Detailed Action
Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments dated 6-30-26 and this office action is a final rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,053. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4 of the ‘053 patent are substantially similar to claims 1-20 of the present application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,336,518. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the ‘518 patent are substantially similar to claims 1-20 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 945,091 to Hanel in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,176,489 to Levstik.
Referring to claims 1 and 17, Hanel discloses a fishing lure comprising, a decorative hollow body – at A, comprising an aperture/at least one aperture – at rear of A – see hook movable through the opening in figures 1-2, a housing – at D and C at and rearward of D, disposed inside and aligned longitudinally with the decorative hollow body – at A – see figures 1-3, a hook – at G,I,J,K,F, extending at least partially from the housing – at C,D – see figure 1 with G extending downward from the housing in first position and extending from the housing in the dashed position and items F,I,J,K extending from the housing in the dashed position, the hook – at G,J,K,F, comprising a plate – at I, disposed inside the housing – at C,D – see figure 1, a longitudinal body – at F and/or J, coupled to the plate – at I, and extending from the plate longitudinally – see figure 1 with items F and J extending from I in a length direction, a curved portion – at G, extending from the longitudinal body – at F and/or J, and comprising a barbed end disposed at a distal end of the curved portion – see ends of G in figure 1, wherein the hook – at G,J, is configured to be movable between a retracted position wherein the barbed end of the hook is disposed entirely within the decorative hollow body – at A – see figure 1, and an extended position wherein the barbed end of the hook – at G,J, extends through the aperture in the decorative hollow body – at A – see dashed line position in figure 1, and is disposed entirely outside of the decorative hollow body – at A – see dashed line position in figure 1, a spring – at h,H, disposed inside the housing – at C,D, between and in contact with a forward end of the housing – at D, and the plate – at I – see figure 1, the spring – at h,H, configured to selectively move the hook – at G,I,J,K,F, from the retracted position to the extended position in a longitudinal direction – see positions in figure 1, a guard – at L,M,N, having a first end and a second end – first end at end of N connected on C, and second end at L, wherein the first end of the guard is fixedly coupled to the housing – at C – see connection of N and C in figure 1, wherein the second end of the guard – at L, is releasably coupled to the hook – at G,J,I,K,F, – see at F and K in figure 1 and see page 1 lines 50-84, and wherein the guard – at L,M,N, is configured to selectively decouple from the hook – at G,J,K,F,I and allow the spring – at h,H, to expand to move the hook – at G,J,K,F,I from the retracted position to the extended position upon application of pressure to the guard – at L,M,N – see figures 1-3 and page 1 lines 50-84. Specific to claim 17, Hanel further discloses the hook – at G,J,K,F,I comprises a second curved portion – at G, extending from the longitudinal body – at F and/or J – see figure 1, and comprising a second barbed end disposed at a distal end of the second curved portion – at G – see figure 1, and the hook assembly – at G,J,K,F,I, is configured to be movable between a retracted position wherein the first barbed end – at end of one of G, and the second barbed end – at the end of the other of G, of the hook assembly are disposed entirely within the decorative hollow body – at A – see figure 1, and an extended position wherein the first barbed end – at the end of one of G, and the second barbed end – at the end of the other of G, of the hook assembly extend through the at least one aperture – at the rear of A, in the decorative hollow body – at A - see dashed line position in figure 1, and are disposed entirely outside of the decorative hollow body – at A – see dashed line position in figure 1. Hanel does not disclose the plate, longitudinal body and curved portion are in fixed relation and the curved portion extends arcuately from the longitudinal body. Levstik does disclose the plate – at 26, the longitudinal body – at straight portion of 20, and the curved portion – at end of 20, are in a fixed relation – see figures 2-4, and the curved portion – at the end of 20, extends arcuately from the longitudinal body – at the straight portion of 20 – see figures 2-4. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hanel and add the plate and hook in fixed relation with the curved portion of the hook extending arcuately from the longitudinal body as disclosed by Levstik, so as to yield the predictable result of making the device more durable for repeated use while allowing the device to be more easily moved from the retracted to the extended position as desired.
Referring to claim 2, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the housing comprises a substantially cylindrical body – at C – see figures 1 and 3 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 3, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the plate – at I, consists of a single plate – see figure 1 of Hanel, and wherein the housing – at C,D, comprises an annular lip – inner surface of C, extending inwardly from the substantially cylindrical body – at C – see figure 1 of Hanel where inner wall of C extends inwardly from rear of C toward the front of C, to retain the single plate – at I, within the housing – at C – see figure 1 or Hanel with inner wall of C engaging item K which facilitates retaining F,I in the retracted position.
Referring to claim 5, Hanel as modified by Levstik does disclose the hook having plates – at I and K, and the plate – at K, provides for sealing against the cylindrical body – at C of the housing – see retracted position in figure 1 of Hanel, but Hanel as modified by Levstik does not disclose the plate connected to the spring seals the cylindrical body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hanel as modified by Levstik and have the plates – at I and K of Hanel, incorporated so that the hook connects to the plates while sealing the cylindrical body of the housing, so as to yield the predictable result of protecting the internal components of the device when in the retracted position.
