DETAILED ACTION
The following claims are pending in this office action: 1-20
Claims 1, 10 and 16 are independent claims.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/15/2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “a fourth physical address” and subsequently recites “the fourth host physical address”.
However, “the fourth host physical address” lacks antecedent basis in the claim because a “fourth host physical address” was not previously introduced as an element of the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “decrypt first encrypted data” and subsequently recites “the first encrypted data provided from the volatile memory”.
However, “the encrypted data ” lacks antecedent basis in the claim because a “first encrypted data” was not previously introduced as an element of the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “a first host physical address” and subsequently recites “the first host physical device”.
However, “the first host physical device ” lacks antecedent basis in the claim because a “first host physical device” was not previously introduced as an element of the claim.
Therefore, it is unclear what it meant by “the fourth host physical address” in claim 8, “the first encrypted data” in claim 10, and “ the first host physical device” in claim 16, rendering claims 8, 10, and 16 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and further in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”].
As per claim 1, Chhabra discloses
obtain a first key index(Chhabra, [0031]” In accordance with embodiments, full address 205 also includes a KeyID portion or field 205.sub.0, which is used to provide a KeyID.”)based on at least one key index table, (Chhabra, [0031],[0036]” a KeyID remapping table (KMT) in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention” and “ memory access (namely to obtain a key from a KeyID table and/or access a KeyID remapping table)”) the first host data, (Chhabra, [0021]” a host VMM/hypervisor (referred to as a “VMM” or “host VMM” hereinafter) has full control over the guest VMs that the host VMM manages. The host VMM can read/write guest VM memory, modify guest VM control flow (single step, rewind, repeat, debug), read/modify guest VM register state, read/modify guest VM control structures, and so on…”) and a first device physical address mapped to the first host physical address, the first key index being set for the first host device, (Chhabra, [0033]” guest physical memory 230 maps to a physical memory 240, such that a corresponding address within physical memory 240 may be accessed”) and
output the first device physical address and the first key index; (Chhabra, [0034]” physical address 255 includes an address portion 255.sub.A and a key portion 255.sub.K.”) and
a memory sub-system controller (AGARWAL, [0051]” The memory device 104 can include a plurality of memory controllers 116 that each control a group of one or more memory media devices 118”)configured to
obtain at least one first key based on a key table(Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table…to obtain the physical address. Thereafter, control passes to block 550 where the translation is loaded into an entry in the TLB. More specifically this translation includes the physical address (e.g., a guest physical address) and the final KeyID. ”) and the first key index, the at least one first key being set for the first host device, (Chhabra, [0059]” The VMM assigns a VMM-assigned component 710 and the rest of the bits of portion 720 can be used by the VM as it desires. Different keys can be associated with the different KeyIDs.”) the key table being set for each key index(Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table… to obtain the physical address”) of a plurality of key indices of the at least one key index table, (Chhabra, [0059]” the KeyID are organized in a hierarchical fashion… Different keys can be associated with the different KeyIDs.”).
Chhabra does not disclose a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; and
a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and
provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels, wherein the CXL controller comprises a CXL sub-system controller configure to
generate the first encrypted data based on the first data the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm
However, Shanbhogue in the same field of endeavor discloses a Compute Express Link (CXL) device comprising:
a volatile memory (Shanbhogue, [0092]” in some examples, operating system 450, NW I/O device driver 440 or application(s) 460 may be implemented, at least in part, via cooperation between one or more memory devices included in primary memory 430 (e.g., volatile or non-volatile memory devices)”)connected to a plurality of channels; (Shanbhogue, [0014]” communications interface 606 may include one or more communication interfaces that operate according to various communication protocols or standards to communicate over direct or network communication links or channels.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Shanbhogue’s volatile memory and plurality of communication channels would provide parallel communication paths for accessing volatile memory, thereby improving memory-access efficiency and data throughput.
The combination of Chhabra and Shanbhogue fails to disclose
a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and
provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels, wherein the CXL controller comprises a CXL sub-system controller configure to
generate the first encrypted data based on the first data the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm
However, AGARWAL in the same field of endeavor discloses
a CXL controller(AGARWAL, [0075]” The frontend portion 202 includes most of the functions of the CXL protocol and may, for example, include a CXL controller 208. In some embodiments, CXL controller 208 includes the functions described above in relation to target CXL controller 112”) configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device (AGARWAL, [0054], [0043]” Communication interface 106 receives data and/or commands from host device initiator 110 through one or more I/O lanes. In an embodiment, communication interface 106 is a physical (PHY) interface configured for PCIe communications.”)among a plurality of host devices, (AGARWAL, [0032]”Host 102 may further include a host device 108…” and “a computing system 100 that includes an interface host device 110” and “The host device (e.g., CXL Initiator) is responsible for generating requests to the memory device (e.g., CXL target). The memory device has a CXL controller to unpackage the flit requests incoming from the host and forwards the requests to the backend memory media”) and
provide a command address signal(AGARWAL, [0038]” The mechanism of link-level flow control allows the receiver to send a continuous signals stream to the transmitter to control if it should keep sending flits or stop sending flits”) and first encrypted data(AGARWAL, [0056]” Memory device 104 may also comprise a security component configured to encrypt the data before storing”) to the volatile memory (AGARWAL, [0043]” forwards the requests to the backend memory media (e.g., DRAM).”)through a channel among the plurality of channels, (AGARWAL, [0028]” a plurality of memory controllers 116 that each control a group of one or more memory media devices 118. Each of the plurality of memory controllers 116 can receive the same command (e.g., command to read or write memory media modules 118) and address and drive the plurality of channels connecting to the memory media substantially simultaneously”).
wherein the CXL controller comprises
a CXL sub-system controller (AGARWAL, [0105]” The virtual channel multiplex unit 402 logic can be implemented in the arbiter (e.g., arbiter 316) or as a separate component of a CXL controller (e.g., CXL controller 314).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating AGARWAL’s CXL controller and parallel memory-channel architecture would provide standardized CXL communication between the host and memory while enabling data and commands to be efficiently transferred to the memory over multiple channels.
