DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thiruvengadam et al (US 10836371, hereinafter Thiruvengadam).
Regarding Claim 1, Thiruvengadam teaches:
an apparatus for controlling a power generation mode of a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) (see at least "The vehicle 10 includes one or more controller 50 such as a powertrain control unit (PCU), an engine control module (ECM), a motor control unit (MCU), and a DC/AC inverter controller (DCACA). While illustrated as one controller, the controller 50 may be part of a larger control system and may be controlled by various other controllers throughout the vehicle 10, such as a vehicle system controller (VSC).” In col. 4 lines 31-37), the apparatus comprising:
an input device configured to receive a setting of the power generation mode of an engine from a user (see at least "Referring to FIG. 5, the vehicle 10 includes one or more human-machine interfaces (HMIs) such as touch screens, buttons, and the like. The vehicle 10 may include a main display 170 that includes an LCD screen with capacitive touch. The display 170 allows a user to operate various functionalities of the vehicle 10. The user can control operation of the onboard generator using the display 170. For example, the user can turn the outlet(s) 102 ON/OFF, monitor power consumption of the loads, monitor time remaining for both battery-alone and total system (battery plus engine), and others. The user may also be able to select an icon indicative of a user's desire to use the electrical outlet at a next destination. This icon 172 may be called “worksite prep” or any other name. Selecting the icon 172 results in the controller changing from the baseline charging strategy to the battery-saver strategy so that the battery 20 has a high SOC upon arrival at the destination." in col. 8 lines 23-39) ;
a converter configured to convert direct current (DC) power of a battery into alternating current (AC) power (see at least "The inverter 60 is configured to converter the DC power of the bus 32 to AC power that is compatible with the auxiliary-power system for powering external loads. The inverter 60 is also configured to stepdown the voltage of the bus 32 to voltages compatible with the auxiliary power system such as common wall voltages 120 and/or 240." in col. 4 lines 14-20) ; and
a controller (see at least "The vehicle 10 includes one or more controller 50 such as a powertrain control unit (PCU), an engine control module (ECM), a motor control unit (MCU), and a DC/AC inverter controller (DCACA). While illustrated as one controller, the controller 50 may be part of a larger control system and may be controlled by various other controllers throughout the vehicle 10, such as a vehicle system controller (VSC).” In col. 4 lines 31-37), configured to:
supply the AC power to an AC outlet provided in the HEV (see at least "The truck 10 has an auxiliary power system that includes one or more outlets configured to power electrical loads such as power tools. An electrical outlet 102 is disposed on the box 100. For example, the outlet 102 is mounted on an outer surface 104 of the sidewall 106. Alternatively, the outlet 102 may be mounted on the inner surface of the sidewall 106. The electrical outlet 102 may be one more outlets such as the two shown. Each electrical outlet may include a single electrical socket or multiple sockets. The sockets may have different voltage and current ratings so that different loads can be powered by the vehicle 10." In col. 6 lines 46-56) ; and
control an engine control unit (ECU) to operate the engine in the set power generation mode when a state of charge (SOC) of a battery does not exceed a first threshold value. (see at least “When the disconnect clutch 26 is at least partially engaged, power flow from the engine 14 to the M/G 18 or from the M/G 18 to the engine 14 is possible. For example, the disconnect clutch 26 may be engaged and M/G 18 may operate as a generator to convert rotational energy provided by a crankshaft 28 and M/G shaft 34 into electrical energy to be stored in the battery 20 or used by vehicle systems such as an auxiliary electrical system.” In col. 3 line 63 to col. 4 line 5 and “The M/G 18 may act as a generator while the engine 14 is providing propulsion power for the vehicle 10, for example.” In col. 5 lines 56-59 and user selected and automatically triggered power generation modes In col. 5 line 63 to col. 6 line 17)
Regarding Claim 2, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the input device is configured to receive a setting of one of an automatic mode, an optimum mode, a low noise mode, or a maximum mode as the power generation mode. (see at least " The display 170 allows a user to operate various functionalities of the vehicle 10. The user can control operation of the onboard generator using the display 170. For example, the user can turn the outlet(s) 102 ON/OFF, monitor power consumption of the loads, monitor time remaining for both battery-alone and total system (battery plus engine), and others. The user may also be able to select an icon indicative of a user's desire to use the electrical outlet at a next destination. This icon 172 may be called “worksite prep” or any other name. Selecting the icon 172 results in the controller changing from the baseline charging strategy to the battery-saver strategy so that the battery 20 has a high SOC upon arrival at the destination. " in col. 8 lines 27-39)
Regarding Claim 11, Thiruvengadam also teaches:
A method (see at least “In at least one embodiment, method of charging a traction battery includes operating an engine to generate an output torque and an output speed to vehicle propulsion. The method also includes applying a reaction torque against the output torque from an electric machine to generate power for charging a battery. The method further includes increasing the output torque and an output speed of the engine to generate a predetermined battery charging power level based on optimizing a brake specific fuel consumption of the engine.” In par. 0005)
For implementing the apparatus of Claim 1 (see Claim 1 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 12, Thiruvengadam also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 2 (see Claim 2 analysis for rejection of the method)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-10, 13-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiruvengadam et al (US 10836371, hereinafter Thiruvengadam) in view of Dunlap et al (US 20170028978, hereinafter Dunlap).
