DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is directed to "A materials handling vehicle ... "; however the body of the claim then goes on to positively recite a "remotely locating computing device that... to perform the following: ... " The issue with this limitation and subsequent recited functions is that this "remotely located" computing device is not part of the vehicle (from the "remotely") thus it is unclear if infringement of the applicant's claims occur when a materials handling vehicle is created that is capable of performing the recited functions (i.e. has a first and second positioning system) but is not necessarily in communication with a remote computing device which contains the various programming/software to perform/generate the commands as recited in the claims or if infringement occurs only when an accompanying remote computing device is provided. Put another way the "remote computing device", and by extension the memory with instructions to perform the various functions as recited in the claims, is not part of the vehicle and as claim 1 is directed to the vehicle itself it is unclear if and by how much the limitations of this external device (remote computing device) affect the scope of protection of the vehicle itself, and by extension the bounds of claim 11 is unclear. As an example it is unclear if a materials handling vehicle with onboard first and second positioning systems (the systems which function/record position as recited in claim 1) in which all the computation for command and control occurs offboard (in this hypothetical example the corresponding remote computing device controls/navigates the vehicle differently than the recited functioning of the "remote computing device" of the claims) would infringe on the claim 1.
On one hand the vehicle alone does have the two positioning systems as positively recited in claim 11 and would be capable of performing the recited functions of the claims should it receive the proper commands; on the other hand though the necessary programming (on a remote computing device) does not exist and the hypothetical vehicle is currently being cause to function differently thus it could be argued to not infringe as it currently lacks the proper "to perform the following: ... "; as such the point at which a vehicle would infringe on the applicant's claim 1 is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-11, & 14-16 of 19/217192 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 19/217094 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because name the same inventive entity and assignee.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 10-12, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0190963A1 (“Kuss”), in view of US 2022/0108613A1 (“Estep”).
As per claim 1 Kuss discloses
A materials handling vehicle comprising (see at least Kuss, para. [0017]: With initial reference to FIG. 1, an industrial vehicle 10, specifically a pallet truck, includes an operator compartment 11 with an opening for entry and exit by the operator.):
a vehicle transceiver for receiving a communication from a plurality of transceiver anchors that are placed on respective stationary objects within a covered environment (see at least Kuss, para. [0025]: The communication port 65 is connected to a wireless communicator 67 that includes a radio transceiver 69 coupled to the antenna 15 for exchanging data and commands with a wireless communication system in the warehouse or factory in which the industrial vehicle 10 operates. & para. [0029]: Referring to FIG. 3, a warehouse 100, in which one or more industrial vehicles 10 operate, has a bidirectional communication system 102 that links the wireless communicator 67 in each of the industrial vehicles 10 to an asset management computer 104 at a fixed location in the facility. The communication system 102 comprises a plurality of wireless access points 106 distributed throughout the warehouse 100, such as in the shipping dock and goods storage areas. The wireless access points 106 are radio frequency signal transceivers that are connected via a conventional hardwired local area network 105 or a TCP/IP communications link to the asset management computer 104.);
one or more vehicle sensors that are coupled to the materials handling vehicle and are configured to detect the presence of objects in the proximity of the materials handling vehicle, wherein the one or more vehicle sensors are different than the vehicle transceiver (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. & para. [0042]: Another incident is depicted in FIG. 4, where autonomous industrial vehicle 210 encountered an obstacle 220 in its path. The guidance and navigation system 13 sensed that obstacle and stopped the vehicle before a collision occurs. The guidance and navigation system, however, cannot determine how to maneuver around the obstacle 220, thus the industrial vehicle 210 remains stationary at that location.); and
a computing device that includes a processor and a memory component, the memory component storing logic that, when executed by the processor (see at least Kuss, para. [0020]: FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a control system 20 onboard the industrial vehicle 10. The control system 20 comprises a vehicle controller 21 which is a microcomputer based device that includes memory 24, analog to digital converters, and input/output circuits.), causes the materials handling vehicle to perform the following:
determine a first dimension of a position of the materials handling vehicle based on data generated by the one or more vehicle sensors (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. Each fiducial 216 has a unique appearance or optically readable code, e.g. a unique barcode or other optical pattern, thereby enabling the GANS 13 to determine the present position of the vehicle and the direction to take to reach the next fiducial 216 along the assigned path 214.);
alter operation of the materials handling vehicle based on the position (see at least Kuss, para. [0042]: The guidance and navigation system 13 sensed that obstacle and stopped the vehicle before a collision occurs. The guidance and navigation system, however, cannot determine how to maneuver around the obstacle 220, thus the industrial vehicle 210 remains stationary at that location. All of these incidents result in an "unplanned stoppage" of the vehicle, because that stoppage is not part of path assignment given to the vehicle.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
receive, via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors;
determine a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver;
determine the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension.
