SUPPLEMENTAL DETAILED ACTION
The office action supersedes the office action filed 6/30/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al, WO 0171648.
Scott et al disclose a piezoelectric identification device comprising: a sensor array 750, the sensor array 750 is a multi-layer structure that includes a piezoelectric layer 752 sandwiched by two conductor grids 754 and 756; the conductor grids 754 and 756 each consist of rows of parallel electrically conductive lines; a shield layer 758 can be added to one side where a finger is placed to provide a protective coating; a foam substrate 760 can be used as a support; the piezo layer 752 is a polarized fluoropolymer film, such as, polyvinylidene fluoride (PNDF) film or its copolymers; the conductor grids 754 and 756 are silver ink electrodes printed on opposite sides of the PNDF film 752; the shield layer 758 is made of urethane or other plastic; the foam substrate 760 is made of TEFLON; an adhesive 762, 764 holds shield layer 758 and foam substrate 760 on opposite sides of the printed PNDF film 752; the PNDF film, including the printed electrodes. (see Fig. 7B; page 9, line 25 to page 10).
The invention provides a device, system, and method for obtaining biometric data from a biological object; the biological object (e.g., a finger or hand) is placed proximate to a piezoelectric sensor, and the sensor is operated to obtain an output; the output is then processed to produce the biometric data; the piezoelectric sensor array is used to obtain the biometric data; a multi-layer sensor array structure having a PNDF of a piezo ceramic layer in between two conductor grids orthogonal to one another is used to obtain the data; the piezoelectric sensor and a processor, coupled to the sensor, that receives an input from the sensor and produces biometric data; these devices and/or systems according to embodiments of the invention are capable operating in one or more modes to obtain a variety of biometric data; a single pixel or a group of pixels can then be detected and readout to a memory; the system can be used to recognize and or verify the identity of individuals.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 18, the sensor array of Fig. 7B disclose a conductor grid 754. Conductor grids can function as display within the realm of electronic device to control the display of visual information. However, the Sensor of array of Fig. 7B fails to disclose a layer of display light emitting output pixels positioned below the exterior surface to display images through the exterior surface.
Scott et al disclose in Fig. 38 a wireless transceiver biometric device. This embodiment includes a display 3806 for communicating information to users.
In view of the teachings of Fig. 38, it would have been obvious to modify the conductor grid 754 of the embodiment of Fig. 7B into a layer of display for communication information to users. Integrating the conductor grid with a display layer would allow controlling how the images or information are presented. With respect to the specific type of display, such limitation is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. Therefore, to modify the embodiment of Fig. 7B as such would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the communication device is configured to authenticate a user based on the output reflected from the finger ( Fig. 23; page 24, line 12+).
Regarding claims 3, 12, Scott et al disclose a biometric capture device, a mobile biometric capture device, and a wireless transceiver biometric device that can be connected to a cell phone but fail to disclose wherein the communication device is a cell phone including the exterior surface, the layer of display light emitting output pixels, and the piezoelectric material. However, it is common practice to use cell phones as biometric readers in order to identify and verify users and/or transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan to modify the teachings of Scott et al to include a cell phone device in order to provide easy communication of the biometric data. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 4-6, 13-15, and 20 wherein the cell phone includes at least one or two of a near field communication device, a Wi-Fi access point, and a global positioning system (GPS) (par. 0216) (in addition to the rejection of claims 3 and 12 above, once the biometric device has been modified into a mobile phone, near field communication, Wi-Fi access, and GPS would be available since they are common to mobile phone devices).
Regarding claim 7-10, 16-17, with respect to specific position of the each component or the size of each component, the modified structure of embodiment Fig. 7B in view of embodiment of Fig. 38 meets the limitations as written and/or render at least obvious.