The references as combined above fail to disclose generate the first encrypted data based on the first data, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm.
However, Ndu in the same field of endeavor discloses
generate the first encrypted data,( Ndu, [0046]” the method may include encrypting, by the page encryption hardware unit, the subset data to the physical memory address using the encryption/decryption key”) based on the first data( Ndu, [0057]” the subset of data…”) the first device physical address, ( Ndu, [0045]” the first physical memory address”) the at least one first key, ( Ndu, [0056]” an encryption/decryption key for the first physical address”) and an encryption algorithm. ( Ndu, [0014]” For example, Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) CTR mode may be used if confidentiality is the high priority design requirement and AES GCM mode may be used when authentication and confidentiality are high priorities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL to further include generate the first encrypted data based on the first data, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm as suggested by Ndu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Ndu’s address-based memory encryption would protect data stored in memory from unauthorized access while providing confidentiality of the memory data.
As per claim 10, Chhabra discloses
obtain a first key index(Chhabra, [0031]” In accordance with embodiments, full address 205 also includes a KeyID portion or field 205.sub.0, which is used to provide a KeyID.”)based on at least one key index table, (Chhabra, [0031],[0036]” a KeyID remapping table (KMT) in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention” and “ memory access (namely to obtain a key from a KeyID table and/or access a KeyID remapping table)”) the first host data, (Chhabra, [0021]” a host VMM/hypervisor (referred to as a “VMM” or “host VMM” hereinafter) has full control over the guest VMs that the host VMM manages. The host VMM can read/write guest VM memory, modify guest VM control flow (single step, rewind, repeat, debug), read/modify guest VM register state, read/modify guest VM control structures, and so on…”) and a first device physical address mapped to the first host physical address, the first key index being set for the first host device, (Chhabra, [0033]” guest physical memory 230 maps to a physical memory 240, such that a corresponding address within physical memory 240 may be accessed”) and
output the first device physical address and the first key index; (Chhabra, [0034]” physical address 255 includes an address portion 255.sub.A and a key portion 255.sub.K.”) and
a memory sub-system controller (AGARWAL, [0051]” The memory device 104 can include a plurality of memory controllers 116 that each control a group of one or more memory media devices 118”)configured to
obtain at least one first key based on a key table(Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table…to obtain the physical address. Thereafter, control passes to block 550 where the translation is loaded into an entry in the TLB. More specifically this translation includes the physical address (e.g., a guest physical address) and the final KeyID. ”) and the first key index, the at least one first key being set for the first host device, (Chhabra, [0059]” The VMM assigns a VMM-assigned component 710 and the rest of the bits of portion 720 can be used by the VM as it desires. Different keys can be associated with the different KeyIDs.”) the key table being set for each key index(Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table… to obtain the physical address”) of a plurality of key indices of the at least one key index table, (Chhabra, [0059]” the KeyID are organized in a hierarchical fashion… Different keys can be associated with the different KeyIDs.”).
Chhabra does not disclose a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; and
a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and
provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels, wherein the CXL controller comprises a CXL sub-system controller configure to
generate the first encrypted data based on the first data the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm
However, Shanbhogue in the same field of endeavor discloses a Compute Express Link (CXL) device comprising:
a volatile memory (Shanbhogue, [0092]” in some examples, operating system 450, NW I/O device driver 440 or application(s) 460 may be implemented, at least in part, via cooperation between one or more memory devices included in primary memory 430 (e.g., volatile or non-volatile memory devices)”)connected to a plurality of channels; (Shanbhogue, [0014]” communications interface 606 may include one or more communication interfaces that operate according to various communication protocols or standards to communicate over direct or network communication links or channels.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Shanbhogue’s volatile memory and plurality of communication channels would provide parallel communication paths for accessing volatile memory, thereby improving memory-access efficiency and data throughput.
The combination of Chhabra and Shanbhogue fails to disclose
a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and
provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels, wherein the CXL controller comprises a CXL sub-system controller configure to
generate the first encrypted data based on the first data the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm
However, AGARWAL in the same field of endeavor discloses
a CXL controller(AGARWAL, [0075]” The frontend portion 202 includes most of the functions of the CXL protocol and may, for example, include a CXL controller 208. In some embodiments, CXL controller 208 includes the functions described above in relation to target CXL controller 112”) configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device (AGARWAL, [0054], [0043]” Communication interface 106 receives data and/or commands from host device initiator 110 through one or more I/O lanes. In an embodiment, communication interface 106 is a physical (PHY) interface configured for PCIe communications.”)among a plurality of host devices, (AGARWAL, [0032]”Host 102 may further include a host device 108…” and “a computing system 100 that includes an interface host device 110” and “The host device (e.g., CXL Initiator) is responsible for generating requests to the memory device (e.g., CXL target). The memory device has a CXL controller to unpackage the flit requests incoming from the host and forwards the requests to the backend memory media”) and
provide a command address signal(AGARWAL, [0038]” The mechanism of link-level flow control allows the receiver to send a continuous signals stream to the transmitter to control if it should keep sending flits or stop sending flits”) and first encrypted data(AGARWAL, [0056]” Memory device 104 may also comprise a security component configured to encrypt the data before storing”) to the volatile memory (AGARWAL, [0043]” forwards the requests to the backend memory media (e.g., DRAM).”)through a channel among the plurality of channels, (AGARWAL, [0028]” a plurality of memory controllers 116 that each control a group of one or more memory media devices 118. Each of the plurality of memory controllers 116 can receive the same command (e.g., command to read or write memory media modules 118) and address and drive the plurality of channels connecting to the memory media substantially simultaneously”).
wherein the CXL controller comprises
a CXL sub-system controller (AGARWAL, [0105]” The virtual channel multiplex unit 402 logic can be implemented in the arbiter (e.g., arbiter 316) or as a separate component of a CXL controller (e.g., CXL controller 314).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating AGARWAL’s CXL controller and parallel memory-channel architecture would provide standardized CXL communication between the host and memory while enabling data and commands to be efficiently transferred to the memory over multiple channels.
