Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akhavan (US 20200310595 A1) in view of Zou (CN 106383621 B).
Regarding claim 1:
Akhavan (US 20200310595 A1) discloses a touch screening (Fig. 2) comprising:
a display having an active area (touch pad 220, Fig. 2);
an optical device (OLED) in the active area at a position corresponding to a first region ([0025, 0033-0035]);
a first row touch electrode (223) disposed over the active area of the display and formed from a plurality of first touch electrode segments interconnected by a first plurality of bridges (612, [0049]) (also see Fig. 6A, [0036-0042], Figs. 2, 4).
wherein two segments of the plurality of first touch electrode segments (touch at 223) separated by one or fewer first touch electrode segments are separated by a first distance (distance between two touch segments 748) (see, [0069] FIG. 7C illustrates an exemplary touch panel 740 with rounded corners and. Touch panel 740 can include perforation 748 that can allow the touch segments. Touch panel 740 can include an array of touch electrode cells, including corner touch electrode cell 742, perforation touch electrode cell 744, and inner touch electrode cell 744.
a second touch electrode (904) formed from a plurality of second touch electrode segments (see Fig. 9, steps 902, 904).
Note that Akhavan discloses consecutive segment of plurality of touch (i.e. touch electrode for 99). However, Akhavan does not specifically disclose wherein two non-consecutive segments of the plurality of second touch electrode segments are separated by a second distance, less than the first distance (see Fig. 8A).
Zou (CN 106383621 B) discloses wherein two non-consecutive segments of the plurality of second touch electrode segments are separated by a second distance, less than the first distance (see Fig.8A)
non-consecutive segments (solid white segments) of the plurality of touch electrode segments on 81 are separated by a second distance, some of them are less than the first distance (see Fig. 8A, [Pg7-9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akahvan with the teaching of Zou, thereby improving light intensity at the touchpad device.
Akhavan (US 20200310595 A1) discloses a touch screening (Fig. 2) comprising:
a display having an active area (touch pad 220, Fig. 2);
an optical device (OLED) in the active area at a position corresponding to a first region ([0025, 0033-0035]);
a first row touch electrode (223) disposed over the active area of the display and formed from a plurality of first touch electrode segments interconnected by a first plurality of bridges (612, [0049]) (also see Fig. 6A, [0036-0042], Figs. 2, 4).
wherein two segments of the plurality of first touch electrode segments (touch at 223) separated by one or fewer first touch electrode segments are separated by a first distance (distance between two touch segments 748) (see, [0069] FIG. 7C illustrates an exemplary touch panel 740 with rounded corners and. Touch panel 740 can include perforation 748 that can allow the touch segments. Touch panel 740 can include an array of touch electrode cells, including corner touch electrode cell 742, perforation touch electrode cell 744, and inner touch electrode cell 744.
a second touch electrode (904) formed from a plurality of second touch electrode segments (see Fig. 9, steps 902, 904).
Note that Akhavan discloses consecutive segment of plurality of touch (i.e. touch electrode for 99). However, Akhavan does not specifically disclose wherein two non-consecutive segments of the plurality of second touch electrode segments are separated by a second distance, less than the first distance (see Fig. 8A).
Zou (CN 106383621 B) discloses wherein two non-consecutive segments of the plurality of second touch electrode segments are separated by a second distance, less than the first distance (see Fig. 8A, [Pg7-9]).
Regarding claim 11:
Akahvan discloses a touch-sensitive device (in Fig. 2) comprising: an energy storage device (306, Fig. 3A); communication circuitry (228); a touch controller (224, Fig. 2); and a touch screen (220) comprising:
a display having an active area (touch panel at 220) [0024-0028]); an optical device (OLED) in the active area at a position corresponding to a first region ([0025, 0033-0035]);
a first row touch electrode (223) disposed over the active area of the display and formed from a plurality of first touch electrode segments interconnected by a first plurality of bridges (612, [0049]) (also see Fig. 6A, [0036-0042], Figs. 2, 4).
wherein two segments of the plurality of first touch electrode segments (touch at 223) separated by one or fewer first touch electrode segments are separated by a first distance (distance between two touch segments 748) (see, [0069] FIG. 7C illustrates an exemplary touch panel 740 with rounded corners and. Touch panel 740 can include perforation 748 that can allow the touch segments. Touch panel 740 can include an array of touch electrode cells, including corner touch electrode cell 742, perforation touch electrode cell 744, and inner touch electrode cell 744.
a second touch electrode (904) formed from a plurality of second touch electrode segments (see Fig. 9, steps 902, 904).
Note that Akhavan discloses consecutive segment of plurality of touch (i.e. touch electrode for 99). However, Akhavan does not specifically disclose wherein two non-consecutive segments of the plurality of second touch electrode segments are separated by a second distance, less than the first distance.
Zou (CN 106383621 B) discloses wherein two non-consecutive segments of the plurality of second touch electrode segments are separated by a second distance, less than the first distance (non-consecutive segments (solid white segments) of the plurality of touch electrode segments on 81 are separated by a second distance, some of them are less than the first distance (see Zou, Fig. 8A, pg, 7-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akahvan with the teaching of Zou, thereby improving light intensity at the touchpad device.
Regarding claims 2 and 12:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein a first portion of at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments within the first region is formed from a transparent material and is patterned with a first pattern. ( first connecting part of the first touch electrode, the first electrode block and the second electrode block can be made of e.g. transparent conductive glass ITO (indium tin oxide), and the second connecting part of the second touch electrode, third electrode block and a fourth electrode block can be made of ITO) (see page Zou pg7-9 ). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 13:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein a second portion of at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments (dark portion of the touch segment) outside the first region (i.e. solid part of the touch segments on 81, see Zou, Fig. 8A) or the plurality of second touch electrode segments outside of the first region are formed from metal mesh patterned with the first pattern. Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 14:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein a first portion of at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments within the first region is formed from a transparent material and is solid i.e. solid part of the touch segments on 81, see Zou, Fig. 8A, pg 7-9). same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 15:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses in the plurality of first touch electrode segments is formed in a first layer and the first plurality of bridges interconnecting the first touch electrode segments is formed in a second layer, different from the first layer (see Akahvan Fig. 6A, [0036-0042], Figs. 2, 4 and Zou Fig. 8A, Pg 7-9). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 16:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses further discloses a plurality of column touch electrodes including a first column touch electrode and a second column touch electrode disposed in a first layer (i.e. layer 81, see Fig. 8A see Zou pg ), wherein a first portion of the first column touch electrode, a first portion of the second column touch electrode, or a first portion of at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments within the first region is disposed in a second layer (i.e. 82, see Zou, Fig. 8A, pg) or a third layer different from the first layer and the second layer (i.e. 82, see Zou, Fig. 8A, pg 7-9). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 7 and 17:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein the first portion of the first column touch electrode disposed in the second layer (i.e. 82, Fig. 8A) or the third layer is coupled to a second portion of the first column touch electrode outside the first region using a first via (see Zou Fig. 8A), the first portion of the second column touch electrode disposed in the second layer or the third layer is coupled to a second portion of the second column touch electrode outside the first region using a second via, or the first portion of the at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments disposed in the second layer or the third layer is coupled to a second portion of the at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments outside the first region using a third via ( see Zou, Fig. 8A, pg 7-9). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 8 and 18:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein the first portion of the first column touch electrode disposed in the second layer or the third layer is capacitively coupled to a second portion of the first column touch electrode outside the first region (electrode block 521B or the fourth electrode 521C at least partially overlaps the at least two first touch electrode changes in the capacitance of the coupling capacitor 511 is used to further judge the touch position to the third electrode block 521B or the fourth electrode 521C to which one first touch electrode 511 overlap. See Zou, Fig.6), the first portion of the second column touch electrode disposed in the second layer or the third layer is capacitively coupled to a second portion of the second column touch electrode outside the first region, or the first portion of the at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments disposed in the second layer or the third layer is capacitively coupled to a second portion of the at least one of the plurality of first touch electrode segments outside the first region (see Zou Fig. 6, 8A, pg 7-9). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 9 and 19:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein the first row touch electrode or the second row touch electrode is formed at least partially of metal mesh (see Zou, electrode block can be at least one of metal mesh electrodes. the metalmesh electrode as the first electrode block and the second electrode block, the third electrode block and a fourth electrode blocks w, see Fig. 8A ). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 10 and 20:
Akahvan in view of Zou discloses wherein a first portion of the first region is located between the two segments of the plurality of first touch electrode segments (see Zou, Fig. 8A, Pg 7-9). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Pertinent art of record
2. Pertinent art of record US 20160188035 A1 discloses touchpad device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627