DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. In response to the amendments filed 09/14/2026, no claims were amended, claims 17-19 and 37 were canceled and new claims 38-41 were added. Therefore, claims 1-16 and 38-41 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunnell (US 2022/0101710) in view of Burwinkel et al. (Burwinkel; US 2023/0404490).
For claim 21, Tunnel discloses a system for predicting falls [E.g. 0162: Use of the system of the present invention to predict a fall may occur or declare that a fall has occurred, is one simple example of the many types of physical or health related situations that may be predicted or confirmed according to the present invention. Clearly, when considered relative to health situations, it is far better to predict the occurrence of a debilitating event than to confirm that such an event has occurred; Abstract], comprising:
at least one accessory monitoring device [E.g. 0033: the event detection device 120 (see FIG. 1) comprises a height detection device disposed in a pendant, bracelet or other wearable item; 0017] comprising:
a plurality of physiological sensors, each configured to sense a respective physiological parameter of a user [E.g. 0022: physiological (or biometric) parameters may include: heart rate, blood pressure, blood type, oxygen saturation, heart rhythms, body temperature…; 0060: to more accurately determine the fallen entity's condition, the event detection device 120 may include the necessary sensors to determine one or more of the following parameters: pulse rate, blood pressure, oxygen level, alcohol level, activity level, dizziness, steps taken during a time interval, behavioral changes, gait, scent, sweat, voice, blood chemistry art rhythms, EKG, cardiac and lung sounds, weight, body mass index, caloric intake, medications taken (time of administration, dosage), etc. These sensors can be activated concurrently or in a hierarchical fashion based on results obtained from other sensors];
an accelerometer and/or gyroscope [E.g. 0036: a motion and/or gyro sensor, may detect some movement and/or movement direction that may indicate a fall is about to take place, 0084, 0145, 0006];
one or more cameras [E.g. 0061: conditions and parameters may also be captured by video and audio sensing and recording devices within the device 120, the device 150, or another component of the system, 0028]; and
a processor [Fig. 2: see CPU] configured to:
receive data from the plurality of physiological sensors, the accelerometer and/or gyroscope, and the one or more cameras [E.g. 0041-0045, 0016, 0057],
determine a fall status of the user as one of fallen, fall predicted, and no-fall, [E.g. 0145: The sensed parameters are analyzed and may indicate the subject is about to fall or has fallen. A pressure sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope and/or combination of sensors worn by the entity (components of the wearable device in one example) may provide additional indicators that such a fall is imminent or has occurred, 0059: determine the entity's condition, including but not limited to an indication that a fall has occurred or did not occur] responsive to determining the fall status as fall predicted, identify which of the respective physiological parameters deviates from a respective baseline for the user [E.g. 0193: any one or more of the sensors can be activated or awakened based on elapsed time from the immediately prior activation (e.g., periodically awakened). In such situations a fall is not necessarily imminent or has been detected, but the parameters sensed or measured by these devices can provide additional information to characterize the condition of the monitored individual. These measurements can serve as reference values (e.g., averages, limits, thresholds, trends, baselines) for comparison with subsequent measurements to characterize a current condition of the monitored person, 0144: the adaptive sensing rate may be based on a simple time-of-day or day-of-week schedule and/or a complex interaction of several other parameters. For example, if the entity's body temperature, blood pressure and heart rate have all fallen, this may trigger more frequent data collection for a specific sensor type and/or conducting another sensing activity such as performing an EKG, as non-limiting examples. Furthermore, various parameters could predict a potential event, such as falling, 0160-0162]; , and
output to the user, via an output device on the user, an alert [E.g. 0164: an alert responsive to the event, is provided locally to the wearer of a wearable or to a person close to the device. Responses (that can be sensed locally) can include but are not limited to vibration, shock, haptic feedback, sound, illumination of a visible-light or infrared LED, and/or another local response. In other embodiments, a second device, such as but not limited to a phone, is activated and the alert provided by indication on a display, vibration, seat or bed movement, audio sounds via a speaker, or ultrasonic signals].
Tunnel fails to expressly disclose that the output to the user is a pre-fall control suggestion selected from a plurality of pre-fall control suggestions based on the identified physiological parameter, the selected pre-fall control suggestion comprising a corrective action for the user to perform to reduce a likelihood of the predicted fall.
However, as shown by Burwinkel, it was well known in the art of predicating falls to include output to the user is a pre-fall control suggestion selected from a plurality of pre-fall control suggestions based on identified physiological parameter, the selected pre-fall control suggestion comprising a corrective action for the user to perform to reduce a likelihood of the predicted fall [E.g. 0038, 0031, 0044, 0113].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of predicting user fall before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tunnel with the teaching of Burwinkel in order to help the user prevent a predicted fall and thereby increase the overall user safety, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 23, Tunnel discloses wherein the respective physiological parameters comprise respiration rate [E.g. 0022], blood oxygen level [E.g. 0022, 0060], blood sugar level [E.g. 0022], and heart rate variability [E.g. 0022, 0070, 0144].
4. Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunnell in view of Burwinkel and further in view of Tobiassen et al. (Tobiassen; US 2019/0228633).
For claim 22, Tunnell in view of Burwinkel fails to expressly disclose wherein the plurality of pre-fall control suggestions comprises alerting the user to slow down, alerting the user to take deep breaths, alerting the user to eat, and alerting the user to take medication.
However, as shown by Tobiassen, it was well known in the art of falls detection to include a plurality of pre-fall control suggestions comprises alerting the user to take medication, alerting the user to sit down or any other type of alert to reduce stress factors in order to prevent an incident from [E.g. 0042].
Further, Tobiassen fails to expressly disclose that the suggestions comprises alerting the user to slow down, alerting the user to take deep breaths and alerting the user to eat.
Although Tobiassen fails to expressly disclose that the suggestions comprises alerting the user to slow down, alerting the user to take deep breaths and alerting the user to eat; Tobiassen teaches the suggestions comprises alerting the user to take medication, alerting the user to sit down or any other type of alert to reduce stress factors in order to prevent an incident from [E.g. 0042]. However, having the suggestions comprises alerting the user to slow down, alerting the user to take deep breaths and alerting the user to eat fails to yield unexpected results; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tobiassen to have the suggestions comprises alerting the user to slow down, alerting the user to take deep breaths and alerting the user to eat in order to satisfy system needs and/or environment requirement, also because such modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Tobiassen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of predicting user fall before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tunnel in view of Burwinkel with the teaching of Tobiassen in order to help the user prevent a predicted fall and thereby increase the overall user safety, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 1-12 and 16-20 allowed.
Response to Remarks
6. The Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689