Estep teaches
receive, via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors (see at least Estep, para. [0044]: In another embodiment, as referring to FIG. 1C, the UWB system 170 may include a UWB system 150A as a System A mounted on a first materials handling vehicle 100 and another System B as a single UWB antenna system that may be mounted on a second materials handling vehicle 100 or in another location of the warehouse 110. With the method of FIG. 1C, a relative position can be determined for a remote vehicle in this system configuration, and circular fields may be enforced on the remote vehicle. In the vehicles 100 described herein, the vehicles may include one or more UWB antenna arrays and a beacon. At a lowered position of an operator compartment of at least one vehicle 100, the system configuration of FIG. 1B may be implemented to determine relative pose between vehicles 100 as relative pose observations. & para. [0069]);
determine a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver (see at least Estep, para. [0069]: With respect to the UWB system 170 of FIG. 1C, blocks 302, 304 may be utilized. Single antenna System transmits a UWB signal to System A ( e.g., UWB system 150A) in block 302. System A responds with a UWB signal transmitted to the single antenna System B including information such as angle of arrival 8 and timing information in block 304. However, as System B is a single antenna system and is not calibrated with respect to a center of an antenna array and a center of a materials handling vehicle, System A is configured to measure a relative position (and not orientation) of System B, and System B measures a relative distance d to System A.);
determine the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension (see at least Estep, para. [0063-0064]: The vehicle position processor 202 may thus be configured to transmit a second UWB signal comprising the second materials handling vehicle set of information from the second UWB antenna array of the second materials handling vehicle 100B (e.g., System A) to the first UWB antenna array of the first materials handling vehicle l00A (e.g., System B), and determine a first materials handling vehicle set of information (at System B) based on the second UWB signal. The first materials handling vehicle set of information may include an angle of arrival (e.g., angle of arrival 82 ) and associated timing information based on the second UWB signal received at the first UWB antenna array. A determined distance (e.g., distance d2 ) may be determined (at System A) based on the associated timing information such as time of flight information as a distance between a pair of nodes of the second materials handling vehicle and the first materials handling vehicle… In the two-way ranging exchange, a time of flight of a UWB radio-frequency (RF) signal may be determined and used to calculate a distance d2 between nodes by, for example, multiplying the time by speed of light (e.g., based on calculating time of flight that is convertible to distance). System A receives the transmitted UWB signal and determines distance d2 information between System B and System A. Thus, both of System A and System B receive mutually received information including angle of arrival information of the UWB signals and distance between each system as measured from the other system. The vehicle position processor 202 may be configured to transmit a third UWB signal comprising the first materials handling vehicle set of information from the first UWB antenna array of the first materials handling vehicle 100A (e.g., System B) to the second UWB antenna array of the second materials handling vehicle 100A (e.g., System A).); and
alter operation of the materials handling vehicle based on the position (see at least Estep, para. [0083]: Once a field infringement has been detected by a materials handling vehicle 100, the onboard hardware and software may emit proper control signals for the materials handling vehicle 100 to avoid collision. In embodiments, other vehicle systems that are also running similar algorithms may be likewise detected and have begun respective control actions. In an event that an error leads to the other vehicle 100 not detecting infringement, the vehicles 100 may monitor an infringement status of neighboring vehicles 100. If another vehicle 100 reports that respective fields of the vehicle 100 are infringing onto the fields of a materials handling vehicle 100, the materials handling vehicle 100 may also begin control actions as if the materials handling vehicle 100 had detected the infringement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of receive, via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors; determine a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver; determine the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension of Estep, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take a preventive action accordingly (see at least Estep, para. [0065]).
As per claim 2 Kuss discloses
wherein the one or more vehicle sensors comprises at least one of the following; a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a steering wheel sensor, a magnet, or a wheel speed sensor (see at least Kuss, para. [0022]: The speed and rotational direction of the traction motor 43 and the associated propulsion wheel 45 are selected by the operator via a throttle control on the operator control handle 14, and are monitored by a feedback signal from a rotation sensor 44. The rotation sensor 44 can be an encoder coupled to the traction motor 43 and the signal therefrom is used to measure the speed and distance that the vehicle travels as recorded by an odometer 46.).
As per claim 7 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein altering operation of the materials handling vehicle includes at least one of the following: changing a speed of the materials handling vehicle, limiting operation of a fork of the materials handling vehicle, or generating an alert to an operator of the materials handling vehicle.
Estep teaches
wherein altering operation of the materials handling vehicle includes at least one of the following: changing a speed of the materials handling vehicle, limiting operation of a fork of the materials handling vehicle, or generating an alert to an operator of the materials handling vehicle (see at least Estep, para. [0083-0086]: In embodiments, an overlapping of any two slow fields 404 of vehicles 100A, 100B may lead to a safely controlled deceleration of both vehicles l00A, 100B. The overlapping of any two stop fields 406 of vehicles 100A, 100B may lead to a controlled braking of the traction control motor of at least one of the vehicles 1 00A, 100B so to come to either a stop or to slow to a set speed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein altering operation of the materials handling vehicle includes at least one of the following: changing a speed of the materials handling vehicle, limiting operation of a fork of the materials handling vehicle, or generating an alert to an operator of the materials handling vehicle of Estep, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take a preventive action accordingly (see at least Estep, para. [0065]).
As per claim 8 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle transceiver is an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver
Estep teaches
wherein the vehicle transceiver is an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver (see at least Estep, para. [0054]: By way of example and not as a limitation, UWB technology may be utilized for localization. UWB technology is a radio technology utilizing a low energy level for short-range, high bandwidth communication over an ultra-wide radio spectrum portion, such as 3.1 to 10.6 GHz. UWB technology may include a transmitter on the materials handling vehicle 100 configured to transmit UWB transmissions for receipt by a receiver-anchor disposed in the warehouse 110.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle transceiver is an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver of Estep, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take a preventive action accordingly (see at least Estep, para. [0065]).
As per claim 10 Kuss discloses
wherein altering operation of the materials handling vehicle includes at least one of the following: engaging an autonomous mode, engaging a semi-autonomous mode, or engaging a manual mode (see at least Kuss, para. [0050]: In another implementation, a person is able to control operation of the industrial vehicle 10 or 210 from the asset management computer 104 to rectify the incident that caused the unplanned stoppage. Initially the person enters a command that causes the industrial vehicle to transition from the autonomous mode to the remote control mode. In the remote control mode, current images are sent from the industrial vehicle 10 or 210 to the asset management computer 104 which displays the images. The person is able to send commands from the asset management computer 104 to the industrial vehicle to control the steering, direction of travel, speed and other functions.).
