DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2025 and 1/15/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kafle et al. US Patent Publication No. 2015/0172757 in view of Sheynman et al. US Patent Publication No. 2004/0128324.
Regarding Claim 1, Kafle discloses an electronic device comprising:
a communication circuit; memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the communication circuit and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to [Figure 2 & [0040-0043]]:
transmit, via the communication circuit, capability information of the electronic device and a request for transmitting capability information of an external electronic device to the external electronic device [Figure 6A],
obtain, via the communication circuit, the capability information of the external electronic device from the external electronic device [[0064]; At step 665, the source 600 may exchange a capability information between itself and the sink or sinks 610 selected during the discovery phase. Such capability information may include, among other things, a multimedia codec, a multimedia format, a minimum latency or buffer capability, or supported multicast mechanisms (e.g., DMS or GCR). The source 600 may use RTSP OPTIONS followed by GET_PARAMETER commands by including the group session management information to exchange and set the capability information],
based on the obtained capability information of the external electronic device, generate the source 600 may determine the optimal parameters for the group session based on the capability information exchange between the sink or sinks selected in the above steps. The source 600 may additionally generate a session ID for the group session],
and transmit, via the communication circuit, the generated source transmits the content to the sink].
Kafle fails to clearly disclose generating preview content and transmitting it to the external electronic device.
In an analogous art, Sheynman discloses generating preview content to be output from the external electronic device [Figure 1 & [0020]] and transmit, via the communication circuit, the generating preview content to the external electronic device [Figure 1 & [0028]].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kafle and Sheynman, before the effective filing date of the invention in order to provide content rights protection [Sheynman 0017].
Regarding Claim 11, Kafle disclose a method performed by an electronic device,
the method comprising:
transmitting, via a communication circuit of the electronic device, capability information of the electronic device and a request for transmitting capability information of an external electronic device to the external electronic device [Figure 6A];
obtaining, via the communication circuit, the capability information of the external electronic device from the external electronic device [[0064]; At step 665, the source 600 may exchange a capability information between itself and the sink or sinks 610 selected during the discovery phase. Such capability information may include, among other things, a multimedia codec, a multimedia format, a minimum latency or buffer capability, or supported multicast mechanisms (e.g., DMS or GCR). The source 600 may use RTSP OPTIONS followed by GET_PARAMETER commands by including the group session management information to exchange and set the capability information];
based on the obtained capability information of the external electronic device, generating the source 600 may determine the optimal parameters for the group session based on the capability information exchange between the sink or sinks selected in the above steps. The source 600 may additionally generate a session ID for the group session];
and transmitting, via the communication circuit, the generated preview content to the external electronic device [Figures 5, 6B [0057] & [0077]; source transmits the content to the sink].
Kafle fails to clearly disclose generating
In an analogous art, Sheynman discloses generating preview content to be output from the external electronic device [Figure 1 & [0020]] and transmit, via the communication circuit, the generating preview content to the external electronic device [Figure 1 & [0028]].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kafle and Sheynman, before the effective filing date of the invention in order to provide content rights protection [Sheynman 0017].
Regarding Claim 19, Kafle discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising [0190]:
transmitting, via a communication circuit of the electronic device, capability information of the electronic device and a request for transmitting capability information of an external electronic device to the external electronic device [Figure 6A];
obtaining, via the communication circuit, the capability information of the external electronic device from the external electronic device [[0064]; At step 665, the source 600 may exchange a capability information between itself and the sink or sinks 610 selected during the discovery phase. Such capability information may include, among other things, a multimedia codec, a multimedia format, a minimum latency or buffer capability, or supported multicast mechanisms (e.g., DMS or GCR). The source 600 may use RTSP OPTIONS followed by GET_PARAMETER commands by including the group session management information to exchange and set the capability information];
based on the obtained capability information of the external electronic device, generating the source 600 may determine the optimal parameters for the group session based on the capability information exchange between the sink or sinks selected in the above steps. The source 600 may additionally generate a session ID for the group session];
and transmitting, via the communication circuit, the generated preview content to the external electronic device [Figures 5, 6B [0057] & [0077]; source transmits the content to the sink].
Kafle fails to clearly disclose generating
In an analogous art, Sheynman discloses generating preview content to be output from the external electronic device [Figure 1 & [0020]] and transmit, via the communication circuit, the generating preview content to the external electronic device [Figure 1 & [0028]].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kafle and Sheynman, before the effective filing date of the invention in order to provide content rights protection [Sheynman 0017].
Regarding Claims 2, 12 and 20, the combination of Kafle and Sheynman discloses an electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: search for an external electronic device for transmission of media content from the electronic device, and identify whether the generated preview content exists for the media content [Kafle [0057] & [0060] & Sheynman [0031]].
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, the combination of Kafle and Sheynman discloses an electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, in case that the generated preview content exists for the media content, process the generated preview content based on the capability information of the external electronic device [Kafle [0057] & [0060] & Sheynman [0031]].
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, the combination of Kafle and Sheynman discloses an electronic device wherein the capability information received from the external electronic device comprises information related to at least one of a codec, frames per second (FPS), resolution, chipset, storage capacity, and network communication, of the external electronic device [Kafle 0064].
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combination of Kafle and Sheynman discloses an electronic device wherein the capability information received from the external electronic device comprises information related to quality of the preview content that the external electronic device is capable of receiving [Kafle [0065]].
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, the combination of Kafle and Sheynman discloses an electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, based on the obtained capability information of the external electronic device, adjust an amount of the preview content to be transmitted to the external electronic device [Kafle [0057] & Sheynman [0024]].
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Uhm et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0169723 - An electronic device includes a camera, a communication circuit, and at least one processor configured to receive, via the communication circuit, information related to content reproduced by an external display device, obtain, by the camera, a first image including the external display device, based on the external display device being identified to be outside of an identifiable range of the camera, generate a virtual object corresponding to the external display device, obtain the content reproduced by the external display device, based on the information related to the content reproduced by the external display device, and reproduce the obtained content within an area of the virtual object.
Jung et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0389097 - An electronic device and a method of operating an electronic device are provided. The device includes a communication circuit and a processor operatively connected to the communication circuit. The processor is configured to receive, in a connected state with an access point (AP), information on an external electronic device related to a first communication scheme for data transmission and/or reception between the external electronic device connected to the AP and the electronic device and information on the external electronic device related to a second communication scheme different from the first communication scheme, set up a first session supported by the first communication scheme with the external electronic device, based on the information on the external electronic device related to the first communication scheme, discover the external electronic device, based on the information on the external electronic device related to the second communication scheme according to the electronic device satisfying a predetermined condition, set up a second session, based on data related to the second communication scheme, and transmit and/or receive the data through the second session.
Conclusion
/SAHAR AQIL RIAZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424