DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 05/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok et al (US Pub. 20180108161) in view of Eom (US Pub. 20160086549).
Regarding claim 1, Mok discloses:
A head mounted device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 51. Describes the head mounted display 1000) comprising:
A first display panel having a fixed position, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 52. Describes the display device 100 may display a left-eye image on the left-eye panel region recognized by the user's left-eye based on the input image data IDATA);
A second display panel having a fixed position, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 52. Describes the display device 100 may display a right-eye image on the right-eye panel region recognized by the user's right-eye based on the input image data IDATA);
At least one processor comprising processing circuitry, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400)
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to:
Based on the provided screen input data, obtain a deviation between a screen displayed through the first display panel and a screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102))
Based on the obtained deviation, modify at least a portion of the screen input data input to at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 54. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD) and
Based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, change a light emitting timing of at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 126. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Mok does not discloses:
A first display driving circuit configured to drive the first display panel;
A second display driving circuit configured to drive the second display panel; and
Provide screen input data to the first display driving circuit and the second display driving circuit
Eom teaches:
A first display driving circuit configured to drive the first display panel, (at least refer to fig. 4A-B and paragraph 79. Describes the first data driving unit 330 provides the first data signal DATA1 and the first data driving unit control signal EMC1 to the first display panel 310);
A second display driving circuit configured to drive the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 4A-B and paragraph 80. Describes the second data driving unit 340 provides the second data signal DATA2 and the second data driving unit control signal EMC2 to the second display panel 320); and
Provide screen input data to the first display driving circuit and the second display driving circuit, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 67-68. Describes the first data driving unit 130 can convert a first image signal provided from an external system into the first data signal DATA1. Para. 68, describes: The second data driving unit 140 can convert a second image signal provided from an external system into a second data signal DATA2)
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of head mounted display panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate display driving circuit as taught by Eom with the head mounted display device as disclose by Mok. The motivation to combine the reference of Eom is to prevents image defects from occurring on a display panel that is not driven by providing a non-emission signal to the display panel that is not driven when the other display panel is driven.
Regarding claim 12, Mok discloses:
A method of operating a head mounted device, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 72. Describes a method of driving a head mounted display) comprising:
Obtaining a deviation between a screen displayed through the first display panel and a screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102));
Based on the obtained deviation, modifying at least a portion of the screen input data input to at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 54. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD); and
Based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, changing a light emitting timing of at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 126. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Mok does not discloses:
Providing screen input data to a first display driving circuit configured to drive a first display panel and a second display driving circuit configured to drive a second display panel;
Eom teaches:
Providing screen input data to a first display driving circuit configured to drive a first display panel and a second display driving circuit configured to drive a second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 1, 4A-B and paragraphs 67-68, 79-80. Describes the first data driving unit 330 provides the first data signal DATA1 and the first data driving unit control signal EMC1 to the first display panel 310. Para. 80, describes: the second data driving unit 340 provides the second data signal DATA2 and the second data driving unit control signal EMC2 to the second display panel 320. Para. 67, describes: the first data driving unit 130 can convert a first image signal provided from an external system into the first data signal DATA1. Para. 68, describes: The second data driving unit 140 can convert a second image signal provided from an external system into a second data signal DATA2);
Regarding the rejection of claim 12, refer to the motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Mok discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a head mounted device individually or collectively, cause the head mounted device to perform operations, (at least refer to fig. 2,7 and paragraphs 56, 95. Describes The adjustment data storage 210 may store the binocular disparity adjustment data SD for each user derived by performing the binocular disparity test operations. For example, the adjustment data storage 210 may include a non-volatile memory device such as an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM) device. Para. 79, describes, the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) the operations comprising:
Obtaining a deviation between a screen displayed through the first display panel and a screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102));
Based on the obtained deviation, modifying at least a portion of the screen input data input to at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 54. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD); and
Based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, changing a light emitting timing of at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 126. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Mok does not discloses:
Providing screen input data to a first display driving circuit configured to drive a first display panel and a second display driving circuit configured to drive a second display panel;
Eom teaches:
Providing screen input data to a first display driving circuit configured to drive a first display panel and a second display driving circuit configured to drive a second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 1, 4A-B and paragraphs 67-68, 79-80. Describes the first data driving unit 330 provides the first data signal DATA1 and the first data driving unit control signal EMC1 to the first display panel 310. Para. 80, describes: the second data driving unit 340 provides the second data signal DATA2 and the second data driving unit control signal EMC2 to the second display panel 320. Para. 67, describes: the first data driving unit 130 can convert a first image signal provided from an external system into the first data signal DATA1. Para. 68, describes: The second data driving unit 140 can convert a second image signal provided from an external system into a second data signal DATA2);
Regarding the rejection of claim 20, refer to the motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Mok discloses:
Wherein the first display panel is configured to display a screen to a user's left eye through a first optical system, and wherein the second display panel is configured to display a screen to the user's right eye through a second optical system, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 52. Describes the display device 100 may display a left-eye image on the left-eye panel region recognized by the user's left-eye and a right-eye image on the right-eye panel region recognized by the user's right-eye based on the input image data IDATA.).