As per claim 11 Kuss discloses
A system comprising (see at least Kuss, para. [0017]: As will be described in further detail, a communication system on the industrial vehicle is able to exchange data and commands via an antenna 15 and a wireless signal with an remotely located facility management system.):
a materials handling vehicle that includes a vehicle transceiver for receiving a communication from a plurality of transceiver anchors that are placed on respective stationary objects within a covered environment (see at least Kuss, para. [0025]: The communication port 65 is connected to a wireless communicator 67 that includes a radio transceiver 69 coupled to the antenna 15 for exchanging data and commands with a wireless communication system in the warehouse or factory in which the industrial vehicle 10 operates. & para. [0029]: Referring to FIG. 3, a warehouse 100, in which one or more industrial vehicles 10 operate, has a bidirectional communication system 102 that links the wireless communicator 67 in each of the industrial vehicles 10 to an asset management computer 104 at a fixed location in the facility. The communication system 102 comprises a plurality of wireless access points 106 distributed throughout the warehouse 100, such as in the shipping dock and goods storage areas. The wireless access points 106 are radio frequency signal transceivers that are connected via a conventional hardwired local area network 105 or a TCP/IP communications link to the asset management computer 104.) and
one or more vehicle sensors that are coupled to the materials handling vehicle and are configured to detect the presence of objects in the proximity of the materials handling vehicle, wherein the one or more vehicle sensors are different than the vehicle transceiver (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. & para. [0042]: Another incident is depicted in FIG. 4, where autonomous industrial vehicle 210 encountered an obstacle 220 in its path. The guidance and navigation system 13 sensed that obstacle and stopped the vehicle before a collision occurs. The guidance and navigation system, however, cannot determine how to maneuver around the obstacle 220, thus the industrial vehicle 210 remains stationary at that location.); and
a remotely located computing device in communication with the materials handling vehicle that includes a processor and a memory component, the memory component storing logic that, when executed by the processor (see at least Kuss, para. [0017]: The industrial vehicle 10 has a load carrier 18, such as a pair of forks, that is raised and lowered with respect to the frame of the vehicle. As will be described in further detail, a communication system on the industrial vehicle is able to exchange data and commands via an antenna 15 and a wireless signal with an remotely located facility management system. para. [0020]: FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a control system 20 onboard the industrial vehicle 10. The control system 20 comprises a vehicle controller 21 which is a microcomputer based device that includes memory 24, analog to digital converters, and input/output circuits.), causes the system to perform the following:
determine a first dimension of a position of the materials handling vehicle based on data generated by the one or more vehicle sensors (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. Each fiducial 216 has a unique appearance or optically readable code, e.g. a unique barcode or other optical pattern, thereby enabling the GANS 13 to determine the present position of the vehicle and the direction to take to reach the next fiducial 216 along the assigned path 214.);
alter operation of the materials handling vehicle based on the position (see at least Kuss, para. [0042]: The guidance and navigation system 13 sensed that obstacle and stopped the vehicle before a collision occurs. The guidance and navigation system, however, cannot determine how to maneuver around the obstacle 220, thus the industrial vehicle 210 remains stationary at that location. All of these incidents result in an "unplanned stoppage" of the vehicle, because that stoppage is not part of path assignment given to the vehicle.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
receive, via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors;
determine a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver;
determine the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension.
Estep teaches
receive, via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors (see at least Estep, para. [0044]: In another embodiment, as referring to FIG. 1C, the UWB system 170 may include a UWB system 150A as a System A mounted on a first materials handling vehicle 100 and another System B as a single UWB antenna system that may be mounted on a second materials handling vehicle 100 or in another location of the warehouse 110. With the method of FIG. 1C, a relative position can be determined for a remote vehicle in this system configuration, and circular fields may be enforced on the remote vehicle. In the vehicles 100 described herein, the vehicles may include one or more UWB antenna arrays and a beacon. At a lowered position of an operator compartment of at least one vehicle 100, the system configuration of FIG. 1B may be implemented to determine relative pose between vehicles 100 as relative pose observations. & para. [0069]);
determine a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver (see at least Estep, para. [0069]: With respect to the UWB system 170 of FIG. 1C, blocks 302, 304 may be utilized. Single antenna System transmits a UWB signal to System A ( e.g., UWB system 150A) in block 302. System A responds with a UWB signal transmitted to the single antenna System B including information such as angle of arrival 8 and timing information in block 304. However, as System B is a single antenna system and is not calibrated with respect to a center of an antenna array and a center of a materials handling vehicle, System A is configured to measure a relative position (and not orientation) of System B, and System B measures a relative distance d to System A.);
determine the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension (see at least Estep, para. [0063-0064]: The vehicle position processor 202 may thus be configured to transmit a second UWB signal comprising the second materials handling vehicle set of information from the second UWB antenna array of the second materials handling vehicle 100B (e.g., System A) to the first UWB antenna array of the first materials handling vehicle l00A (e.g., System B), and determine a first materials handling vehicle set of information (at System B) based on the second UWB signal. The first materials handling vehicle set of information may include an angle of arrival (e.g., angle of arrival 82 ) and associated timing information based on the second UWB signal received at the first UWB antenna array. A determined distance (e.g., distance d2 ) may be determined (at System A) based on the associated timing information such as time of flight information as a distance between a pair of nodes of the second materials handling vehicle and the first materials handling vehicle… In the two-way ranging exchange, a time of flight of a UWB radio-frequency (RF) signal may be determined and used to calculate a distance d2 between nodes by, for example, multiplying the time by speed of light (e.g., based on calculating time of flight that is convertible to distance). System A receives the transmitted UWB signal and determines distance d2 information between System B and System A. Thus, both of System A and System B receive mutually received information including angle of arrival information of the UWB signals and distance between each system as measured from the other system. The vehicle position processor 202 may be configured to transmit a third UWB signal comprising the first materials handling vehicle set of information from the first UWB antenna array of the first materials handling vehicle 100A (e.g., System B) to the second UWB antenna array of the second materials handling vehicle 100A (e.g., System A).); and
alter operation of the materials handling vehicle based on the position (see at least Estep, para. [0083]: Once a field infringement has been detected by a materials handling vehicle 100, the onboard hardware and software may emit proper control signals for the materials handling vehicle 100 to avoid collision. In embodiments, other vehicle systems that are also running similar algorithms may be likewise detected and have begun respective control actions. In an event that an error leads to the other vehicle 100 not detecting infringement, the vehicles 100 may monitor an infringement status of neighboring vehicles 100. If another vehicle 100 reports that respective fields of the vehicle 100 are infringing onto the fields of a materials handling vehicle 100, the materials handling vehicle 100 may also begin control actions as if the materials handling vehicle 100 had detected the infringement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of receive, via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors; determine a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver; determine the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension of Estep, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take a preventive action accordingly (see at least Estep, para. [0065]).
