DETAILED ACTION
The Action is res e present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The Action is responsive to the Application filed 09/09/2026.
Please note claims 1-19 are pending and claims 1, 9 and 17 are independent.
Response to Arguments¶
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully and respectfully considered. As per the Examiner's responses, please refer to below discussions.
1. The Applicant argued that " SIANEZ does not disclose or teach the claimed architecture" and "the microphone resides on the query answering device itself, not on a separate compact search client that transmits audio over a network", the Examiner respectfully agreed with the Applicant's assessment on the SIANEZ reference. Based on the Applicant's amendment made to the independent claims clarifying receiving audio query being performed over the network, the Examiner respectfully incorporated a reference published to Mohajer to cure SIANEZ's deficiency. The grounds set forth for rejections made to the independent claims is now on 35 U.S.C. 103 for unpatentable over SIANEZ in view of Mohajer.
2. As per the speech-to-text limitation, the Applicant argued that ""SIANEZ recites the opposite conversion: "the processor 104 can include machine learning models, such as text-to-speech models." SIANEZ ¶ [0031] (emphasis added). Text-to-speech converts written text into audio output; speech-to-text (automatic speech recognition) converts spoken audio into text. SIANEZ does not disclose or teach a speech-to-text machine learning model as recited by claims 1, 9, and 17 as amended"",
the Examiner respectfully submits that, at ¶ [0031] as originally cited, SIANEZ actually disclosed the text-to-speech mode and further at ¶ [0053] and ¶ [0055], SIANEZ further disclosed the text-to-speech model 116 can include a machine learning model on the query answering device 101, a text-to-speech application programming interface (API) provided over the network.
Claim Interpretation
A “patent is invalid for indefiniteness if its claims, read in light of the specification delineating the patent, and the prosecution history, fail to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention.” Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 134 S.Ct. 2120, 2124, 110 USPQ2d 1688 (2014). The Office does not interpret claims when examining patent applications in the same manner as the courts. The Office construes claims by giving them their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution in an effort to establish a clear record of what the applicant intends to claim. See, MPEP 2173.02 (Determining Whether Claim Language is Definite). Such claim construction during prosecution may effectively result in a lower threshold for ambiguity than a court's determination. Id. However, Applicant has the ability to amend the claims during prosecution to ensure that the meaning of the language is clear and definite prior to issuance or provide a persuasive explanation (with evidence as necessary) that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not consider the claim language unclear. Id. (citing In re Buszard, 504 F.3d 1364, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution “to facilitate sharpening and clarifying the claims at the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For application naming joint inventors, in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14 and 16-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
SIANEZ; Roy Fugère: “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR USING MACHINE LEARNING TO SECURELY AND EFFICIENTLY RETRIEVE AND PRESENT SEARCH RESULTS”, (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20210191925 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2021-06-24 and DATE FILED 2020-12-18, hereafter “SIANEZ"), in view of
Mohajer; Keyvan: “SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR ENABLING NATURAL LANGUAGE PROCESSING”, (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20120233207 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2012-05-24 and DATE FILED 2012-05-24, hereafter “Mohajer").
As per claim 9, concerning a method comprising: "receiving, over a network, by at least one processor, an audio query of a verbal input captured by a microphone of a compact search client",
SIANEZ teaches the method comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, an audio query of a verbal input captured by a microphone of a compact search client (See [0027] and [0064], [0027], the user device 121 can be smartphone and the user device 121 is operatively and/or communicatively coupled to the query answering device 101 via network 150; and receiving a set of natural language queries and a set of terms, the set of terms can include a name of a person, a name of an object, or a title of an entity, or other information about which a user is conducting a search.).
However, SIANEZ does not explicitly teach the receiving of the verbal input captured by a microphone of a compact search client is over the network.
On the other hand, in the same endeavor, Mohajer teaches receiving a natural language search query via the network from at least one client (See [0009] and [0033], receiving a natural language search query via the network from at least one client and the user input 120 may be relayed to the search server 180 via the network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant's application was filed to combine the teaching of MOHAJER with SIANEZ reference because SIANEZ is dedicated to using machine learning for information retrieval and content presentation to a user based on a search query, and MOHAJER is dedicated to searching databases of service providers on a network and processing natural language queries, and the combined teaching would have enabled SIANEZ system's owners of mobile services and/or applications, to offer services, products, and/or content to end users through a computer network.
