wires.
However, Strange teaches an apparatus comprising a die (10) with a die plate-72 and die plate-74, where the die plates comprises thermal zones (50) which provide heating and cooling regions. Strange teaches the thermal zones comprise slots (55) (flow paths for coolant and a heating wire) which have cartridge heaters (heating wire) or chillers (flow path of coolant) that may be used to provide heating or cooling to the thermal zones. Strange teaches the thermal zones and zones extend across the width of the die and between the inlet and outlet of the die (fig. 1, 5; para. 55-56, 58, 64-67, 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the thermal zones with slot for heaters and coolant/cooling of Strange onto the coating die of Wyatt and Kim because Strange teaches reduce warping of the material exiting the due and it minimize stress of the finished product (para. 106).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyatt and Kim as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Kang (US 2022/0158158).
In regards to claims 7-8, Wyatt and Kim as discussed, where Wyatt teaches a manifold (19, coating material supply line) supplies material to the coating die (fig. 1; para. 44-45).
Wyatt and Kim does not explicitly teach a pressure sensor provided in the coating material supply line and measuring a supply pressure of the first coating material inside the coating material supply line, a controller which is electrically connected to the pressure sensor and the temperature controller, respectively, and receives an electrical signal from the pressure sensor to operate the temperature controller.
However, Kang teaches a pressure sensors (26) are provided in piping (20) between a supply tank (10) and a slot die (80). Kang teaches the pressure sensor is connected to coating controller (90) to provide control of the flow rate during the coating operation (fig. 1, 3, 7; para. 74-77, 89, 104, 128, 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the pressure sensors and controller of Kang onto the coating die and control system of Wyatt and Kim because Kang teaches it will provide rapid start and allow for maintaining stable coating operation (para. 104).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyatt and Kim as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2023/0226570).
In regards to claim 9, Wyatt and Kim as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the third lock comprises an insulating material.
However, Lee teaches a multi-slot die coater (100) comprising a lower die block (110), an intermediate die block (120), and an upper die block (130), where the die blocks comprises ceramic bodies (fig. ; para. 65-66, 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the die blocks comprising ceramic bodies of Lee onto the coating die of Wyatt and Kim because Lee teaches it will provide a material that is resistant to deformation which results in improved coating uniformity (para. 73-74).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717