As per claim 12 Kuss discloses
wherein the one or more vehicle sensors comprises at least one of the following; a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a steering wheel sensor, a magnet, or a wheel speed sensor (see at least Kuss, para. [0022]: The speed and rotational direction of the traction motor 43 and the associated propulsion wheel 45 are selected by the operator via a throttle control on the operator control handle 14, and are monitored by a feedback signal from a rotation sensor 44. The rotation sensor 44 can be an encoder coupled to the traction motor 43 and the signal therefrom is used to measure the speed and distance that the vehicle travels as recorded by an odometer 46.).
As per claim 17 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle transceiver is an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver
Estep teaches
wherein the vehicle transceiver is an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver (see at least Estep, para. [0054]: By way of example and not as a limitation, UWB technology may be utilized for localization. UWB technology is a radio technology utilizing a low energy level for short-range, high bandwidth communication over an ultra-wide radio spectrum portion, such as 3.1 to 10.6 GHz. UWB technology may include a transmitter on the materials handling vehicle 100 configured to transmit UWB transmissions for receipt by a receiver-anchor disposed in the warehouse 110.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle transceiver is an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver of Estep, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take a preventive action accordingly (see at least Estep, para. [0065]).
Claim(s) 3, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Estep, in view of US 2018/0219869A1 (“Kumar”).
As per claim 3 Kuss discloses
wherein the materials handling vehicle includes at least two different types of vehicle sensors and signals generated by each of the at least two different types of vehicle sensors are interpreted by at least one of the following: the materials handling vehicle or a remotely located computing device (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. Each fiducial 216 has a unique appearance or optically readable code, e.g. a unique barcode or other optical pattern, thereby enabling the GANS 13 to determine the present position of the vehicle and the direction to take to reach the next fiducial 216 along the assigned path 214.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
weighted into an output.
Kumar teaches
at least two different types of sensors and signals generated by each of the at least two different types of sensors are weighted into an output interpreted by at least one of the following: the materials handling vehicle or a remotely located computing device (see at least Kumar, para. [0074-0075]: In a device centric or some hybrid approaches, the mobile device 8 comprises a location module 36 for performing the localization calculation based on the beacon signals from the anchor nodes 6 (according to techniques already discussed), and also a security module 34. The security module 34 is configured to process the information 25 received from one or more of the anchor nodes 6 vouching for one or more others of the nodes, and to act accordingly: either selecting only trusted nodes to be used in the localization by the localization module, and/or reporting rogue nodes to the location server 14. & para. [0083]: As mentioned, there are also different possibilities for the response of the security module 34 in response to identifying one or more rogue nodes. One possible countermeasure is to selectively filter from the localization any signals from the beacon nodes that are judged, based on one or more of above the techniques, as not being part of the real location network 4. If a positioned device 8 detects signals from (supposed) anchor nodes that cannot be authenticated as being part of the location network 4, then its security module 34 can selectively filter those signals from the location calculations. The selective filtering may completely exclude signals from untrusted anchor nodes that are not vouched-for, or alternatively give them a lower weighting so that they do not influence the final location calculation beyond a certain degree.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of at least two different types of sensors and signals generated by each of the at least two different types of sensors are weighted into an output interpreted by at least one of the following: the materials handling vehicle or a remotely located computing device of Kumar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the efficiency of the localization (see at least Kumar, para. [0098]).
As per claim 13 Kuss discloses
wherein the materials handling vehicle includes at least two different types of vehicle sensors and signals generated by each of the at least two different types of vehicle sensors are interpreted by at least one of the following: the materials handling vehicle or a remotely located computing device (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. Each fiducial 216 has a unique appearance or optically readable code, e.g. a unique barcode or other optical pattern, thereby enabling the GANS 13 to determine the present position of the vehicle and the direction to take to reach the next fiducial 216 along the assigned path 214.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
weighted into an output.
Kumar teaches
at least two different types of sensors and signals generated by each of the at least two different types of sensors are weighted into an output interpreted by at least one of the following: the materials handling vehicle or a remotely located computing device (see at least Kumar, para. [0074-0075]: In a device centric or some hybrid approaches, the mobile device 8 comprises a location module 36 for performing the localization calculation based on the beacon signals from the anchor nodes 6 (according to techniques already discussed), and also a security module 34. The security module 34 is configured to process the information 25 received from one or more of the anchor nodes 6 vouching for one or more others of the nodes, and to act accordingly: either selecting only trusted nodes to be used in the localization by the localization module, and/or reporting rogue nodes to the location server 14. & para. [0083]: As mentioned, there are also different possibilities for the response of the security module 34 in response to identifying one or more rogue nodes. One possible countermeasure is to selectively filter from the localization any signals from the beacon nodes that are judged, based on one or more of above the techniques, as not being part of the real location network 4. If a positioned device 8 detects signals from (supposed) anchor nodes that cannot be authenticated as being part of the location network 4, then its security module 34 can selectively filter those signals from the location calculations. The selective filtering may completely exclude signals from untrusted anchor nodes that are not vouched-for, or alternatively give them a lower weighting so that they do not influence the final location calculation beyond a certain degree.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of at least two different types of sensors and signals generated by each of the at least two different types of sensors are weighted into an output interpreted by at least one of the following: the materials handling vehicle or a remotely located computing device of Kumar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the efficiency of the localization (see at least Kumar, para. [0098]).
Claim(s) 4, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Estep, in view of US 2020/0309533A1 (“Young”).