Regarding Claim 3, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2,
a motor directly connected to the engine (see Fig. 1)
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
wherein the controller is configured to determine an operating point of the engine (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031) based on
an efficiency of the converter (see at least "The maximum charge rate can be reduced due to losses in converting AC current into DC current for receipt at a battery. " in par. 0015) ,
an efficiency of the battery (see at least " For example, an ampere-hour integration may be implemented in which the current through the traction battery 124 is integrated over time. The state of charge may also be estimated based on the output of the traction battery voltage sensor 104. The specific technique utilized may depend upon the chemical composition and characteristics of the particular battery. " in par. 0027 and “If at step 402 a battery charge cycle is scheduled, the controller may consider at step 406 whether the current battery temperature T.sub.2 is greater than a desired predetermined temperature threshold T.sub.1. The battery may generate heat during depletion and charging cycles. Related to efficient charging it is desirable to maintain the battery within a certain temperature range. A battery at an elevated temperature carries reduced charge acceptance leading to lower charge efficiency from electrical losses. Additionally, charging the battery at high temperatures may contribute to capacity losses, shortening the overall life cycle of the battery.” In par. 0046) ,
an efficiency of a motor (see at least " The electric machines 114 are capable of operating as generators and provide fuel economy benefits by recovering energy that would normally be lost as heat in a friction braking system. The electric machines 114 may additionally impart a reaction torque against the engine output torque to generate electricity for recharging a fraction battery the while the vehicle is operating. The electric machines 114 may further reduce vehicle emissions by allowing the engine 118 to operate near the most efficient speed and torque ranges. " in par. 0016 and “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current output from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC current compatible with the traction battery 124.” In par. 0017 and “The controller 148 may monitor operating conditions of the traction battery 124, the power conversion module 132 and the electric machine 114.” In par. 0025 and “The power conversion module 132 also includes a current sensor to sense a current that flows from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124. The engine 118 coupled to the electric machine 114 generates an AC current that is converted to a DC current by the power electronics module 126. The engine 118 may be controlled by a powertrain control module having at least one controller in connection with the system controller 148. The current sensor of the power conversion module 132 may output a signal indicative of a magnitude and direction of current flowing from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124.” In par. 0026 ) ,
a required power of the AC outlet, a required power of the AC outlet reflecting the efficiency of the converter (see at least " In at least one embodiment, P.sub.Batt Charge Limit is determined by subtracting the vehicle power demand from the optimal BSFC operating point of the engine P.sub.ideal. Often the vehicle power demand is the sum of power required to propel the vehicle plus any accessory power demand. " in par. 0031) , and
an amount of power corresponding to the SOC of the battery when the SOC of the battery does not exceed the first threshold value. (see at least " A state of charge operating range may be defined for the fraction battery 124. The operating ranges may define an upper and lower limit at which the state of charge may be bounded for the battery 124. During vehicle operation, the controller 148 may be configured to maintain the state of charge of the battery 124 within the associated operating range. In this regard, the battery may be recharged by the engine while the vehicle is in operation. In at least one embodiment, torque output from the engine is allocated to the electric machine to recharge the battery in response to the SOC being depleted to a SOC low threshold. Based on a rate of battery depletion, charging of the traction battery may be scheduled in advance based on approaching the SOC low threshold. In addition, planning for known upcoming vehicle operating conditions allows the controller to schedule powertrain operation in order to conserve or generate stored energy for predetermined EV mode operation for extended periods along a trip. The timing and rate of charging may also be opportunistically selected to take best advantage of the upcoming vehicle operating conditions to maximize charging efficiency. " in par. 0029)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein engine operating point is optimized based on current and voltages are measured at different components of the hybrid powertrain to reflect the actual power received and discharged by the battery rather than ideal predictions that do not reflect losses. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to maximize the efficiency of the engine (see par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 4, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the controller is configured to:
a motor directly connected to the engine (see Fig. 1)
when the SOC of the battery exceeds the first threshold value due to an operation of the engine, stop the operation of the engine when the SOC of the battery exceeds a second threshold value due to the operation of the engine. (see at least "If the battery SOC is greater than the threshold, control passes operation 200 and the traction battery is used for propulsion, for example using the battery-depletion mode. " in col. 9 lines 15-20)
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