Regarding claim 3, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to:
Obtain a positional deviation on a plane between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, as at least part of obtaining the deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102)) and
Modify the screen input data input to the at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit to move the screen displayed through the first display panel or the screen displayed through the second display panel in parallel, as at least part of modifying the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 54. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD. In one example embodiment, the binocular disparity adjustment data SD may include at least one of a position shift value, a size ratio, or a luminance ratio of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image).
Regarding claim 4, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the head mounted device to change the light emitting timing of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel based on parallel movement of a first screen provided by the first display panel or a second screen provided by the second display panel in a scanning direction, as at least part of changing the light emitting timing, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 122. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 122, describes: a start point of at least one of the left-eye image or the right-eye image may be adjusted based on the position adjustment data and the size adjustment data. For example, the position adjustment data may include a position shift value of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image. Both of the input left-eye image and the input right-eye image may be move by an amount of half of the position shift value in opposite direction).
Regarding claim 5, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to:
Obtain a size deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, as at least part of obtaining the deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102)) and
Modify the screen input data input to the at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit to enlarge or reduce the screen displayed through the first display panel or the screen displayed through the second display panel, as at least part of modifying the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 5B, 6 and paragraphs 54, 74. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD. In one example embodiment, the binocular disparity adjustment data SD may include at least one of a position shift value, a size ratio, or a luminance ratio of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image. Para. 74, describes: For example, a size adjustment data may be derived by displaying a binocular size adjustment image on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region).
Regarding claim 6, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to change the light emitting period of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel, based on enlargement or reduction of a third screen provided by the first display panel or a fourth screen provided by the second display panel in the scanning direction, as at least part of changing the light emitting timing, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 126. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 118, describes: a size of at least one of an input left-eye image or an input right-eye image included in image source may be adjusted based on the size adjustment data. For example, the size adjustment data may include a scaling factor indicating a ratio of a size of the adjusted image to a size of the original image).
Regarding claim 7, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to:
Obtain a rotational deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, as at least part of obtaining the deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102)) and
Modify the screen input data input to the at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit to tilt or perspective-transform the screen displayed through the first display panel or the screen displayed through the second display panel, as at least part of modifying the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 2, 5B, 6, 15B and paragraphs 54, 100. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD. In one example embodiment, the binocular disparity adjustment data SD may include at least one of a position shift value, a size ratio, or a luminance ratio of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image. Para. 100, describes: A first binocular position perception test operation may be performed to adjust the position of the right-eye with respect to the left-eye in the first direction D1).
Mok and Eom do not explicitly disclose:
Obtain a rotational deviation between the screen displayed
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 8, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to:
Identify a first effective display area of at least one of the first display panel or a second effective display area of the second display panel based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 95. Describes the display device 100 may display a left-eye image on the left-eye panel region recognized by the user's left-eye and a right-eye image on the right-eye panel region recognized by the user's right-eye based on the input image data IDATA.) and
Change the light emitting timing based on the identified effective display area, as at least part of changing the light emitting timing, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 126. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Regarding claim 9, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to change the light emitting timing of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel based on a height of the first effective display area of the first display panel and a height of the second effective display area of the second display panel in the scanning direction, as at least part of changing the light emitting timing of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 118-120. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 118-119, describes: The size of the left-eye image after the adjustment may be calculated according to: HLa indicates a height of the left-eye image after the adjustment, HLb indicates a height of the left-eye image before the adjustment, SFLh indicates a scaling factor for a height of the left-eye image)
Regarding claim 10, Mok discloses:
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to change luminance and/or sharpness of the first display panel or the second display panel based on the identified effective display area, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 118-120. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Regarding claim 11, Mok discloses:
Wherein the first display panel and the second display panel include a plurality of pixels including sub-pixels, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 66. Describes the display panel 110 may include a left-eye panel region 110L and a right-eye panel region 110R each including a plurality of pixels) and
Wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 95. Describes the head mounted display 1000 may include a display device 100, an image processor 200, an image source device 300, a processor 400) is configured to cause the head mounted device to:
Identify effective display areas of the first display panel and the second display panel, respectively, based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 95. Describes the display device 100 may display a left-eye image on the left-eye panel region recognized by the user's left-eye and a right-eye image on the right-eye panel region recognized by the user's right-eye based on the input image data IDATA) and
Perform sub-pixel rendering on the screen input data, based on arrangement of sub-pixels included in the identified effective display areas of the first display panel and the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 67. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 67, describes: The scan driver 120 may provide scan signals to the pixels via the scan lines SL1 through SLn based on a first control signal CTL1).
Mok and Eom do not explicitly disclose:
Perform sub-pixel rendering on the screen input data, based on arrangement of sub-pixels included in the identified effective display
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 13, Mok discloses:
Wherein obtaining the deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel includes obtaining a positional deviation on a plane between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102))
Wherein the modifying of the at least portion of the screen input data includes modifying the screen input data input to the at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit to move the screen displayed through the first display panel or the screen displayed through the second display panel in parallel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 54. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD. In one example embodiment, the binocular disparity adjustment data SD may include at least one of a position shift value, a size ratio, or a luminance ratio of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image) and
Wherein the changing of the light emitting timing includes changing the light emitting timing of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel based on parallel movement of a first screen provided by the first display panel or a second screen provided by the second display panel in a scanning direction, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 122. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 122, describes: a start point of at least one of the left-eye image or the right-eye image may be adjusted based on the position adjustment data and the size adjustment data. For example, the position adjustment data may include a position shift value of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image. Both of the input left-eye image and the input right-eye image may be move by an amount of half of the position shift value in opposite direction).
