DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the filing of 5/23/2025. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “reciprocating member” of at least claim 1 and corresponding to driver 18;
the “transmission device” of at least claim 1 and corresponding to the assembly of reducer, cam, holder identified by 25; and
the “position detector” of at least claim 1 and corresponding to the assembly of a magnet 32 and hall effect sensor 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang (US 2025/0289106 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a reciprocating tool (100 – Fig. 1) comprising: a reciprocating member (131 – Fig. 4) configured to reciprocate between first dead center and second dead center (para. 0022); an electric motor (160 – Fig. 4) configured to generate a driving force (para. 0176); a transmission device (140 – Fig. 4) configured to transmit the driving force of the electric motor to the reciprocating member at least in a stroke of the reciprocating member from the second dead center to the first dead center (para. 0176); a control circuit (172 – Fig. 4) configured to output at least one drive signal for driving the electric motor (para. 0202); a drive circuit (the circuitry that sends the signal from 172 to 160; note that para. 0202 discloses 172 sending signals to the motor, there must necessarily be a circuit that transmits these signals) configured (i) to receive the at least one drive signal (as noted above, for 172 to send a signal to 160, there must necessarily be a circuit that receives the drive signal), and (ii) to drive the electric motor in accordance with the at least one drive signal received (para. 0205); a position detector (the assembly of 170 and 171 – Fig. 14) configured to output a position detection signal each time the reciprocating member reaches a specified position in at least one reciprocating motion thereof (para. 0202); and a signal cutoff circuit (the circuitry of 172 – Fig. 4 that performs the braking, para. 0205) including wired logic configured to cut off the drive circuit from the at least one drive signal in response to the position detector outputting or having output the position detection signal (para. 0205).
Jiang further discloses:
Claim 2 and 3, the signal cutoff circuit (the circuitry of 172 – Fig. 4 that performs the braking, para. 0205) is configured to be disabled upon receipt of a first logic value, and (ii) to be enabled upon receipt of a second logic value; and the second logic value is opposite to the first logic value (see following note); a manual switch (1131 – Fig. 2) configured to be manually operated by a user of the reciprocating tool (para. 0175); and a latching circuit configured to continue to output the second logic value to the signal cutoff circuit until the manual switch is manually operated in response to the position detector outputting or having output the position detection signal (see following note). Note: Jiang does not expressly disclose how the signal cutoff circuit is disabled and enabled. However, Jiang does disclose that the circuitry is a microcontroller (para. 0169). Essentially every microcontroller performs the functions recited in the claim. A Microcontroller must read a signal to prevent its input pin from floating so they use a pull-down resistor that supplies a continuous voltage of a first logic value when the trigger is not pulled and supplies a continuous voltage of a second logic value when the trigger is pulled.
Claim 4, a pressing member (121 – Fig. 2) configured to be pressed against a workpiece by the user, wherein the manual switch (185 – Fig. 33) is configured to be manually operated by the pressing member being pressed against the workpiece (para. 0239). Note that this rejection relies on an alternate interpretation of Jian in which the manual switch is interpreted to be 185 – Fig. 33.
Claim 5, the position detector (the assembly of 170 and 171 – Fig. 14) includes (i) a magnet (1711 – fig. 15) having a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole (all magnets have two poles) and (ii) a Hall element (170 – Fig. 14) configured to detect the first magnetic pole of the magnet, and is configured such that the Hall element detects the first magnetic pole and outputs the position detection signal in response to the reciprocating member having reached the specified position (para. 0210).
Claim 6, the transmission device (140 – Fig. 4) includes: a cam (142 – Fig. 8 not including 144 – Fig. 9) (i) including an outer circumference having two or more pins (143 – Fig. 9) aligned in a circumferential direction of the cam, and (ii) configured to rotate by the driving force of the electric motor (para. 0177); and a holder (144 – Fig. 9) (i) holding the magnet (see Fig. 14, 171 is on top of 144, hence it is interpreted as a holder for 171), and (ii) configured to rotate with the cam (see Fig. 14, since 171 is disposed on 142, it rotates with 142); and the reciprocating member (131 – Fig. 4) (i) extends between the first dead center and the second dead center (para. 0022), (ii) includes two or more racks (133 – Fig. 8) in its extending direction, and (iii) is configured to be driven from the second dead center to the first dead center by each of the two or more racks engaging with a corresponding one of the two or more pins (para. 0185).
Claim 8, the cam (142 – Fig. 8 not including 144 – Fig. 9) and the holder (144 – Fig. 9) are configured to rotate around a common axis (144 is directly attached to 142 – Fig. 9, hence they revolve around a common axis).
Claim 9, the electric motor (160 – Fig. 4) includes a rotor serving as the common axis (although a rotor is not expressly disclosed, all electric motors have a rotor, it is clear from Fig. 4 that the motor and can are aligned along the same vertical axis).
Claim 10, the holder (144 – Fig. 9) is a non-magnetic member (although the material of the holder is not expressly disclosed, it is clear that the holder is a non-magnetic member otherwise it would interfere with hall sensor).
Claim 15, the specified position corresponds to (i) a stop position to stop the reciprocating member (131 – Fig. 4), and/or (ii) a standby position where the reciprocating member waits for at least one next reciprocating motion of the reciprocating member (para. 0203).
Claim 16, a cylinder (151 – Fig. 4) containing compressed gas therein (para. 0181); and a piston (122 – Fig. 4) that (i) is inside the cylinder, and (ii) urges the reciprocating member (131 – Fig. 4) toward the second dead center by the compressed gas, wherein the reciprocating member is configured to be driven from the first dead center to the second dead center by the piston (para. 0181).
Claim 17, the reciprocating member (131 – Fig. 4) is configured (i) to be positioned at the first dead center in response to the piston being positioned at its top dead center, and (ii) to be positioned at the second dead center in response to the piston being positioned at its bottom dead center (the first dead center is interpreted as the top dead center and the second dead center is interpreted to be the bottom dead center).
Claim 18 recites similar limitations to those above and is rejected in the same manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2025/0289106 A1) in view of Yasutomi (US 2019/0168366 A1).
Regarding claim 7 Jiang discloses essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 6.
However, Jiang does not expressly disclose in which direction the first magnetic pole faces.
Yasutomi teaches a similar transmission device comprising a position detector (the assembly of 84 and 85 – Fig. 10A), wherein the position detector comprises a magnet (85A,B – Fig. 10B) and a hall element (84 – Fig. 10B), wherein the magnet has a first magnetic pole (the right side of 85B – Fig. 10B) and a second magnetic pole (the left side of 85B – Fig. 10B) and the first magnetic pole face outward in a radial direction of the holder (Fig. 10B indicates that the poles are arranged to extend in the radial direction, this is supported by the written description that notes each magnet 85A or 85B has a pole and the hall sensor senses the intensity of the poles). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Yasutomi, that the position detector of Jiang is analgous to the position detector of Jiang since they perform the same function and rely on magnets on a cam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted the position detector of Jiang with the position detector of Yasutomi since they are analogous detectors and it is obvious to use known alternatives.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2025/0289106 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1.
However, Jiang does not disclose the form of the drive signal.
In this case, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well-known in the art to use a drive signal that is a pulse-width modulated signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have used a drive signal in the form of a pulse-width modulated signal since Jiang is silent with regard to the form of the signal and using a pulse-width modulates signal is a known solution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 12, Jiang simply does not teach the structure of the drive circuit and no known references teach a control circuit having the specific structure.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
2/19/2026