As per claim 4 Kuss discloses
the materials handling vehicle using the vehicle transceiver (see at least Kuss, para. [0017]: With initial reference to FIG. 1, an industrial vehicle 10, specifically a pallet truck, includes an operator compartment 11 with an opening for entry and exit by the operator. para. [0025]: The communication port 65 is connected to a wireless communicator 67 that includes a radio transceiver 69 coupled to the antenna 15 for exchanging data and commands with a wireless communication system in the warehouse or factory in which the industrial vehicle 10 operates.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle includes a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension.
Young teaches
wherein the vehicle includes a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension (see at least Young, para. [0063]: In some embodiments, a network 50 may comprise the automotive cloud, digital transportation infrastructure (DTI), radio data system (RDS)/high definition (HD) radio or other digital radio system, and/or the like. For example, a probe apparatus 20, vehicle apparatus 30, and/or informant apparatus 40 may be in communication with a network apparatus 10 via the network 50. For example, a probe apparatus 20, vehicle apparatus 30, and/or informant apparatus 40 may communicate with the network apparatus 10 via a network, such as the Cloud. For example, the Cloud may be a computer network that provides shared computer processing resources and data to computers and other devices connected thereto. para. [0091]: In an example embodiment, a determination of whether the expected sensor quality is acceptable includes the accessing of current and/or expected driving conditions for at least a portion of the planned route. If the expected sensor quality of the one or more sensors 39 is acceptable along the entirety of the planned route , the vehicle apparatus 30 may proceed to control the vehicle along the planned route (e.g., in an automated, self-driving and/or assisted driving manner) and/or to guide a human operator of the vehicle 5 along the planned route. & para. [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle includes a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension of Young, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improvements in the technological fields of automated driving, assisted driving, guiding a human operator of a vehicle along a route, route determination, lane-level route determination, route guidance, lane level route guidance, and/or the performance of various navigation functions by a vehicle apparatus onboard a vehicle (see at least Young, para. [0104]).
As per claim 14 Kuss discloses
the materials handling vehicle using the vehicle transceiver (see at least Kuss, para. [0017]: With initial reference to FIG. 1, an industrial vehicle 10, specifically a pallet truck, includes an operator compartment 11 with an opening for entry and exit by the operator.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle includes a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension.
Young teaches
wherein the vehicle includes a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension (see at least Young, para. [0063]: In some embodiments, a network 50 may comprise the automotive cloud, digital transportation infrastructure (DTI), radio data system (RDS)/high definition (HD) radio or other digital radio system, and/or the like. For example, a probe apparatus 20, vehicle apparatus 30, and/or informant apparatus 40 may be in communication with a network apparatus 10 via the network 50. For example, a probe apparatus 20, vehicle apparatus 30, and/or informant apparatus 40 may communicate with the network apparatus 10 via a network, such as the Cloud. For example, the Cloud may be a computer network that provides shared computer processing resources and data to computers and other devices connected thereto. para. [0091]: In an example embodiment, a determination of whether the expected sensor quality is acceptable includes the accessing of current and/or expected driving conditions for at least a portion of the planned route. If the expected sensor quality of the one or more sensors 39 is acceptable along the entirety of the planned route , the vehicle apparatus 30 may proceed to control the vehicle along the planned route (e.g., in an automated, self-driving and/or assisted driving manner) and/or to guide a human operator of the vehicle 5 along the planned route. & para. [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle includes a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension of Young, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improvements in the technological fields of automated driving, assisted driving, guiding a human operator of a vehicle along a route, route determination, lane-level route determination, route guidance, lane level route guidance, and/or the performance of various navigation functions by a vehicle apparatus onboard a vehicle (see at least Young, para. [0104]).
Claim(s) 5-6, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Estep, in view of US 2008/0071429A1 (“Kraimer”), in view of Kumar.
As per claim 5 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the materials handling vehicle along an aisle, wherein a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension is automatically changed in response to determining that only the subset of transceiver anchors have line of sight to the materials handling vehicle when the materials handling vehicle is located at a predetermined position.
Kraimer teaches
wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the materials handling vehicle along an aisle (see at least Kraimer, Fig. 4 & para. [0072]: In the illustrated example, the aisle 120 is 15 feet (approximately 4.6 meters) wide and the RFID antennas 148 are configured to detect the corresponding RFID tags 150 within a radius of 13 feet (approximately 3.9 meters). This provides sufficient overlap of coverage in the aisle 120 for detection by the truck 10 and provides ample distance for the exemplary truck 10 to brake or otherwise come to a rest proximate to the end of the aisle. In practice, other ranges may be utilized and may be varied, based for example, upon the stopping requirements of the truck 10 and corresponding wireless remote control implementation, the sensing technology utilized and other suitable factors.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the materials handling vehicle along an aisle of Kraimer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for advantages of remote control to be further enhanced by more efficient computer processing when preparing pickup orders (see at least Kraimer, para. [0069]).
Kumar teaches
wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the mobile device (see at least Kumar, para. [0087]: Preferably the second channel uses a technology requiring a line-of-sight between the mobile device and the first wireless node (while the first channel does not necessarily), or the second channel is substantially shorter range than the first channel (requires immediate physical proximity between the mobile device and the second wireless node, while the first channel does not).),
wherein a weighting of using the transceiver to determine the first dimension is automatically changed in response to determining that only the subset of transceiver anchors have line of sight to the mobile device when the mobile device is located at a predetermined position (see at least Kumar, para. [0083-0087]: One possible countermeasure is to selectively filter from the localization any signals from the beacon nodes that are judged, based on one or more of above the techniques, as not being part of the real location network 4. If a positioned device 8 detects signals from (supposed) anchor nodes that cannot be authenticated as being part of the location network 4, then its security module 34 can selectively filter those signals from the location calculations. The selective filtering may completely exclude signals from untrusted anchor nodes that are not vouched-for, or alternatively give them a lower weighting so that they do not influence the final location calculation beyond a certain degree… Preferably the second channel uses a technology requiring a line-of-sight between the mobile device and the first wireless node (while the first channel does not necessarily), or the second channel is substantially shorter range than the first channel (requires immediate physical proximity between the mobile device and the second wireless node, while the first channel does not).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the mobile device, wherein a weighting of using the transceiver to determine the first dimension is automatically changed in response to determining that only the subset of transceiver anchors have line of sight to the mobile device when the mobile device is located at a predetermined position of Kumar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the efficiency of the localization (see at least Kumar, para. [0098]).
