DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al. (US 2024/0326623) in view of Yamada et al. (US 2017/0223827)
Re Claim 1; Makino discloses a system for low voltage battery management in a vehicle, comprising:
a low voltage battery (B2) having a positive battery terminal and a negative battery terminal; (Par 0028)
an electronic control unit (ECU) (5) having inputs for directly receiving the positive battery terminal and negative battery terminal, wherein the ECU directly senses battery voltage (Par 0041);
a first connection (3), wherein the first connection connects the positive terminal of the low voltage battery a first input of the ECU; and a
second connection (3), wherein the second connection connects the negative terminal of the low voltage battery a second input of the ECU. (Fig. 1)
Makino does not disclose the first connection comprises a first semi-flexible busbar and second connection comprises a second semi-flexible busbar.
However, Yamada discloses that in the busbar module for a power supply device, there are provided a plurality of the conductor layers 4 as voltage detection lines for outputting pieces of voltage information of the batteries to which the respective busbars 2 are coupled. The plurality of conductor layers 4 are provided by the same number as that of the busbars 2, and each of the conductor layers 4 is connected to any one of the plurality of busbars 2. The busbar module for a power supply device output the pieces of voltage information of the batteries, to which the respective busbars 2 are coupled, to a peripheral instrument such as an ECU of the vehicle via the plurality of conductor layers 4. Based on the acquired pieces of voltage information, the peripheral instrument performs a charge control for the respective batteries of the power supply device. (Par 0097, 98)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have replaced the wires connecting the ECU5 with the battery B2 with a semi-flexible busbar or a laminated busbar in order to bend to fit tight spaces since they can hold a specific shape once bent, making them ideal for complex routing inside electrical component.
Re Claim 2; Makino discloses wherein the ECU is within a power management compartment. (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 3; Makino discloses wherein the power management compartment comprises an energy management module (51). (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 4; Makino discloses wherein the ECU monitors battery temperature via a temperature sensor on the low voltage battery. (Par 0041)
Re Claim 5; Makino discloses wherein the ECU provides a shared grounding point for the negative battery terminal and other vehicle electronics. (all grounding in a vehicle are coupled to the chassis)
Re Claim 7; Makino discloses wherein the ECU performs battery management functions, wherein the battery management functions comprise state of charge estimation. (Par 0041)
Re Claim 9; Makino discloses wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle or hybrid -electric vehicle. (Par 0004)
Re Claim 10; Makino discloses wherein the battery management functions comprise health monitoring associated with a state of the low voltage battery or detecting a fault associated with the low voltage battery. (the sensors coupled to the battery detects health and or fault of the battery)
Re Claim 11; Makino discloses wherein the low voltage battery powers components in two or more electronic control units. (Par 0037)
Re Claim 12; Makino discloses wherein the low voltage battery is approximately 12 volts. (Par 0028, Lead acid battery of vehicles are approximately 12 volts)
Re Claim 13; Makino discloses wherein the ECU directly senses battery current through the negative battery terminal. (Par 0041)
Re Claim 14; Makino discloses An electric vehicle comprising: a low voltage battery (B2), wherein the low voltage battery comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal (Par 0028); and a power management compartment, wherein the power management compartment comprises: an energy management module (EMM) (51); and an electronic control unit (ECU) (50), wherein the ECU comprises: a first connection to the positive terminal of the low voltage battery, and a second connection to the negative terminal of the low voltage battery
Makino does not disclose the first connection comprises a first semi-flexible busbar and second connection comprises a second semi-flexible busbar.
However, Yamada discloses that in the busbar module for a power supply device, there are provided a plurality of the conductor layers 4 as voltage detection lines for outputting pieces of voltage information of the batteries to which the respective busbars 2 are coupled. The plurality of conductor layers 4 are provided by the same number as that of the busbars 2, and each of the conductor layers 4 is connected to any one of the plurality of busbars 2. The busbar module for a power supply device output the pieces of voltage information of the batteries, to which the respective busbars 2 are coupled, to a peripheral instrument such as an ECU of the vehicle via the plurality of conductor layers 4. Based on the acquired pieces of voltage information, the peripheral instrument performs a charge control for the respective batteries of the power supply device. (Par 0097, 98)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have replaced the wires connecting the ECU5 with the battery B2 with a semi-flexible busbar or a laminated busbar in order to bend to fit tight spaces since they can hold a specific shape once bent, making them ideal for complex routing inside electrical component.
Re Claim 16; Makino discloses wherein the ECU determines a state of charge of the low voltage battery based on information associated with the first connection or second connection. (Par 0041, Fig. 1)
Re Claim 17; Makino discloses wherein the ECU is connected with a common ground of the electric vehicle. (every component in a vehicle share a common ground to the chassis)
Re Claim 18; Makino discloses A method for monitoring a low voltage battery in an electric vehicle, comprising:
monitoring, at electronic control unit (ECU) inputs connected with the low voltage battery, voltage associated with the low voltage battery and a current associated with the low voltage battery; (Par 0041)
monitoring battery temperature via a sensor associated with the low voltage battery; (Par 0041)
determining a status of the low voltage battery based on the voltage, the current, and the temperature, wherein the status comprises the state of charge of the low voltage battery; and transmitting an indication of the status of the low voltage battery. (Par 0041)
Makino does not disclose the first connection comprises a first semi-flexible busbar and second connection comprises a second semi-flexible busbar.
However, Yamada discloses that in the busbar module for a power supply device, there are provided a plurality of the conductor layers 4 as voltage detection lines for outputting pieces of voltage information of the batteries to which the respective busbars 2 are coupled. The plurality of conductor layers 4 are provided by the same number as that of the busbars 2, and each of the conductor layers 4 is connected to any one of the plurality of busbars 2. The busbar module for a power supply device output the pieces of voltage information of the batteries, to which the respective busbars 2 are coupled, to a peripheral instrument such as an ECU of the vehicle via the plurality of conductor layers 4. Based on the acquired pieces of voltage information, the peripheral instrument performs a charge control for the respective batteries of the power supply device. (Par 0097, 98)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have replaced the wires connecting the ECU5 with the battery B2 with a semi-flexible busbar or a laminated busbar in order to bend to fit tight spaces since they can hold a specific shape once bent, making them ideal for complex routing inside electrical component.
Re Claim 19; Makino discloses wherein the ECU comprises: a first connection to a positive terminal of the low voltage battery, and a second connection to a negative terminal of the low voltage battery. (Fig. 1)
Claim(s) 8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino in view of Yamada and further in view of Ing
Re Claims 8, 15 and 20; Makino discloses temperature sensor and first and second connection.
Makino does not disclose, wherein the first semi- flexible busbar or the second semi-flexible busbar comprises a temperature sensor.
However, Ing discloses wherein: the first connection comprises a first semi-flexible busbar, and the second connection comprises a second semi-flexible busbar, wherein the first semi- flexible busbar or the second semi-flexible busbar comprises a temperature sensor. (Par 0021)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used a semi-flexible busbar or a laminated busbar in order to bend to fit tight spaces since they can hold a specific shape once bent, making them ideal for complex routing inside electrical component.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino in view of Yamada and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2025/0018804)
Re Claim 6; Makino discloses ECU and the low voltage battery
Makino does not disclose wherein the ECU and the low voltage battery are packaged in proximity under a seat of the vehicle.
However, Suzuki discloses wherein the ECU and the low voltage battery are packaged in proximity under a seat of the vehicle. (Fig. 2 and 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have located the battery undereat the seat in order to protect the battery during an accident and also to lower the vehicles center of gravity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6-11, filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yamada.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
08/04/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836