DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heaven et al (US Patent 5636126).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 11, Heaven et al teach (Figs. 1-9) a measurement apparatus, method and a non-transitory computer-readable recoding medium having stored therein a measurement program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: a processor configured to: collect, from a detection device (30), a detection profile (high profile see abstract) including a plurality of detection values related to a thickness or a basis weight (caliper or basis weight) of a measurement object that is to be conveyed and that is in a form of a sheet (see figure 1); and perform smoothing, by using a predetermined filter (49), on the plurality of detection values included in the detection profile in a width direction that is perpendicular to a conveyance direction of the measurement object, and that outputs a first smoothing profile (see figure 3, w(n)).
Regarding claim 2, Heaven et al teach (see figure 3) the processor is configured to perform smoothing, in the conveyance direction by using the predetermined filter, on the plurality of detection values that are included in the first smoothing profile and that have been subjected to the smoothing in the width direction, and that outputs a second smoothing profile (h(n)).
Regarding claim 3, Heaven et al teach the predetermined filter is a moving average filter. That is, a rectangular window is a boxcar moving average.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaven et al in view of Morioka et al (US 20130342641).
Regarding claims 4-8, Heaven et al teach the invention set forth above. Heaven et al do not teach the predetermined filter is median filter, Gaussian filter, moving average or median filter with threshold. Morioka et al teach ([0157]) the claimed filter types. It is well known to use different types of filters. It would be obvious at the time of invention to use Gaussian filter to preserve the edge or use median filter to reduce errors.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heaven et al (US Patent 5636126) in view of Lee (US Patent 11826773).
Regarding claim 9, Heaven et al teach the invention set forth above. Heaven et al do not teach the detection device is installed in a coating line for coating the measurement object, and calculates the thickness or the basis weight of the measurement object at each detection position by using a transmittance intensity that has been detected by irradiating the measurement object with @-rays, X-rays, or infrared light. Lee teaches (Figs. 1-7) the detection device is installed in a coating line for coating (see figure 1 and associated paragraphs in Lee regarding coating of metals) the measurement object, and calculates the thickness or the basis weight of the measurement object at each detection position by using a transmittance intensity that has been detected by irradiating the measurement object with beta-rays (see figure 1b, associated radiation source emitting beta source 74), X-rays, or infrared light. It would have been obvious at the time of invention to implement the detection device in a coating line for coating the measurement object and calculates the thickness or the basis weight of the measurement object at each detection position by using transmittance intensity that has been detected by irradiating the measurement object such that a known technique used to improve similar device in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Conclusion
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK