DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/4/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae (U.S. Patent No. 6523686).
Regarding Claim 1, Bae discloses a system comprising: a unitary sheet (figure 1) comprising a plurality of tabs (Figure 1), each tab defined by a plurality of stress risers 14 (Figure 1), wherein each tab further comprises at least one dome (Figure 2), and wherein the sheet has a first substantially uniform thickness defined by the stress risers and a second substantially uniform thickness throughout the remainder of the sheet (figure 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Bae discloses the plurality of stress risers comprise grooves formed into the sheet 12 (figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Bae discloses the sheet further comprises a first side and a second side and wherein the plurality of stress risers comprise a first set and a second set of stress risers formed into the first side of the sheet (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Bae discloses the first set of stress risers comprise a V- shaped cross-section 12 (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Bae discloses the second side of the sheet comprises a third set and a fourth set of stress risers formed therein (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Bae discloses the first set and second set of stress risers are substantially aligned with the third set and fourth set, respectively (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-10, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinnion (WO2022175556) in view of Bae (U.S. Patent No. 6523686).
Regarding Claim 1, Tinnion discloses a system comprising: a unitary sheet comprising a plurality of tabs (figure 1; left and right of 18), each tab defined by a plurality of stress risers 18 (figure 1), wherein each tab further comprises at least one dome (Figure 6). Tinnion does not disclose the sheet has a first substantially uniform thickness defined by the stress risers and a second substantially uniform thickness throughout the remainder of the sheet. However, Bae teaches a first substantially uniform thickness defined by the stress risers and a second substantially uniform thickness throughout the remainder of the sheet (Figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tinnion to include the above, as taught by Bae, in order to allow flexible, yet durable structure.
Regarding Claim 2, Tinnion discloses the plurality of stress risers comprise grooves formed into the sheet (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Tinnion discloses each tab comprises a plurality of domes and wherein the domes of each tab are connected by a bridge formed integrally with the tab 16 (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Tinnion discloses each dome comprises a substantially hollow concave surface (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Tinnion discloses each bridge comprises a substantially hollow concave surface (figure 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Tinnion discloses each dome comprises a substantially solid cross-section (Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 13, Tinnion discloses each bridge comprises a substantially solid cross-section (Figure 6).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (U.S. Patent No. 6523686)
Regarding Claim 5, Bae teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the second set of stress risers comprise a U-shaped cross-section. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a U-shaped cross-section since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinnion (WO2022175556) in view of Muraoka (U.S. Pub. No. 20050173295).
Regarding Claim 11, Tinnion teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the system further comprises a plurality of sheets arranged in a stack, wherein each dome from a first sheet in the plurality of sheets extends towards and is received against the hollow concave surface of a respective dome on a second sheet in the plurality of sheets. However, Muraoka teaches a plurality of sheets (Figure 2) arranged in a stack (Figure 2), wherein each dome from a first sheet in the plurality of sheets extends towards and is received against the hollow concave surface of a respective dome on a second sheet in the plurality of sheets (Figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tinnion to include the above, as taught by Muraoka, in order to allow for more compact storage.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733