DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2021/0223648).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a display device comprising: a first display unit having a plurality of openings, the first display unit being configured to switch between black and a predetermined pattern in response to application of a voltage (abstract, figs. 1-5, ¶ 36-43, display with light emitting portions P1 and openings P2, first and second display modes disclosed wherein P1 displays an image and P2 is off or P2 displays an image and P1 is off);
a second display unit disposed adjacent to a rear side of the first display unit at a position where display contents are visible through the plurality of openings (figs. 1-5, ¶ 36-43, display with light emitting portions P2);
and a switching unit configured to switch the first display unit to black display when the second display unit is turned on, and to switch the first display unit to a display state of the pattern when the second display unit is turned off (figs. 1-5, ¶ 36-43, display with light emitting portions P1 and openings P2, first and second display modes disclosed wherein P1 displays an image and P2 is off or P2 displays an image and P1 is off; see also fig. 11, ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses wherein the first display unit is an electronic paper configured to maintain the display state of the pattern when the application of the voltage is stopped (figs. 1-5, ¶ 36-43, electronic ink microcapsules disclosed; see also ¶ 62).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses wherein the first display device is disposed so as to overlap a black matrix of the second display unit (figs. 1-5, ¶ 36-43, black matrix BM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Wu et al. (US 2024/0176204).
Regarding claim 3, Liu fails to disclose wherein the pattern is a woodgrain pattern.
Wu teaches wherein the pattern is a woodgrain pattern (fig. 8, ¶ 71-74, electronic paper displays wood grain pattern to present a complete wood veneer appearance; see also figs. 30-31).
Liu and Wu are both directed to stacked displays with electronic paper. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Liu with the pattern of Wu since such a modification increases the harmony between the display and the surrounding decorative environment and improves the visual effect (Wu, ¶ 73).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626