Regarding claim 19, the unique property of piezoelectric material to convert mechanical energy into electrical energy or vice versa does not require multiple layers of materials for performing such function. It would have been obvious to employ a single layer material to perform both input and output functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant that Scott fails to piezoelectric material positioned below the layer of display light emitting output pixels, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of the embodiments, such as the transceiver mobile biometric device of Fig. 34 and the sensor array of 7B, could be structured to have the piezoelectric material positioned below the layer of display light emitting output pixels, which is a common structure in the art. For instance, Small et al (US Pub. 2012/0111119) a method for sensing an input object relative to a sensing region of ultrasound sensor device where the piezoelectric material is positioned below the layer of display light emitting output pixels (see Figs. 1-3; par. 0032). With respect to the indicator lights 3404 in Fig. 34 and indicator lights 3806 of Fig. 38, these lights could be used to indicate the status of the finger scanner.
Scott operates in a plurality of modes:
A. Impedance Mode
FIG 19 illustrates the impedance of a single piezo ceramic element 200 loaded by a fingerprint valley 1706 according to an embodiment of the invention. At a frequency of about 19.8 MHz, the impedance of an element 200 loaded by a fingerprint valley is approximately 800 ohms. At a frequency of 20.2 MHz, the impedance is approximately 80,000 ohms. At a frequency of 20 MHz, the impedance is approximately 40,000 ohms. As can be seen when FIG. 19 is compared to FIG.20, both the absolute impedance of an element 200 loaded with a fingerprint valley and the change in impedance with frequency of an element 200 loaded with a fingerprint valley is significantly different from that of an element 200 loaded with a fingerprint ridge. This difference can be used to obtain an output from sensor array 1220 that can be processed by output signal processor 1240 to produce fingerprint data.
FIG 20 illustrates the impedance of a single piezo ceramic element 200 loaded by a fingerprint ridge 1704 according to an embodiment of the invention.
As can be seen in FIG. 20, at a frequency of about 19.8 MHz, the impedance of an element 200 loaded by a fingerprint ridge is approximately 2,000 ohms. At a frequency of 20.2 MHz, the impedance is approximately 40,000 ohms. At a frequency of 20 MHz, the impedance is approximately 20,000 ohms. Thus, both the absolute impedance of an element200 loaded with a fingerprint ridge and the change in impedance with frequency of an element 200 loaded with a fingerprint ridge is significantly different from that of an element 200 loaded with a fingerprint valley.
When operating in the impedance mode, identification device 1200 determines the absolute impedance an element 200 and/or the change in impedance of an element 200 with frequency to determine whether a given element 200 is loaded by a fingerprint ridge 1704 or a fingerprint valley (cavity) 1706. To obtain a measure of the impedance an element 200, input signal generator 1202 is used to produce low voltage pulses that are input to the elements of sensor array 1220 using multiplexer 1225A. The output signals obtained at multiplexer 1225B are related to the absolute impedance of the elements 200 of array 1220. These output signals are routed by switch 1250 to impedance detector 1242 to determine a measure of the absolute impedances of the elements of array 1220. To obtain a fingerprint, it is only necessary that impedance detector 1242 be able to determine whether a given element 200 is loaded by a fingerprint ridge or a fingerprint valley. These determinations of whether a particular element 200 is loaded by a fingerprint ridge or fingerprint valley can be used to generate pixel data that represents the fingerprint of finger 1702. The fingerprint is stored in memory 1270. The fingerprint can also be transmitter to other devices as described below. If the fingerprint of finger 1702 is scanned twice using two different input signal frequencies, the change in the impedances of the elements 200 with frequency can be calculated. As already described herein, the change in the impedances of the elements 200 with frequency is different depending on whether an element 200 is loaded by a fingerprint ridge or fingerprint valley. As can be seen in FIG. 12, the input signal generated by input signal generator 1202 is supplied to output signal processor 1240. Thus, output processor 1240 can determine both the frequency and the voltage of the signals being input to sensor array 1220. An impedance detector circuit (not shown) can be implemented using an op amp. The output of multiplexer 1225B is supplied to the negative port of the op amp and an amplified signal is obtained at the output port. As would be known to a person skilled in the relevant art, the positive port of the op amp is coupled to ground and a resistance is placed between the negative port and the output port of the op amp. If the amplified voltage at the output port exceeds a predetermined threshold voltage, the particular element 200 being measured is loaded by a fingerprint ridge. This is due to the fact that the absolute impedance of an element 200 loaded by a fingerprint ridge (for a given frequency) is approximately half of the impedance of an element 200 loaded by a finger print valley. Thus, the voltage of the output signal provided to the op amp from an element 200 loaded by a fingerprint ridge is approximately twice the voltage of the output signal provided to the op amp from an element 200 loaded by a fingering valley.