SIANEZ in view of MOHAJER further teaches the following:
generating, by the at least one processor, a search query based at least in part on output of a speech-to-text machine learning model using the audio query as input (See SIANEZ: [0036] and [0064], the query term identifier 111 can be configured to receive a batch of audio signals, to analyze the batch of audio signals and convert the batch of audio signals to a set of textual features, including at least one query term, in which the query term identifier 111 performs signal processing techniques (e.g., speech-to-text conversion) to analyze and convert the batch of audio signals to a set of textual features and further to analyze the set of textual features to generate the at least one query term; and preparing training data based on the set of natural language queries and the set of terms, training a machine learning model based on the training data to generate a trained machine learning model and providing an indication of a natural language query to the trained machine learning model to generate a query term.);
generating, by the at least one processor, a search summary based at least in part on search results determined from the search query (See SIANEZ: [0069], a set of search engines are executed to receive at least one search result based on the at least one query term and/or the indication of at least one query term.);
converting, by the at least one processor, the search summary into an audio search summary using a text-to-speech machine learning model (See SIANEZ: [0031], [0053] and [0055], the machine learning model data can include data generated by the one or more machine learning models, such as the text-to-speech model 116, during operation of the query answering device 101. Optionally, the result formatter 115 can include a text-to-speech model 116 to present the subset of the most relevant parts to the user or a user device from the set of user devices 121; and the text-to-speech model 116 can include a machine learning model on the query answering device 101, a text-to-speech application programming interface (API) provided over the network 150 (also referred to herein as the ‘cloud’), and/or any other suitable text-to-speech device or program. The text-to-speech model 116 can receive the subset of most relevant parts in a text format, and then present the subset to the user. In some implementations, the subset is presented as a natural language response to the user's query); and
communicating, by the at least one processor and over the network, the audio search summary to the compact search client to cause the compact search client to output the audio search summary using an audio speaker (See SIANEZ: [0054] and [0110], the result formatter 115 can provide a media item or an indication of the media item to a user and the he media item can include an image, a table, a video, a drawing, an animated drawing, an audio file; and the formatted response can be presented to the user on a screen of the user's device, through speakers on the user's device. Here the audio file teaches the output the audio search summary; and Mohajer: [0006] and claim 21, One or more fields of the one or more search results may be selectively transmitted for display to the end user via the network; and providing a response to the search query from the aggregated natural language library to a client device.).
As per claim 13, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer teaches the method of claim 9, wherein generating the search query comprises executing a Large Language Model (LLM) (See SIANEZ: [0032], the query term identifier 111 can be configured to generate at least one query term based on at least one query (e.g., at least one natural language query, and/or indication of a natural language query). For example, the at least one query term can be the general topic that the user is asking about in the query.).
As per claim 14, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer teaches the method of claim 9, wherein generating the search summary comprises executing a Large Language Model (LLM) (See SIANEZ: [0032], the query term identifier 111 can be configured to generate at least one query term based on at least one query (e.g., at least one natural language query, and/or indication of a natural language query). For example, the at least one query term can be the general topic that the user is asking about in the query. The at least one query term can be generated to interface with (e.g., be compatible with) a search engine or set of search engines to generate a set of search results).
As per claim 16, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer teaches the method of claim 9, wherein generating the search summary comprises determining the search results at least in part by querying an external search engine and receiving output from the external search engine (See SIANEZ: [0045], appending the first term to a predetermined (e.g., pre-identified) search engine accessed by using a uniform resource locator (URL), to generate an updated search engine URL. The updated search engine URL produces and/or links to a webpage and/or other resources that the query answering device 101 can download using the communicator 103 and via the network 150.).
As per claim 17, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer teaches a method comprising:
capturing a verbal query for a search using a device such as microphone of a compact search client (See SIANEZ: [0027], the user device 121 can be smartphone. The user device 121 is operatively and/or communicatively coupled to the query answering device 101 via network 150.);
communicating audio data of the verbal query over a network to an augmented search engine to cause the augmented search engine to generate a search query using a speech-to-text machine learning model (See SIANEZ: [0031], the processor 104 can include machine learning models, such as text-to-speech models and the models for query answering, data processing and analysis);
receiving, from the augmented search engine and over the network, an audio search summary, the audio search summary generated using a search summary and a text-to-speech machine learning model, the search summary generated using search results determined by the search query (See Mo Mohajer: [0009] and [0033], receiving a natural language search query via the network from at least one client and the user input 120 may be relayed to the search server 180 via the network; and SIANEZ: [0053] and [0064], the result formatter receives the subset of the most relevant parts to generate response to the query, which can be expressed as a natural language response as a formatted search result and the formatted search result with portions converted to an audio message; and preparing training data based on the set of natural language queries and the set of terms, training a machine learning model based on the training data to generate a trained machine learning model and providing an indication of a natural language query to the trained machine learning model to generate a query term); and
generating an audio signal for the audio search summary using an audio speaker (See SIANEZ: [0053], the result formatter receives the subset of the most relevant parts to generate response to the query, which can be expressed as a natural language response as a formatted search result and the formatted search result with portions converted to an audio message).
