DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2007/0056044 A1 (Illg et al.).
As to Claim 1, Illg et al. anticipate a communication method (Illg et al. - ¶ [0003]), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a first network element, service input data or an obtaining credential of the service input data from a second network element based on a service trigger event (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]. The request is sent to the External Client Application ECA, which in turn sends a request for the user’s entitlement credentials for the resource to an Entitlement Brokering Service EBS. In an exchange between the EBS and an Entitlement Connector EC and Entitlement service ES, the authorization for the user’s entitlement to access of the requested protected resource is sent to the EBS, which sends that information to the ECA. The ECA then “affords” {authorizes access to the user which obtains the necessary credential} the user the credential necessary to access and use the protected resource - Fig. 2b and ¶¶ [0025-0027]);
sending, by the first network element, a service request to at least one third network element, wherein the service request comprises the service input data or the obtaining credential of the service input data (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the user making subsequent requests for different protected resources which need authorization to access in elements 508 510 and 512. Note that the entitlement information is then sent to the computer resource, which means that the request for the protected resource was sent to a device other than the ECA, either directly from the user {first network element} to the resource, or via the ECA to the resource. Therefor a third network element receives the first network element’s request. – Fig. 5B and ¶ [0025-0027]); and
receiving, by the first network element, a service feedback from the at least one third network element, wherein the service feedback comprises a service execution result (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the requesting user {first network element} receiving access to the requested resource – Fig. 5b, element 518 and ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 4, Illg et al. anticipate the method according to claim 1,
wherein the service trigger event comprises a service request from a fifth network element (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]), and
wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the first network element, the service feedback to the fifth network element (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]).
As to Claim 5, Illg et al. anticipate the method according to claim 4,
wherein the first network element and the fifth network element belong to different networks (Illg et al. - ¶ [0056]), and
the different networks are user-level networks or operator networks, different user-level networks, or different network slices (Illg et al. - ¶ [0056]).
As to Claim 6, Illg et al. anticipate the method according to claim 1,
wherein the service input data is unprocessed user data (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]. The request is sent to the External Client Application ECA, which in turn sends a request for the user’s entitlement credentials for the resource to an Entitlement Brokering Service EBS. In an exchange between the EBS and an Entitlement Connector EC and Entitlement service ES, the authorization for the user’s entitlement to access of the requested protected resource is sent to the EBS, which sends that information to the ECA. The ECA then “affords” {authorizes access to the user which obtains the necessary credential} the user the credential necessary to access and use the protected resource - Fig. 2b and ¶¶ [0025-0027]), and
the method further comprises:
processing, by the first network element, the service input data to obtain processed user data (Illg et al., disclose encrypted communications - ¶ [0067]);
wherein the processed user data comprises at least one of the following:
encrypted user data, user data from which user identification information is removed, a temporary user identifier, or an encrypted user identifier (Illg et al., disclose encrypted communications - ¶ [0067]).
As to Claim 8, Illg et al. anticipate a communication method (Illg et al. - ¶ [0003]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a third network element, a service request, wherein the service request comprises service input data or an obtaining credential of the service input data (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]. The request is sent to the External Client Application ECA, which in turn sends a request for the user’s entitlement credentials for the resource to an Entitlement Brokering Service EBS. In an exchange between the EBS and an Entitlement Connector EC and Entitlement service ES, the authorization for the user’s entitlement to access of the requested protected resource is sent to the EBS, which sends that information to the ECA. The ECA then “affords” {authorizes access to the user which obtains the necessary credential} the user the credential necessary to access and use the protected resource - Fig. 2b and ¶¶ [0025-0027]; and Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the user making subsequent requests for different protected resources which need authorization to access in elements 508 510 and 512. Note that the entitlement information is then sent to the computer resource, which means that the request for the protected resource was sent to a device other than the ECA, either directly from the user {first network element} to the resource, or via the ECA to the resource. Therefor a third network element receives the first network element’s request. – Fig. 5B and ¶ [0025-0027]); and
executing, by the third network element, a requested service based on the service request (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the requesting user {first network element} receiving access to the requested resource – Fig. 5b, element 518 and ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 9, Illg et al. anticipate the method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the third network element, a service feedback to a first network element, wherein the service feedback comprises a service execution result (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the requesting user {first network element} receiving access to the requested resource. The output of said resource is a service execution result – Fig. 5b, element 518 and ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 11, Illg et al. anticipate a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (Illg et al. the ECA 108 that transmits information - ¶¶ [0019-0020]. Transmitters require a processor and memory to function); and
at least one memory storing a computer program including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Illg et al. the ECA 108 that transmits information - ¶¶ [0019-0020]. Transmitters require a processor and memory to function), cause the communication apparatus to:
obtain service input data or an obtaining credential of the service input data from a second network element based on a service trigger event (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]. The request is sent to the External Client Application ECA, which in turn sends a request for the user’s entitlement credentials for the resource to an Entitlement Brokering Service EBS. In an exchange between the EBS and an Entitlement Connector EC and Entitlement service ES, the authorization for the user’s entitlement to access of the requested protected resource is sent to the EBS, which sends that information to the ECA. The ECA then “affords” {authorizes access to the user which obtains the necessary credential} the user the credential necessary to access and use the protected resource - Fig. 2b and ¶¶ [0025-0027]);
send a service request to at least one third network element, wherein the service request comprises the service input data or the obtaining credential of the service input data (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the user making subsequent requests for different protected resources which need authorization to access in elements 508 510 and 512. Note that the entitlement information is then sent to the computer resource, which means that the request for the protected resource was sent to a device other than the ECA, either directly from the user {first network element} to the resource, or via the ECA to the resource. Therefor a third network element receives the first network element’s request. – Fig. 5B and ¶ [0025-0027]); and
receive a service feedback from the at least one third network element, wherein the service feedback comprises a service execution result (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the requesting user {first network element} receiving access to the requested resource. The output of said resource is a service execution result – Fig. 5b, element 518 and ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 15, Illg et al. anticipate the communication apparatus according to claim 14,
wherein the communication apparatus and the fifth network element belong to different networks, and the different networks are user-level networks or operator networks, different user-level networks, or different network slices (Illg et al. - ¶ [0056]).
