DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder (US6208115B1) in view Shima (US5808587A).
Regarding claim 1:
Binder discloses a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 3) comprising: a wireless power transmission system (20) configured to receive power from a power source (via 24), the wireless power transmission system (20) comprising: a transmitter antenna (21) that is operable to (i) emit an alternating electromagnetic field for wireless power transfer at an operating frequency withing an operating frequency range (Col. 7, Lines 62-66) and (ii) couple with a receiver antenna (18) via the alternating electromagnetic field (Col. 5, Lines 56-59); a wireless power receiver system (10) comprising: a rechargeable battery (11); the receiver antenna (18) for wireless power transfer within the operating frequency range (Col. 7, Lines 62-66), wherein the receiver antenna (18) is operable to (i) couple with the transmitter antenna (21) via the alternating electromagnetic field (via 26) and (ii) produce an AC power signal induced by the alternating electromagnetic field (Col. 5, Lines 56-59); and transfer circuitry (22) is operable to (i) receive the AC power signal from the receiver antenna (18), (ii) convert the AC power signal to a DC power signal (through 26), and (ii) provide the DC power signal (through 26) to the rechargeable battery (11).
Binder is silent on that the coil of the receiver antenna for wireless power transfer within the operating frequency range, the receiver antenna comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure including: a plurality of conductive layers comprising a plurality of conductive traces, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces have two ends, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure that is configured to carry induced alternating current (“AC”) from a respective first end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends to a respective second end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends, and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers within the plurality of conductive layers is separated by a respective insulating material, wherein the respective first ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together.
Shima discloses (in Figs. 2 and 3A-3E) the receiver antenna (3) comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure (32) including: a plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) comprising a plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n), wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) have two ends (33 and 34), wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure (32) that is configured to carry induced alternating current (“AC”) from a respective first end (33) of each of the plurality of conductive traces' (32-1 to 32-n) two ends (33 and 34) to a respective second end (34) of each of the plurality of conductive traces' (32-1 to 32-n) two ends (33 and 34), and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers (e.g., 32-1 and 32-2) within the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) is separated by a respective insulating material (defined by 30-1), wherein the respective first ends (33) of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) are electrically connected together (See Fig.. 3E) and the respective second ends (34) of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) are electrically connected together (See Figs. 3D and 3E).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the receiver antenna for wireless power transfer within the operating frequency range, the receiver antenna comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure including: a plurality of conductive layers comprising a plurality of conductive traces, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces have two ends, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure that is configured to carry induced alternating current (“AC”) from a respective first end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends to a respective second end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends, and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers within the plurality of conductive layers is separated by a respective insulating material, wherein the respective first ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together as taught by Shima into the device of Binder for the benefit of providing a wireless access system which has an antenna equipment assuring a sufficiently high value of sharpness Q to give high radiation efficiency and a sufficiently wider communicable area so as to reduce the transmission power, and a proximity member without a battery (Col. 2, Lines 62-67).
Regarding claims 2-5:
Binder is silent on that the plurality of conductive traces in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers within the MLMT inductor coil structure are electrically connected parallel as required by claim 2; the respective insulating material between each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration as required by claim 3; the plurality of conductive layers each have three or more turns as required by claim 4; the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz.
Shima discloses the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) within the MLMT inductor coil structure (32) are electrically connected parallel (See Figs.); the respective insulating material between (30-1 to 30-n) each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers (32-1 to 32-n) comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration (See Fig. 3A); the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) each have three or more turns (32 has four turns); the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz (Col. 2, Lines 57-59).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the plurality of conductive traces in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers within the MLMT inductor coil structure are electrically connected parallel; the respective insulating material between each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration; the plurality of conductive layers each have three or more turns; the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz as taught by Shima into the device of Binder for the benefit of the benefit of providing a wireless access system which has an antenna equipment assuring a sufficiently high value of sharpness Q to give high radiation efficiency and a sufficiently wider communicable area so as to reduce the transmission power, and a proximity member without a battery (Col. 2, Lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 6:
Binder discloses the wireless power receiver system (10) is part of a mobile device (Col. 7, Lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 7:
Binder discloses the wireless power receiver system is part of a computer peripheral device (Col. 1, Lines 10-12; Col. 2, Lines 61-67 – defining broadly a portable device comprising devices like phones, computers etc.).
