DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I including claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 03/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "one or more openings" of claims 3 and 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tai et al. [US 20190324324 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Tai et al. discloses a light-emitting module [a backlight module 100] comprising: a substrate [a transparent substrate 120] formed of a transparent material; at least one light source [a plurality of light sources 110] installed on a rear surface of the substrate to emit light in a first direction; a deflection part [a reflective sheet 130] disposed at a rear of the substrate to cause the light emitted in the first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction; a holder [supporting members 150] disposed at the rear of the substrate to support the substrate; and a transmissive material [air therein] disposed between the substrate [120] and the holder [150] (figure 1, paragraphs 0011-0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim [20160284674 A1] in view of Shin et al. [US 20200241197 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a light-emitting module [title, figure 3] comprising: a substrate [a transparent electrode film layer 250] formed of a transparent material; at least one light source [light-emitting units 235] installed on a rear surface of the substrate to emit light in a first direction; a deflection part [a reflective element layer 210] disposed at a rear of the substrate to cause the light emitted in the first direction to be deflected in a second direction [see figure 3], which is different from the first direction; and a transmissive material [a resin layer 230] disposed between the substrate [250] and the deflection part [210] (figure 3, paragraph 0041).
However, Kim does not clearly show the holder disposed at the rear of the substrate to support the substrate.
Shin et al. teaches a holder [a shielding module 200, which has a bracket structure for supporting the substrate 230] disposed at the rear of the substrate to support the substrate (figure 1, paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the light-emitting module of Kim with the holder as taught by Shin et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way so that a mechanism fastening structure is simplified, and an exit angle of a light beam may be controlled to remove a hot spot phenomenon generated in a transmissive material (a light guide member).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the deflection part [210] includes a reflective surface formed on at least a portion of a rear surface of the transmissive material [230] (figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the deflection part [210] includes at least one diffusion element [pieces 131 or 231, paragraph 0051] formed on a rear surface of the transmissive material [230] to be recessed toward a front surface of the transmissive material to diffuse [scatter or disperse] at least a portion of the light emitted in the first direction and deflect it in the second direction by reflection and/or refraction depending on an angle of incidence of the light, and wherein the at least one diffusion element is formed in a substantially conical shape [paragraph 0052].
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the deflection part includes a reflective layer formed on at least a portion of a surface of the holder that faces the substrate (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses at least one light diffusion layer [second reflective patterns 245, diffuse light] disposed to overlap the at least one light source so as to diffuse light that passes near the at least one light source (paragraphs 0080, 0082).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the at least one light diffusion layer [245, including three-layer structure] transmits a portion of the light [between each of the three-layer, see figure 3] deflected in the second direction while reflecting another portion of the light deflected in the second direction (paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the substrate [250] includes a reinforcing member [a conductive transparent electrode layer 253] formed on at least some edges of the substrate to increase rigidity (figure 4).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim [20160284674 A1] and Shin et al. [US 20200241197 A1] in view of Hsueh et al. [US 20160076738 A1].
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Kim discloses the light-emitting module (figure 3) having the reflective surface. However, Kim does not show the reflective surface includes one or more openings to allow an emission image by the light deflected in the second direction to include a plurality of regions having different brightnesses.
Hseh et al. teaches the reflective surface [an optical modulation film 300 having a first reflective surface 302] includes one or more openings [a plurality of first light exiting holes 304] to allow an emission image by the light deflected in the second direction to include a plurality of regions having different brightnesses (figures 2-3, paragraphs 0023-0024).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the light-emitting module of Kim with the reflective surface including openings as taught by Hseh et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of effect of distributing light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 7 and 10, each recites further details of the light-emitting module, which are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Negley et al. US 20100102199 A1 discloses a lighting device 10, a light emitter 11, a reflector 12, a bridge 17 and a circuit board 18 (figure 1).
Zhang US 20020136025 A1 discloses a light source arrangement which can enhance brightness of the emitting light and increase the cooling effect of the light
source arrangement.
Park et al. US 20060146530 A1 discloses a housing 110, LEDs 220 and the PCBs 230, and a reflective sheet 212, side walls 214 being a reflective sheet, and projections 216 (figure 9).
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875