DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, species “a”, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on September 14, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that no evidence of record was provided to show distinction between the inventions. This is not found persuasive because evidence is not necessary, but instead reasonable examples. The apparatus is directed to heat extraction and the recuperation of gas emissions from a combustion furnace. Gas combustion furnaces are common in many industries other than glass manufacturing, including steel manufacturing or power generation. Thus, a reasonable example has been provided.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-3 recites conditions for removing water vapor. These conditions are considered functional language that recites manners of operating the water vapor controller. Since they do not offer more structural limitations to the water vapor controller, the claims will be interpreted as simply required to be able to remove some of the water vapor.
Claim 6 recites the oxidizing gas is pure oxygen or oxygen enriched air. This functional limitation does not provide further structural limitations. Thus, the claim will not be limited by the gas recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the CO2 gas supplied to the second reactor” and “the H2O gas supplied to the second reactor”. Claim 1 recites the CO2 gas and the H2O gas are supplied to the first reactor, and claim 2 depends on claim 1. Thus, it is unclear if additional CO2 gas and H2O gas are supplied to the second reactor. Please clarify.
Claim 3 is also indefinite by virtue of its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " the CO2 gas for use" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the CO2 gas contained in a combustion gas burned by the burner. Claim 7 depends on claim 1, which recites the burner burns an oxidizing gas, CO gas and H2 gas. Thus, it is unclear where the CO2 gas contained in a combustion gas burned by the burner comes from, as there is no mention of CO2 gas in the combustion gas.
Claim 8 is also indefinite by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (2018/0215641). Kang teaches a glass manufacturing apparatus comprising a recuperator configured to heat a heat medium (i.e. air) through heat exchange with a combustion gas emitted from a glass melting furnace ([0038], [0106]), a first reactor configured to produce CO gas and H2 gas from natural gas by performing a steam reforming reaction through heat exchange with the heat medium heated by the recuperator ([0089], [0125]), a water vapor controller configured to adjust an H2O concentration in a product of the reactor by removing at least a part of the H2O gas from the product of the reactor ([0115]), and a burner configured to form a flame in the glass melting furnace by burning an oxidizing gas and a flammable gas containing the CO gas and H2 gas produced by the reactor ([0115]). Kang teaches the first reactor (pre-reformer) goes through a methanation process to produce methane (CH4) gas and H2O gas (see equation II, [0093]-[0094]). Kang further teaches a second reactor, i.e. reformer, that performs steam reforming to convert the CH4 gas and H2O gas into CO gas and H2 gas (see equations III and IV, [0096]). Kang suggests arranging a pre-reformer (first reactor) upstream of a reformer (second reactor), as the combination will provide for simple fuel gas that can be heated to a high temperature while preventing coke formation in the furnace ([0098]). While Kang focuses on employing a pre-reformer by itself in a furnace apparatus, Kang does suggest using a reformer (second reactor) following a pre-reformer. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for a reformer (second reactor) downstream of the pre-reformer (first reactor) as it will ensure the complete conversion of hydrocarbons into simple fuel gases that can be used in burners, where they are heated to high temperatures, while preventing coke formation. Thus, in employing the pre-reformer and the reformer, the pre-reformer can produce CH4 gas and H2O gas from CO2 gas and H2 gas by a methanation reaction and the reformer can produce CO gas and H2 gas from the CH4 and H2O gas produced (from the pre-reformer) by a steam reforming reaction.
Furthermore, Kang teaches the steam reforming reaction requires heat input ([0096]). Since Kang teaches providing heat to the reactor through heat exchange with the heat medium heated by the recuperator ([0089]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided heat to the reformer (second reactor) through heat exchange with the heat medium heated by the recuperator, as it would provide for a more efficient process.
Regarding claims 2-3, the water vapor controller of Kang can remove a part of the H2O gas from the product of the reactor ([0115]).
Regarding claim 5, Kang further teaches a first heat exchanger (8) configured to heat the product of the pre-reformer with the water concentration adjusted (note “water removal” in figure 2B) using heat produced by the methanation reaction (note “AIR” arrow in 2B) before the product of the pre-reformer is further supplied ([0113]-[0115]). As discussed above, Kang teaches a reformer that follows the pre-reformer. Thus, the products of the pre-reformer is supplied to the second reactor (reformer).
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches supplying an oxidant to the burner ([0021]).
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches a second heat exchanger (4) configured to preheat the oxidizing gas through the heat exchange with the heat medium heated by the recuperator (fig. 2A, [0112]).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches a first supply line along which a product of the second reactor is supplied to the burner (from pre-reformer to burner in fig. 2A), a second supply line (oxidant line in fig. 2A) along which the oxidizing gas is supplied to the burner, a third heat exchanger (4 in fig. 2A) configured to transfer heat from the product of the second reactor to the oxidizing gas at a first point of the first supply line overlapping the second supply line. Kang also teaches water is not favored in a combustion furnace ([0115]) and suggests using a dryer to remove water in the fuel gas stream to the burner. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have further employed a dehydration unit configured to remove the water from the product of the second reactor at a second point downstream from the first point of the first supply line, closes to the burner, to ensure all water is removed from the fuel gas stream before entering the burners.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches providing a metal catalyst in the second reactor to enhance the steam reforming reaction ([0097]).
Claims 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (2018/0215641) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (6,113,874). Regarding claim 4, Kang doesn’t specify an additive line for CO2 gas. Kobayashi teaches a reactor for performing steam reforming of CH4 gas and H2O gas. Kobayashi specifies the reactions for reforming requires CH4 gas, H2O gas, and CO2 gas in order to produce CO and H2 gases for feeding back to burners in the furnace (eq. 1 in col. 4, col. 4 lines 32-39). Kobayashi teaches directly injecting CO2 gas into the reformer, the CO2 gas stemming from the flue gas stream of a furnace (col. 3 lines 45-52). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for an additive line along which a part of the CO2 gas for use in the reforming reaction in the second reactor without passing through the first reactor, as Kobayashi teaches CO2 gas is required for reforming methane into CO and H2 gas for use in the burners, and CO2 gas is a product of combustion in the furnace that is available for use.
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi further teaches a circulation line along which CO2 gas is supplied from the furnace to the first reactor (col. 3 lines 45-50). Kobayashi teaches CO2 gas is a typical product of combustion and it would be beneficial to take advantage of the presence of this gas to carry out reforming reactions (col 3 lines 38-44). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for a circulation line for supplying CO2 gas from the furnace to the first reactor, as it would further utilized the available combustion products from the furnace, such as CO2 gas.
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches the water is not a necessary component for the methanation reaction (see eq. II [0093]). Kang also teaches water is not favored in a combustion furnace ([0115]) and suggests using a dryer to remove water in the fuel gas stream. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further utilized a dehydration unit to remove water from the combustion gas along the circulation line, as was is not a necessary component for methanation, and is not desired in the combustion fuel supplied to the burners.
Conclusion
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741