As to Claim 16, Illg et al. anticipate the communication apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the service input data is unprocessed user data (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]. The request is sent to the External Client Application ECA, which in turn sends a request for the user’s entitlement credentials for the resource to an Entitlement Brokering Service EBS. In an exchange between the EBS and an Entitlement Connector EC and Entitlement service ES, the authorization for the user’s entitlement to access of the requested protected resource is sent to the EBS, which sends that information to the ECA. The ECA then “affords” {authorizes access to the user which obtains the necessary credential} the user the credential necessary to access and use the protected resource - Fig. 2b and ¶¶ [0025-0027]), and
wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to:
process the service input data to obtain processed user data (Illg et al., discloses encrypted communications - ¶ [0067]);
wherein the processed user data comprises at least one of the following:
encrypted user data, user data from which user identification information is removed, a temporary user identifier, or an encrypted user identifier (Illg et al., disclose encrypted communications - ¶ [0067]).
As to Claim 18, Illg et al. anticipate a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (Illg et al. the ECA 108 that transmits information - ¶¶ [0019-0020]. Transmitters require a processor and memory to function); and
at least one memory storing a computer program including instructions that (Illg et al. the ECA 108 that transmits information - ¶¶ [0019-0020]. Transmitters require a processor and memory to function), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the communication apparatus to:
receive a service request, wherein the service request comprises service input data or an obtaining credential of the service input data (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 2b, discloses the user {first network element} requesting access to a protected resource, said request comprising service input data {description of the resource requested}, as an example a “a website, a database, a computer program, a piece or group of hardware, including a computing device, a storage device, a printer, etc.” - ¶ [0025]. The request is sent to the External Client Application ECA, which in turn sends a request for the user’s entitlement credentials for the resource to an Entitlement Brokering Service EBS. In an exchange between the EBS and an Entitlement Connector EC and Entitlement service ES, the authorization for the user’s entitlement to access of the requested protected resource is sent to the EBS, which sends that information to the ECA. The ECA then “affords” {authorizes access to the user which obtains the necessary credential} the user the credential necessary to access and use the protected resource - Fig. 2b and ¶¶ [0025-0027]); and
execute a requested service based on the service request (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the requesting user {first network element} receiving access to the requested resource – Fig. 5b, element 518 and ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 19, Illg et al. anticipate the communication apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the communication apparatus to:
send a service feedback to a first network element, wherein the service feedback comprises a service execution result (Illg et al., referring to Fig. 5b, discloses the requesting user {first network element} receiving access to the requested resource. The output of said resource is a service execution result – Fig. 5b, element 518 and ¶ [0042]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 10, 12-14, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Interview Practice
USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR)
The USPTO AIR is a new optional online interview scheduling tool that allows Applicants to request an interview with an Examiner for their pending patent application.
The USPTO AIR form is available on our website at: http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
By submitting this type of interview request, the pending patent application will be in compliance with the written authorization requirement for Internet communication in accordance with MPEP §502.03. This authorization will be in effect until the Applicant provides a written withdrawal of authorization to the Examiner of record.
If you have questions or need assistance with the USPTO AIR form or with interview practice at the USPTO, please contact an Interview Specialist at http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice/interview-specialist or send an email to ExaminerInterviewPractice@USPTO.GOV.
Examiner Notes:
A) Prior to conducting any interview (whether using AIR or not), Applicant(s) must submit an agenda including the proposed date and time, all arguments in writing, and proposed claim amendments (if applicable). Any proposed amendments or arguments not presented in the agenda will only be heard by the Examiner, but because the Examiner will not have heard them in advance and been given an equitable opportunity to consider them, no decision will be rendered, nor agreement made. ALL AGENDAS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE EXAMINER AT LEAST 24 HOURS PRIOR TO THE START OF THE INTERVIEW, OR THE PREVIOUS BUSINESS DAY, WHICHEVER IS LONGER, or the interview may have to be rescheduled.
B) After-final interviews may be granted, but the agenda must be in compliance with MPEP 713.09 which limits the interview only to discussions of proposed amendments, or clarification for appeal. After-final interviews are not to be conducted for the purpose of rehashing previously made arguments. After seeing the agenda, Examiner will decide whether to grant or deny the interview.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/RICHARD G KEEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444