DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to the amendment filed on 7/20/2026. Claims 1-17 are cancelled. Claims 20-37 are newly added. Claims 18-37 are pending. Applicants’ arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered in light of the instant amendment and are not persuasive, as they relate to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, as will be discussed below. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 20-28, 30-33, and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kesar et al (US 20130332068 A1).
As to claim 18, Kesar teaches A photo system to process digital photos (Kesar Abstract), the photo system including a tangibly embodied computer processor (CP) and a tangibly embodied database (Kesar [0037] and [0079]), the CP implementing instructions on a non-transitory computer medium disposed in the database (Kesar [0079]), and the database in communication with the CP, the photo system comprising:
(A) a communication portion for providing communication between the CP and users (Kesar [0020]-[0022] discloses hotspot application comprises software or instructions for remote execution run on and displayed on device.);
(B) the database that includes the non-transitory computer medium, and the database including the instructions, (a) the database including a photo database that stores photos, and (b) each photo, in the photo database, including image data and photo data, and the photo data, for each photo, includes location data associated with the photo (Kesar [0037] discloses Image hosting provider 230 may comprise an online collection of images and provides for photograph storage and sharing services utilized by client device 201 according to one embodiment. The image hosting provider 230 includes a photo database 234 and metadata database 236. Tag aggregator 207 may search for and explore photographs (which may be shared photographs) associated with the location of the map image in metadata database 236.); and
(C) the CP, and the CP performing processing, based on the instructions, including:
(a) performing processing to generate a photo walk, the photo walk including a plurality of walk spots (WSs), the plurality of WSs including a first walk spot (WS) and a second WS (Kesar [0047] discloses a user of a computing device may locate photographic hotspots (i.e. photo walk) using a photograph hotspot discovery software application. The application may request a geographic location to retrieve a target map area and to locate photographs and hotspots (i.e. photo walk) within the area of the geographic location. The search radius may define the radius from the geographic location used to determine map data retrieval and a radius to search for photographs. Displaying the at least one portion of the map to the user. In some embodiments, the user's location may also be displayed on the map relative to the geographic location (e.g., the user's location is centered on the map display as illustrated in FIG. 1). Photographs with the highest interestingness scores may be identified on the map with photo markers/hotspots (i.e. walk spots). In embodiments where user location is also displayed on the map as a marker, the photo markers/hotspots (i.e. walk spots) may be distinguished from the user location marker by, for example, color, shape, and/or size. According to another embodiment, propagating the at least one portion of the map with markers identifying the location of highest ranking photos within the geographic location includes identifying and propagating the at least one portion of the map with markers identifying the location of photographs.), and
(i) the first WS associated with a first set of photos, the first WS associated with a first area, and each of the photos in the first set of photos also associated with the first area based on respective location data of each photo (Kesar Figure 4A-4B and [0057]-[0059] discloses Region map 402 includes a plurality of red translucent dots or markers representing the locations of the most "interesting" photographs such as marker 404 and marker 406. Hotspots may be indicated using translucent red dots. In the illustrated embodiment, clusters of photographs (i.e. set of photos) such as 404, 408, and 410 represent exemplary hotspots (i.e. walk spots). The region map shows multiple hotspots/markers (i.e. first WS, second WS, etc.). Each marker/hotspot/location comprises at least one photograph (but could be a cluster of photos) associated with that location.); and
(ii) the second WS associated with a second set of photos, the second WS associated with a second area, and each of the photos in the second set of photos also associated with the second area based on respective location data of each photo (Kesar Figure 4A-4B and [0057]-[0059] discloses Region map 402 includes a plurality of red translucent dots or markers representing the locations of the most "interesting" photographs such as marker 404 and marker 406. Hotspots may be indicated using translucent red dots. In the illustrated embodiment, clusters of photographs (i.e. set of photos) such as 404, 408, and 410 represent exemplary hotspots (i.e. walk spots). The region map shows multiple hotspots/markers (i.e. first WS, second WS, etc.). Each marker/hotspot/location comprises at least one photograph (but could be a cluster of photos) associated with that location.);
(b) interacting with a first user, such interacting with the first user including performing processing to guide the first user through the photo walk (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 20, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including displaying the photo walk on a display of a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user device (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 21, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including prompting the user to submit credentials to access the photo walk (Kesar [0037] discloses the user of client device 201 may have an account with the image hosting provider 230 and login with the user account to access photographs, which may comprise publicly shared photographs, as well as privately shared photographs of friends on the image hosting service.).
As to claim 22, Kesar teaches the performing processing to generate a photo walk includes interacting with existing map data (Kesar [0048] discloses The map may be retrieved from a third party map data provider or from preexisting map data stored on the computing device running the hotspot discovery application suitable for use by the application.).
As to claim 23, Kesar teaches the interacting with existing map data includes using distance data from existing map data, and the existing map data includes data from Google Maps (Kesar [0048] discloses the interacting with existing map data includes using distance data from existing map data, and the existing map data includes data from Google Maps.).
As to claim 24, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including allowing access, to the photo walk, by the first user based on at least one of a friend association and a group association, and restricting access to others based on the at least one of a friend association and a group association (Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location.).