The references as combined above fail to disclose decrypt first encrypted data, based on the first encrypted data provided from the volatile memory, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm..
However, Ndu in the same field of endeavor discloses
decrypt first encrypted data, ( Ndu, [0046]” the method may include encrypting, by the page encryption hardware unit, the subset data to the physical memory address using the encryption/decryption key”) based on the first encrypted data( Ndu, [0057]” the subset of data…”) provided from the volatile memory, ( Ndu, [0014]” The encrypt/decrypt engine 112 is a hardware unit that encrypts and decrypts selected pages to and from the main memory (which may or may not be volatile).”) the first device physical address, ( Ndu, [0045]” the first physical memory address”) the at least one first key, ( Ndu, [0056]” an encryption/decryption key for the first physical address”) and an encryption algorithm. ( Ndu, [0014]” For example, Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) CTR mode may be used if confidentiality is the high priority design requirement and AES GCM mode may be used when authentication and confidentiality are high priorities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL to further include decrypt first encrypted data, based on the first encrypted data provided from the volatile memory, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm.
As per claim 16, Chhabra discloses
obtaining a first key index(Chhabra, [0031]” In accordance with embodiments, full address 205 also includes a KeyID portion or field 205.sub.0, which is used to provide a KeyID.”) based on at least one key index table, (Chhabra, [0031],[0036]” a KeyID remapping table (KMT) in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention” and “ memory access (namely to obtain a key from a KeyID table and/or access a KeyID remapping table)”) the first host data, (Chhabra, [0021]” a host VMM/hypervisor (referred to as a “VMM” or “host VMM” hereinafter) has full control over the guest VMs that the host VMM manages. The host VMM can read/write guest VM memory, modify guest VM control flow (single step, rewind, repeat, debug), read/modify guest VM register state, read/modify guest VM control structures, and so on…”) and the first device physical address, the first key index being set for the first host device; (Chhabra, [0033]” guest physical memory 230 maps to a physical memory 240, such that a corresponding address within physical memory 240 may be accessed”)
obtaining at least one first key based on a key table(Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table…to obtain the physical address. Thereafter, control passes to block 550 where the translation is loaded into an entry in the TLB. More specifically this translation includes the physical address (e.g., a guest physical address) and the final KeyID. ”) and the first key index, the at least one first key being set for the first host device, (Chhabra, [0059]” The VMM assigns a VMM-assigned component 710 and the rest of the bits of portion 720 can be used by the VM as it desires. Different keys can be associated with the different KeyIDs.”) the key table being set for each key index (Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table… to obtain the physical address”) of a plurality of key indices of the at least one key index table; (Chhabra, [0059]” the KeyID are organized in a hierarchical fashion… Different keys can be associated with the different KeyIDs.”).
converting the first host physical device into a first device physical address for the volatile memory; (Chhabra, [0054]” KeyID may be used to access an entry within the key remapping table…to obtain the physical address. Thereafter, control passes to block 550 where the translation is loaded into an entry in the TLB. More specifically this translation includes the physical address (e.g., a guest physical address) and the final KeyID. ”)
Chhabra does not disclose an operating method of a Compute Express Link (CXL) device comprising a volatile memory and a CXL controller, the operating method comprising:
receiving first host data and a first host physical address from a first host device;
performing an encryption operation based on the at least one first key and an encryption algorithm.
However, AGARWAL in the same field of endeavor discloses
an operating method of a Compute Express Link (CXL) device comprising a CXL controller, (AGARWAL, [0075]” The frontend portion 202 includes most of the functions of the CXL protocol and may, for example, include a CXL controller 208. In some embodiments, CXL controller 208 includes the functions described above in relation to target CXL controller 112”) the operating method comprising:
receiving first host data and a first host physical address from a first host device; (AGARWAL, [0054], [0043]” Communication interface 106 receives data and/or commands from host device initiator 110 through one or more I/O lanes. In an embodiment, communication interface 106 is a physical (PHY) interface configured for PCIe communications.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include receiving first host data and a first host physical address from a first host device as suggested by AGARWAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating AGARWAL’s CXL controller and parallel memory-channel architecture would provide standardized CXL communication between the host and memory while enabling data and commands to be efficiently transferred to the memory over multiple channels.
The combination of Chhabra and AGARWAL fails to disclose
performing an encryption operation based on the at least one first key and an encryption algorithm and a volatile memory .
However, Shanbhogue in the same field of endeavor discloses a Compute Express Link (CXL) device comprising:
a volatile memory(Shanbhogue, [0092]” in some examples, operating system 450, NW I/O device driver 440 or application(s) 460 may be implemented, at least in part, via cooperation between one or more memory devices included in primary memory 430 (e.g., volatile or non-volatile memory devices)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include receiving first host data and a first host physical address from a first host device as suggested by AGARWAL to further include a volatile memory as taught by Shanbhogue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Shanbhogue’s volatile memory would provide parallel communication paths for accessing volatile memory, thereby improving memory-access efficiency and data throughput.
The references as combined above fails to disclose performing an encryption operation based on the at least one first key and an encryption algorithm.
However, Ndu in the same field of endeavor discloses
performing an encryption operation( Ndu, [0046]” the method may include encrypting, by the page encryption hardware unit, the subset data to the physical memory address using the encryption/decryption key”) based on the at least one first key( Ndu, [0056]” an encryption/decryption key for the first physical address”)and an encryption algorithm. ( Ndu, [0014]” For example, Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) CTR mode may be used if confidentiality is the high priority design requirement and AES GCM mode may be used when authentication and confidentiality are high priorities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include receiving first host data and a first host physical address from a first host device as suggested by AGARWAL to also include a volatile memory as taught by Shanbhogue to further include performing an encryption operation based on the at least one first key and an encryption algorithm as suggested by Ndu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Ndu’s address-based memory encryption would protect data stored in memory from unauthorized access while providing confidentiality of the memory data.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and further in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1 and 10 and further in view of Durham et al(US 20220014356 A1) [hereinafter “Durham”] and KANDELE et al(US 20230275742 A1)[hereinafter “KANDELE”].