As per claims 1, 5-6 and 8, the claims recite a system comprising a memory and at least one processor (See SIANEZ: [0018], a non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by a processor) configured to perform operations recited as the steps of the methods of claims 9, 13-14 and 16 above, respectively, and as rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by SIANEZ in view of Mohajer.
Accordingly, claims 1, 5-6 and 8 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected claims 9, 13-14 and 16, respectively.
Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 18-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
SIANEZ in view of Mohajer, applied to claims 9, 1 and 17 above and in view of
ARSLAN et al.: “SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR GENERATING SYNTHETIC DATA, AND TRAINING AND TESTING CONVERSATIONAL ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE PLATFORMS”, (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20250342820 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2025-11-06 and DATE FILED 2024-05-03, hereafter “ARSLAN").
As per claim 10, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
storing the search query in a search state database (See SIANEZ: [0091], interrogating a database of transformed query terms for possible transformations. a database of transformed query terms reads on search query stored in the database); and
determining, using the search state database, that additional user input is needed to determine the search results (See SIANEZ: [0009], identifying relevant parts in each search result from the set of search results based on the plurality of query terms by assigning an indication of likelihood of relevance of each search result to the specific term based on the relevant parts in that search result and selecting a search result from the set of search results based on the indication of likelihood of relevance of the search result.).
SIANEZ in view of Mohajer does not explicitly teach generating an audio prompt.
However, ARSLAN teaches generating an audio prompt (See [0098], dialog flows outline the structure and logic of a generated conversation, including the orchestration of the language services (e.g., LLM, TTS, Voice Cloning) to generate dialog prompts and the subsequent actions taken based on those responses).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant's application was filed to combine the teaching of ARSLAN with SIANEZ in view of Mohajer reference because SIANEZ is dedicated to using machine learning for information retrieval and content presentation to a user based on a search query, MOHAJER is dedicated to searching databases of service providers on a network and processing natural language queries, and ARSLAN is dedicated to generating synthetic data to train and test conversational artificial intelligence platforms, and the combined teaching would have enabled SIANEZ to enhance a crucial voice-based interactions feature to significantly expands the scope of potential applications.
SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of ARSLAN, further teaches the following:
communicating, over the network, the audio prompt to the compact search client to cause the compact search client to output the audio prompt using the audio speaker (See ARSLAN: [0034], Text A represents the content of the dialogue generated by the LLM service 128 as Speaker-2 to convey to Speaker-1. Text B denotes a prompt text generated by the LLM Service 126 as the Speaker-1 side of the conversation, which will be delivered back to the Bot Builder Service 118 and further passed on to the Speaker-2 Scenario 116, thereby keeping the conversation going.);
receiving an audio response generated by the compact search client based at least in part on a verbal response captured by the microphone after the compact search client output the audio prompt using the audio speaker (See ARSLAN: [0034], Text A represents the content of the dialogue generated by the LLM service 128 as Speaker-2 to convey to Speaker-1. Text B denotes a prompt text generated by the LLM Service 126 as the Speaker-1 side of the conversation, which will be delivered back to the Bot Builder Service 118 and further passed on to the Speaker-2 Scenario 116, thereby keeping the conversation going); and
wherein generating the search query is further based at least in part on output of the speech-to-text machine learning model using the audio query and the audio response as input (See ARSLAN: [0062], the result formatter 215 can use the text-to-speech model 216 to present the most relevant parts as a natural language response to the user's query, and may be expressed visually (e.g., on a screen of the user device 221), audibly (e.g., as an audio signal), or as any other suitable medium of communication to the user.).
As per claim 11, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of ARSLAN teaches the method of claim 10, wherein determining that additional user input is needed to determine the search results comprises executing a search state classification model (See ARSLAN: [0060] and [0092], The set of query terms can be configured to be input into a set of search engines to generate a set of search results (e.g., the query terms can interrogate the search engine to produce search results). In some implementations, the set of search engines can be accessed via the network 250, or a local search engine within the user device 221 and executed via the processer 224 and memory 222; and a query can be classified using a set of machine learning models such as a word tagging model (e.g., a word tagging model similar to the word tagging model 112 shown and described with respect to FIG. 1) or a text classification model.).
As per claim 12, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of ARSLAN teaches the method of claim 10, wherein generating the audio prompt comprises executing a Large Language Model (LLM) (See ARSLAN: [0060], the systems described herein employ a Bot Builder System to design and orchestrate LLM speakers' dialog flows, a triggering service to initiate the system, a dialog channel to perform the dialog scenario, a large language model service to generate prompts, a TTS service to convert textual prompts into speech, a Voice Cloning Service to convert the TTS audio into a more suitable voice, a Voice Cloning Database to store reference voice recordings to be cloned in the converted TTS audio, and a data storing unit to store the generated conversational data.).
As per claim 18, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer does not explicitly teach the method of claim 17 further comprising:
receiving, from the augmented search engine, an audio prompt requesting additional user input, the audio prompt generated for the user using a search state database including the search query.