Referring to claim 6, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the hook – at G,J,K,F,I comprises a second curved portion – at G, extending from the longitudinal body – at F and/or J – see figure 1 of Hanel, and comprising a second barb disposed at a distal end of the second curved portion – at G – see figure 1 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 7, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses a brace – at J, disposed between the curved portion – at one of G, and the second curved portion – other of G – see figure 1 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 8, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the second end of the guard – at L, is releasably coupled to the brace – at J – see via items F and K in figure 1 of Hanel, and wherein the guard – at L, is configured to selectively decouple from the brace – at J – see via F and K in figure 1 of Hanel, and allow the spring – at h,H, to expand to move the hook – at G,J,K,F,I from the retracted position to the extended position upon application of pressure to the guard – at L – see figures 1-3 and page 1 lines 50-84 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 10, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the hook – at G,J,K,F,I, comprises a second longitudinal body – at F or J, coupled to the plate – at I, and extending from the plate – at I, longitudinally – see figure 1 of Hanel, and a second curved portion – at G, extending from the second longitudinal body – at F or J, and comprising a second barb – at the end of G, disposed at a distal end of the second curved portion – at G – see figure 1 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 11, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses a brace – at J, disposed between the curved portion – at one of G, and the second curved portion – the other of G – see figure 1 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 12, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the second end of the guard – at L, is releasably coupled to the brace – at J – see via items K and F in figure 1 of Hanel, and wherein the guard – at L, is configured to selectively decouple from the brace – at J – see via items K and F in figure 1 of Hanel, and allow the spring – at h,H, to expand to move the hook – at G,K,J,F,I, from the retracted position to the extended position upon application of pressure to the guard – at L – see figures 1-3 and page 1 lines 50-84 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 14, Hanel as modified by Levstik does not disclose the guard engages with the curved portion of the hook to retain the hook in the retracted position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hanel as modified by Levstik have the guard engage with the curved portion of the hook so that item N of Hanel engages with the hook – at G of Hanel, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the hook only moves to the extended position when a fish strikes the device during use as desired.
Referring to claim 15, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the guard – at L,M,N, does not engage with the barbed end of the hook – at G, to retain the hook in the retracted position – see figure 1 of Hanel.
Referring to claims 16 and 20, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the decorative hollow body – at A, is shaped like a frog, a fish, a worm, or an insect – see fish in figures 1-2 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 18, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses a brace – at J, disposed between the curved portion – at one of G, and the second curved portion – other of G – see figure 1 of Hanel, and the second end of the guard – at L, is releasably coupled to the brace – at J – see via items F and K in figure 1, and wherein the guard – at L, is configured to selectively decouple from the brace – at J – see via F and K in figure 1 of Hanel, and allow the spring – at h,H, to expand to move the hook – at G,J,K,F,I from the retracted position to the extended position upon application of pressure to the guard – at L – see figures 1-3 and page 1 lines 50-84 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 19, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses at least one of the guard and the brace comprises a barb or a hook configured to releasably couple the guard and the brace – via items F and K – see hook at L and J in figure 1 of Hanel.
Referring to claim 14, Hanel as modified by Levstik does not disclose the guard engages with the curved portion of the hook to retain the hook in the retracted position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hanel as modified by Levstik have the guard engage with the curved portion of the hook so that item N of Hanel engages with the hook – at G of Hanel, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the hook only moves to the extended position when a fish strikes the device during use as desired.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanel as modified by Levstik as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,722,764 to Juhrend.
Referring to claim 4, Hanel as modified by Levstik does not disclose a sealing ring disposed around the plate. Juhrend does disclose a sealing ring – at 15, disposed around the plate – at 14 – see figure 3. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hanel as modified by Levstik and add the sealing ring disposed around the plate as disclosed by Juhrend, so as to yield the predictable result of protecting the plate during use.
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanel as modified by Levstik as applied to claims 6 or 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,544,782 to Fawcett.
Referring to claims 9 and 13, Hanel as modified by Levstik further discloses the decorative hollow body – at A, and the aperture – at the rear of A, through which the second barb – at the end of G, and at least a portion of the second curved portion of the hook – at G, pass when the hook is moved from the retracted position to the extended position – see figure 1 of Hanel. Hanel as modified by Levstik does not disclose the decorative hollow body comprises a second aperture through which the second barb and at least a portion of the second curved portion pass when the hook is moved from the retracted position to the extended position. Fawcett does disclose the decorative hollow body – at 11, comprises a second aperture – see two apertures – at 12, through which the second barb – at the end of 23, and at least a portion of the second curved portion – at 23, pass when the hook – at 23, is moved from the retracted position to the extended position – see figures 2-3. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hanel as modified by Levstik and add the second aperture in the decorative hollow body as disclosed by Fawcett, so as to yield the predictable result of having the hooks on multiple sides of the device to increase the likelihood of catching a fish.
Response to Arguments
4. Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejections, these rejections are maintained as detailed earlier in paragraph 2 of this office action and it is noted that applicant will consider filing a terminal disclaimer.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 17, applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 6-30-26 obviates these rejections. However, applicant’s claim amendments dated 6-30-26 necessitates the new grounds of rejection detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action. Further, the Hanel reference US 945091 discloses a guard – at L,M,N, having a first end and a second end – first end at end of N connected on C, and second end at L, wherein the first end of the guard is fixedly coupled to the housing – at C – see connection of N and C in figure 1 with item N of the guard – at L,M,N, being fixed on item C as seen in figures 1-2.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 2-16 and 18-20, applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to parent claims 1 and 17 discussed earlier.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643