DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young et al. (20200015450).
Regarding claim 22, Young discloses a method of dispensing a prescribed ration of feed to each of a plurality of individual feeding locations comprising: a. loading feed materials capable of being dispensed as the prescribed rations in a feedbox carried on a motor vehicle having throttle, braking, and steering controls (par. 0050-0051 and 0104), the feedbox comprising a set of dispensing components (108) to adjustably control the dispensing rate from the feedbox; b. automatically controlling at least the throttle and ground speed of the vehicle and at least one of the set of dispensing components of the feedbox to dispense the prescribed ration to any of the plurality of individual feeding locations by comparing an instructed ration to be dispensed with identifying information of a said feeding location and adjusting one or more of the set of dispensing components to move feed out of the bulk feed box to dispense the prescribed ration evenly and accurately between ends of the feeding location (par. 0052, 0057, 0065, 0104, and 0110).
Regarding claim 23, the prescribed ration comprises a mass of feed and the prescribed ration can be the same or different for different of the plurality of feeding locations (par. 0059).
Regarding claim 24, the plurality of different feeding locations each comprises a feed bunk or drop zone having a length with starting and ending points (par. 0070).
Regarding claim 25, the dispensing rate of a prescribed ration is controlled to provide an even distribution of the ration between the starting and ending points of the feed bunk or drop zone (par. 0110).
Regarding claim 27, the vehicle throttle and braking are automatically controlled (par. 0065).
Regarding claim 28, the vehicle steering is also automatically controlled (par. 0065).
Regarding claim 29, the identifying information of each of the individual feeding locations comprises geolocation data and the prescribed ration of each of the individual feeding locations is pre-stored and accessible prior to dispensing the feed (par. 0075).
Regarding claim 30, the method further comprising a manual override to the automated dispensing (par. 0116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. (20060214035).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a system for at least substantially autonomous feed delivery from a motorized vehicle for evenly dispensing a specified amount of a prescribed feed ration a specified distance to or along each of one or more specified feed bunks or feed drop locations, the system comprising: a. a motorized vehicle (114) with vehicle steering and braking capabilities; b. a bulk feed box (106) mounted on the vehicle; c. a feed dispensing subsystem (108) mounted on the motorized vehicle, including mechanized components to move feed from the bulk feed box to outward of the bulk feed box (par. 0054); d. an automation controller (104) mounted on the motorized vehicle and operatively connected to both the motive power and braking capabilities of the motorized vehicle (par. 0065) and to the feed dispensing subsystem (par. 0008), the automation controller programmed for: i. receiving pre-established input data regarding geolocation of each said bunk or feed drop location, and the ration density, type, and amount for each said bunk or drop (par. 0065 and 0075); ii. receiving input data regarding motorized vehicle speed (par. 0019-0020); iii. receiving input data regarding state of one or more mechanized components of the feed delivery subsystem (par. 0019-0020); and iv. automatically controlling, in coordination, both one or more mechanized components of the feed dispensing subsystem of the motorized vehicle as well as most driver inputs for the motorized vehicle, including vehicle speed, for each said feed bunk or drop; e. so that, even and accurate rations prescribed for each said feed bunk or drop location are promoted to, in turn, reduce human error and improve efficacy and efficiency of feed delivery for a livestock producer (par. 0065 and 0099; Figs. 3-6).
Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose an engine for transmission of motive power to the vehicle and output power for other use and the feed dispensing subsystem operatively connected to output power of the vehicle. Attention, however, is directed to the Albright reference, which discloses an engine for transmission of motive power to a vehicle and output power for other use and a feed dispensing subsystem operatively connected to output power of the vehicle (par. 0025-0027 and 0041).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Albright reference by employing an engine and transmission for the purpose of supplying motive power to the vehicle as well as supplying power to auxiliary machinery (par. 0026-0027 of Albright).
Regarding claim 5, the system further comprising: a. integration of georeferenced feed bunk or drop location data with operation of the feed dispensing subsystem to improve accuracy of dispensing (par. 0065 of Young).
Regarding claim 6, the integration of georeferenced feed bunk or drop location data with operation of the feed dispensing subsystem to improve accuracy of dispensing comprises one or more of: a. positive identification of each feed bunk or drop for accuracy in correlating the correct prescription for each feed bunk or drop; b. lock out of dispensing unless confirmed that the dispensing is to the correct feed bunk or drop location; and c. ability to customize the ration at each feed bunk or drop, including for a partial ration if desired (par. 0076 of Young).
