Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20160076765A) in view of Blackburn (US PGPUB 20140074283).
[Claim 1]
Kim teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display module (200. Fig. 2);
a cabinet (main frame 300, fig. 2) to which the display module is coupled thereto (see figs. 1-2);
a circuit case (figs. 2 and 3, power supply unit 500) coupled to the cabinet and configured to receive a printed circuit board (Paragraph 43, The main board 600 may transmit a display signal and power to the display panel 200. The main board 600 may be connected to the power supply unit 500 to receive power and simultaneously transmit a display signal for displaying characters or images to be displayed on the display panel 200. The main board 600 may include a general PCB substrate);
a power connector (520) on one wall of the circuit case and configured to supply power to the printed circuit board (Paragraphs 43-46, fig. 5, main board 600).
Kim fails to teach a cover detachably coupled to the power connector; and a locking member coupled to the one wall of the circuit case and configured to lock the cover to prevent the cover from being removed by preventing rotation of the cover in a state in which the cover is coupled to the power connector. However Blackburn teaches a cover 101 (fig. 1) connected to body 110 that contains power source connection 302 (Paragraph 92). The locking mechanism 120 may be an electronic lock which may include locking hardware or locking arms 440 controlled by a motor 215. In one embodiment, the motor may be connected to a microcontroller. In this embodiment, the microcontroller may send a signal to the motor based on user input such as a correct passcode, information provided by an administrative user from a networked external computing device via the communication or any other means for communicating that an administrative user may access the interior of the apparatus. To unlock the lid, once the signal to unlock is sent to the microcontroller, the microcontroller may initiate the motor 215 and the motor may rotate counter-clockwise causing the arms or locking hardware to retract from the locking ends 301 and 303. To lock the lid, a signal or user input may be sent to the microcontroller instructing it to lock the apparatus. Upon receipt of the locking input, the microcontroller may initiate the motor 215 clockwise, rotating the motor 215 clockwise and extending the locking hardware 440 locking end 303, biasing the locking hardware against the apparatus preventing removal of the cover 101 (Paragraph 70).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Kim and Blackburn, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been motivated to have a cover detachably coupled to the power connector; and a locking member coupled to the one wall of the circuit case and configured to lock the cover to prevent the cover from being removed by preventing rotation of the cover in a state in which the cover is coupled to the power connector in order to prevent the cover from opening easily or accidentally thereby ensuring a secure connection.
[Claim 2]
Blackburn teaches wherein the locking member is configured to slide toward the cover to contact the cover (fig. 3 shows the locking ends 301 in contact with cover 101 and Paragraph 80, The locking mechanism's 120 first and second locking ends 301, 303 may include a plurality of bores or slots 311, 411. The plurality of bores or slots 311, 411 may line up when the first and second locking ends 301, 303 are nestled within each other. In one embodiment, at least one piece of locking hardware 440 may be extended through the bore or slot 311, 411. When a piece of locking hardware, such as a locking arm 440 extends through the first and second locking ends 301, 303 the mechanism may be said to have been placed in the locked position) in order to prevent the cover from opening easily or accidentally thereby ensuring a secure connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to teach or suggest as in claim 3, “a fastening portion fastened to the one wall of the circuit case; and a locking portion connected to the fastening portion, contactable with the cover, and configured to prevent the rotation of the cover” and claim 11, “wherein the wire conduit comprises: a wire conduit connecting portion connected to the power connector; and a wire conduit cover configured to cover a perimeter of the wire conduit connecting portion, and wherein, in a state in which the cover is removed from the power connector, the wire conduit is coupled to the power connector and the locking member contacts the wire conduit cover and is configured to prevent rotation of the wire conduit cover”. Claims 4-10 and 12-15 are allowed because of their dependency from claims 3 and 11.
Conclusion
/YOGESH K AGGARWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637