Regarding claim 14, Mok discloses:
Wherein obtaining the deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel includes obtaining a size deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102))
Wherein the modifying of the at least portion of the screen input data includes modifying the screen input data input to the at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit to enlarge or reduce the screen displayed through the first display panel or the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 5B, 6 and paragraphs 54, 74. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD. In one example embodiment, the binocular disparity adjustment data SD may include at least one of a position shift value, a size ratio, or a luminance ratio of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image. Para. 74, describes: For example, a size adjustment data may be derived by displaying a binocular size adjustment image on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region) and
Wherein the changing of the light emitting timing includes changing the light emitting period of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel, based on enlargement or reduction of a third screen provided by the first display panel or a fourth screen provided by the second display panel in the scanning direction, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 74. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 74, describes: For example, a size adjustment data may be derived by displaying a binocular size adjustment image on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region).
Regarding claim 15, Mok discloses:
Wherein obtaining the deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel includes obtaining a rotational deviation between the screen displayed through the first display panel and the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 5A-B and paragraph 74. Describes at least one of the position shift value for adjusting position deviation, the size ratio for adjusting size deviation, or the luminance ratio for adjusting luminance deviation may be derived as the binocular disparity adjustment data SD by displaying the binocular disparity adjustment image. In one example embodiment, when it is required to adjust binocular balance (S101), a binocular balancing image may be displayed on the left-eye panel region and the right-eye panel region (S102)) and
Wherein the modifying of the at least portion of the screen input data includes modifying the screen input data input to the at least one of the first display driving circuit or the second display driving circuit to tilt or perspective-transform the screen displayed through the first display panel or the screen displayed through the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 5B, 6, 15B and paragraphs 54, 100. Describes the image processor 200 may adjust at least one of an input left-eye image data for the left-eye panel region or an input right-eye image data for the right-eye panel region based on the binocular disparity adjustment data SD. In one example embodiment, the binocular disparity adjustment data SD may include at least one of a position shift value, a size ratio, or a luminance ratio of a right-eye image with respect to a left-eye image. Para. 100, describes: A first binocular position perception test operation may be performed to adjust the position of the right-eye with respect to the left-eye in the first direction D1).
Mok and Eom do not explicitly disclose:
Obtain a rotational deviation between the screen displayed
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 16, Mok discloses:
Identifying a first effective display area of at least one of the first display panel or a second effective display area of the second display panel based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 95. Describes the display device 100 may display a left-eye image on the left-eye panel region recognized by the user's left-eye and a right-eye image on the right-eye panel region recognized by the user's right-eye based on the input image data IDATA) and
Changing the light emitting timing based on the identified effective display area, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraph 126. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Regarding claim 17, Mok discloses:
Changing the light emitting timing of the at least one of the first display panel or the second display panel based on a height of the first effective display area of the first display panel and a height of the second effective display area of the second display panel in the scanning direction, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 118-120. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 118-119, describes: The size of the left-eye image after the adjustment may be calculated according to: HLa indicates a height of the left-eye image after the adjustment, HLb indicates a height of the left-eye image before the adjustment, SFLh indicates a scaling factor for a height of the left-eye image).
Regarding claim 18, Mok discloses:
Changing luminance and/or sharpness of the first display panel or the second display panel based on the identified effective display area, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 118-120. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time).
Regarding claim 19, Mok discloses:
Wherein the first display panel and the second display panel include a plurality of pixels including sub-pixels, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 66. Describes the display panel 110 may include a left-eye panel region 110L and a right-eye panel region 110R each including a plurality of pixels) and further comprising:
Identifying effective display areas of the first display panel and the second display panel, respectively, based on the modification of the at least portion of the screen input data, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 95. Describes the display device 100 may display a left-eye image on the left-eye panel region recognized by the user's left-eye and a right-eye image on the right-eye panel region recognized by the user's right-eye based on the input image data IDATA) and
Performing sub-pixel rendering on the screen input data, based on arrangement of sub-pixels included in the identified effective display areas of the first display panel and the second display panel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 126, 67. Describes the head mounted display may adjust a luminance of at least one of left-eye image or right-eye image based on the luminance adjustment data (S740). In this time, the luminance of the left-eye image and the luminance of the right-eye image may be adjusted by various dimming methods such as a method of adjusting the image data, a method of changing the gamma curve, a method of adjusting the emission duration time. Para. 67, describes: The scan driver 120 may provide scan signals to the pixels via the scan lines SL1 through SLn based on a first control signal CTL1).
Mok and Eom do not explicitly disclose:
Perform sub-pixel rendering on the screen input data, based on arrangement of sub-pixels included in the identified effective display
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Conclusion
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 03/20/2026