As per claim 6 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the predetermined position includes at least one of the following: a transition zone or a restriction zone
Kraimer teaches
wherein the predetermined position includes at least one of the following: a transition zone or a restriction zone (see at least Kraimer, Fig. 4 & para. [0072]: In the illustrated example, the aisle 120 is 15 feet (approximately 4.6 meters) wide and the RFID antennas 148 are configured to detect the corresponding RFID tags 150 within a radius of 13 feet (approximately 3.9 meters). This provides sufficient overlap of coverage in the aisle 120 for detection by the truck 10 and provides ample distance for the exemplary truck 10 to brake or otherwise come to a rest proximate to the end of the aisle. In practice, other ranges may be utilized and may be varied, based for example, upon the stopping requirements of the truck 10 and corresponding wireless remote control implementation, the sensing technology utilized and other suitable factors.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the predetermined position includes at least one of the following: a transition zone or a restriction zone of Kraimer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for advantages of remote control to be further enhanced by more efficient computer processing when preparing pickup orders (see at least Kraimer, para. [0069]).
As per claim 15 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the materials handling vehicle along an aisle, wherein a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension is automatically changed in response to determining that only the subset of transceiver anchors have line of sight to the materials handling vehicle when the materials handling vehicle is located at a predetermined position.
Kraimer teaches
wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the materials handling vehicle along an aisle (see at least Kraimer, Fig. 4 & para. [0072]: In the illustrated example, the aisle 120 is 15 feet (approximately 4.6 meters) wide and the RFID antennas 148 are configured to detect the corresponding RFID tags 150 within a radius of 13 feet (approximately 3.9 meters). This provides sufficient overlap of coverage in the aisle 120 for detection by the truck 10 and provides ample distance for the exemplary truck 10 to brake or otherwise come to a rest proximate to the end of the aisle. In practice, other ranges may be utilized and may be varied, based for example, upon the stopping requirements of the truck 10 and corresponding wireless remote control implementation, the sensing technology utilized and other suitable factors.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the materials handling vehicle along an aisle of Kraimer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for advantages of remote control to be further enhanced by more efficient computer processing when preparing pickup orders (see at least Kraimer, para. [0069]).
Kumar teaches
wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the mobile device (see at least Kumar, para. [0087]: Preferably the second channel uses a technology requiring a line-of-sight between the mobile device and the first wireless node (while the first channel does not necessarily), or the second channel is substantially shorter range than the first channel (requires immediate physical proximity between the mobile device and the second wireless node, while the first channel does not).),
wherein a weighting of using the transceiver to determine the first dimension is automatically changed in response to determining that only the subset of transceiver anchors have line of sight to the mobile device when the mobile device is located at a predetermined position (see at least Kumar, para. [0083-0087]: One possible countermeasure is to selectively filter from the localization any signals from the beacon nodes that are judged, based on one or more of above the techniques, as not being part of the real location network 4. If a positioned device 8 detects signals from (supposed) anchor nodes that cannot be authenticated as being part of the location network 4, then its security module 34 can selectively filter those signals from the location calculations. The selective filtering may completely exclude signals from untrusted anchor nodes that are not vouched-for, or alternatively give them a lower weighting so that they do not influence the final location calculation beyond a certain degree… Preferably the second channel uses a technology requiring a line-of-sight between the mobile device and the first wireless node (while the first channel does not necessarily), or the second channel is substantially shorter range than the first channel (requires immediate physical proximity between the mobile device and the second wireless node, while the first channel does not).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the subset of transceiver anchors are positioned with line of sight to the mobile device, wherein a weighting of using the transceiver to determine the first dimension is automatically changed in response to determining that only the subset of transceiver anchors have line of sight to the mobile device when the mobile device is located at a predetermined position of Kumar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the efficiency of the localization (see at least Kumar, para. [0098]).
Claim(s) 9 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Estep, in view of US 2020/0247612A1 (“Thode”).
As per claim 9 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the logic further causes the materials handling vehicle to determine a proximity of the materials handling vehicle to an aisle.
Thode teaches
wherein the logic further causes the materials handling vehicle to determine a proximity of the materials handling vehicle to an aisle (see at least Thode, para. [0181-0182]: For example, multiple observations of the same out of aisle tag identifier 71 (e.g., QR code) in the out of aisle area permits a distance and heading of the vehicle 102 relative to the out of aisle tag identifier 71 to be determined. The multiple observations may permit image capture of different angles of the camera 304 of the rack leg imaging module 300 of the vehicle 102 with respect to the out of aisle tag identifier 71 to be captured. The multiple image captures at different angles with respect to the out of aisle tag identifier 71 are used to determine a position of the camera 304 relative to the out of aisle tag identifier 71, and thus the position of the vehicle 102 may be determined based on the position of the camera 304 relative to the out of aisle tag identifier 71… Thus, even when the vehicle 102 is not fixed on a guidewire , a distance measurement of the vehicle with respect to a component or structure in the warehouse 11 may be determined and used to generate the position of the vehicle 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the logic further causes the materials handling vehicle to determine a proximity of the materials handling vehicle to an aisle of Thode, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the accuracy of the localization (see at least Thode, para. [0113]).
As per claim 16 Kuss does not explicitly discloses
wherein the materials handling vehicle further includes at least one of the following: a wire guidance device for engaging wire guidance in an aisle or a floor guide rail system.
