DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,291,395. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations are similar within each set of claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,303,428. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations are similar within each set of claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,367. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations are similar within each set of claims.
19/217549
10,291,395
1. A method for providing distributed infrastructure services in a peer-to-peer network, comprising:
receiving, by a first computing device acting as a node of a distributed ledger from a second computing device, an access key and an identification of one or more items of data for storage;
executing, by the first computing device, a smart contract of the distributed ledger using the access key, the smart contract recording an identification of the access key and the identification of the one or more items of data in the distributed ledger; and
storing, by the first computing device via a peer-to-peer network, the one or more items of data responsive to execution of the smart contract.
1. A method for secure storage of data via distributed ledgers, comprising:
encrypting, by a processor of a first device, one or more files in a storage device maintained by the first device using a first key;
generating, by a processor of the first device, an access key;
transmitting, by the first device to a second device operating as a full node for a distributed immutable ledger, the encrypted one or more files and the access key, receipt of the encrypted one or more files and the access key causing the second device to append the encrypted one or more files to the distributed immutable ledger at an address corresponding to the access key; and
providing, by the first device to a third device, the access key and the first key, the third device configured to: retrieve the encrypted one or more files from the distributed immutable ledger via the access key, decrypt the one or more files using the first key, compare the decrypted one or more files to a second one or more files stored in memory of the third device, and responsive to a difference between the decrypted one or more files and the second one or more files, identify the third device as compromised or corrupted.
11,303,428
12,335,367
1. A method for secure storage of data via distributed ledgers, comprising:
encrypting, by a processor of a first device, one or more files in a storage device maintained by the first device using a first key;
generating, by a processor of the first device, an access key;
transmitting, by the first device to a second device operating as a full node for a distributed immutable ledger, the encrypted one or more files and the access key, receipt of the encrypted one or more files and the access key causing the second device to append the encrypted one or more files to the distributed immutable ledger at an address corresponding to the access key; and
providing, by the first device to a third device, the access key and the first key, the third device configured to retrieve the encrypted one or more files from the distributed immutable ledger via the access key, and decrypt the one or more files using the first key;
wherein providing the access key and the first key to the third device causes the third device to: retrieve the encrypted one or more files from the distributed immutable ledger via the access key, decrypt the one or more files using the first key, compare the decrypted one or more files to a second one or more files stored in memory of the third device, and responsive to the decrypted one or more files matching the second one or more files, identify the third device as not compromised or corrupted.
1. A method for secure storage of data via distributed ledgers, comprising:
encrypting, by one or more processors of a first device, one or more files in a storage device maintained by the first device using a first key;
generating, by the one or more processors of the first device, an access key;
transmitting, by the first device to a second device operating as a full node for a distributed immutable ledger, the encrypted one or more files and the access key, receipt of the encrypted one or more files and the access key causing the second device to append the encrypted one or more files to the distributed immutable ledger at an address corresponding to the access key; and
providing, by the first device to a third device, the access key and the first key, the third device configured to retrieve the encrypted one or more files from the distributed immutable ledger via the access key, and decrypt the one or more files using the first key;
wherein providing the access key and the first key to the third device causes the third device to: retrieve the encrypted one or more files from the distributed immutable ledger via the access key, decrypt the one or more files using the first key, compare the decrypted one or more files to a second one or more files stored in memory of the third device, and responsive to the decrypted one or more files matching the second one or more files, identify the third device as not compromised or corrupted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman et al., (US Patent No. 9,992,022), hereinafter “Chapman”, and further in view of Milazzo et al., (US Publication No. 2017/0279783), hereinafter “Milazzo”.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19 Chapman discloses
receiving, by a first computing device acting as a node of a distributed ledger from a second computing device, Chapman, column 2, lines 47-67, column 15, line 63-column 16, line 15, figures 3-4];
executing, by the first computing device,
a smart contract of the distributed ledger
the smart contract recording
the identification of the one or more items of data in the distributed ledger [Chapman, column 2, lines 47-67, column 15, line 63-column 16, line 15, figures 3-4]; and
storing, by the first computing device via a peer-to-peer network, the one or more items of data responsive to execution of the smart contract [Chapman, column 2, lines 47-67, column 15, line 63-column 16, line 15, figures 3-4].
Chapman does not specifically disclose, however Milazzo teaches
an access key [Milazzo, paragraphs 33, 40, figures 1, 3];
using the access key [Milazzo, paragraphs 33, 40, figures 1, 3];
the smart contract recording an identification of the access key [Milazzo, paragraphs 25, 33, 40, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the use of a key to access the content in order to protect the data from unauthorized use. It would have been obvious to combine Milazzo’s key with Chapman’s Smart Contract so as to allow the key to be associated with the data when needed.
Regarding claims 2, 11, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein the access key comprises a user identifier, device identifier, or a public key [Milazzo, paragraphs 40, 52, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 3, 12, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein the access key comprises an address for storing and retrieving the one or more items of data [Milazzo, paragraphs 40, 52, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 4, 13, 20, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein the smart contract maintains an array associating the access key with the identification of the one or more items of data [Milazzo, paragraphs 25, 33, 40, 52, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 5, 14, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein the array is stored in the distributed ledger [Milazzo, paragraphs 25, 33, 40, 52, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 6, 15, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein the access key is generated by the second computing device [Milazzo, paragraphs 25, 33, 40, 52, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 7, 16, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein storing the one or more items of data via the peer-to-peer network further comprises distributing the one or more items of data to a plurality of nodes in the peer-to-peer network [Milazzo, paragraphs 36, 40, 52, 61, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 8, 17, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein the peer-to-peer network is separate from the distributed ledger system [Milazzo, paragraphs 25, 33, 40, 52, 72-73, figures 1, 3-4].
Regarding claims 9, 18, Chapman-Milazzo further discloses
wherein storing the one or more items of data via the peer-to-peer network further comprises collecting the one or more items of data, by the first device, from one or more additional devices [Chapman, column 2, lines 47-67, column 15, line 63-column 16, line 15, figures 1, 3-4].
Conclusion
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433