DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the correspondence filed on 05/23/2025.
Claims 1-20 are considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS received on 05/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, being reviewed and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, and 17- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim):
Regarding Claim 1, Xu teaches a method of video processing (a method of video processing [0005]),
comprising: constructing, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one block vector (BV) candidate list for the video unit (constructing a default BV list for the chroma block during a conversion between the current video block and a bitstream [0008]; [0219]); and
performing the conversion based on the chroma prediction of the video unit (perform the bitstream conversion based on the derived chroma BV [0008]; [0303]).
Xu does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
utilizing one or more BVs in the at least one BV candidate list for a chroma prediction of the video unit (using BVs from the list to derive the chroma blocks BV [0199]- [0200]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu to add the teachings of Kim as disclosed above to improve efficiency of encoding and decoding (Kim [0002]).
Regarding Claim 4, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein one or more default BVs in the at least one BV candidate list are used for the chroma prediction of the video unit (the use of a default BVs from the list to predict the chroma block [0214]; [0219]).
Regarding Claim 9, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein one or more BVs of the at least one BV candidate list used for chroma component are derived from luma component (deriving the chroma BV from the luma component [0051]; [0283]- [0285]).
Regarding Claim 17, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (encoding the video into the bitstream [0008]; [0303]).
Regarding Claim 18, Xu teaches an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor (a video processing apparatus comprising a processor and memory configured by methods [0237]), cause the processor to perform:
construct, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one block vector (BV) candidate list for the video unit (constructing a default BV list for the chroma block during a conversion between the current video block and a bitstream [0008]; [0219]); and
perform the conversion based on the chroma prediction of the video unit (perform the bitstream conversion based on the derived chroma BV [0008]; [0303]).
Xu does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches utilize one or more BVs in the at least one BV candidate list for a chroma prediction of the video unit (using BVs from the list to derive the chroma blocks BV [0199]- [0200]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu to add the teachings of Kim as disclosed above to improve efficiency of encoding and decoding (Kim [0002]).
Regarding Claim 19, Xu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (CRM that causes a processor to implement methods [0306]) that cause a processor to perform:
construct, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one block vector (BV) candidate list for the video unit (constructing a default BV list for the chroma block during a conversion between the current video block and a bitstream [0008]; [0219]); and
perform the conversion based on the chroma prediction of the video unit (perform the bitstream conversion based on the derived chroma BV [0008]; [0303]).
Xu does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches utilize one or more BVs in the at least one BV candidate list for a chroma prediction of the video unit (using BVs from the list to derive the chroma blocks BV [0199]- [0200]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu to add the teachings of Kim as disclosed above to improve efficiency of encoding and decoding (Kim [0002]).
Regarding Claim 20, Xu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing ([0416]- [0417]; [0420] a non-transitory CRM storing the video data), wherein the method comprises:
constructing at least one block vector (BV) candidate list for a video unit of the video (constructing a default BV list for the chroma block during a conversion between the current video block and a bitstream [0008]; [0219]); and
generating the bitstream based on the chroma prediction of the video unit (generating the bitstream from the chroma prediction [0303]).
Xu does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches utilizing one or more BVs in the at least one BV candidate list for a chroma prediction of the video unit (using BVs from the list to derive the chroma blocks BV [0199]- [0200]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu to add the teachings of Kim as disclosed above to improve efficiency of encoding and decoding (Kim [0002]).
Claims 2- 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Ying Chen (US 20150195559 A1) (hereinafter Chen):
Regarding Claim 2, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1; however does not explicitly teach wherein different chroma components share a same BV in the at least one BV candidate list.
However, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein different chroma components share a same BV in the at least one BV candidate list (using one BV to prediction both chroma components [0031]; [0033]; [0111]; [0137]; [0148]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Chen as disclosed above to improve block coding prediction (Chen [0136]).
Regarding Claim 3, Xu in view of Kim and Chen teach the method of claim 2. Chen further teaches wherein the different chroma components comprise Cb and Cr components (the chroma components comprises Cb and Cr [0033]; [0057]; [0065]; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Chen as disclosed above to improve block coding prediction (Chen [0136]).
Claims 5- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Kai Zhang (US 20150264396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang):
Regarding Claim 5, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1; however do not explicitly teach wherein one or more BVs in the at least one BV candidate list are derived from a chroma component.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein one or more BVs in the at least one BV candidate list are derived from a chroma component (BVs are derived from chroma components [0009]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Zhang as disclosed above to improve the performance of block coding (Zhang [0005]).