As per claim 2, the references as combined disclose the CXL device of claim 1, the combination fails to disclose wherein the CXL sub-system controller comprises:
a decoder configured to decode the first host physical address into the first device physical address based on an address mapping table; and
a key check module configured to search for the first key index in the at least one key index table based on the first host data, the first device physical address, and a search algorithm.
However, Durham in the same field of endeavor discloses
a decoder configured to decode the first host physical address into the first device physical address based on an address mapping table; (Durham, [0048]” Such a page table may be built by the VMM 134 and may provide guest physical address (GPA) to host physical-address (HPA) translations …the processor 102 will walk the page table of the VM to obtain the guest physical address (that maps to a virtual memory address specified in the access) and then will walk the extended page table or nested page table to obtain the physical address that corresponds to the guest physical address”) and
a key check module configured to(Durham, [0062]” The memory controller 103 may determine whether K is a TD KeyID …then a determination is made at 408 as to whether K is an accessor KeyID 110”)search for the first key index(Durham, [0062]” The memory controller 103 may determine whether K is a TD KeyID (e.g., whether the reference to the KeyID is within the address space of the private KeyIDs) at 404…If K is a TD KeyID, then a determination is made at 408 as to whether K is an accessor KeyID 110”) in the at least one key index table(Durham, [0023]” TD private KeyID configuration information 108…The information 108 may also include an identification of the accessor KeyID 110 (e.g., the information 108 may specify the particular value of the accessor KeyID 110, which may be within the address space of the TD private KeyIDs or some other address space, or may specify a location of the accessor KeyID 110).”) based on the first host data, [the first device physical address,] (Durham,[0109]” the management structures comprise page tables mapping guest physical addresses to physical addresses of a memory”)and a search algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include a decoder configured to decode the first host physical address into the first device physical address based on an address mapping table; a key check module configured to search for the first key index in the at least one key index table based on the first host data, the first device physical address, as suggested by Durham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Durham’s address-translation and KeyID determination would enable the system to translate an input physical address to a corresponding memory physical address and determine the appropriate KeyID for accessing the mapped memory location.
The references as combined above, fail to disclose a search algorithm.
However, KANDELE in the same field of endeavor discloses a search algorithm(KANDELE, [0356],[0357]” the searching performed with at least a linear search algorithm; and c) based at least in part on the particular target value obtaining a first key of the plurality that corresponds in the first lookup table with the particular target value” and “the search performed with at least a non-linear search algorithm, and d) based at least in part on the particular target value obtaining a first key of the plurality that is associated in the first lookup table with the particular target value”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include a decoder configured to decode the first host physical address into the first device physical address based on an address mapping table; a key check module configured to search for the first key index in the at least one key index table based on the first host data, the first device physical address, as suggested by Durham to further include a search algorithm as taught by KANDELE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating KANDELE’s search algorithm would provide an efficient and predictable technique for locating a key associated with a particular target value in a lookup table.
As per claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and further in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1 and 10 and further in view of Durham et al(US 20220014356 A1) [hereinafter “Durham”] and KANDELE et al(US 20230275742 A1)[hereinafter “KANDELE”] and further in view of Sahita et al (US 20180046823 A1)[hereinafter “Sahita”].
As per claim 3, the references as combined above discloses the CXL device of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose wherein the memory sub-system controller comprises:
a key mapping module configured to search for the at least one first key in the key table based on the first key index and a search algorithm.
a plurality of memory encryption engines configured to output the first encrypted data based on the first data, the at least one first key, and the encryption algorithm; and
a key arbitrator configured to provide the at least one first key to a memory encryption engine, the memory encryption engine being selected, according to the first device physical address, from the plurality of memory encryption engines.
However, Sahita in the same field of endeavor disclose
a key mapping module configured to search for the at least one first key(Sahita , [0066]” the unused most significant address bits can be used to select between different key domains…the key domain key that can be used to decrypt the contents of that physical memory location is also identified”)
a plurality of memory encryption engines configured to output the first encrypted data based on the first data, (Sahita , [0066]” The illustrated memory encryption engine 415 includes an encryptor 441, which may encrypt unencrypted data…The unencrypted data may include, for example, cleartext data, plaintext data, and so on, or combinations thereof. The cleartext data may be subject to encoding in a special format (e.g., hypertext transfer markup language (HTML), rich text format (RTF),”) the at least one first key, (Sahita , [0129]” One aspect of the exchange of the key domain key is that the key domain key is provided only in encrypted form by the consumer directly to the hardware (such as memory encryption engine 415 of FIG. 4) of the key domain-capable server”) and the encryption algorithm; (Sahita , [0098]” the block cipher may include Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) in a propagating cipher-block chaining (PCBC) mode of operation”) and
a key arbitrator configured to provide the at least one first key to a memory encryption engine, (Sahita , [0144]” initializing a memory encryption engine with the new key for the key domain. Initializing the memory encryption engine with the new key domain key may include writing the key domain key to a memory slot/register accessible by the memory encryption engine hardware.”) the memory encryption engine being selected, according to the first device physical address, from the plurality of memory encryption engines(Sahita , [0171],[0173]” the unused most significant address bits 874 can be used to select between different “key domains”” and “Different keys can be selected based on unused address bits” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL to further include generate the first encrypted data based on the first data, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm as suggested by Ndu to include a key mapping module configured to search for the at least one first key , a plurality of memory encryption engines configured to output the first encrypted data based on the first data, the at least one first key, and the encryption algorithm; and a key arbitrator configured to provide the at least one first key to a memory encryption engine, the memory encryption engine being selected, according to the first device physical address, from the plurality of memory encryption engines as suggested by Sahita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating address-based key selection and memory encryption would enable different memory locations to be securely encrypted using appropriate keys.
