DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 32-35, 39, 41-45, 49, 52 and 54 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 4/3/26.
4. IN light of Applicant’s response filed on 4/3/26, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (see sections 5-6 of the office action mailed on 2/3/26) has been withdrawn.
5. The following rejections remain.
8. Claims 32-35, 39, 41-45, 49, 52 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. 2010/0278822A1 (IDS reference, of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 2/3/26.
The ‘822 publication teaches adalimumab formulations in polysorbate and such formulations have gone through particulate studies based on the storage (Table 2-6). The antibody concentration is above 150mg/ml (Example 2) and meets the limitations of claim 32. IgG4 is taught in [0134].
As is evidence by the specification [0034] that the oleic acid content of polysorbate 80 is >98%, claims 33-35 are included in the rejection. Note that the prior art polysorbate includes Tween 80. Further, Table 26 discloses the sub-visible particles that are greater than 1um is less than 4000 in the presence of 0.1% tween. The test condition includes 12week storage at 40oC that is much more stringent than 5oC and meets the limitations of the claim 32 (Examples 6). Thus, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Applicant’s response filed on 4/3/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the ‘822 publication fails to teach currently amended limitations of that the composition is free of detectable phospholipase B-like 2 esterase activity and the molar ratio of the intact fatty acid ester to free fatty acid of the composition is greater than 4:1 has not been taught and the ‘822 publication is not available as an anticipatory reference.
As discussed previously, in lack of specific concentration or structure of intact fatty acid ester comprising aliphatic tail of at least 18 carbons, the prior art polysorbate reads on the intact fatty acid ester. As such, the intact fatty acid ester is associated with the degradation and specific visible particle sizes is met after storage. Therefore, the composition comprising fatty acid ester with aliphatic tail of 18 carbons and a monoclonal antibody will inherently have no detectable phospholipase B-like 2 esterase activity especially the composition exhibit no more than 400 subvisible particles having a diameter greater than or equal to 10 microns.
Given the teachings of the prior art, the prior art teaches the polysorbate that reads on intact fatty acid ester. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it has the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claiming of a new use, new function of unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claims patentable. See In re Best, 194 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA) and In re Crish 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir 2004). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
10. Claims 32-35, 39, 41-45, 49, 52 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-40 of U.S. Application No. 18/757848.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘848 application recite composition comprising antibody and polysorbate for reducing subvisible particles in the drug product comprising at least 100mg/ml antibody with mixture of fatty acid esters of polyoxyethylene sorbitan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In light of discussion above in sections 7-8 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
11. Claims 32-35, 39, 41-45, 49, 52 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Application No. 19/029726.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘726 application recite composition comprising antibody and polysorbate for reducing subvisible particles in the drug product comprising at least 100mg/ml antibody with mixture of fatty acid esters of polyoxyethylene sorbitan.
In light of discussion above in sections 7-8 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
12. Claims 32-35, 39, 41-45, 49, 52 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/752089.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘089 application recite composition comprising antibody and polysorbate for reducing subvisible particles in the drug product comprising at least 100mg/ml antibody with mixture of fatty acid esters of polyoxyethylene sorbitan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In light of discussion above in sections 7-8 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
13. Claims 32-35, 39, 41-45, 49, 52 and 54are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26-35 of U.S. Application No. 19/248893.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘893 application recite composition comprising antibody and polysorbate for reducing subvisible particles in the drug product comprising at least 100mg/ml antibody with mixture of fatty acid esters of polyoxyethylene sorbitan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In light of discussion above in sections 7-8 of this office action, the rejection is maintained.
14. No claims are allowable.
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YUNSOO KIM whose telephone number is (571)272-3176. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:30-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Yunsoo Kim
Primary Examiner
Technology Center 1600
July 6, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641