Regarding claim 8:
Binder discloses A wireless power receiver system (Fig. 3) comprising: a rechargeable battery (11); a receiver antenna (18) for wireless power transfer within an operating frequency range (Col. 7, Lines 62-66); wherein the receiver antenna (18) is operable to (i) couple with the transmitter antenna (21) via the alternating electromagnetic field (via 26) and (ii) produce an AC power signal induced by the alternating electromagnetic field (Col. 5, Lines 56-59); and transfer circuitry (22) is operable to (i) receive the AC power signal from the receiver antenna (18), (ii) convert the AC power signal to a DC power signal (through 26), and (ii) provide the DC power signal (through 26) to the rechargeable battery (11).
Binder is silent on that the receiver antenna comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure including: a plurality of conductive layers comprising a plurality of conductive traces, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces have two ends, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure that is configured to carry induced alternating current (“AC”) from a respective first end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends to a respective second end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends, and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers within the plurality of conductive layers is separated by a respective insulating material, wherein the respective first ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together.
Shima discloses (in Figs. 2 and 3A-3E) the receiver antenna (3) comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure (30 and 32) including: a plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) comprising a plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n), wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) have two ends (33 and 34), wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure (30 and 32) that is configured to carry induced alternating current (“AC”) from a respective first end (33) of each of the plurality of conductive traces' (32-1 to 32-n) two ends (33 and 34) to a respective second end (34) of each of the plurality of conductive traces' (32-1 to 32-n) two ends (33 and 34), and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers (e.g., 32-1 and 32-2) within the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) is separated by a respective insulating material (defined by 30-1), wherein the respective first ends (33) of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n; in Fig. 3E) are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) are electrically connected together (See Fig. 3E), and wherein the receiver antenna (3) is operable to (i) couple with a transmitter antenna (4) via an alternating electromagnetic field emitted by the transmitter antenna (4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the receiver antenna for wireless power transfer within the operating frequency range, the receiver antenna comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure including: a plurality of conductive layers comprising a plurality of conductive traces, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces have two ends, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure that is configured to carry induced alternating current (“AC”) from a respective first end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends to a respective second end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends, and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers within the plurality of conductive layers is separated by a respective insulating material, wherein the respective first ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together as taught by Shima into the device of Binder for the benefit of providing a wireless access system which has an antenna equipment assuring a sufficiently high value of sharpness Q to give high radiation efficiency and a sufficiently wider communicable area so as to reduce the transmission power, and a proximity member without a battery (Col. 2, Lines 62-67).
Regarding claims 9-12:
Binder is silent on that Binder is silent on that the plurality of conductive traces in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers within the MLMT inductor coil structure are electrically connected parallel as required by claim 9; the respective insulating material between each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration as required by claim 10; the plurality of conductive layers each have three or more turns as required by claim 11; the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz as required by claim 12.
Shima discloses the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) within the MLMT inductor coil structure (32) are electrically connected parallel (See Figs.); the respective insulating material between (30-1 to 30-n) each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers (32-1 to 32-n) comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration (See Fig. 3A); the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) each have three or more turns (32 has four turns); the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz (Col. 2, Lines 57-59).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the plurality of conductive traces in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers within the MLMT inductor coil structure are electrically connected parallel; the respective insulating material between each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration; the plurality of conductive layers each have three or more turns; the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz as taught by Shima into the device of Binder for the benefit of the benefit of providing a wireless access system which has an antenna equipment assuring a sufficiently high value of sharpness Q to give high radiation efficiency and a sufficiently wider communicable area so as to reduce the transmission power, and a proximity member without a battery (Col. 2, Lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 13:
Binder discloses the wireless power receiver system (10) is part of a mobile device (Col. 7, Lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 14:
Binder discloses the wireless power receiver system is part of a computer peripheral device (Col. 1, Lines 10-12; Col. 2, Lines 61-67 – defining broadly a portable device comprising devices like phones, computers etc.).
Regarding claim 15:
Binder discloses (in Fig. 3) a wireless power transmission system (20) configured to receive power from a power source (POWER SOURCE through 24), the wireless power transmission system (20) comprising: a transmitter antenna (21) for wireless transfer of power (Col. 7, Lines 62-66); wherein the transmitter antenna (21) is operable to (i) emit an alternating electromagnetic field (via 26) for wireless power transfer at an operating frequency withing an operating frequency range (Col. 7, Lines 62-66) and (ii) couple with a receiver antenna (18) of a wireless power receiver antenna (18) via the alternating electromagnetic field (Col. 5, Lines 56-59).
Binder is silent on that the transmitter antenna comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure including: a plurality of conductive layers comprising a plurality of conductive traces, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces have two ends, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure that is configured to carry alternating current from a respective first end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends to a respective second end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends, and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers within the plurality of conductive layers is separated by a respective insulating material, wherein the respective first ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together.
Shima discloses (in Figs. 2 and 3A-3E) that the transmitter antenna (3) comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure (32) including: a plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) comprising a plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n), wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) have two ends (33 and 34), wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure (32) that is configured to carry alternating current from a respective first end (33) of each of the plurality of conductive traces' (32-1 to 32-n) two ends (33 and 34) to a respective second end (34) of each of the plurality of conductive traces' (32-1 to 32-n) two ends (33 and 34), and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers (e.g., 32-1 and 32-2) within the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) is separated by a respective insulating material (defined by 30-1), wherein the respective first ends (33) of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) are electrically connected together (See Fig. 3E) and the respective second ends (34) of the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) are electrically connected together (See Figs. 3D and 3E).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transmitter antenna comprising a multi-layer, multi-turn (“MLMT”) inductor coil structure including: a plurality of conductive layers comprising a plurality of conductive traces, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces have two ends, wherein each of the plurality of conductive traces provides a respective current path within the MLMT inductor coil structure that is configured to carry alternating current from a respective first end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends to a respective second end of each of the plurality of conductive traces' two ends, and wherein each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers within the plurality of conductive layers is separated by a respective insulating material, wherein the respective first ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together and the respective second ends of the plurality of conductive traces are electrically connected together as taught by Shima into the device of Binder for the benefit of providing a wireless access system which has an antenna equipment assuring a sufficiently high value of sharpness Q to give high radiation efficiency and a sufficiently wider communicable area so as to reduce the transmission power, and a proximity member without a battery (Col. 2, Lines 62-67).
Regarding claims 16-19:
Binder is silent on that the plurality of conductive layers each have three or more turns as required by claim 16; the plurality of conductive traces in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers within the MLMT inductor coil structure are electrically connected parallel as required by claim 17; the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz as required by claim 18; the respective insulating material between each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration as required by claim 19.
Shima discloses the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) each have three or more turns (32 has four turns); the plurality of conductive traces (32-1 to 32-n) in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers (defined by 32) within the MLMT inductor coil structure (32) are electrically connected parallel (See Figs.); the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz (Col. 2, Lines 57-59); the respective insulating material between (30-1 to 30-n) each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers (32-1 to 32-n) comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration (See Fig. 3A).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the plurality of conductive layers each have three or more turns; the plurality of conductive traces in each layer of the plurality of conductive layers within the MLMT inductor coil structure are electrically connected parallel; the operating frequency range comprises a range of approximately 100 kilohertz to 10 gigahertz; the respective insulating material between each respective pair of adjacent conductive layers comprises a strip of insulating material arranged in a multi-turn coil configuration as taught by Shima into the device of Binder for the benefit of the benefit of providing a wireless access system which has an antenna equipment assuring a sufficiently high value of sharpness Q to give high radiation efficiency and a sufficiently wider communicable area so as to reduce the transmission power, and a proximity member without a battery (Col. 2, Lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 20:
Binder discloses the wireless power transmission system (20) is part of a mobile device and the power source is a battery (11) of the mobile device (Col. 7, Lines 50-53).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845