DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 15 recites the limitation “a first see-through display supported by the frame first side and a second see-through assembly”. It is unclear if/what differences exist between a see-through display and a see-through assembly. Furthermore, the specification does not recite any see-through assembly. For the purposes of compact prosecution, claim 5 and 15 are taken as reciting “a first see-through display supported by the frame first side and a second see-through display”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20160204839; hereinafter Liu) in view of Cil et al. (E. Cil and S. Dumanli, "The Design of a Reconfigurable Slot Antenna Printed on Glass for Wearable Applications," in IEEE Access, vol. 8, pp. 95417-95423, 2020, doi: 10.1109/ACCESS.2020.2996020; hereinafter Cil).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses “An eyewear, comprising: a frame (fig. 2); an optical assembly (204) supported by the frame; and an antenna coupled to the frame (fig. 4B) and configured to communicate wireless signals at a frequency, wherein the antenna comprises a first slot antenna (104) and a second slot antenna (108) each configured to generate a respective radiating E-field, wherein the first slot antenna has a first inner ring and a first outer ring encompassing the first inner ring (left frame rings in fig. 4B), and the second slot antenna has a second inner ring and a second outer ring encompassing the second inner ring (right frame rings in fig 4B), wherein the first slot antenna and the second slot antenna each have a respective antenna feed (106) and a ring-short (212) configured to create the respective radiating E-fields, and wherein a segment (124) is interposed between the first outer ring and the second outer ring”.
Liu does not disclose the first and second antenna “generate a respective radiating E-field in a direction that is orthogonal to the other” or “E-fields that are orthogonal to each other”.
However, Cil teaches slot antennas in an eyewear that “generate a respective radiating E-field in a direction that is orthogonal to the other” and “E-fields that are orthogonal to each other” in fig. 2a and 2b as well as col. 1 pg. 95418 “Two states of switches lead to two different L-shaped slots with unequal legs that are excited by the same coplanar waveguide (CPW) feed. Since the L-shaped slots are oriented in different directions, two patterns that are polarized in perpendicular to each other are created”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear with slot antennas in an eyewear that “generate a respective radiating E-field in a direction that is orthogonal to the other” and “E-fields that are orthogonal to each other”, in order to improve antenna reception and transmission.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 1 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the segment has a width that is less than a width of the first outer ring and the second outer ring”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the segment has a width that is less than a width of the first outer ring and the second outer ring (eye frame connection segment in fig. 2b is smaller in width than the rings of the slot antenna)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear wherein the segment has a width that is less than a width of the first outer ring and the second outer ring, in order to reduce the size of the eyewear and create less interference with the antenna.
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 2 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the segment form a ground plane”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the segment form a ground plane (see “ground plane” in fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear wherein the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the segment form a ground plane, in order to improve transmission and reception of the antenna.
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses “The eyewear of claim 1, wherein the frame has a first side and an opposing second side with a bridge extending between the first side and the second side, wherein the segment is disposed in the bridge (fig. 4B)”.
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses “The eyewear of claim 4, wherein the optical assembly comprises a first see-through display (204) supported by the frame first side and a second see-through display (204) supported by the frame second side”.
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 1 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment and the antenna feed of the second slot antenna is offset 180 degrees from the segment”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment and the antenna feed of the second slot antenna is offset 180 degrees from the segment (see feed in fig. 2B with Y-branch)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment and the antenna feed of the second slot antenna is offset 180 degrees from the segment, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses “The eyewear of claim 1, wherein the ring-short of the first slot antenna is disposed proximate the segment (fig. 4B)”.
Liu does not disclose “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment”.
However, Cil teaches “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment (fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear wherein the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses “The eyewear of claim 7, wherein the ring-short of the first slot antenna is disposed proximate the segment (fig. 4B)”.
Liu does not disclose “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment”.
However, Cil teaches “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment (fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear wherein the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 1 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the ring-short of the first slot antenna”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the ring-short of the first slot antenna (fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s eyewear wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the ring-short of the first slot antenna, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses “A method of using eyewear, the eyewear having a frame (fig. 2); an optical assembly (204) supported by the frame; and an antenna coupled to the frame (fig. 4B) and configured to communicate wireless signals at a frequency, wherein the antenna comprises a first slot antenna (104) and a second slot antenna (108) each configured to generate a respective radiating E-field, wherein the first slot antenna has a first inner ring and a first outer ring encompassing the first inner ring (left frame rings in fig. 4B), and the second slot antenna has a second inner ring and a second outer ring encompassing the second inner ring (right frame rings in fig 4B), wherein the first slot antenna and the second slot antenna each have a respective antenna feed (106) and a ring-short (212) configured to create the respective radiating E-fields, and wherein a segment (124) is interposed between the first outer ring and the second outer ring”.
