Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun US 11344125 B1 (hereinafter Sun) in view of Koopman US 1939904 A (hereinafter Koopman).
Re. Cl. 1, Sun discloses a chair with a foldable base, comprising a body (Fig. 5, Ref. 1 – 7) and a base (Fig. 5, Ref. 9 – 15) connected to a bottom of the body (Fig. 5, Ref. 8), wherein the base comprises at least two support leg sets (Fig. 5, Ref. 13 – 15).
Re. Cl. 1, Sun fails to disclose support leg sets capable of rotating relatively along a circumferential direction of a vertical axis. Koopman teaches an article of furniture comprising a body (Fig. 1, Ref. T) and a base (See Fig. 3) connected to a bottom of the body (Fig. 3, Ref. 11; Col 2, Ln 98 - 103), wherein the base comprises at least two support leg sets capable of rotating relatively along a circumferential direction of a vertical axis (Fig. 3, Ref. 1-3, 5-7), and sizes of the at least two support leg sets arranged from top to bottom decrease sequentially (See Fig. 3) such that the at least two support leg sets are switchable between a supporting position in which the at least two support leg sets are unfolded to different directions for supporting a load (See Fig. 1) and a folded position in which the at least two support leg sets are rotated to a same direction and overlap up and down (See Fig. 2; Col 2, Ln. 86 - 97). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun with Koopman's teaching of support leg sets capable of rotating relatively along a circumferential direction of a vertical axis. Doing so aligns the legs when in a folded position to be as flat as possible along a plane, making the base less bulky when folded and allowing for easier storage (Col. 2, Ln. 94 – 97).
Re. Cl. 6, Sun discloses a rotary connecting sleeve (Fig. 5, Ref. 12) and two support leg tubes (Fig. 5, Ref. 13), the two support leg tubes are respectively fixed to two opposite sides of the rotary connecting sleeve (See Fig. 3), and the rotary connecting sleeves of the at least two support leg sets are rotatably sleeved sequentially (Col. 4, Ln. 15 – 22).
Re. Cl. 7, Sun discloses a connecting shaft arranged vertically (Fig. 5, Ref. 8), the connecting shaft is assembled on the rotary connecting sleeve of an uppermost support leg set of the at least two support leg sets (See Fig. 5), and the body is rotatably connected to the connecting shaft to realize 360° rotation in the circumferential direction (Col. 4, Ln. 1 – 13).
Re. Cl. 8, Sun discloses a swing chair frame (Fig. 5, Ref. 4, 6 – 7) and a seat cushion (Fig. 5, Ref. 1), the seat cushion is hung on the swing chair frame and is swingable back and forth relative to the swing chair frame (See Fig. 2), and the swing chair frame is rotatably connected to the connecting shaft to realize 360° rotation in the circumferential direction (Fig. 5, Ref. 8 & 10).
Re. Cl. 9, Sun discloses the swing chair frame is a U-shaped support frame (Fig. 5, Ref. 4, 6 – 7), and left and right sides of the seat cushion are provided with slings and respectively connected to top ends of two sides of the U-shaped support frame through the slings on the left and right sides (See Fig. 2), the U-shaped support frame comprises a U-shaped base (Fig. 5, Ref. 6 – 7) and support rods detachably inserted into two sides of the U-shaped base respectively (Fig. 5, Ref. 4), a top end of each of the support rods is fixedly provided with a sling connecting member (See Fig. 2), and the slings on the left and right sides of the seat cushion are connected to the sling connecting members (Col. 3, Ln. 57 - 59).
Re. Cl. 10, Sun discloses a rotary shaft with rotary restoration (Fig. 5, Ref. 8), wherein the body is connected to the base through the rotary shaft so as to be capable of rotating relative to the base (Col. 4, Ln. 1 - 13).
Claims 2 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Koopman as applied to claims 1 & 6 – 10 above, and further in view of Xu US 20230172358 A1 (hereinafter Xu).
Re. Cl. 2, Sun as modified by Koopman fails to disclose a locking structure is arranged between every two adjacent support leg sets. Xu teaches that a locking structure (Fig. 6, Ref. 4), is arranged between every two adjacent support leg sets of the at least two support leg sets (See Fig. 4 & 5) and when the two adjacent support leg sets are in the supporting position or the folded position, relative positions are fixed through the locking structure (Para. 0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Sun’s invention with Xu's teachings of a locking mechanism. Doing so would allow a user to adjust the position of the support legs separately from adjustments to the body.
Re. Cl. 3, Sun as modified by Koopman fails to disclose an elastic pin. Xu teaches that the locking structure comprises an elastic pin arranged on a first support leg set of two adjacent support leg sets (Fig. 5, Ref. 41) and a pin hole provided in a second support leg set of two adjacent support leg sets (Fig. 5, Ref. 111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Sun’s invention with Xu's teachings of an elastic such that when the two adjacent support leg sets of Sun are unfolded to different directions for supporting the load, the elastic pin on the first support leg set is inserted into the pin hole of the second support leg set. Doing so provides a simple self-retracting locking mechanism, which improves the ease and convenience of folding and unfolding the base (Para. 0045).
Re. Cl. 4, Sun as modified by Koopman fails to disclose an elastic pin. Xu teaches a pin member (Fig. 5, Ref. 412), a spring (Fig. 5, Ref. 42), and a pull ring (Fig. 5, Ref. 413), where the pin member has a first end facing the second support leg set and a second end opposite the first end (Para. 0047), the spring exerts elastic force on the pin member toward the first end (See Fig. 5, Para. 0045), and the second end of the pin member is exposed and connected to the pull ring (See Fig. 5, Para. 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Sun’s invention with Xu's teachings of an elastic pin such that the pin member runs through the first support leg set of Sun. Doing so arranges the locking mechanism so that a user can easily access the pull tab to fold and unfold the base as desired.
Re. Cl. 5, Sun as modified by Koopman fails to disclose a rotation limiting structure. Xu teaches a rotation limiting structure is arranged between every two adjacent support leg sets of the at least two support leg sets (Fig. 4, Ref. 20) to limit a relative rotation angle of the two adjacent support leg sets (Para. 0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Sun’s invention with Xu's teachings of a rotation limiting structure. Doing so ensures that the support legs of Sun are folded or unfolded simultaneously, preventing any unwanted asymmetrical rotation in the base (Para. 0043).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lisi US 2717634 A, Sun US 20040116195 A1, and Frankel et al. US 20180098632 A1.
/GELILA KEBEDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632