The references as combined above fails to disclose the key table based on the first key index and a search algorithm
However, Durham in the same field of endeavor discloses the key table(Durham, [0023]” TD private KeyID configuration information 108…The information 108 may also include an identification of the accessor KeyID 110 (e.g., the information 108 may specify the particular value of the accessor KeyID 110, which may be within the address space of the TD private KeyIDs or some other address space, or may specify a location of the accessor KeyID 110).”) based on the first key(Durham, [0062]” The memory controller 103 may determine whether K is a TD KeyID (e.g., whether the reference to the KeyID is within the address space of the private KeyIDs) at 404…If K is a TD KeyID, then a determination is made at 408 as to whether K is an accessor KeyID 110”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL to further include generate the first encrypted data based on the first data, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm as suggested by Ndu to include a key mapping module configured to search for the at least one first key , a plurality of memory encryption engines configured to output the first encrypted data based on the first data, the at least one first key, and the encryption algorithm; and a key arbitrator configured to provide the at least one first key to a memory encryption engine, the memory encryption engine being selected, according to the first device physical address, from the plurality of memory encryption engines to further include the key table based on the first key index as taught by Durham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating key-identifier-based mapping would facilitate identification and retrieval of the appropriate key associated with a particular memory access.
The references as combined above fail to disclose a search algorithm
However, KANDELE discloses a search algorithm(KANDELE, [0356],[0357]” the searching performed with at least a linear search algorithm; and c) based at least in part on the particular target value obtaining a first key of the plurality that corresponds in the first lookup table with the particular target value” and “the search performed with at least a non-linear search algorithm, and d) based at least in part on the particular target value obtaining a first key of the plurality that is associated in the first lookup table with the particular target value”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chhabra to include a volatile memory connected to a plurality of channels; as suggested by Shanbhogue to also include a CXL controller configured to receive first host data, first data, and a first host physical address from a first host device among a plurality of host devices, and provide a command address signal and first encrypted data to the volatile memory through a channel among the plurality of channels as taught by AGARWAL to further include generate the first encrypted data based on the first data, the first device physical address, the at least one first key, and an encryption algorithm as suggested by Ndu to include a key mapping module configured to search for the at least one first key , a plurality of memory encryption engines configured to output the first encrypted data based on the first data, the at least one first key, and the encryption algorithm; and a key arbitrator configured to provide the at least one first key to a memory encryption engine, the memory encryption engine being selected, according to the first device physical address, from the plurality of memory encryption engines to further include the key table based on the first key index as taught by Durham and to finally include a search algorithm as suggested by KANDELE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating a search algorithm would facilitate location key in the lookup table that corresponds to a particular target value.
As per claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and further in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1 and 16 and in view of Franke et al(US 20230195492 A1) [hereinafter “Franke”]
As per claim 7, the references as combined above disclose the CXL device of claim 1. Chhabra as modified above discloses wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to:
obtain at least one third key based on the third key index and the key table, the at least one third key being set for the third host device,( Shanbhogue, [0082], [0087]” Command 5—Configure specified Range-based Keys. This command is used to configure a software specified key for a memory range in the MEE. This command is supported if bit 9 of CAPABAILITIES is 1. The command parameters are as follows in Table 7… Range ID…, DATA_KEY 8 32 W Data encryption key… RANGE_BASE” and “If a memory transaction matches the address range configured for a range-based key, then the key configured for that range is used for the encryption/decryption operation instead of the key programmed into the Key ID associated with the transaction”), and
generate third encrypted data based on range-based memory encryption defined in the CXL standard, the at least one third key, and the encryption algorithm. ( Shanbhogue, [0082]”Configure specified Range-based Keys…TABLE 7 Field Offset Size Type Description RANGE_ID 0 4 W Range ID ALGORITHM 4 4 W Encryption Algorithm to use - may be one of the supported algorithms. DATA_KEY 8 32 W Data encryption key. TWEAK_KEY 40 32 W Tweak Key if required by the selected ALGORITHM. This field is reserved and may be 0 if not required by the selected algorithm. MAC_KEY 72 32 W MAC Key if required by the selected ALGORITHM. If MAC key is not required by the selected algorithm, then this field may be 0. This field is reserved and may be 0 if CAPABILITY register bit 5 is 0. RANGE_BASE 104 8 W Bit 63:12 - Bit 63:12 of base address of the range”). The CXL sub-system controller is configured to:
obtain a third key index based on the at least one key index table,( Shanbhogue, [0082], [0087]” Command 5—Configure specified Range-based Keys. This command is used to configure a software specified key for a memory range in the MEE. This command is supported if bit 9 of CAPABAILITIES is 1. The command parameters are as follows in Table 7… Range ID…, DATA_KEY 8 32 W Data encryption key… RANGE_BASE” and “If a memory transaction matches the address range configured for a range-based key, then the key configured for that range is used for the encryption/decryption operation instead of the key programmed into the Key ID associated with the transaction”).
using Trusted Execution Environment (TEE) Security Protocol (TSP) defined in the CXL standard, ( Shanbhogue, [0023]” DSM 128 is relied upon by TSM 116 to enable security mechanisms in the device memory 134 attached to the CXL device 122 in order to place TEE VM code and data in the device memory. TSM 116 first establishes the trust worthiness of the DSM. The TSM authenticates the DSM using protocols such as the distributed management task force (DMTF) defined security protocol and data model (SPDM) to establish the identity of the manufacturer of the device…”)
The combination fails to disclose
wherein the CXL sub-system controller is configured to:
receive, from a third host device among the plurality of host devices, third host data and a third host physical address, the third host physical address, and the third host data, the third key index being set for the third host device
However, Franke in the same field of endeavor discloses
the third host physical address, and the third host data, (Franke, [0053]” The I/O transaction 165 can include virtual function information, a bus device function, or BDF,… the memory controller 110 that can translate the BDF and the DMA memory address into a physical memory address using the IOMMU 105”).
the third key index(Franke, [0053]” A secure processor can be configured to generate and assign a corresponding encryption key to the I/O device 160 upon initiation of the virtual machine 150”) being set for the third host device.
receive, from a third host device among the plurality of host devices, (Franke, [0053]” The I/O device transmits an I/O transaction 165 requesting encrypted data stored in a physical memory 170 by the virtual machine 150.”) third host data(Franke, [0053]” The I/O transaction 165 can include virtual function information, a bus device function, or BDF,”) and a third host physical address(Franke, [0053]” the memory controller 110 that can translate the BDF and the DMA memory address into a physical memory address using the IOMMU 105”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include the third host physical address, and the third host data, the third key index being set for the third host device as suggested by Franke. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating device-specific key assignment and address translation would enable memory transactions from different host devices to be securely directed to and protected using the corresponding encryption key.