However, ARSLAN teaches the method of claim 17 further comprising:
receiving, from the augmented search engine, an audio prompt requesting additional user input, the audio prompt generated for the user using a search state database including the search query (See [0098], dialog flows outline the structure and logic of a generated conversation, including the orchestration of the language services (e.g., LLM, TTS, Voice Cloning) to generate dialog prompts and the subsequent actions taken based on those responses,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant's application was filed to combine the teaching of ARSLAN with SIANEZ in view of Mohajer reference because SIANEZ is dedicated to using machine learning for information retrieval and content presentation to a user based on a search query, MOHAJER is dedicated to searching databases of service providers on a network and processing natural language queries, and ARSLAN is dedicated to generating synthetic data to train and test conversational artificial intelligence platforms, and the combined teaching would have enabled SIANEZ to enhance a crucial voice-based interactions feature to significantly expands the scope of potential applications.
SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of ARSLAN, further teaches the following:
generating an audio signal for the audio prompt using the audio speaker (See SIANEZ: [0053], the result formatter receives the subset of the most relevant parts to generate response to the query, which can be expressed as a natural language response as a formatted search result and the formatted search result with portions converted to an audio message);
capturing a verbal response using the microphone (See SIANEZ: [0027] and [0064], [0027], the user device 121 can be smartphone. The user device 121 is operatively and/or communicatively coupled to the query answering device 101 via network 150; and receiving a set of natural language queries and a set of terms, the set of terms can include a name of a person, a name of an object, or a title of an entity, or other information about which a user is conducting a search.); and
communicating an audio response of the verbal response, to the augmented search engine over the network (See SIANEZ: [0027] and [0031], the user device 121 can be smartphone. The user device 121 is operatively and/or communicatively coupled to the query answering device 101 via network 150.; and the processor 104 can include machine learning models, such as text-to-speech models and the models for query answering, data processing and analysis).
As per claim 19, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of ARSLAN teaches the method of claim 18, wherein communicating the audio response occurs before receiving the audio search summary (See SIANEZ: [0053] and [0064], the result formatter receives the subset of the most relevant parts to generate response to the query, which can be expressed as a natural language response as a formatted search result and the formatted search result with portions converted to an audio message; and preparing training data based on the set of natural language queries and the set of terms, training a machine learning model based on the training data to generate a trained machine learning model and providing an indication of a natural language query to the trained machine learning model to generate a query term), and
wherein the search query is generated based at least in part on the audio response (See SIANEZ: [0053], the result formatter receives the subset of the most relevant parts to generate response to the query, which can be expressed as a natural language response as a formatted search result and the formatted search result with portions converted to an audio message).
As per claims 2-4, the claims recite a system comprising a memory and at least one processor (See SIANEZ: [0018], a non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by a processor) configured to perform operations recited as the steps of the methods of claims 10-12 above, respectively, and as rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of ARSLAN.
Accordingly, claims 1, 5-6 and 8 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected claims 9, 13-14 and 16, respectively.
Claims 15 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
SIANEZ in view of Mohajer, as anticipated and as applied to claims 9, 1 and 17 above and in view of
Zang et al.: “KNOWLEDGE BASE QUESTION-ANSWERING SYSTEM UTILIZING A LARGE LANGUAGE MODEL OUTPUT IN RE-RANKING”, (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20250147991 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2025-11-06 and DATE FILED 2024-05-03, hereafter “Zang").
As per claim 15, SIANEZ in view of Mohajer does not explicitly teach the method of claim 9, wherein generating the search summary comprises determining the search results using an internal index.
However, Zang teaches the method of claim 9, wherein generating the search summary comprises determining the search results using an internal index (See [0015], retrieving a first answer including a list of a first number of documents relevant to the user input by searching indexed documents in a knowledge base).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant's application was filed to combine the teaching of Zang with SIANEZ in view of Mohajer reference because SIANEZ is dedicated to using machine learning for information retrieval and content presentation to a user based on a search query, MOHAJER is dedicated to searching databases of service providers on a network and processing natural language queries and Zang is dedicated to the knowledge based question-answering systems and utilizing output of large language models (LLMs) in a re-ranking process of retrieved answers, and the combined teaching would have enabled SIANEZ in view of Mohajer to retrieve information of more relevant to the context or intent of the user query without matching phrases.
As per claim 7, the claim recites a system comprising a memory and at least one processor (See SIANEZ: [0018], a non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by a processor) configured to perform operations recited as the steps of the method of claim 15 above, respectively, and as rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over SIANEZ in view of Mohajer and further in view of Zang.
Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 15.
Related Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-5] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). >See also MPEP §2123.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Contact Information
KUEN S LU /Kuen S Lu/
Art Unit 2165
Primary Patent Examiner
October 11, 2026