DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgi, US 2014/0093850 A1, in view of Cohan, US 2148534.
Georgi discloses a motivation bracelet (12) with a plurality of removeable, slideable charms (22). The bracelet includes a removable clasp, buckle, latch, tie, magnetic or other suitable closure (20, [0055])
“[0055] It is noted other suitable means known to one skilled in the art for securing the distal ends 14, 16 to form a loop may be employed and are anticipated. For example the clasp 20 may instead be a buckle, latch, tie, magnetic closure, or other suitable closure.”
The removable closure parts allow the user to add and remove charms to show different symbols of achievement ([0056]). Georgi discloses that the inner circumference of the charms is smaller than the outer circumference of the clasp on the ends of the bracelet, i.e., in order to remove the charms or place a new charm onto the band, the first and/or second members must be removed from the band.
“[0056] In use, one or both distal ends 14, 16 of the band 12 can be removed from the clasp 20 such that the user can slidably and removably engage one or a plurality of charms 22 thereon to provide a motivator and/or reminder of accomplishments towards a personal goal. Personalized motivation is provided through various related indicia disposed on the plurality of charms 22 which the user engages to the band 12 sequentially as they progress or complete their individual related tasks toward a goal.”
Georgi fails to discloses the magnetic clasp having a first member configured to be removably attachable to the bracelet via a first lever. Or, a second member configured to be removably attachable to the bracelet via a second lever. The first and second levers are selectively actuatable between an open and closed configuration. However, Cohan discloses a bracelet band with a removable clasp (figure 1).
Cohan discloses the first (10) and second (11) members are removably attachable to the ends of the band (12). The first and second members having complementary engagement areas (17, 43). The use of actuatable levers (22-27, 30-31) for locking the members to the ends of the bracelet band are pivotable from an open position (figure 4), which allows the placement of or removal of the member from the band, to a closed position (figure 3), which locks the members to the ends of the bracelet band (12, 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filling date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Georgi’s removable members to include an actuatable lever to provide the wearer with an easier device for applying or removing the members from the ends of the bracelet band.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgi, US 2014/0093850 A1, in view of Cohan, US 2148534 and further in view of Mendosa, US 1763100.
Georgi discloses a motivation bracelet (12) with a plurality of removeable, slideable charms (22). The bracelet includes a removable clasp, buckle, latch, tie, magnetic or other suitable closure (20, [0055]).
“[0055] It is noted other suitable means known to one skilled in the art for securing the distal ends 14, 16 to form a loop may be employed and are anticipated. For example the clasp 20 may instead be a buckle, latch, tie, magnetic closure, or other suitable closure.”
The removable closure parts allow the user to add and remove charms to show different symbols of achievement ([0056]). Georgi discloses that the inner circumference of the charms is smaller than the outer circumference of the clasp on the ends of the bracelet, i.e., in order to remove the charms or place a new charm onto the band, the first and/or second members must be removed from the band.
“[0056] In use, one or both distal ends 14, 16 of the band 12 can be removed from the clasp 20 such that the user can slidably and removably engage one or a plurality of charms 22 thereon to provide a motivator and/or reminder of accomplishments towards a personal goal. Personalized motivation is provided through various related indicia disposed on the plurality of charms 22 which the user engages to the band 12 sequentially as they progress or complete their individual related tasks toward a goal.”
Georgi fails to discloses the magnetic clasp having a first member configured to be removably attachable to the bracelet via a first lever. Or, a second member configured to be removably attachable to the bracelet via a second lever. The first and second levers are selectively actuatable between an open and closed configuration. However, Cohan discloses a bracelet band with a removable clasp (figure 1).
Cohan discloses the first (10) and second (11) members are removably attachable to the ends of the band (12). The first and second members having complementary engagement areas (17, 43). The use of actuatable levers (22-27, 30-31) for locking the members to the ends of the bracelet band are pivotable from an open position (figure 4), which allows the placement of or removal of the member from the band, to a closed position (figure 3), which locks the members to the ends of the bracelet band (12, 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filling date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Georgi’s removable members to include an actuatable lever to provide the wearer with an easier device for applying or removing the members from the ends of the bracelet band.
Georgi in view of Cohan fail to disclose the first and second members with a plurality of ridges in a bracelet cavity of the members. However, Mendosa discloses the use of a bracelet cavity (at 6c in figure 5) in a removable clasp member to include a plurality of ridges (11c) to increase the reliability of the mechanical coupling between the ends of the bracelet band and the members.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add ridges to Cohan’s clasp member cavities to improve the reliability of the mechanical coupling between the ends of the bracelet band and the members.
Regarding claim 3, Georgi discloses that the inner circumference of the charms is smaller than the outer circumference of the clasp on the ends of the bracelet ([0056]), i.e., in order to remove the charms or place a new charm onto the band, the first and/or second members must be removed from the band. Therefore, the outer circumference of the clasp members are larger than the slider charms, i.e., it prevents them from sliding off the bracelet band.
“[0056] In use, one or both distal ends 14, 16 of the band 12 can be removed from the clasp 20 such that the user can slidably and removably engage one or a plurality of charms 22 thereon to provide a motivator and/or reminder of accomplishments towards a personal goal. Personalized motivation is provided through various related indicia disposed on the plurality of charms 22 which the user engages to the band 12 sequentially as they progress or complete their individual related tasks toward a goal.”
Regarding claim 4, Georgi discloses the bracelet is a band (12, [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Georgi in view of Cohan and Mendosa discloses the method steps of attaching and removing the first and second members from the bracelet band by actuating a lever arm of the lever so that the lever arm is substantially perpendicular to the engagement areas of the first and second members (24, figure 4 of Cohan and figures 1-5 of Mendosa shows the lever in an open position that is substantially perpendicular to the engagement areas).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12329252. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application anticipate the claims of the patent by claiming broader common subject matter: bracelet, slider charm, magnetic clasp having a first and second member with engagement areas and levers.
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677