determine an operating point of the engine (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031) based on
an efficiency of the converter (see at least "The maximum charge rate can be reduced due to losses in converting AC current into DC current for receipt at a battery. " in par. 0015),
an efficiency of the battery (see at least " For example, an ampere-hour integration may be implemented in which the current through the traction battery 124 is integrated over time. The state of charge may also be estimated based on the output of the traction battery voltage sensor 104. The specific technique utilized may depend upon the chemical composition and characteristics of the particular battery. " in par. 0027 and “If at step 402 a battery charge cycle is scheduled, the controller may consider at step 406 whether the current battery temperature T.sub.2 is greater than a desired predetermined temperature threshold T.sub.1. The battery may generate heat during depletion and charging cycles. Related to efficient charging it is desirable to maintain the battery within a certain temperature range. A battery at an elevated temperature carries reduced charge acceptance leading to lower charge efficiency from electrical losses. Additionally, charging the battery at high temperatures may contribute to capacity losses, shortening the overall life cycle of the battery.” In par. 0046),
an efficiency of a motor (see at least " The electric machines 114 are capable of operating as generators and provide fuel economy benefits by recovering energy that would normally be lost as heat in a friction braking system. The electric machines 114 may additionally impart a reaction torque against the engine output torque to generate electricity for recharging a fraction battery the while the vehicle is operating. The electric machines 114 may further reduce vehicle emissions by allowing the engine 118 to operate near the most efficient speed and torque ranges. " in par. 0016 and “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current output from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC current compatible with the traction battery 124.” In par. 0017 and “The controller 148 may monitor operating conditions of the traction battery 124, the power conversion module 132 and the electric machine 114.” In par. 0025 and “The power conversion module 132 also includes a current sensor to sense a current that flows from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124. The engine 118 coupled to the electric machine 114 generates an AC current that is converted to a DC current by the power electronics module 126. The engine 118 may be controlled by a powertrain control module having at least one controller in connection with the system controller 148. The current sensor of the power conversion module 132 may output a signal indicative of a magnitude and direction of current flowing from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124.” In par. 0026 ), and
a required power of the AC outlet reflecting the efficiency of the converter (see at least " In at least one embodiment, P.sub.Batt Charge Limit is determined by subtracting the vehicle power demand from the optimal BSFC operating point of the engine P.sub.ideal. Often the vehicle power demand is the sum of power required to propel the vehicle plus any accessory power demand. " in par. 0031)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein engine operating point is optimized based on current and voltages are measured at different components of the hybrid powertrain to reflect the actual power received and discharged by the battery rather than ideal predictions that do not reflect losses. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to maximize the efficiency of the engine (see par. 0016)
Regarding Claim 6, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2,
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
wherein the controller is configured to determine an operating point of the engine based on a brake specific fuel consumption (BSFC) map indicating an optimal operating line (OOL) and a noise, vibration, harshness (NVH) optimal operating point of the engine. (see at least “While opportunistic charging generally biases engine operation towards operation at the best BSFC available for the conditions, it may not be desirable to run the engine at an efficient BSFC for all conditions. As discussed above it is possible to run the engine at a higher load than required in order to charge efficiently, but at low speeds this comprises user convenience by producing increased engine noise, vibration, and harshness (NVH). Generally customers have come to expect primarily silent or low-noise powertrain operation at low vehicle speeds.” In par. 0035 and " Short of preventing charging altogether, the variable battery charge limit P.sub.Batt Charge Limit may be reduced at intermediate speeds by metering engine power output to a value less than P.sub.ideal to reduce NVH. In the example of FIG. 4, the battery charge limit is tapered down toward zero in response to vehicle power demand being less than a second power threshold P2 and greater than the first power threshold P1. While an approximately linear reduction of the battery charge limit is depicted, it is envisioned that various types of reduction profiles may be suitable to manage powertrain NVH according to the particular engine in use and customer expectations for vehicle allowable NVH. In at least one embodiment, the controller is programmed to issue a command to adjust the engine output torque and output speed corresponding to a maximum NVH threshold while vehicle power demand is less than a second power threshold P2." in par. 0038)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein the engine operating point is optimized based on BSFC map but can be modified when NVH is a concern. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to improve user convenience (see par. 0035)
Regarding Claim 7, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap teaches:
the apparatus of claim 6,
wherein the controller is configured to:
