DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 8-10-26 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8-10-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy et al. (US 6,042,355).
Regarding claim 1, Murphy et al. discloses an injection molding tool 10 for manufacturing a plastic molded part comprising at least a plastic component, the injection molding tool comprising:
An injection molding cavity 16 for producing the plastic component;
A sealing gap of the injection molding cavity formed between opposing sealing surfaces of the injection molding tool (fig. 1-2); and
A sealing cavity 50, 55 into which the sealing gap opens on a side of the sealing gap facing away from the injection molding cavity and which is configured to be filled with a sealing plastic to seal the injection molding cavity (fig. 1-2, abstract, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Murphy et al. discloses a plastic feed connected to the sealing cavity (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Murphy et al. discloses wherein the sealing gap comprises a cutting-against-cutting pairing or a cutting-against-sealing surface pairing or a pairing of two parallel sealing surfaces (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Murphy et al. discloses wherein the sealing gap tapers from the injection molding cavity to the sealing cavity or wherein the sealing gap tapers from the sealing cavity to the injection molding cavity (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Summerer (2006/0062967).
Regarding claim 9, Murphy et al. does not teach wherein the plastic molded part comprises a base molded part and the plastic component, wherein the injection molding cavity is designed such that the plastic component forms a surface coating of the base molded part. However, Summerer teaches an apparatus for molding a plastic component onto a prefabricated plastic part (see abstract, fig. 4-9, claim 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murphy et al. with the teaching of Summerer in order to form a multi-component molded plastic parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach a pre-chamber arranged in the sealing gap, which is shaped as a local expansion of the sealing gap.
Conclusion
/X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742