Liu does not disclose the first and second antenna “generate a respective radiating E-field in a direction that is orthogonal to the other”, “E-fields that are orthogonal to each other”, or “the method comprising: the first slot antenna radiating a first E-field in a first direction; and the second slot antenna radiating a second E-field in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction”.
However, Cil teaches slot antennas in an eyewear that “generate a respective radiating E-field in a direction that is orthogonal to the other”, “E-fields that are orthogonal to each other”, and “the method comprising: the first slot antenna radiating a first E-field in a first direction; and the second slot antenna radiating a second E-field in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction” in fig. 2a and 2b as well as col. 1 pg. 95418 “Two states of switches lead to two different L-shaped slots with unequal legs that are excited by the same coplanar waveguide (CPW) feed. Since the L-shaped slots are oriented in different directions, two patterns that are polarized in perpendicular to each other are created”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method with slot antennas in an eyewear that generate a respective radiating E-field in a direction that is orthogonal to the other, E-fields that are orthogonal to each other, and the method comprising: the first slot antenna radiating a first E-field in a first direction; and the second slot antenna radiating a second E-field in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, in order to improve antenna reception and transmission.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the method of claim 11 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the segment has a width that is less than a width of the first outer ring and the second outer ring”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the segment has a width that is less than a width of the first outer ring and the second outer ring (eye frame connection segment in fig. 2b is smaller in width than the rings of the slot antenna)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method wherein the segment has a width that is less than a width of the first outer ring and the second outer ring, in order to reduce the size of the eyewear and create less interference with the antenna.
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses the method of claim 12 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the segment form a ground plane”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the segment form a ground plane (see “ground plane” in fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method wherein the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the segment form a ground plane, in order to improve transmission and reception of the antenna.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses “The method of claim 11, wherein the frame has a first side and an opposing second side with a bridge extending between the first side and the second side, wherein the segment is disposed in the bridge (fig. 4B)”.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses “The method of claim 14, wherein the optical assembly comprises a first see-through display (204) supported by the frame first side and a second see-through display (204) supported by the frame second side”.
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses the method of claim 11 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment and the antenna feed of the second slot antenna is offset 180 degrees from the segment”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment and the antenna feed of the second slot antenna is offset 180 degrees from the segment (see feed in fig. 2B with Y-branch)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment and the antenna feed of the second slot antenna is offset 180 degrees from the segment, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses “The eyewear of claim 11, wherein the ring-short of the first slot antenna is disposed proximate the segment (fig. 4B)”.
Liu does not disclose “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment”.
However, Cil teaches “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment (fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method wherein the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses “The eyewear of claim 17, wherein the ring-short of the first slot antenna is disposed proximate the segment (fig. 4B)”.
Liu does not disclose “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment”.
However, Cil teaches “the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment (fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method wherein the ring-short of the second slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the segment, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 11 as shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the ring-short of the first slot antenna”.
However, Cil teaches “wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the ring-short of the first slot antenna (fig. 2b)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cil and make Liu’s method wherein the antenna feed of the first slot antenna is offset 90 degrees with respect to the ring-short of the first slot antenna, in order to feed the antennas at orthogonal planes.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Cil, further in view of Jain et al. (US20160006110; hereinafter Jain).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 1 shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “further comprising an inductor-capacitor (LC) circuit coupled between the first inner ring and the first outer ring”.
However, Jain teaches “further comprising an inductor-capacitor (LC) circuit (1101) coupled between the first inner ring and the first outer ring (fig. 11)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jain and make Liu’s eyewear further comprising an inductor-capacitor (LC) circuit coupled between the first inner ring and the first outer ring, in order to make the antenna more frequency selective.
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses the eyewear of claim 11 shown previously.
Liu does not disclose “further comprising an inductor-capacitor (LC) circuit coupled between the first inner ring and the first outer ring”.
However, Jain teaches “further comprising an inductor-capacitor (LC) circuit (1101) coupled between the first inner ring and the first outer ring (fig. 11)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jain and make Liu’s method further comprising an inductor-capacitor (LC) circuit coupled between the first inner ring and the first outer ring, in order to make the antenna more frequency selective.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845