Thode teaches
wherein the materials handling vehicle further includes at least one of the following: a wire guidance device for engaging wire guidance in an aisle or a floor guide rail system (see at least Thode, para. [0090]: The materials handling vehicle 102 may be configured to be disposed on a guidance system, such as the guidance wire that may be utilized as a wire guidance for vehicle navigation on the inventory transit surface 106, a guidance rail utilized for vehicle navigation on the inventory transit surface 106, or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the materials handling vehicle further includes at least one of the following: a wire guidance device for engaging wire guidance in an aisle or a floor guide rail system of Thode, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the accuracy of the localization (see at least Thode, para. [0113]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Kumar, in view of Estep.
As per claim 18 Kuss discloses
A method for determining a position of a materials handling vehicle in a covered environment (see at least Kuss, para. [0030]: The communication system 102 also can provide a mechanism by which the location of each industrial vehicle 10 within the warehouse is determined. Periodically, the transceiver at each wireless access point 106 broadcasts a location message that is received by all the industrial vehicles 10.),
wherein the materials handling vehicle includes a vehicle transceiver for communicating with a plurality of transceiver anchors in the covered environment (see at least Kuss, para. [0025]: The communication port 65 is connected to a wireless communicator 67 that includes a radio transceiver 69 coupled to the antenna 15 for exchanging data and commands with a wireless communication system in the warehouse or factory in which the industrial vehicle 10 operates. & para. [0029]: Referring to FIG. 3, a warehouse 100, in which one or more industrial vehicles 10 operate, has a bidirectional communication system 102 that links the wireless communicator 67 in each of the industrial vehicles 10 to an asset management computer 104 at a fixed location in the facility. The communication system 102 comprises a plurality of wireless access points 106 distributed throughout the warehouse 100, such as in the shipping dock and goods storage areas. The wireless access points 106 are radio frequency signal transceivers that are connected via a conventional hardwired local area network 105 or a TCP/IP communications link to the asset management computer 104.),
wherein the materials handling vehicle includes one or more vehicle sensors that are coupled to the materials handling vehicle and are configured to detect the presence of objects in the proximity of the materials handling vehicle, wherein the one or more vehicle sensors are different than the vehicle transceiver (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. & para. [0042]: Another incident is depicted in FIG. 4, where autonomous industrial vehicle 210 encountered an obstacle 220 in its path. The guidance and navigation system 13 sensed that obstacle and stopped the vehicle before a collision occurs. The guidance and navigation system, however, cannot determine how to maneuver around the obstacle 220, thus the industrial vehicle 210 remains stationary at that location.), comprising:
monitoring, by a computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle in a free range area of the covered environment (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. Each fiducial 216 has a unique appearance or optically readable code, e.g. a unique barcode or other optical pattern, thereby enabling the GANS 13 to determine the present position of the vehicle and the direction to take to reach the next fiducial 216 along the assigned path 214.);
determining, by the computing device, a first dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based primarily on data generated by the one or more vehicle sensors (see at least Kuss, para. [0038]: As the industrial vehicle 10 travels in the autonomous mode, sensors on the GANS 13 detect the position of the vehicle relative to the assigned path 214. In one type of GANS, a camera 76 or a laser scanner detects fiducials 216 that are placed periodically along various paths in the warehouse. The fiducials 216 may be placed on the warehouse floor, walls, pillars, shelves and other objects having a fixed location. Each fiducial 216 has a unique appearance or optically readable code, e.g. a unique barcode or other optical pattern, thereby enabling the GANS 13 to determine the present position of the vehicle and the direction to take to reach the next fiducial 216 along the assigned path 214.).
However Kuss does not explicitly disclose
monitoring, by a computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle in a free range area of the covered environment using a first data weighting that primarily favors data received from the plurality of transceiver anchors;
determining, by the computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle via a second data weighting that includes the following:
determining, by the computing device, a first dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle based primarily on data generated by the one or more vehicle sensors;
receiving, by the computing device via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors;
determining, by the computing device, a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle primarily based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver; and
determining, by the computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension.
Kumar teaches
monitoring, by a computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle in a free range area of the covered environment using a first data weighting that primarily favors data received from the plurality of transceiver anchors (see at least Kumar, para. [0074-0075]: In a device centric or some hybrid approaches, the mobile device 8 comprises a location module 36 for performing the localization calculation based on the beacon signals from the anchor nodes 6 (according to techniques already discussed), and also a security module 34. The security module 34 is configured to process the information 25 received from one or more of the anchor nodes 6 vouching for one or more others of the nodes, and to act accordingly: either selecting only trusted nodes to be used in the localization by the localization module, and/or reporting rogue nodes to the location server 14. & para. [0083]: As mentioned, there are also different possibilities for the response of the security module 34 in response to identifying one or more rogue nodes. One possible countermeasure is to selectively filter from the localization any signals from the beacon nodes that are judged, based on one or more of above the techniques, as not being part of the real location network 4. If a positioned device 8 detects signals from (supposed) anchor nodes that cannot be authenticated as being part of the location network 4, then its security module 34 can selectively filter those signals from the location calculations. The selective filtering may completely exclude signals from untrusted anchor nodes that are not vouched-for, or alternatively give them a lower weighting so that they do not influence the final location calculation beyond a certain degree.);
determining, by the computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle via a second data weighting (see at least Kumar, para. [0099]: In the case of verifying the location calculation, the mobile device 8 again obtains the location of the transmitter 38/32 via the second channel, but in this case at some later time after the first localization; and the location module 36 takes this as an approximate "true" location of the mobile device 8. The location module 36 can then compare the true location reported by the out-of-band transmitter 38/32 over the second channel with the result of the localization it has performed based on the beacon signals from the anchor nodes 6 received over first channel based, and thereby determine whether consistent with the location of node reported on second channel. If not, this determination could be used to update or recalibrate the location calculation; or could be taken by the security module 34 as another indication that rogue nodes may be present.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of monitoring, by a computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle in a free range area of the covered environment using a first data weighting that primarily favors data received from the plurality of transceiver anchors, determining, by the computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle via a second data weighting of Kumar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the efficiency of the localization (see at least Kumar, para. [0098]).