As per claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 5, 13, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and also in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1, 10 and 16 and further in view of Jaquette et al(US 20240411901 A1)[hereinafter “Jaquette”].
As per claim 4, the references as combined above disclose the CXL device of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose wherein the at least one key index table comprises a first plurality of values of the plurality of key indices, a second plurality of values of a plurality of memory encryption types, and a third plurality of values of a plurality of host device attributes.
However, Jaquette in the same field of endeavor discloses
wherein the at least one key index table comprises a first plurality of values (Jaquette, [0099]” For example, a particular sequence of bits may correspond to…”) of the plurality of key indices,(Jaquette, [0099]” For example, a particular sequence of bits may correspond to a particular Kext, and the identification can be made (e.g. using a table of such sequences and the Kexts corresponding to such sequences).”) a second plurality of values(Jaquette, [0100],[0047]” A second (typically disjoint) subset of the bits in the address field corresponds to one of a plurality of type keys that are associated with different data types” and “The data types may include privacy types, confidentiality types, etc. As noted above, the methodology now enables use of particular keys for such data types.”) of a plurality of memory encryption types, (Jaquette, [0045]” The tenant and type keys are combined to create a combined key for use in encrypting and/or decrypting data associated with the command.”) and a third plurality of values of a plurality of host device attributes(Jaquette, [0044]” only the number of address bits required to address all the different tenants are used for that purpose, and the remaining available address bits are used to address ‘type’ keys.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include wherein the at least one key index table comprises a first plurality of values of the plurality of key indices, a second plurality of values of a plurality of memory encryption types, and a third plurality of values of a plurality of host device attributes as suggested by Jaquette. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating multiple key-index values associated with different data types and host attributes would enable selection and use of appropriate encryption keys for different tenants and data types.
As per claim 5, the references as combined above disclose the CXL device of claim 1. Shanbhogue further discloses wherein the key table comprises
for each key index of the plurality of key indices,
a second value of a tweak key, (Shanbhogue , [0079]” Command 1—Configure Specified Key…TWEAK_KEY 40 32 W Tweak Key if required by the selected ALGORITHM”) the tweak key being defined in an Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption algorithm standard. (Shanbhogue , [0026]” One example of a memory encryption scheme that provides this property is advanced encryption standard (AES-XTS) using the physical address where the data is stored as the tweak value…”).
The combination fails to disclose a first value of a data encryption key
However, Jaquette in the same field of endeavor discloses
a first value of a data encryption key(Jaquette, [0050]” the method includes accessing an internal key stored within the device, generating a unique media encryption key using the internal key and the combined key, and using the media encryption key to encrypt and/or decrypt data associated with the command”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include a first value of a data encryption key as suggested by Jaquette. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating data encryption key for encryption and decrypting data associated with a command would provide a unique encryption key for protecting the associated data.
As per claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and also in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1 and 16 and further in view of Trikalinou et al.(US 20220100911 A1) [hereinafter “Trikalinou”].
As per claim 6, the references as combined above disclose the CXL device of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose wherein the CXL sub-system controller is configured to
receive, from a second host device among the plurality of host devices, Context Key Identifier (CKID) data, second host data, and a second host physical address,
obtain a second key index based on the at least one key index table, the CKID data, and the second host data, the second key index being set for the second host device,
wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to
obtain at least one second key based on the second key index and the key table, the at least one second key being set for the second host device, and
generate second encrypted data based on CKID-based memory encryption defined in the CXL standard, the at least one second key, and the encryption algorithm.
