DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0118], line 1, “lower outer 12b” should read –lower outer layer 12b--. In paragraph [0153], line 3, “16b” should read—16c--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 7-9, 11 and 16 use the term “optionally” while disclosing limitations. The use of this term leaves in question whether the limitations following the term are required or not, rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by USPAP 2025/0072629 (Lin ‘629 hereinafter).
With regard to claim 15, Lin ‘629 discloses an inflatable mat (20) comprising:
an upper outer layer (21) and a lower outer layer (22) defining a substantially enclosed internal volume;
at least one valve (24) in selectable fluid communication with the internal volume;
at least one insulating layer (41) disposed between the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22); and
a plurality of tie members (31, 32) each extending between and directly connected to the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22), wherein each of the tie members (31, 32) comprises a neck portion (324); and
wherein the at least one insulating layer (41) comprises an aperture (413, 414) dimensioned to be held around the neck portion (324) so as to locate the insulating layer (41) with respect to the tie member (31, 32) in a direction substantially transverse to the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layers (22) when the inflatable mat (20) is configured for use.
With regard to claim 16, insofar as claim 16 is definite, Lin ‘629 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 15, wherein the neck portion (324) defines a minimum width, and wherein the minimum width is located spaced apart from upper and lower ends of the tie member (31, 32), optionally wherein the tie member (31, 32) comprises a substantially hourglass shape defining the neck portion (324).
With regard to claim 17, Lin ‘629 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 16, wherein the aperture (413, 414) defines a width, and wherein the minimum width of the neck portion (324) is substantially equal to the width of the aperture (413, 414).
With regard to claim 18, Lin ‘629 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of tie members (31, 32) is formed from one piece extending between the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘629 in view of USP 9,609,956 (Lin ‘956 hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Lin ‘629 discloses an inflatable mat (20) comprising:
an upper outer layer (21) and a lower outer layer (22) defining a substantially enclosed internal volume;
at least one valve (24) in selectable fluid communication with the internal volume;
at least one insulating layer (41) disposed between the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22);
a plurality of tie members (31, 32) each extending between and directly connected to the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22).
Lin ‘629 does not disclose a plurality of strap members each configured to hold the insulating layer to one of the upper outer layer or the lower outer layer.
Lin ‘956 teaches an inflatable mat (10) comprising an upper outer layer (11) and a lower outer layer (12) defining a substantially enclosed internal volume having an insulating layer (30) with apertures (31) and a plurality of strap members (20) each configured to hold the insulating layer (30) to one of the upper outer layer (11) or the lower outer layer (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Lin ‘629 by providing a plurality of strap members each configured to hold the insulating layer to one of the upper outer layer or the lower outer layer as taught by Lin ‘956 for the purposes of further securing upper or lower insulating layers while producing easy and quick inflation (col. 2 lines 16-21 od Lin ‘956).
With regard to claim 2, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of tie members (31, 32) are each discrete from one another, and/or wherein the plurality of strap members (20) are each discrete from the plurality of tie members (31, 32) and from one another.
With regard to claim 3, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the tie members (31, 32) are orientated substantially transversely with respect to the strap members (20).
With regard to claim 4, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of tie members (31, 32) are orientated substantially transversely with respect to the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22) when the inflatable mat (20) is in an inflated configuration.
With regard to claim 5, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of strap members (20) extends from the respective upper or lower outer layer (22), through the at least one insulating layer (41) and back towards the same of the respective upper or lower layer to connect the at least one insulating layer (41) to the respective upper or lower outer layer (22).
With regard to claim 6, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of tie members (31, 32) is connected to the upper outer layer (21) at an upper connection point, and to the lower outer layer (22) at a lower connection point, and wherein the upper and lower connection points are transversely aligned.
With regard to claim 7, insofar as claim 7 is definite, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of strap members (20) are directly connected to the respective upper outer layer (21) or lower outer layer (22) at a first connection point and a second connection point spaced apart from the first connection point, optionally wherein the first connection point is longitudinally aligned with the second connection point.
With regard to claim 8, insofar as claim 8 is definite, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of tie members (31, 32) are arranged in an array of rows, optionally wherein each row extends in a direction substantially perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the inflatable mat (20), optionally wherein adjacent rows of the plurality of tie members (31, 32) are longitudinally offset.
With regard to claim 9, insofar as claim 9 is definite, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of strap members (20) are arranged in an array of rows, optionally wherein each row extends in a direction substantially perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the inflatable mat (20), optionally wherein adjacent rows are longitudinally offset.
With regard to claim 10, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the at least one insulating layer (41) comprise a plurality of apertures (413, 414) each configured to receive a tie member (31, 32) therethrough.
With regard to claim 11, insofar as claim 11 is definite, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the at least one insulating layer (41) comprises a plurality of apertures (31), and wherein each aperture (31) is configured to receive a respective strap member therethrough, optionally wherein each strap member extends through more than one of the plurality of apertures (31) of the at least one insulating layer (41).
With regard to claim 12, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the at least one insulating layer (41) comprises an upper insulating layer (41) connected to the upper outer layer (21) by a plurality of upper strap members (20), optionally wherein the at least one insulating layer (41) comprises an intermediate insulating layer (41) located between the upper insulating layer (41) and the lower outer layer (22).
With regard to claim 13, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of tie members (31, 32) each comprise a neck portion, and wherein the intermediate insulating layer (41) comprises an aperture (413, 414) dimensioned to be held around the neck portion so as to locate the intermediate insulating layer (41) with respect to the tie member (31, 32) in a direction transverse to the upper and lower outer layers when the inflatable mat (20) is in an inflated configuration.
With regard to claim 14, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of tie members (31, 32) and/or the plurality of strap members (20) are welded or heat sealed to the respective upper (21) or lower outer layer (22). See paragraph [0018] of Lin ‘629.
With regard to claim 19, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the inflatable mat (20) according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of tie members (31, 32) and the plurality of strap members (20) are separate from one another.
With regard to claim 20, the Lin ‘629 modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a method of manufacturing an inflatable mat (20), the method comprising the steps of:
providing an upper outer layer (21) and a lower outer layer (22);
providing at least one insulating layer (41);
providing a plurality of tie members (31, 32) and a plurality of strap members (20);
connecting the insulating layer (41) to the upper outer layer (21) or lower outer layer (22) via the plurality of strap members (20);
connecting each of the tie members (31, 32) to the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22) such that each of the tie members (31, 32) extend between the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22) and the insulating layer (41) is located between the upper outer layer (21) and the lower outer layer (22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 12,453,429 and USPAP’s 2026/0182748, 2026/0060439, 2024/0225322, 2016/0166077 and 2002/0083528 each disclose an apparatus similar to that claimed.
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673