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
determine a required power of the AC outlet based on an efficiency of the converter when the SOC of the battery reaches a low limit value; . (see at least “The power conversion module 132 also includes a current sensor to sense a current that flows from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124. The engine 118 coupled to the electric machine 114 generates an AC current that is converted to a DC current by the power electronics module 126. The engine 118 may be controlled by a powertrain control module having at least one controller in connection with the system controller 148. The current sensor of the power conversion module 132 may output a signal indicative of a magnitude and direction of current flowing from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124.” In par. 0026 and "The maximum charge rate can be reduced due to losses in converting AC current into DC current for receipt at a battery. " in par. 0015 and" A state of charge operating range may be defined for the fraction battery 124. The operating ranges may define an upper and lower limit at which the state of charge may be bounded for the battery 124. During vehicle operation, the controller 148 may be configured to maintain the state of charge of the battery 124 within the associated operating range. In this regard, the battery may be recharged by the engine while the vehicle is in operation. In at least one embodiment, torque output from the engine is allocated to the electric machine to recharge the battery in response to the SOC being depleted to a SOC low threshold. Based on a rate of battery depletion, charging of the traction battery may be scheduled in advance based on approaching the SOC low threshold. In addition, planning for known upcoming vehicle operating conditions allows the controller to schedule powertrain operation in order to conserve or generate stored energy for predetermined EV mode operation for extended periods along a trip. The timing and rate of charging may also be opportunistically selected to take best advantage of the upcoming vehicle operating conditions to maximize charging efficiency. " in par. 0029) and “In at least one embodiment, P.sub.Batt Charge Limit is determined by subtracting the vehicle power demand from the optimal BSFC operating point of the engine P.sub.ideal. Often the vehicle power demand is the sum of power required to propel the vehicle plus any accessory power demand. " in par. 0031) and
determine an operating point having a highest efficiency among engine outputs corresponding to the required power as the operating point of the engine. (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein engine operating point is optimized based on current and voltages are measured at different components of the hybrid powertrain to reflect the actual power received and discharged by the battery rather than ideal predictions that do not reflect losses. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to maximize the efficiency of the engine (see par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 8, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2,
a motor directly connected to the engine (see Fig. 1)
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
wherein the controller is configured to determine an operating point of the engine based on an efficiency of the converter, (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031)
an efficiency of the battery, (see at least "The maximum charge rate can be reduced due to losses in converting AC current into DC current for receipt at a battery. " in par. 0015)
an efficiency of a motor (see at least " The electric machines 114 are capable of operating as generators and provide fuel economy benefits by recovering energy that would normally be lost as heat in a friction braking system. The electric machines 114 may additionally impart a reaction torque against the engine output torque to generate electricity for recharging a fraction battery the while the vehicle is operating. The electric machines 114 may further reduce vehicle emissions by allowing the engine 118 to operate near the most efficient speed and torque ranges. " in par. 0016 and “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current output from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC current compatible with the traction battery 124.” In par. 0017 and “The controller 148 may monitor operating conditions of the traction battery 124, the power conversion module 132 and the electric machine 114.” In par. 0025 and “The power conversion module 132 also includes a current sensor to sense a current that flows from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124. The engine 118 coupled to the electric machine 114 generates an AC current that is converted to a DC current by the power electronics module 126. The engine 118 may be controlled by a powertrain control module having at least one controller in connection with the system controller 148. The current sensor of the power conversion module 132 may output a signal indicative of a magnitude and direction of current flowing from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124.” In par. 0026 )
a maximum amount of power supplied to the AC outlet when the maximum mode is set as the power generation mode. (see at least "If opportunistic charging is enabled at step 202, the controller may determine at step 206 the charge power limit threshold, P.sub.Batt Charge Limit. The power limit threshold is based on overall power demands on the engine, and a predetermined limit above which the engine does not efficiently produce power. The engine has a maximum overall power output, and a certain portion of power output is devoted to vehicle propulsion and satisfying vehicle accessory power loads." in par. 0030)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein engine operating point is optimized to produce the maximum efficient charging capacity when charging is necessary and there are no NVH restrictions in the area the vehicle is located in. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to maximize the efficiency of the engine (see par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 9, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2,
