Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bruxelle et al (US 12660810 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Bruxelle discloses a hanger, comprising: a support member (200); a standoff (202) pivotably coupled to the support member (200) and operable to pivot relative to the support member between a use position (figure 2) and a stowed position (figures 1 and 5) about a standoff pivot axis (A, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE); and a hanger arm (the platform 50 or any of its frames 64, 66, figure 1) pivotably coupled to the support member and operable to pivot relative to the support member between an extended position (figure 2) and a retracted position (figure 5) about a hanger arm pivot axis (B, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE).
With respect to claim 2, Bruxelle discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein, with respect to the standoff pivot axis (A, see examiner’s markup above), the axial offset between the portion of the hanger defining the axial extreme of the hanger in a first axial direction and the portion of the hanger defining the axial extreme of the hanger in a second axial direction that is opposite the first axial direction is a first distance in the stowed position (figure 5) of the standoff and the retracted position of the hanger arm, and the axial offset between the portion of the hanger defining the axial extreme of the hanger in the first axial direction and the portion of the hanger defining the axial extreme of the hanger in the second axial direction is a second distance in the use position (figure 6) of the standoff and the extended position of the hanger arm, wherein the first distance is less than the second distance.
With respect to claim 10, Bruxelle discloses the hanger of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the standoff pivot axis (A, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) is not parallel to the hanger arm pivot axis.
With respect to claim 11, Bruxelle discloses the hanger of claim 10 as advanced above, wherein the standoff pivot axis (A, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) is perpendicular to the hanger arm pivot axis (B, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE).
With respect to claim 17, Bruxelle discloses a hanger, comprising: a support member (200); a standoff (202) pivotably coupled to the support member and operable to pivot relative to the support member between a use position (and a stowed position about a standoff pivot axis; and a hanger arm pivotably coupled to the support member and operable to pivot relative to the support member between an extended position and a retracted position about a hanger arm pivot axis, wherein an uppermost portion (P, see examiner’s markup above) of the support member (200) is the uppermost portion of the hanger in the use position of the standoff and the extended position of the hanger arm (figure 6), and the uppermost portion (P, see examiner’s markup above) of the support member (200) is lower than a portion (S, see examiner’s markup above) of the standoff in the stowed position of the standoff and lower than a portion (H, see examiner’s markup above) of the hanger arm in the retracted position of the hanger arm.
With respect to claim 18, Bruxelle discloses the hanger of claim 17 as advanced above, wherein the standoff pivot axis (A, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) is perpendicular to the hanger arm pivot axis (B, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruxelle et al (US 12660810 B2).
With regard to claims 3-5, Bruxelle discloses the hanger of claim 2 as advanced above except for wherein the first distance is less than or equal to half of the second distance (per claim 3) or wherein the first distance is less than or equal to a third of the second distance (per claim 4) or wherein the first distance is less than or equal to a quarter of the second distance (per claim 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided a hanger such that the first distance of the stowed position is less than or equal to half of the second distance of the used position or wherein the first distance is less than or equal to a third of the second distance or wherein the first distance is less than or equal to a quarter of the second distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 15 and 16 are allowed.
Claims 6-9, 12-14, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record demonstrate foldable support members of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc