DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoushtari et al. (US 2020/0326777).
As to claims 1, 6, 8 and 16, Shoushtari discloses a head-mounted device (Figs. 3A, (200A) and 3C, (200B) [0038, 0039] comprising a head-mounted frame [0039], wherein the head-mounted frame comprises a gaze tracking system [0038] comprising a controller (Fig. 3A, (260) [0040]; a lens with a reflective surface (Fig. 3A, (250) [0039]; a camera (Fig. 3A, 12B, 12C (240, 1540)[0039], with a field of view that includes at least a portion of a surface of an eye (Figs. 12B, 12C, (Vj)[0064-0068](field of view of camera clearly includes a portion of a surface of the eye (1592) and at least a portion of the reflective surface of the lens that includes at least a portion of a reflection of the eye (Figs. 12B, 12C. (rj, pj)[0069-0073](field of view of camera clearly includes at least a portion of the reflective surface of the lens (1550); one or more light sources (Figs. 3A, (230)[0038, 0039], wherein the one or more light sources are configured to emit light that reaches the surface of the eye [0039]; and wherein the controller is configured to cause the camera to capture one or more images while the one or more light sources emit light [0050, 0053, 0069], wherein the controller is further configured to perform a gaze tracking technique using the one or more captured images (see abstract, 0043, 0044].
As to claims 2, 9, and 17, further, Shoushtari discloses the light emitted from the one or more light sources is infrared light [0034] and wherein the reflective surface is a hot mirror [0033].
As to claims 7, 13 and 20, Shoushtari, further, discloses a further camera [0040, 0041, 0082], with a further field of view that includes at least a further portion of the surface of the eye [0041] and at least a further portion of the reflective surface of the lens that includes at least a further portion of the reflection of the eye [0082]; and wherein the controller is further configured to cause the further camera to capture a further one or more images while the one or more light sources emit light [0040, 0041, 0043, 0082].
As to claim 14, Shoushtari discloses, further, the head-mounted device is a headset-type device [0028].
As to claim 15, further, Shoushtari, discloses the head-mounted device is a glasses-type device [0028].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoushtari et al. (US 2020/0326777) in view of Lamvik et al. (US 2004/0227703).
As to claims 3, 10 and 18, further, Shoushtari does not specifically disclose the camera comprises an anamorphic lens.
Lamvik discloses the camera comprises an anamorphic lens [0058]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the anamorphic lens, as taught by Lamvik, in Shoushtari, in order to provide a full image on a continuous display of varying pixel sizes [0013].
7. Claim(s) 4, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoushtari et al. (US 2020/0326777) in view of Sharma et al. (US. Patent 11,237,628).
As to claims 4, 11, and 19, further, Shoushtari does not specifically disclose the lens is curved.
Sharma discloses a hot mirror having a curved surface (col. 23, line 53-col. 24, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the curved lens, as taught by Sharma, in Shoushtari, in order to obtain a more precise glint location determination and more accurate eye tracking (col. 23, lines 63-65).
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoushtari et al. (US 2020/0326777) in view of Torkos et al. (US 2019/0354175).
As to claims 5 and 12, further, Shoushtari does not specifically disclose an eye enrollment technique for gaze tracking using the one or more captured images.
Torkos discloses an eye enrollment technique for gaze tracking using the one or more captured images[0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the curved lens, as taught by Torkos, in Shoushtari, since eye enrollment procedure is largely automated and can be completed quickly [0019].
/RICARDO OSORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621