a motor directly connected to the engine (see Fig. 1)
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
wherein the controller is configured to determine an operating point of the engine based on a chargeable power and an efficiency of a motor (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein engine operating point is optimized to produce the maximum efficient charging capacity when charging is necessary and there are no NVH restrictions in the area the vehicle is located in. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to maximize the efficiency of the engine (see par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 10, Thiruvengadam teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2,
a motor directly connected to the engine (see Fig. 1)
Thiruvengadam does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Dunlap does teach:
wherein the controller is configured to determine an operating point of the engine (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031) based on
a charging power (see at least "Based on engine speed and engine torque to obtain a desired power output and vehicle speed, the operating points may vary across the BSFC map. The power allocated to charge battery may require an increase in the engine power output and shift the operating point compared to non-charging steady state conditions. P.sub.Batt Charge Limit can be determined by targeting an optimal BSFC operating point of the engine, P.sub.ideal while charging." in par. 0031) and
an efficiency of the battery, (see at least "The maximum charge rate can be reduced due to losses in converting AC current into DC current for receipt at a battery. " in par. 0015)
an efficiency of a motor (see at least " The electric machines 114 are capable of operating as generators and provide fuel economy benefits by recovering energy that would normally be lost as heat in a friction braking system. The electric machines 114 may additionally impart a reaction torque against the engine output torque to generate electricity for recharging a fraction battery the while the vehicle is operating. The electric machines 114 may further reduce vehicle emissions by allowing the engine 118 to operate near the most efficient speed and torque ranges. " in par. 0016 and “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current output from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC current compatible with the traction battery 124.” In par. 0017 and “The controller 148 may monitor operating conditions of the traction battery 124, the power conversion module 132 and the electric machine 114.” In par. 0025 and “The power conversion module 132 also includes a current sensor to sense a current that flows from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124. The engine 118 coupled to the electric machine 114 generates an AC current that is converted to a DC current by the power electronics module 126. The engine 118 may be controlled by a powertrain control module having at least one controller in connection with the system controller 148. The current sensor of the power conversion module 132 may output a signal indicative of a magnitude and direction of current flowing from the EVSE 138 to the traction battery 124.” In par. 0026 )
a required power of the AC outlet when the maximum mode is set as the power generation mode. (see at least "If opportunistic charging is enabled at step 202, the controller may determine at step 206 the charge power limit threshold, P.sub.Batt Charge Limit. The power limit threshold is based on overall power demands on the engine, and a predetermined limit above which the engine does not efficiently produce power. The engine has a maximum overall power output, and a certain portion of power output is devoted to vehicle propulsion and satisfying vehicle accessory power loads." in par. 0030)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Thiruvengadam to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap wherein engine operating point is optimized to produce the maximum efficient charging capacity when charging is necessary and there are no NVH restrictions in the area the vehicle is located in. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap would be to maximize the efficiency of the engine (see par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 13, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 3 (see Claim 3 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 14, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 4 (see Claim 4 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 16, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 6 (see Claim 6 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 17, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 7 (see Claim 7 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 18, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 8 (see Claim 8 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 19, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 9 (see Claim 9 analysis for rejection of the method)
Regarding Claim 20, Thiruvengadam as modified by Dunlap also teaches:
A method for implementing the apparatus of Claim 10 (see Claim 10 analysis for rejection of the method)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art comes from Thiruvengadam and Dunlap but the prior art does not appear to teach “determine an operating point of the engine based on a brake specific fuel consumption (BSFC) map indicating an optimal operating line (OOL) of the engine when the maximum efficiency exceeds the partial efficiency;”. Specifically the prior art does not appear to teach finding an operating point on the BSFC map where the maximum efficiency exceeds the partial efficiency in combination with all of the other limitations in the independent claims.
Conclusion
/DYLAN M KATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657