Estep teaches
receiving, by the computing device via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors (see at least Estep, para. [0044]: In another embodiment, as referring to FIG. 1C, the UWB system 170 may include a UWB system 150A as a System A mounted on a first materials handling vehicle 100 and another System B as a single UWB antenna system that may be mounted on a second materials handling vehicle 100 or in another location of the warehouse 110. With the method of FIG. 1C, a relative position can be determined for a remote vehicle in this system configuration, and circular fields may be enforced on the remote vehicle. In the vehicles 100 described herein, the vehicles may include one or more UWB antenna arrays and a beacon. At a lowered position of an operator compartment of at least one vehicle 100, the system configuration of FIG. 1B may be implemented to determine relative pose between vehicles 100 as relative pose observations. & para. [0069]);
determining, by the computing device, a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle primarily based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver (see at least Estep, para. [0069]: With respect to the UWB system 170 of FIG. 1C, blocks 302, 304 may be utilized. Single antenna System transmits a UWB signal to System A ( e.g., UWB system 150A) in block 302. System A responds with a UWB signal transmitted to the single antenna System B including information such as angle of arrival 8 and timing information in block 304. However, as System B is a single antenna system and is not calibrated with respect to a center of an antenna array and a center of a materials handling vehicle, System A is configured to measure a relative position (and not orientation) of System B, and System B measures a relative distance d to System A.); and
determining, by the computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension (see at least Estep, para. [0063-0064]: The vehicle position processor 202 may thus be configured to transmit a second UWB signal comprising the second materials handling vehicle set of information from the second UWB antenna array of the second materials handling vehicle 100B (e.g., System A) to the first UWB antenna array of the first materials handling vehicle l00A (e.g., System B), and determine a first materials handling vehicle set of information (at System B) based on the second UWB signal. The first materials handling vehicle set of information may include an angle of arrival (e.g., angle of arrival 82 ) and associated timing information based on the second UWB signal received at the first UWB antenna array. A determined distance (e.g., distance d2 ) may be determined (at System A) based on the associated timing information such as time of flight information as a distance between a pair of nodes of the second materials handling vehicle and the first materials handling vehicle… In the two-way ranging exchange, a time of flight of a UWB radio-frequency (RF) signal may be determined and used to calculate a distance d2 between nodes by, for example, multiplying the time by speed of light (e.g., based on calculating time of flight that is convertible to distance). System A receives the transmitted UWB signal and determines distance d2 information between System B and System A. Thus, both of System A and System B receive mutually received information including angle of arrival information of the UWB signals and distance between each system as measured from the other system. The vehicle position processor 202 may be configured to transmit a third UWB signal comprising the first materials handling vehicle set of information from the first UWB antenna array of the first materials handling vehicle 100A (e.g., System B) to the second UWB antenna array of the second materials handling vehicle 100A (e.g., System A).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of receiving, by the computing device via the vehicle transceiver, data from a subset of transceiver anchors of the plurality of transceiver anchors; determining, by the computing device, a second dimension of the position of the materials handling vehicle primarily based on the received data via the vehicle transceiver; and determining, by the computing device, the position of the materials handling vehicle from the first dimension and the second dimension of Estep, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take a preventive action accordingly (see at least Estep, para. [0065]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Kumar, in view of Estep, in view of Young.
As per claim 19 Kuss does not explicitly disclose
further comprising providing a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension.
Young teaches
further comprising providing a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension (see at least Young, para. [0063]: In some embodiments, a network 50 may comprise the automotive cloud, digital transportation infrastructure (DTI), radio data system (RDS)/high definition (HD) radio or other digital radio system, and/or the like. For example, a probe apparatus 20, vehicle apparatus 30, and/or informant apparatus 40 may be in communication with a network apparatus 10 via the network 50. For example, a probe apparatus 20, vehicle apparatus 30, and/or informant apparatus 40 may communicate with the network apparatus 10 via a network, such as the Cloud. For example, the Cloud may be a computer network that provides shared computer processing resources and data to computers and other devices connected thereto. para. [0091]: In an example embodiment, a determination of whether the expected sensor quality is acceptable includes the accessing of current and/or expected driving conditions for at least a portion of the planned route. If the expected sensor quality of the one or more sensors 39 is acceptable along the entirety of the planned route , the vehicle apparatus 30 may proceed to control the vehicle along the planned route (e.g., in an automated, self-driving and/or assisted driving manner) and/or to guide a human operator of the vehicle 5 along the planned route. & para. [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of further comprising providing a user option to manually alter a weighting of using the vehicle transceiver to determine the first dimension of Young, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improvements in the technological fields of automated driving, assisted driving, guiding a human operator of a vehicle along a route, route determination, lane-level route determination, route guidance, lane level route guidance, and/or the performance of various navigation functions by a vehicle apparatus onboard a vehicle (see at least Young, para. [0104]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuss, in view of Kumar, in view of Estep, in view of Thode.
As per claim 20 Kuss does not explicitly discloses
wherein the materials handling vehicle further includes at least one of the following: a wire guidance device for engaging wire guidance in an aisle or a floor guide rail system.
Thode teaches
wherein the materials handling vehicle further includes at least one of the following: a wire guidance device for engaging wire guidance in an aisle or a floor guide rail system (see at least Thode, para. [0090]: The materials handling vehicle 102 may be configured to be disposed on a guidance system, such as the guidance wire that may be utilized as a wire guidance for vehicle navigation on the inventory transit surface 106, a guidance rail utilized for vehicle navigation on the inventory transit surface 106, or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuss to incorporate the teaching of wherein the materials handling vehicle further includes at least one of the following: a wire guidance device for engaging wire guidance in an aisle or a floor guide rail system of Thode, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the accuracy of the localization (see at least Thode, para. [0113]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668