DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muegge [U.S. 2023/0135025 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Muegge discloses a lighting device for a motor vehicle [a front view of a lighting device, figure 1], the lighting device comprising: numerous light modules [modules 3, 4, 5, 6] for generating a different lighting functions [paragraphs 0014-0015 and 0027-0028]; a segmented liquid-crystal display ("LCD") [LC displays 8, figures 1 and 3] placed in front of the light modules in a direction in which light is emitted from the numerous light modules [figures 1-4], that is configured to be backlit, wherein each segment of the LCD has a dedicated light module or group of light modules [figures 1-2].
Regarding claim 2, Muegge discloses the segments of the LCD each have different optical properties [non-operating state and operating state] (paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 3, Muegge discloses the segments of the LCD each have different liquid crystals [different LCD for different light modules 3-6] (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Muegge discloses the segments of the LCD each have different colored pigments (paragraphs 0012, 0034).
Regarding claim 5, Muegge discloses the segments of the LCD each have pixels of different sizes and/or shapes (paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 6, Muegge discloses the segments of the LCD are each controllable differently (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 7, Muegge discloses the lighting functions that can be generated with the light modules comprise low beams, daytime running lights, tail lights, marker lights, turn signals, and front or rear signal lights (paragraphs 0014, 0015, and 0025).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grandelere et al. U.S. 2017/0343856 A1 discloses a liquid crystal screen (12) and a back-lighting device (14); said back-lighting device (14) comprising: at least one light-emitting diode (16), a housing (28; 29) surrounding the space lying between the at least one light-emitting diode (16) and the liquid crystal screen (12).
Sugiyama et al. U.S. 2019/0257493 A1 discloses a method for adjusting the color of output light of a vehicular headlamp unit using a liquid crystal element.
Groene et al. U.S. 2024/0302017 A1 discloses a screen 15, a passive LC display, arranged on the front or visible side of the optical lens plate 8, a first thin substrate 16 and a second thin substrate 17 and a liquid crystal in between (figures 12-15).
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875