As to claim 25, Kesar teaches the performing processing, performed by the CP, including interacting with a second user to create the photo walk, including using existing map data to create the photo walk (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 26, Kesar teaches the performing processing, performed by the CP, including interacting with the second user to add further walk spots to the photo walk (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 27, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including presenting a further walk spot, in the photo walk, to the first user based on popularity of the further walk spot (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 28, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including presenting the photo walk in conjunction with performing a filtering process, the filtering process being based on popularity of a first photo, of the first set of photos (Kesar [0077] discloses Certain portions of region map 1002 are colored to indicate a cluster of photographs and their degree of interestingness or popularity. Hotspot regions 1004 include 1004a, 1004b, 1004c, and 1004d. The hotspot regions 1004 represent some of the "hot zones" on the map. These "hot zones" may indicate a higher concentration of the most "interesting" pictures, which would potentially be more attractive areas for photography or sightseeing as compared to the zones of lighter or "cooler" color/shading.).
As to claim 30, Kesar teaches the performing processing, performed by the CP, including interacting with a second user to create the photo walk; and interacting with the second user to input a command to publish the photo walk, and in response to such command to publish, the CP publishing the photo walk, so as to allow access, to the photo walk, by the first user (Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8. Kesar [0060] discloses A given photo identifier represents photographs uploaded (i.e. publishing) by users, e.g., to an online photograph collection.).
As to claim 31, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including presenting the first set of photos, to the first user, upon the first user being detected as being at the first WS (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 32, Kesar teaches the presenting the first set of photos, to the first user, including presenting respective thumbnails of each of the first set of photos, to the first user (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 33, Kesar teaches the interacting with the first user including presenting the first user with information related to the photo walk including general information linked to the photo walk; and information related to at least one business associated with the photo walk (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 35, Kesar teaches the performing processing, performed by the CP, including interacting with a second user to create the photo walk, including: providing access, by the second user, to photos of the first user in the second user creating the photo walk; and providing access, to the first user, for the first user to add further photos to the photo walk of the second user (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application (i.e. GUI) based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
As to claim 36, Kesar teaches the photo walk including additional types of media in addition of photos, and the additional types of media including at least one of video media, podcasts, and reality experience media (REM) (Kesar [0031] discloses video media).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesar et al (US 20130332068 A1) in view of Mahar et al (US 20170134595 A1).
As to claim 29, Kesar fails to teach the popularity of the first photo, of the first set of photos including at least one of: popularity by user "likes" of the first photo; and popularity of downloads of the first photo.
However, Mahar teaches the popularity of the first photo, of the first set of photos including at least one of: popularity by user "likes" of the first photo; and popularity of downloads of the first photo (Mahar [0006], [0044], [0063], and [0093] discloses downloading images from an album in an image sharing capacity.).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the teachings of Kesar to incorporate the AUTOMATED IMAGE ALBUM as taught by Mahar for the purpose of easily viewing photographs from an event and either generate albums or print individual photographs from the event for their own use or for gifting and/or other purposes.
As to claim 34, Mahar teaches the interacting with the first user including providing the first user with the ability to download the photo walk (Mahar [0006], [0044], [0063], and [0093] discloses downloading images from an album in an image sharing capacity.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, claim 19 recites “(a) identifying a segmented area (SA); (b) associating artwork with the SA; (c) generating an associatable virtual asset (AVA) that is associated with both the segmented area and the artwork; (d) outputting the artwork to a third party to tokenize the artwork; (e) inputting second data from the third party, and the second data including a token that is associated with the artwork; (f) associating the token to the AVA so as to generate a tokenized virtual asset; and (g) saving the tokenized virtual asset to a data table, so as to update the data table, and the tokenized virtual asset including ownership data that represents an ownership interest of the tokenized virtual asset”, which is not found in the cited prior art.
Claim 37 is allowed, Claim 37 recites ““(a) identifying a segmented area (SA); (b) associating artwork with the SA; (c) generating an associatable virtual asset (AVA) that is associated with both the segmented area and the artwork; (d) outputting the artwork to a third party to tokenize the artwork; (e) inputting second data from the third party, and the second data including a token that is associated with the artwork; (f) associating the token to the AVA so as to generate a tokenized virtual asset; and (g) saving the tokenized virtual asset to a data table, so as to update the data table, and the tokenized virtual asset including ownership data that represents an ownership interest of the tokenized virtual asset”, which is not found in the cited prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants Argument:
Kesar fails to teach processing to "guide" the user through a series of hotspots. Kesar fails to teach processing that involves any interrelationship between different photographic hotspots that may by interpreted to teach the recited processing - to guide the user through the recited photo walk.
Examiner Response:
With respect to the above argument, the argument is not correct and unpersuasive because Kesar teaches interacting with a first user, such interacting with the first user including performing processing to guide the first user through the photo walk (Kesar [0047] discloses a hotspot application which can be accessed by multiple users. Kesar [0049] discloses the photographs may be retrieved from social networking sites where only certain photographs are available to the user of the photograph hotspot discovery application based on the user's social network connections. Therefore, the hotspot application allows additional users/social connections to access hotspots (i.e. walk spots) comprising photographs (i.e. photo walk) associated with a desired geographical location. The region map acts a “guide” to allow users to trace the path previous users took (i.e. navigate/walk to the location of where phots were taken), providing a virtual tour. See [0047]-[0068] and Figures 4A-8.) (EXAMINER NOTE: The claim does not specify that the first user is at the location physically, and thus could be there virtually. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location. Kesar Figure 5A and [0060] discloses the user is able to select (i.e. virtually locate) markers (i.e. first walk spot, second walk spot, etc.) on a map and zoom in, providing additional photos and information for that location.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JARED M BIBBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161