B. Attenuation/Voltage Mode
As stated above, device 1200 can also operate in an attenuation or voltage mode to obtain the fingerprint of finger 1702. This mode of operation is available whether sensor array 1220 is a piezo ceramic array (e.g., array 700) or a piezo film array (e.g., array 750). The attenuation mode of device 1200 is based on the principle that energy imparted to an element 200 loaded by a fingerprint ridge 1704 can be transferred to finger 1702, while energy imparted to an element 200 loaded by a fingerprint valley 1706 cannot be transferred to finger 1702. In the attenuation mode, input signal generator 1202 produces a high voltage, pulsed signal that is provided to the elements of sensor array 1220 using multiplexer 1225A. FIG. 21 illustrates a one-cycle input pulse. An input signal is typically longer than one-cycle, however. In an embodiment, an input signal is about ten-cycles long. These input signal causes the elements of the array to vibrate and produce sonic waves. These sonic waves can travel from an element through the shield layer to a fingerprint ridge 1704 above the element. These sonic waves can pass into a fingerprint ridge 1704 because the acoustic impedance of the shield layer is matched to the acoustic impedance of finger 1702. No acoustic barrier to the sonic waves is formed by the interface between a fingerprint ridge 1704 and the shield la er. The energy imparted to an element loaded by a fingerprint ridge is thus dissipated. In the case of an element loaded by a fingerprint valley, the energy imparted to an element remains trapped in the element for a longer period of time. This is because the air in the fingerprint valley acts as an acoustic barrier. After a number of cycles , the voltages of output signals obtained for the array are determined and processed to obtain the fingerprint of finger 1702. FIG.22 illustrates an example output signal. In an embodiment, since the energy imparted to an element loaded by a fingerprint ridge 1704 is dissipated more quickly that then energy imparted to an element loaded by a fingerprint valley 1706, the voltage of an output signal obtained from an element loaded by a fingerprint ridge 1704 is only about 1/10th of the voltage of the input signal. In this embodiment, the voltage of an output signal obtained from an element loaded by a fingerprint valley 1706 is about .sup. lA of the voltage of the input signal. This difference in voltages can be detected by voltage detector 1244 and processed to generate the fingerprint of finger 1702. A means for implementing voltage detector 1244 is described above. Other means will be known to a person skilled in the relevant art.
C. Doppler-Shift and Echo Modes
Identification device 1200 can be operated in at least two other modes. These modes are signal time of travel (echo) mode and Doppler-shift mode.
Echo mode can also be referred to as imaging mode. These modes are used to obtain biometric data such as bone maps, arteriole-venial maps, arteriole blood flow and capillary blood flow, as described below. Combinations of these biometrics and/or others can also be obtained. For example, a ratio of arteriole blood flow to capillary blood flow can be obtained and used to indicate the emotional state or well-being of a host.
FIG. 23 illustrates how an identification device 1200 operating in echo or Doppler-shift mode can be used to obtain biometric information according to embodiments of the invention. As described herein, a high voltage signal can be input to the elements of sensor array 1220 to produce sonic waves. These sonic waves travel through finger 1702 and are reflected by various features of finger 1702, such as, for example the bone of finger 1702, the fingernail of finger 1702, or the blood flowing in finger 1702.
Based on the known structure, as stated above (Small et al 2012/0111119), it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to modify Scott to includes a structure where a display is placed over the sensor for fingerprint scanning. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL . ST CYR
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
DS
/DANIEL ST CYR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876