However, Trikalinou in the same field of endeavor discloses
receive, from a second host device among the plurality of host devices,( Trikalinou, [0146]” In particular, FIG. 14 shows a system where processors, memory, and input/output devices are interconnected by a number of point-to-point interfaces. Generally, one or more of the computing systems or computing devices described herein may be configured in the same or similar manner as computing system 1400.”) Context Key Identifier (CKID) data, (Trikalinou, [0082],[0095]” the IO device may run two (or more) different processes 321, 322, which are each associated with a unique PASID. Data associated with each process (331, 332, respectively) may be encrypted based on a unique, per-process (e.g., per-PASID) key” and “an example hierarchical structure 600 that may be used to store CC keys in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The example structure 600 includes 4 levels of cryptographic computing key tables (CCKTs), with the final level (L4 in the example shown) containing the CC key(s). The tables are looked up based on bits of the PASID.”)second host data, ( Trikalinou, [0088]” the IO device 530 first sends a write request that includes plaintext data (Data), a PASID, Bus/Device/Function (BDF), and encrypted virtual address (IOVA).”) and a second host physical address, ( Trikalinou, [0089]” this BDF+PASID at 522, encrypts the plaintext data using the retrieved CC data key (with the eIOVA being used as a tweak) at 524 (yielding eData), decrypts the eIOVA using the CC pointer key to yield the IOVA at 526, and does necessary translations at 528 to obtain the host Physical Address (HPA) for the obtained IOVA”)
obtain a second key index based on the at least one key index table, the CKID data, and the second host data, ( Trikalinou, [0095]” The example structure 600 includes 4 levels of cryptographic computing key tables (CCKTs), with the final level (L4 in the example shown) containing the CC key(s). The tables are looked up based on bits of the PASID.”) the second key index being set for the second host device, ( Trikalinou, [0095], [0096]”the PASID bits 4-0 (the least significant bits) may be used to locate the entry within the L4 table 604 that includes the CC keys associated with the PASID” and “the PASID table may be extended to include a pointer that points to the CC keys stored in memory. ”)
wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to
obtain at least one second key based on the second key index and the key table, ( Trikalinou, [0095]” The example structure 600 includes 4 levels of cryptographic computing key tables (CCKTs), with the final level (L4 in the example shown) containing the CC key(s). The tables are looked up based on bits of the PASID.”)”) the at least one second key being set for the second host device, , ( Trikalinou, [0095], [0096]”the PASID bits 4-0 (the least significant bits) may be used to locate the entry within the L4 table 604 that includes the CC keys associated with the PASID” and “the PASID table may be extended to include a pointer that points to the CC keys stored in memory. ”) and
generate second encrypted data based on CKID-based memory encryption defined in the CXL standard, the at least one second key, and the encryption algorithm( Trikalinou, [0089]” encrypts the plaintext data using the retrieved CC data key (with the eIOVA being used as a tweak) at 524 (yielding eData),”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include wherein the CXL sub-system controller is configured to [receive, from a second host device among the plurality of host devices, Context Key Identifier (CKID) data, second host data, and a second host physical address, obtain a second key index based on the at least one key index table, the CKID data, and the second host data, the second key index being set for the second host device,] wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to
[obtain at least one second key based on the second key index and the key table, the at least one second key being set for the second host device, and generate second encrypted data based on CKID-based memory encryption defined in the CXL standard, the at least one second key, and the encryption algorithm] as suggested by Trikalinou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Trikalianou’s PASID-based hierarchical key-table lookup and pre-host/process keying would enable the combined CXL system to efficiently select and retrieve a key associated with a particular host/context and use the retrieved key to encrypt that host’s data, thereby providing scalable isolation and protection of data associated with different hosts.
As per claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] et and also in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] and further in view of Kachare et al (US 20260012341 A1)[hereinafter, “Kachare”]
As per claim 8, the references as combined above discloses the CXL device of claim 1. The combination fails to explicitly discloses wherein the CXL sub-system controller is configured to
receive fourth host data and a fourth physical address from a fourth host device among the plurality of host devices, allocate a fourth device physical address corresponding to the fourth host physical address, generate at least one fourth key corresponding to the fourth device physical address,
store, in the at least one key index table, a fourth key index corresponding to the at least one fourth key, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, and
wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to store, in the key table, the fourth key index and the at least one fourth key.
However, Kachare in the same field of endeavor discloses
receive fourth host data and a fourth physical address from a fourth host device among the plurality of host devices,( Kachare, [0066]” the memory manager 118 receives data from the host 102. The data may be identified, for example, as data to be stored in the memory device 104. In some embodiments, the data is transmitted with a data store request. The data store request may identify an address (e.g., the logical address) of the NVM 122 where the data is to be stored.”)
allocate a fourth device physical address corresponding to the fourth host physical address, ( Kachare, [0035]” In some embodiments, an operating system or a hypervisor software 116 may manage allocation of the physical resources of the computing device 102 to allow the device to support multiple virtual machines”)
generate at least one fourth key corresponding to the fourth device physical address, ( Kachare, [0051],[0056]” the key manager 212 identifies the key to be used for the encryption and decryption based on the address (e.g., the logical address) of the NVM 122 where data is to be stored or retrieved. In this regard, the key manager 212 maintains one or more keys per region of the NVM 122” and “The key manager 212 may include a key table 400 that stores one or more keys. The keys may be provided (or updated) by the host 102, E.G. based on launching a virtual machine 108. In this regard, one or more memory regions and associated keys may be allocated to the virtual machine 108.”)
store, in the at least one key index table, a fourth key index corresponding to the at least one fourth key, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, ( Kachare, [0060]” a mapping table 404 for mapping key tags 406 to memory region IDs 402. In this regard, the load/store request from the host 102 may include a key tag 406 selected by the host to be used for encrypting or decrypting data associated with the request. The key manager 212 may perform a lookup of the mapping table for identifying the memory region ID 402 that corresponds to the key tag 406”) and
wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to store, in the key table, the fourth key index and the at least one fourth key. ( Kachare, [0060]” a mapping table 404 for mapping key tags 406 to memory region IDs 402. In this regard, the load/store request from the host 102 may include a key tag 406 selected by the host to be used for encrypting or decrypting data associated with the request. The key manager 212 may perform a lookup of the mapping table for identifying the memory region ID 402 that corresponds to the key tag 406”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, Shanbhogue, AGARWAL and Ndu to include receive fourth host data and a fourth physical address from a fourth host device among the plurality of host devices, allocate a fourth device physical address corresponding to the fourth host physical address, generate at least one fourth key corresponding to the fourth device physical address, store, in the at least one key index table, a fourth key index corresponding to the at least one fourth key, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, and wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to store, in the key table, the fourth key index and the at least one fourth key as suggested by Kachare. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Kachare’s key-tag mapping associates encryption keys with corresponding memory regions, thereby enabling the appropriate encryption key to be identified for data associated with a particular memory address.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] and also in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Siddhartha et al (US 20220198027 A1) [hereinafter, “Siddhartha”]
As per claim 9, the references as combined above disclose the CXL device of claim 8. The combination fails to disclose wherein the CXL sub-system controller comprises:
an allocator configured to allocate the fourth device physical address based on an address mapping table; a processor configured to generate the at least one fourth key based on the fourth host data, and output fourth type data indicating a type of device physical address-based memory encryption, the fourth host data, the fourth device physical address, and the at least one fourth key; and
a key check module configured to store, in the at least one key index table, the fourth key index, the fourth type data, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, and
return the fourth key index to the processor.
However, Siddhartha in the same field of endeavor discloses
an allocator configured to allocate the fourth device physical address based on an address mapping table;(Siddhartha, [0050]” Table 310 illustrates an exemplary Physical Address Bits table with fields that identify the Index bits, LBA Offset, and Physical Address (PA)”)
a processor configured to
generate the at least one fourth key based on the fourth host data, (Siddhartha, [0052]” The CCE 129 also obtains the LBA and the Key ID from Key Lookup Table (340, FIG. 3) and then looks up the Key Id Table for the Keys and the Key attributes (Table 360)”) and
output fourth type data indicating a type of device physical address-based memory encryption, the fourth host data, the fourth device physical address, and the at least one fourth key; (Siddhartha, [0051]” Key Table 360 has two fields: Key (256 bit) and Key Attribute field which identifies the encryption attribute or type which is used by CCE.”) and
a key check module configured to
store, in the at least one key index table, the fourth key index, the fourth type data, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, (Siddhartha, [0050]” The Key Lookup Table 340 comprises the following exemplary fields: Key Index bits, Read/Write (R/W) and LBA and/or File Info”) and
return the fourth key index to the processor(Siddhartha, [0050]” Using the appropriate key index, the CCE may then access the KLT which may have a 34-bit entry”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, Shanbhogue, AGARWAL and Ndu to include receive fourth host data and a fourth physical address from a fourth host device among the plurality of host devices, allocate a fourth device physical address corresponding to the fourth host physical address, generate at least one fourth key corresponding to the fourth device physical address, store, in the at least one key index table, a fourth key index corresponding to the at least one fourth key, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, and wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to store, in the key table, the fourth key index and the at least one fourth key as suggested by Kachare to further include an allocator configured to allocate the fourth device physical address based on an address mapping table; a processor configured to generate the at least one fourth key based on the fourth host data, and output fourth type data indicating a type of device physical address-based memory encryption, the fourth host data, the fourth device physical address, and the at least one fourth key; and a key check module configured to store, in the at least one key index table, the fourth key index, the fourth type data, the fourth host data, and the fourth device physical address, and return the fourth key index to the processor as taught by Siddhartha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Siddhartha’s address-based key lookup and key-indexing mechanism would enable the system to efficiently select and associate an appropriate encryption key with host data based on the corresponding physical-address information, thereby facilitating secure memory encryption.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chhabra et al.(US 20190042402 A1)[hereinafter “Chhabra”]in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 20210311643 A1) [hereinafter “Shanbhogue”] and in view of AGARWAL al (US 20240345982 A1)[hereinafter “AGARWAL”] and also in view of Ndu et al(US 20180011802 A1)[hereinafter “Ndu”] as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Murray et al (US 20220263655 A1) [hereinafter “Murray”].
As per claim 15, the references as combined above disclose the CXL device of claim 10. The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the CXL sub-system controller is configured to
receive, from a second host device among the plurality of host devices, second host data, second key data about a key to be used by the second host device, and second attribute data about a plurality of attributes of the second host data, generate, based on the second key data, at least one second key and a second key index corresponding to the at least one second key, store, in the at least one key index table, the second key index, the second host data, and the second attribute data, and provide the second key index and the at least one second key to the memory sub-system controller, and wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to store, in the key table, the second key index and the at least one second key.
However, Murray in the same field of endeavor discloses
receive, from a second host device among the plurality of host devices, second host data, [second key data about a key to be used by the second host device,](Murray, [0132]” more than one KMS may be in charge of storing cryptographic keys which may be data keys or corresponding WKs per above teachings for storage resources on hosts/nodes 302A1, 302B1, . . . 302N1, 302A2, 302B2, . . . 302N2, and so on”) and second attribute data about a plurality of attributes of the second host data, (Murray, [0132]” KeyID…Product, Deployment, Host, ObjectID, Activation Date, Expiration Date and Key State columns are the respective key-metadata fields of Product, Deployment Name, Hostname, Storage resource identifier, Activation date, Expiration date and Key state respectively per earlier explanation. Key State of A means that the key is in Active state.”)
generate, based on the second key data, at least one second key (Murray, [0146]” Request KMS 308A to generate a new key”) and a second key index corresponding to the at least one second key, (Murray, [0228]” KeyID is the unique identifier assigned by KMS 306A of our above example, to each key that has been generated by it.”)
store, in the at least one key index table, the second key index, the second host data, and the second attribute data, (Murray, [0227]” TABLE 1 Activation Expiration Key KeyID Product Deployment Host ObjectID Date Date State aakshjks FD/partition Company_1 Database01 /data/disk1…”) and
provide the second key index and the at least one second key to the memory sub-system controller, (Murray, [0150]” Retrieve the new key generated in step 3 above for resource /dev/sdb1 from KMS 308A”) and
wherein the memory sub-system controller is [configured to store, in the key table, the second key index and the at least one second key.] (Murray, [0130]” the wrapped keys are stored locally on the hosts/nodes in a file system header, or an appropriate storage location.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Chhabra, AGARWAL, Shanbhogue and Ndu to include receive, from a second host device among the plurality of host devices, second host data, second key data about a key to be used by the second host device, and second attribute data about a plurality of attributes of the second host data, generate, based on the second key data, at least one second key and a second key index corresponding to the at least one second key, store, in the at least one key index table, the second key index, the second host data, and the second attribute data, and provide the second key index and the at least one second key to the memory sub-system controller, and wherein the memory sub-system controller is configured to store, in the key table, the second key index and the at least one second key as suggested by Murray. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Murray’s multi-host key-management teachings would have enabled the combined system to manage cryptographic keys and associated key metadata for multiple host devices in a centralized and scalable manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Villapakkam et al, (US 20210036851 A1) discloses “cryptographic key management using key proxies and generational indexes “.
OUZIEL et al, (EP 3671521 A1) discloses “co-existence of trust domain architecture with multi-key total memory encryption technology in servers”
/K.N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2493
/CARL G COLIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2493