DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that both group I and group II require a wind turbine blade and would therefore a search of group I would encompass a search of group II. This is not found persuasive as the examiner finds that different search strategies are required as discussed in the requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 18, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of A-I, B-II, C-II, D-I, E-II, F-II, G-IV, H-I, I-I, J-I, K-I, L-I, M-IV, N-I, O-I, P-III, Q-I, R-IV, S-I, T-I in the reply filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
No arguments are made with regard to this election. Therefore, these elections are made without traverse.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species as defined by the election groups in the requirement of December 18, 2025, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 18, 2026. (
Claim 6 requires that the flow enhancing components comprise multi-element airfoils, and surface mounted elements. The elected overall wind turbine blade configuration of A-I (Figure 5) only has multi-element airfoils and no surface mounted elements (leading edge elements / surface mounted flaps according the disclosure). Claims dependent from claim 6 are therefore also withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the linear profile of the predetermined structure that monotonically tapers down from the root region to the tip region of claim 3 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein the blade body comprises a pressure side and a suction side joining at a leading edge, and a trailing edge”. The comma is not grammatically correct and should be removed.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein the blade body comprises a pressure side and a suction side joining at a leading edge, and a trailing edge, the blade body longitudinally extending from a root region beginning from a proximal end of the blade body and extending up to a predetermined first length of the blade body, to a tip region beginning from a distal end of the blade body and extending up to a predetermined second length of the blade body, through a transition region extending between and joining the root region and the tip region”. Because of the presentation of the claim, it is unclear that the blade body longitudinally extends from a root region to a tip region through a transition region. This is because it is not clear where one concept begins and another concepts ends. For example it may be read that the blade body extends longitudinally from a root region (beginning from a proximal end of the blade body and extending up) to a predetermined first length of the blade body.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein the predetermined structure is fail-safe under a predetermined operating condition”. First, it is unclear what is considered safe? There is no definition in the specification or agreed upon definition of safe for wind turbine blades. What is considered “safe” by one person / entity may be considered not safe by another. The term “safe” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “safe” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Additionally, the conditions impact what may be considered safe or not. For example, a wind turbine blade may be safe in winds up to 100 mph. Whether this is safe or not depends on the environment and operating conditions. This leads to the next aspect of indefiniteness for this limitation. The claimed “predetermined operating condition” that the blade is safe under is completely open to interpretation and variable, see MPEP 2173.05(b) II. This leads to what is considered “safe” to be indefinite because what is “safe” is at least dependent on the condition. Furthermore, it is unclear what “fail-safe” means. Is the overall wind turbine safe if the predetermined structure fails? Is the wind turbine blade itself safe if the predetermined structure fails. Is the predetermined structure safe if something else fails. The claim language does not specify which of these or other interpretations is appropriate. Based on the above, no structural requirements of the predetermined structure can be determined.
Claim 1 recites, “a plurality of flow enhancing components physically coupled to the blade body and configured to enhance a plurality of aerodynamic flow characteristics of the blade body”. Flow characteristics are numerical quantities that can be used to analyze objects. The term “enhance” is subjective and is relative to a designer’s goal or purpose, see MPEP 2173.05(b) IV. It is noted that even aerodynamic flow characteristics that typically want to be minimized such as drag may in other situations want to be maximized in other situtations. It is also noted that this limitation is also a functional limitation and has no clear structural requirements associated with it and is indefinite for this reason as well, see MPEP 2173.05(g).
Claim 2 recites, “wherein the predetermined structure comprises a substantially cylindrical or circular or elliptical or eccentric body of revolution cross-section beginning from the root region up to a predetermined length of the blade body in the direction of the tip region.” The term “eccentric body of revolution” is not a term of art and is not defined by the specification. Eccentricity is defined in mathematics as related to conic sections. In the specification (406) is described as an eccentric body of revolution but does not appear related to conic sections. It is unclear the metes and bounds of this term. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “eccentric body of revolution” in claim 2 is used by the claim to mean related to the shape of 406, while the accepted meaning is not defined because it is unclear how “eccentric” (eccentricity is related to shape of conical sections) is related to a body of revolution (for example, what axis).” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim 4 recites, “wherein the flow enhancing components are adapted to the predetermined structure of the blade body for an assembly-based manufacturing of the wind turbine rotor blade.” The limitation is both a product-by-process limitation and a functional limitation, see MPE 2113 I and MPEP 2173.05(g). As product-by-process claim is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. In combination with this, it is unclear what physical features make something achieve the function of being adapted to assembly-based manufacturing while simultaneously not actually requiring that it be assembly-based manufactured.