Regarding claim 10, the system further comprising: a. a wireless transceiver operatively connected to the automation controller (par. 0084 of Young); b. a remote digital device to wirelessly communicate with each automation controller of each motorized vehicle via its wirelessly transceiver, so that data of operation of each motorized vehicle can be collected and evaluated, stored, or processed individually or collectively (par. 0075 of Young).
Regarding claim 13, the system further comprising: a. retrieving a prescribed feed ration for a partial feed bunk or drop; b. applying the prescribed ration to the partial feed bunk or drop (par. 0101 of Young).
Regarding claim 14, the system of claim 1 applied to automatic control of a single conveyor of the feed dispensing subsystem to an independently controlled discharge door opening to regulate even and accurate dispensing of a ration of feed along a feed bunk or drop (par. 0054 and 0057-0058 of Young).
Regarding claim 20, the system further comprising an interactive display (128 of Young) available to a driver of the motorized vehicle, the interactive display providing one or more of: a. information about the operative of the dispensing to the driver; b. active selectable controls to the driver (par. 0097 of Young).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takebe (20070012039).
Regarding claim 2, Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the feed dispensing subsystem includes a hydraulic motor operatively connected to the output power of the motorized vehicle and a hydraulic circuit configured to provide hydraulic power to at least some of the feed dispensing mechanized components and further comprising: a. integration of a load sense hydraulics control to provide consistent available full hydraulic power regardless of motorized vehicle engine rpm or speed to assist even and accurate feed dispensing, including at relatively low engine rpms. Attention, however, is directed to the Takebe reference, which discloses a hydraulic motor operatively connected to the output power of a motorized vehicle and a hydraulic circuit configured to provide hydraulic power to at least some mechanized components and further comprising: a. integration of a load sense hydraulics control to provide consistent available full hydraulic power regardless of motorized vehicle engine rpm or speed to assist even and accurate feed dispensing, including at relatively low engine rpms (par. 0071, 0083 and 0087-0088).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Takebe reference by employing a hydraulic motor for the purpose of driving auxiliary machinery.
Regarding claim 3, the output power of the motorized vehicle engine comprises a power take out (par. 0027 of Albright; par. 0071 of Takebe), the hydraulic motor comprises a hydrostatic pump (8 of Takebe), and the hydraulic circuit includes one or more hydraulic actuators (par. 0075 of Takebe), the load sense hydraulics control further comprising: a. powering the hydrostatic pump with rotational power from the PTO of the motorized vehicle (par. 0071 of Takebe); b. operating one or more of the hydraulic actuators with the hydrostatic pump (par. 0076 of Takebe); c. wherein the hydrostatic pump creates a hydraulic flow that is adjustable independently of rpm of the motorized vehicle engine (par. 0071, 0083 and 0087-0088 of Takebe); d. so that feed delivery with the hydraulic circuit can be controlled regardless of engine rpm of the motorized vehicle engine, and independent adjustment of the hydraulic circuit can be achieved without influencing ground speed of the motorized vehicle (par. 0071, 0083 and 0087-0088 of Takebe).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Neier et al. (8177419).
Regarding claim 4, a. the mechanical components of the feed dispensing subsystem to move feed from the bulk feed box include one or more of (1) a conveyor having an adjustable speed (par. 0057 of Young), (2) a door having an adjustable opening (par. 0057 of Youn), and (3) a spout (par. 0054 of Young); b. the motorized vehicle includes throttle and ground speed controls (par. 0050 and 0056); c. the pre-established input data comprises a unique feed bunk or drop identifier for each feed bunk or drop (par. 0065 of Young), start and stop geolocation points for each feed bunk or drop (par. 0065 and 0070 of Young), ration information for each feed bunk or drop including a call weight (par. 0080 of Young), vehicle state information for the motorized vehicle when at each feed bunk or drop (par. 0076 of Young), and feed box weight (par, 0051 of Young) at each feed bunk or drop; d. and, when activated, the automation controller operates in coordination the throttle and ground speed of the motorized vehicle and at least one of the mechanized components of the feed dispensing subsystem to move feed from the bulk feed box to promote more consistent, even, and accurate dispensing of the ration along each feed bunk or drop (par. 0057 and 0110 of Young) and better control of call weights each feed bunk or drop by continuously adjusted discharge rate of feed from the bulk feed box to each feed bunk or drop based on feed bunk or drop length and prescribed call weight for the feed bunk or drop (par. 0107 of Young); e. with the selective ability to de-activate the automation controller to assume manual control of the motorized vehicle or mechanized components to move feed from the bulk feed box (par. 0116 of Young).
Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose a spout having an adjustable angle in a vertical plane. Attention, however, is directed to the Neier reference, which discloses a spout (38) having an adjustable angle in a vertical plane (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 49-53).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Neier reference by employing an adjustable spout for the purpose of achieving greater control of the direction and rate of dispensing.
Claim(s) 11-12 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hamlet (3409155).
Regarding claim 11, Young DIFFERS in that it does not one or more conveyors to delivery feed from the motorized vehicle to opposite lateral sides of the motorized vehicle. Attention, however, is directed to the Hamlet reference, which discloses a feed dispensing system comprises: a conveyor (40) to delivery feed from a truck to an opposite lateral side of the truck (Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Hamlet reference by employing a conveyor as claimed for the purpose of conveniently conveying the feed from the interior of the truck to feed bunks located on the sides of the truck.
Regarding claim 12, the system further comprising: a. an autosteer sub-system to automatically steer the motorized vehicle to a feed bunk or drop, or to plural feed bunks or drops (par. 0065 of Young).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sivaramakrishnan et al. (3409155).
Regarding claim 15, the feed dispensing subsystem includes a discharge door (122 of Young) that is adjustable between fully closed and fully open positions by a discharge door actuator having a range of positions correlated to fully closed and fully open positions of the discharge door, and further comprising one or more of (a) a position sensor for sensing the position of the actuator and (b) proximity sensors for sensing fully closed and fully open positions of the discharge door (par. 0057-0058 of Young).
Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose PI logic to control the actuator in response to readings from the position sensor and/or proximity sensors. Attention, however, is directed to the Sivaramakrishnan reference, which discloses PI logic to control an actuator in response to readings from a position sensor and/or proximity sensors (col. 9, lines 57-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Sivaramakrishnan reference by employing a PI logic for the purpose of ensuring accurate positioning of the door.
Regarding claim 16, the discharge door actuator is a hydraulic cylinder and the PI logic controls a proportional hydraulic valve (col. 6, lines 18-25 of Sivaramakrishnan; col. 9, lines 57-60 of Sivaramakrishnan).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. and Sivaramakrishnan et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Gray et al. (6690160).
Regarding claim 17, Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the discharge door actuator is a smart hydraulic cylinder and the position sensor is built into the smart hydraulic cylinder. Attention, however, is directed to the Gray reference, which discloses an actuator is a smart hydraulic cylinder and a position sensor is built into a smart hydraulic cylinder (col. 3, lines 36-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Gray reference by including a smart hydraulic cylinder and the position sensor built into the smart hydraulic cylinder for the purpose of accurately determining the position of the actuator.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mell (3139217).
Regarding claim 19, the feed dispensing subsystem comprises a discharge conveyor which moves feed from the feedbox through a discharge door in the feedbox (par. 0057 of Young).
Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose a speed sensor operatively connected to the discharge conveyor and logic to derive speed of the discharge conveyor to assist in estimating rate of discharge of feed from the feedbox during operation. Attention, however, is directed to the Mell reference, which discloses a speed sensor operatively connected to the discharge conveyor and logic to derive speed of the discharge conveyor to assist in estimating rate of discharge of feed from the feedbox during operation (col. 1, lines 9-15; col. 1, lines 55-60; col. 4, lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Mell reference by employing a speed sensor as claimed for the purpose of verifying the rate at which the feed is delivered.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Albright et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (20200089244).
Regarding claim 21, Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose a communications network operably connected between and configured for communications between the automation controller and at least one of the motorized vehicle and the feed dispensing subsystem, wherein at least some of the communications is via a controller area network (CAN) bus. Attention, however, is directed to the Zhang reference, which discloses communication between components via a CAN bus (par. 0043).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Zhang reference by employing a CAN bus as claimed for the purpose of providing fast communication between the various components.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. in view of Hamlet.
Regarding claim 26, the set of dispensing components comprises: b. a door (122) at the dispending discharge area with adjustable actuator to move the door over a range of opening positions between closed and fully open to allow feed out from the feedbox; and c. a conveyor (108) with variable speed actuator to move feed out the door (par. 0057).
Young DIFFERS in that it does not disclose a belt with variable speed actuator to move feed in the feed box towards a dispensing discharge area of the feed box. Attention, however, is directed to the Hamlet reference, which discloses a belt with variable speed actuator to move feed in a feed box towards a dispensing discharge area (Figs. 2-3; col. 2, lines 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Young reference in view of the teachings of the Hamlet reference by employing a belt as claimed for the purpose of quickly conveying the material in the feedbox to the dispenser.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/DONNELL A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754