Regarding Claim 6, Xu in view of Kim and Zhang teach the method of claim 5. Kim further teaches wherein one or more BVs of spatial neighboring video units of the video unit are used for the chroma prediction of the video unit (using BVs of neighboring block for predicting the chroma block [0086]; [0199]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu to add the teachings of Kim as disclosed above to improve efficiency of encoding and decoding (Kim [0002]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) in view of Kai Zhang (US 20150264396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Weijia Zhu (WO 2020223612 A1) (hereinafter Zhu):
Regarding Claim 7, Xu in view of Kim and Zhang teach the method of claim 5; however do not explicitly teach wherein a history based block vector prediction (HBVP) table is constructed for chroma component.
However, in an analogous art, Zhu teaches wherein a history based block vector prediction (HBVP) table is constructed for chroma component (creating an HBVP for the chroma components [0112]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim and Zhang to further add the teachings of Zhu as disclosed above to improve the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video or images (Zhu [0035]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) in view of Kai Zhang (US 20150264396 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Xiaozhong Xu (US 20190246128 A1) (hereinafter Xiaozhong):
Regarding Claim 8, Xu in view of Kim and Zhang teach the method of claim 5; however do not explicitly teach when neighboring video units are coded using a target mode, one or more derived BVs from the neighboring video units are used for the chroma prediction.
However, in an analogous art, Xiaozhong teaches when neighboring video units are coded using a target mode, one or more derived BVs from the neighboring video units are used for the chroma prediction. (deriving one or more block vectors from neighboring chrome unit based on the type mode used [0120]; [0110]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim and Zhang to further add the teachings of Xiaozhong as disclosed above to improve video compression (Xiaozhong [0035]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Bin Li (US 20160219298 A1) (hereinafter Li):
Regarding Claim 10, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1; however do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more BVs are added to the at least one BV candidate list with different priorities.
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the one or more BVs are added to the at least one BV candidate list with different priorities (BVs are added to the list according to BV priority [0240]- [0242]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Li as disclosed above to improve the performance of the rate-distortion (Li [0026]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Chun-Chia Chen (US 20200068218 A1) (hereinafter Chen):
Regarding Claim 11, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1; however do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one BV candidate list is reordered.
However, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the at least one BV candidate list is reordered (recording the candidate list [0030]; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Chen as disclosed above to improve coding efficiency (Chen [0086]).
Claims 12- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Xiaozhong Xu (US 20200112727 A1) (hereinafter Xiaozhong):
Regarding Claim 12, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1; however do not explicitly teach wherein a BV offset is added to the one or more BVs used for the chroma prediction.
However, in an analogous art, Xiaozhong teaches wherein a BV offset is added to the one or more BVs used for the chroma prediction (The offset is determined and added to the BVs for the predication [0190]; [0111]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Xiaozhong as disclosed above to improve the efficiency of BV prediction (Xiaozhong [0142]).
Regarding Claim 13, Xu in view of Kim and Xiaozhong teach the method of claim 12; however do not explicitly teach wherein the BV offset or an index indicating the BV offset in an offset set is indicated in the bitstream, or wherein the BV offset or the index indicating the BV offset in the offset set is derived.
However, in an analogous art, Xiaozhong teaches wherein the BV offset or an index indicating the BV offset in an offset set is indicated in the bitstream, or wherein the BV offset or the index indicating the BV offset in the offset set is derived (the offset is indicated in the bitstream [0012] ; [0108]; [0111]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Xiaozhong as disclosed above to improve the efficiency of BV prediction (Xiaozhong [0142]).
Claims 14- 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Kai Zhang (US 20210377561 A1) (hereinafter Zhang):
Regarding Claim 14, Xu in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1; however do not explicitly teach wherein the chroma prediction derived using the one or more BVs is combined with other coding method.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the chroma prediction derived using the one or more BVs is combined with other coding method (using multiple prediction modes to derive the block vector [0398]; [0399]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Zhang as disclosed above to improve the compression performance (Zhang [0062]).
Regarding Claim 15, Xu in view of Kim and Zhang teach the method of claim 14. Zhang further teaches wherein the other coding method comprises at least one of a traditional intra prediction mode, a cross-component linear mode (CCLM), a multi-mode linear mode (MMLM), a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), a general linear mode (GLM), a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD), a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD), or an Intra TMP (traditional intra prediction mode [0009]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Zhang as disclosed above to improve the compression performance (Zhang [0062]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jizheng Xu (US 20210021811 A1) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Jae Il Kim (KR 20210000635 A) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Krishnakanth Rapaka (US 20170034526 A1) (hereinafter Rapaka):
Regarding Claim 16, Xu in view of Kim and Zhang teach the method of claim 1; however do not explicitly teach wherein a chroma BV of the video unit is used for following video units, and/or wherein when IBC is used for the chroma prediction, a target coding tool is allowed to be used.
However, in an analogous art, Rapaka teaches wherein a chroma BV of the video unit is used for following video units, and/or wherein when IBC is used for the chroma prediction, a target coding tool is allowed to be used (IBC mode enables coding tools to be used [0096]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim to further add the teachings of Rapaka as disclosed above to improve coding efficiency (Rapaka [0004]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486