Claim 5 recites, “wherein the flow enhancing components compensate for a performance of the predetermined structure of the blade body under the predetermined operating condition”. Similar to a rationale discussed with regard to claim 1 above, the claimed “predetermined operating condition” is completely open to interpretation and is variable, see MPEP 2173.05(b) II. This leads to the functional requirement of the flow enhancing component compensating for a performance of the predetermined structure of the blade body to be indefinite as it is dependent on this variable condition. The functional language itself is also indefinite as well it has no clear structural requirements associated with it see MPEP 2173.05(g). Additionally, it is unclear the compensation requires. The claim states that the flow enhancing components compensate for a performance of the predetermined structure of the blade body (under the predetermeined operating condition). It is unclear if this compensation is relative to the performance of the predetermined structure itself or relative to blade without the predetermined structure.
Claims dependent from the claims discussed are also rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabau (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20090232656) hereinafter Grabau.
Regarding claim 1, Grabau discloses:
A wind turbine blade {Figures 9A-C, whole structure shown; [0001]/[0040]} comprising:
a blade body having a shape that generates a lift when impacted by an incident airflow {Figures 9A-C, this is implicitly a function of a wind turbine blade as this is the mechanism used for the turbine to rotate, see MPEP 2144.01. See also [0004]},
wherein the blade body comprises a pressure side and a suction side joining at a leading edge, and a trailing edge {Figure 9C, the blade body has a pressure side on the lower surface of 93 and 103 and suction side on the upper surface of 93 and 103. The pressure side and suction side are joined at a leading edge on the left side of the figure and a trailing edge at the right side of the figure},
the blade body longitudinally extending {Figure 9A, the blade body extends longitudinally left to right in the figure}:
from a root region {Figure 9A, a region on the left end of the blade may be considered the root region}
beginning from a proximal end of the blade body and extending up to a predetermined first length of the blade body {Figure 9A, the root region may extend for a first length which is not further defined and is therefore open to interpretation how long the first length is},
to a tip region {Figure 9A, a region on the right end of the blade may be considered the tip region}
beginning from a distal end of the blade body and extending up to a predetermined second length of the blade body {Figure 9A, the tip region begins at the right end of the blade and extends up to a second length of the blade body which is not further defined and is therefore open to interpretation how long the second length is},
through a transition region {Figure 9A, the region not considered the root region or tip region may be considered the transition region}
extending between and joining the root region and the tip region {Figure 9A, the root region is defined from the left and the tip is defined from the right end; therefore the transition region is always extending between},
the blade body comprising a predetermined structure {Figures 9A-C, any portion of the blade body shown may be considered a predetermined structure},
wherein the predetermined structure is fail-safe under a predetermined operating condition {See the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections above. For purposes of examination, this limitation is presumed inherent as it is a functional limitation and the structure of the reference is substantially identical to the claimed structure, see MPEP 2112.01}; and
a plurality of flow enhancing components physically coupled to the blade body and configured to enhance a plurality of aerodynamic flow characteristics of the blade body {Figures 9A-C, (15) and (16) are considered flow enhancing components physically coupled to the blade body that is the central main portion of the blade. The extra surface area generates more lift, see [0004] and is therefore considered flow enhancing}.
Regarding claim 2, Grabau further discloses:
wherein the predetermined structure comprises a substantially cylindrical or circular or elliptical or eccentric body of revolution cross-section beginning from the root region up to a predetermined length of the blade body in the direction of the tip region {See 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above. The predetermined structure may be considered (22), (7), (8), (9), and (10) until the end of (17). The cross-section may be considered an eccentric body of revolution and begins from the root region up to a predetermined length of the blade body towards the tip region}.
Regarding claim 3, Grabau further discloses:
wherein the predetermined structure comprises a substantially linear profile that monotonically tapers down from the root region to the tip region, through the transition region {Figure 9A, the predetermined structure where (9) and (10) in particular be seen to have a monotonic taper from the root to tip region and linear profile}.
Regarding claim 4, Grabau further discloses:
wherein the flow enhancing components are adapted to the predetermined structure of the blade body for an assembly-based manufacturing of the wind turbine rotor blade {Figures 9A/C, the flow enhancing components of (15) and (16) are attached via (18) to the predetermined structure described in claim 3. See the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above}.
Regarding claim 5, Grabau further discloses:
wherein the flow enhancing components compensate for a performance of the predetermined structure of the blade body under the predetermined operating condition {See the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above. For purposes of examination, this limitation is presumed inherent as it is a functional limitation and the structure of the reference is substantially identical to the claimed structure, see MPEP 2112.01}.
Regarding claim 20, Grabau further discloses:
A wind turbine comprising one or more turbine blades {[0001], the blade is for a wind turbine with at least one or more blades},
the one or more wind turbine blades comprising the blade body and the plurality of flow enhancing components of claim 1 {See claim 1. Figures 9A-C show one turbine blade with the blade body and plurality of flow enhancing components of claim 1. It is also implicit that this blade design can be used on a wind turbine comprising multiple blades (although not required by the claim)}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fuglsang et al (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20110020128) teaches an additional airfoil shape at the root of a wind turbine blade, where the main blade has a circular cross-section.
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745